Tata Storme vs Mahindra XUV5OO - Which One To Choose?

Service intervals for our XUV are as following:
1. 5000 kms
2. 10000 kms.
3. 20000 kms.
4. 30000 kms.

after second service its after every 10000 kms.
I am sorry for the confusion (sleep deprivation!).

The service intervals for the XUV is actually every 20k kms, but there is a check up service every 10k. So, in other words, the oil and other fluid changes happen every 20k only.

So the services for the XUV are -

5000 kms - oil, filter, etc.
10000 kms - check up service
20000 kms - oil, filter, etc.
30000 kms - check up service
40000 kms - oil, filter, etc.
50000 kms - check up service
60000 kms - oil, filter, etc.

and so on...

Additionally, M&M has removed the time barrier from the service intervals. So now customers need to go to the A.S.S. only when the car has done the respective kms on the odo, irrespective of the time.

So the list posted by 'Raja' of the service charges is correct. If we see, the service charges at 30k, 50k and 70k, its a consistent Rs. 1650 everytime - that's for the check up service.

@raja: So the Information you have provided is only for Service interval details and not for the maintenance cost. No one asked you to spoon feed but the maintenance cost figures you have mentioned are very very less comparing to the bills we get the A.S.S that is why I had asked you.
According to the fuel used by us the A.S.S sometimes changes the Fuel filter even in 10000 Service instead of 20000. If consistent performance is required.
The Quality of Diesel we get in India choking the Cat. Con. soon and these cleaning will not come under normal services care or in free services.
The Service charges mentioned are not for best performance.

@Tornado: Jokes apart. No one will mix Oil and coolent together. May be you do so.
There are many possibilities of Oil and coolant getting mixed in the Inter-cooler which is a rare probability and nothing as you mentioned happens
To be clear Oil changing and coolant changing intervals I have mentioned about and not mixing both of them together

@Guralla: Nice Pics hope you had nice drive and relaxed time to spend with STORME

Thread Starter #1,836
@Prasanth,

See neither Raja nor you are owners of either Storme or XUV, so whatever information Raja could get from one of the website he has posted for both the vehicles so the comparison goes fair with that. If you want to know more information on service costs, then Raj,Singh,Mukesh,SanjaySG will be able to provide you. So how Raja or you will be able to comment on the real service costs of the vehicles ?? So like Raja posted with some source so when you want to ask clarification either you have to ask the real owners or you should have some source like Raja to say something different.

Yeah it was awesome spending with two brand new beasts and driving both of them. Ah !! they are excellent buddy

@raja: So the Information you have provided is only for Service interval details and not for the maintenance cost
I have not posted the figures from my creative mind , infact I have posted a screen shot and source link too . And it was posted because one member asked this -->

AFAIK strome also has 15K service interval. Not only storme earlier safari/aria too had 15K service intervals. Correct me if iam wrong
]

No one asked you to spoon feed but the maintenance cost figures you have mentioned are very very less comparing to the bills we get the A.S.S that is why I had asked you.
Again get this clear which most of the members have understood other then you . iam not mentioning anything here , what is mentioned on a website is just posted by me and there is a source link provided .

And what service bills you get ?

do you own a storme or a xuv ?

And incase you own either of the cars and get high services bills is something you have to research for yourself and not me .

Further whatever details you want to know proper and clear in your language you can get it here , feel free to contact and research for yourself .

http://www.mahindraxuv500.com/product/customercare.htm

http://customercare.tatamotors.com/

Rest all members have no problem in understanding what I have posted incase they have any they will ask me and I will answer them .

According to the fuel used by us the A.S.S sometimes changes the Fuel filter even in 10000 Service instead of 20000. If consistent performance is required.
And then there are people who keep on going for offroading and service their car every 5000 Kms so ?

We are not talking here about individual scenarios we are talking in general about the guidelines of service frequency and minimum charges outlined by tata and mahindra for their respective cars .

And if bad fuel is put it is not mahindra or tatas responsibility . Since bad fuel is used by us it becomes our responsibility whether to take the required action against it or not .

And the same scenario is applicable to both the xuv and storme .

The Quality of Diesel we get in India choking the Cat. Con. soon and these cleaning will not come under normal services care or in free services.
So you mean the website which has published a regular schedule of servicing of both the cars must also take in account that in India we don't get good fuel so charges concerning that must also be mentioned ?

