Tata Storme vs Mahindra XUV5OO - Which One To Choose?

Re: Tata Storme vs Mahindra XUV500 - Which One To Choose?

Hmm, have asked this question knowingly or unknowingly [lol] it is simple Raja the space and comfort in simple terms and there are plenty others too !! Price is not always a cretiria to compare things Sir !!
Gurralla even the current safari was / is more comfertable and spacious then Scorpio so that should not be the only reason . And don't underestimate the mighty muscular Scorpio its a very capable SUV and have quite a big fan following in the country .

Scorpio is still a strong contender. Why? Because-
-proven reliability
-Mahindra A.S.S
-I think it still looks good.
- has a good image if a but common.
its and ideal car for people who want to play safe.
Although I would go for a strome. Its got a better interior,looks better IMO,and simply brilliant offroader.

Thread Starter #183

@Raja,

I agree with you Scorpio was/is a great SUV !! but I have posted my opinion about it on the first post of the thread as why do not consider it to compare with Storm/XUV[:)]

Here I would say early adopters like IR were damn lucky to get a w8 I think in lesser price then the current w6 which makes me think at times past birth good deeds help in this birth [evil]
Well to be perfectly honest, it did work both ways -

# a W8 on road for 13 Lakhs - i dont think I contributed to M&M profits![evil] - that for me takes the cake for being VFM

# Early niggles(which are well documented in my thread) which required a few extra trips to the dealership, it shouldn't have been there , but having been there i would say the response was phenomenal - for someone who loves nitpicking in a service centre, I didnt mind that (there might be others though who would think exactly the opposite!)

# a W8 on road for 13 Lakhs - i dont think I contributed to M&M profits![evil] - that for me takes the cake for being VFM

# Early niggles(which are well documented in my thread) which required a few extra trips to the dealership, it shouldn't have been there , but having been there i would say the response was phenomenal - for someone who loves nitpicking in a service centre, I didnt mind that (there might be others though who would think exactly the opposite!)
Wow that was a price man for a fully loaded one you got [clap] but see you took the risk also for taking the plunge ,and looking at your satisfaction with the car its worth because in the end that matters the most .

Thread Starter #187

@IR

I differ with you here, what if there are no initial niggles and you don't to go to the service center like our Storm owner Sanjay[:)]

To me it looks like manufacturer is anticipated these niggles and is ready to solve them quickly so that a bad image is not created, ofcourse he is doing his job when you paid some good amount like 13L. But I like a manufacturer who takes bit of more time to see that such initial niggles are reduced and give a vehicle to the customer who can have peace of mind, because I never like to visit the service center immediately after the purchase of brand new vehicle with some problem, instead I like to enjoy the vehicle ride without any breaks[:)]

Could you please enlighten the readers why do you think Scorpio a great SUV ?
Simple

It was great when it was launched as it is from an Indian manufacturer and there was nothing which looks like that(this impression of mine while its launch as I was with very limited knowledge about a SUV)

It is great even today, because it sells in good numbers [:)]

@ ranger.

These days, the throttle is not controlled by the cable. Instead we have a regulator kind of a thing. Its called drive by wire. This system takes into account, the vehicle speed, the gear, and the the accelerator pedal position and then decides how much throttle is required. This is overlooked by or done by ECU.

Just have a look at the Accelerator pedal of Storme/Safari/Sumo grande/XUV. You will see that its a plastic unit.

@Guralla Thats exactly why i said someone would think exactly the opposite !
Btw why inspite of all these niggles do you think the XUV still sells ? XUV niggles are very well known especially in the internet world.

Okay guys, it looks like we have got a very active platform for a healthy discussion.

After reading whole thread I have some questions:
  • Am I qualified enough to post about the vehicles and driving experience of both?
  • Is there any kind of age/experience boundation on this thread?
  • What is the difference between monocoque chassis os hatches/sedans and SUVs? If yes, then what it is?
  • How important is it to have ESP in an SUV and how helpful it can be on our roads?
  • I have read that ride quality of XUV was not flat even on well laid roads, how many people observed it?(Kindly come up)
  • There is some kind of system which senses torque(I guess we call it TSP) demand which is extensively used in diesel cars, even Beat diesel also has it, any diesel car which does not have it?
  • Have I read 65 degree incline too?

I can answer many of those ques tsi but scince I have to go somewhere right now, I am only saying that xuvs ride is not that hard just bouncy.

No obviously not on flat roads. When you get out of NH8 and towards let's say golf course road,you do dance unwantedly when going through pathholes. But the main problem is that I hit my head a lot.

That means on well laid highways, the ride is flat..right?
It is bouncy while going over potholes and on unwell paved roads(the roads which have undulations like your golf course one)..right? But if speed is slightly lower then the bouncines is less..right?
I agree on both, what you have to say?

Okay, you hit your head..but can you tell me where and on which points?
Does it happen on front seats?
If on rear seats then on which point of 'C' pillar? How much is your height? How much gap remains there between your head and roof? I am 5'10(near about, maybe higher) and there is good space between my head and roof on second row too, in third row it is slightly tight but still there are some inches between my head and roof.
As per stats given by ACI: Rear seat headroom of Safari as well as XUV, both is 96 cm each and I have personally felt it nearly same and I hope the rear seat headroom is not anything which keeps on changing with road or conditions.