Why don't you go and give this suggestion to the website of which source is provided . So they can incorporate your suessgtions ?

The Service charges mentioned are not for best performance.
Really ? And what according to you is a service for best performance for both storme and xuv ?

@Tornado: Jokes apart. No one will mix Oil and coolent together. May be you do so.
There are many possibilities of Oil and coolant getting mixed in the Inter-cooler which is a rare probability and nothing as you mentioned happens
To be clear Oil changing and coolant changing intervals I have mentioned about and not mixing both of them together
[
Re- read you own post and understand for yourself what you have posted . Here is what you wrote .and what exactly means coolent oil ?
@
How about Coolent Oil?

Pls if your going to provide information make it clear and proper
Since you wanted something vey clear and proper tornado made it very clear and proper . So better is first re-read your own post correct it and then post .

Infact tornado is a senior member and his contribution is immense on the forum . He is not a arm chair specialist .

He backs up his stuff with proof kindly read what tornado has posted .

Here are latest labour chrges and spare part prices in INR@concorde pune.
Fuel filter price - 1890

Oil filter price -271

Air filter price -301

Timing belt price -2044

Ball jt. Upper price -962
Ball joint lower price -723
ARB-price-150
Front suspension lower limb Price-1792
Front shock abosber /strut price -1688
Labour for replacement- 360

Rear shock absorber Price -1814.
Labour for replacement -150

Combination switch price -1744.
Replacement labour -390

Front bumper price -4553
Front windshield glass price ,5895
Side mirror price -3291.
Motorized head light assey -3641.
Tail light assay -800.
Wheel rim each -1658.Replacement labour charges for above parts is not mentioned but might not be more than 100 to 150 Rs /part .

WA - 465
WB - 107per wheel.
Only wash and vaccuming - 450Oil filter price -271
Oil filter replacement labour -180.
AC Belt price - 254
AC belt replacement labour -120.

Clutch Pressure plates price -2400
Clutch disc -price -5800
Clutch release bearing price -970
Clutch overhaul labour charges -1260.

Brake pad front kit -2185
Brake lining rear kit -4228.
Front brake disc /drum -1005
Brake pad replacement labour (one side)-180
Brake disc replacement labour (one side)- 450
Brake bleeding -150.

but the maintenance cost figures you have mentioned are very very less comparing to the bills we get the A.S.S that is why I had asked you]
.You do not own either storme or xuv.
Still you keep on getting exorbitant ASS bills!
This is like BSNL , where the phone connection is not taken or the phone is returned back and still owners keep on getting bills in thousands and lacs .
Buddy, people buy a BS 4 car (cars fitted with catalytic converters), then instead filling the fuel at bunk situated in BS 4 cities which provided ultra low sulfer diesel (i.e. BS 4 diesel with sulfer content less than 15 ppm ) , they fill the fuel at highways where only Bs fuel (i.e. Sulfer content50 ppm meant for cars without catalytic converters) is available .Now , is it owner's fault or automakers fault if the catalytic converter gets choked due to the extra sulfer? Still the owner feels that he should be charged nuts for his own deleterious acts !
Read here if you are intrested further.
http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...7926-difference-between-bs-3-bs-4-models.html
@Tornado: Jokes apart. No one will mix Oil and coolent together. May be you do so
Oh! my bad , sorry , extremely sorry for poor understanding of grammar.

BTW , I own a BS 3 car and never use BS 4 fuel in it so as to prevent rusting and clogging of fuel injectors and engine parts .
@ Raja , I am humbled by the words ' senior member' used for me.But I am just an auto enthu and more of a student in theautomotiveindia.

@Raja & Tornado : DO you get Safari Shocks for Rs.1644(Front) and Rs.1814(Rear) How is that possible? that too concorde?

@Guralla: I may not own a STORME but I have a DiCOR 3.0. and bought a used XUV also. after getting XUV made 2 services and costed Rs.5500 and Rs.6200 thats why I was shocked with Raja's post.

@Raja: Normally for best performance We change many parts Like

Suspension Bushes/Joints/Arm in 50000KMs itself whereas the Manufacturer would have recommended at 75000KMs Only.
Coolant Oil at 20000KMs itself whereas the Manufacturer would have recommended at 40000KMs Only.
Fuel Filter at 10000/15000 itself whereas the Manufacturer would have recommended at 20000/30000KMs Only.

Etc.

So please mind there is lots of difference between servicing the vehicle to run and servicing for best & Consistent performance

On this forum , there are n numbers of XUV owners and storme owners who are doing servicings at scheduled intervals and report that they are getting best performance.

BTW , congo on the used XUV . IMO second owners need not get warranty benefits subscribed by first owner.

@Raja & Tornado : DO you get Safari Shocks for Rs.1644(Front) and Rs.1814(Rear) How is that possible? that too concorde?
I don't find any reason to doubt tornado' information .

If you dont belive Call and confirm for yourself

Tata Motors Customer Care :: Home
:
I may not own a STORME but I have a DiCOR 3.0. and bought a used XUV also. after getting XUV made 2 services and costed Rs.5500 and Rs.6200 thats why I was shocked with Raja's post.
So how many Kms has your used xuv had done when you bought ?

And how many Kms have you driven it so far ?

And why were you shocked ? Xuv service charges are less or more ?

On 13 June 2013 you posted this --->

ICE I'll surely post dude . I was quite busy in deciding between xuv and storme
Source - post no-69

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...-tata-manza-class-apart-became-my-part-5.html
So from 13 June 2013 to 28th July 2013 you bought a second hand xuv and also did 2 servicings ? [surprise]

Suspension Bushes/Joints/Arm in 50000KMs itself whereas the Manufacturer would have recommended at 75000KMs Only.
Coolant Oil at 20000KMs itself whereas the Manufacturer would have recommended at 40000KMs Only.
Fuel Filter at 10000/15000 itself whereas the Manufacturer would have recommended at 20000/30000KMs Only.

Etc.

So please mind there is lots of difference between servicing the vehicle to run and servicing for best & Consistent performance
Start a new thread and guide all owners of storme and xuv on how to service storme and xuv for great performance , since you know better then tata and mahindra engineers about their cars .

Friends –

could please share a few words on After Sales Service of Tata motors from your recent visits? There is tons of negativity floating around feedback from your recent experiences would help much to the folks like me who wanted to migrate to a SUV.

At the moment I am done with Tds of the vehicles within my list so on the verge of making a decision.

XUV
Aria
Strome
Ecosport

As I indicated in on other thread, my family is very much interested in a XUV but after Strome Test Drive they are open to consider that too. I managed to pull my team to one of the TATA show rooms this weekend in Chennai. Impressed by the great looks of Astern Black Strome display vehicle. Fyi, Off late I see more XUV population in Chennai surprisingly not spotted any Stromes. Is the picture is different from my observations in other locations? I started at clean slate and yet to close on my SUV hunt (XUV/Strome).

is resale of TML is really that bad? Thought I don't want to think very loud on this but going by the threads thought of checking with you.
Is it hard to expect a decent After Sales Service from TML?

Also, I noted that TML has started focussing more on customer service, so any comments?

Tata Motors - Press Releases| Automotive Industry News

Appreciate your feedback much in advance.

Etc.

Safari have shocks not struts. You having owned a Safari should have known. Shocks are almost 1/3rd the rate of a strut.

And for the second part, why do you want to change things early, if its working correctly. Manufacturers always recommend a safe time period. Usually if they recommend you to change things at (say) 10000 kms, the parts are good enough to survive upto 15000 kms. So come out of your misconception.

Friends –

could please share a few words on After Sales Service of Tata motors from your recent visits? There is tons of negativity floating around feedback from your recent experiences would help much to the folks like me who wanted to migrate to a SUV.

Also, I noted that TML has started focussing more on customer service, so any comments?

Tata Motors - Press Releases| Automotive Industry News

Appreciate your feedback much in advance.
Hi Suhas,

I have just recently purchased a Storme and I can tell you from my experience that Storme is worth every penny you have invested. I have had good experience with the sales team and by purchase experience was between good to very good.

I would like you to view two threads:
This one deals with my confusion on Aria and Storme.
http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...-car-entry-level-tata-aria-safari-storme.html

This one is my ownership review
http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/ownership-reviews/13448-my-new-storme-lx-k-carbonado.html

You also lots of information around the ecosport ( But currently waiting period for ES is around 8 months. from the thread below)
http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...er/13323-booked-new-ecosport-let-us-know.html

On XUV too there is multitude of information,

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...ptimus-tuscan-red-mahindra-xuv5oo-w8-fwd.html

Hope this helps you in choosing your beauty.