Tata Storme vs Mahindra XUV5OO - Which One To Choose?

I think we are going bit deep into ESP here and I feel it is a clear OT and request you to continue the ESP discussion on its dedicated thread please[:)]
Gurrala74 Please do suggest what is not an OT topic that is left to be discussed in this 120 page thread(Edit:oops 121 now! ) ? Is there anything left which is not already repeated 99 times ?

The point in question here has been stemming out from the question raised by the Adventurer and maranprashanth a few posts above in pure english about ESP in XUV and we are simply discussing it about the very same vehicles though some video examples have different vehicles demonstrating ESP (but that's simply an 'object' hence immaterial). There are some misconceptions being thrown around and then there is reality - i simply hope safety is not misunderstood or misinterpreted.

i do not think people are going overboard with the ESP discussion.

it is a feature available in one of the two vehicles in question.

some have questions about it regarding its reliability , the effects of having it in the vehicle, so all is fine till we are discussing it .

as far as i think, ESP should not cause any drop in FE.

ESP as in itself is a trigger caused during an extreme situation , hence i do not think it should affect the mileage.

apart from that , the sales managers too do not push much of their top spec models( personal observations), they tend to pick a safe route with suggesting the more sellable variant.

this hold true with sales suggesting that airbag , ABS are not really a necessity in india.

Thread Starter #1,803
Gurrala74 Please do suggest what is not an OT topic that is left to be discussed in this 120 page thread(Edit:oops 121 now! ) ? Is there anything left which is not already repeated 99 times ?
Hahahahaha, you seems to be not very happy for this thread running into 121 pages[;)], there may be some 20 features in XUV which does not exist in Storme so with this kind of discussion the thread will cross another 100 pages[lol].

Lets continue the thread topic , its anyways a moderators worry when the quality of posts are substandard - lets rather help to collectively raise the standards, its a collective responsibility. I hope we have your cooperation in the serious matter. No further OT.

Quote:
Originally Posted by maranprashanth

Climbs hills very well which noramally is a question mark for drive shaft technology vehicles.
I didnt get this part ?
]
I said for a front wheel drive with a long wheelbase XUV is pulling good and we can't expect this from other front wheel drive vehicles

Hi Guys,

During my T Fort hunt , I have also tested used Storme EX (5000 kms0 and XUV 500 (20000) yesterday alongwith a T fort 50000 kms old 2009 model. The result is as follows:

1.) Storme: Has a nice pick up, good balance and nice biting on the brakes. Steering still touches the thighs as the owner has installed extra seat covers. Some rattling sound from the drivers door, he didn't change the hinges.

2.) XUV 500: Nice pick up again and a better handler than storme, but plastics inside shows the age and rattling sounds were there. Panel gaps has increased.

3.) T fort, 50k plus, 2009 model: you know why it still have 3-4 months waiting period. I was amzed by the way it handles pot holes and other undulations on the road. even after of ownership of 4 years it is still going well, only one rattle. The steering cover and driver seat cover is showing its age.

So, if you can afford first hand storme or xuv 500 than please hold your cheque and go for T fort used one and you will never regret on your decision.

@raj_5004 : Chennai Maintance of Toyota is cheaper 3500+ taxes for normal general service with Oil and labour.This mentioned cost is of Innova

Indica eV2 - some how they manage to make bills for 6000-6500
Manza -5500
Xylo-6400
How do you state that Toyota is highier on maintance?

Toyota will tear your pocket only at the time of accident repair but their perfection can never be obtained by others. self driven people need not borther for that and we now can avail Zero Dep. so that is also not a problem.

@Tornado 78: Your qiuite popular on FB TATA Aria. WHy don't you try Rexton as said by Superbad?

Rexton is not as reliable as Fortuner but more comfortable to ride as well as commute.

Toyota is only for engine not for comforts.

Well one of cousin has a Fortuner as well as an Altis and both the cars are reaching 90k on ODO.

And both the cars were purchased new and have never met with an accident, never saw a local workshop.

So according to him service of both the cars cost above 20k now.

He has been noticing this from last 2 services for both of his vehicles.

zengetz

@raj_5004 : Chennai Maintance of Toyota is cheaper 3500+ taxes for normal general service with Oil and labour.This mentioned cost is of Innova

Manza -5500
Xylo-6400
Can you elaborate when you say 'some how' ?

What all goes into a routine service ?
1. Engine Oil
2. Oil Filter
3. Air Filter
4. Fuel Filter - Every 10K Km
5. Coolant, PS fluid top up
6. Brake Pad cleaning
7. Cleanup wash

All the above for 6K ? [lol]

Can you elaborate when you say 'some how' ?

What all goes into a routine service ?
1. Engine Oil
2. Oil Filter
3. Air Filter
4. Fuel Filter - Every 10K Km
5. Coolant, PS fluid top up
6. Brake Pad cleaning
7. Cleanup wash

All the above for 6K ? [lol]

hi
I guess
Engine Oil: 5 ltrs = around 1600rs. @ rs 300/ ltr
Oil Filter: Rs 300 - 400
Air Filter: Around Rs 300
Fuel Filter: Around Rs 1500 on every 30000 kms
Coolant: around 4-5 ltrs but at 40000 kms
Brake Pad Cleaning: at 20000 kms
Cleanup Wash: Complimentary in Paid or free service

So I guess the amount of Major Service that is at around 45000 kms is of Rs 6000. otherwise the normal service bill is around rs 4000 or so for a Tata Manza or Indica.

yes SA do force people to opt for Teflon, Engine Cleaning etc.

zengetz

^ true your costs edge towards the 6-8K range only during the major service interval periods like you have indicated around the 40K mark.

Otherwise approximately 3 thousand rupees is what one looks at for routine maintenance once every 3-4 months which is quite normal.

Teflon, engine Cleaning, Alignment at service centers is a joke. Better not opt for it at the A.S.S atleast.

Manza -5500
Xylo-6400
How do you state that Toyota is highier on maintance?

Maran prashant Ji ,

First and foremost Chennai doesn't represent the whole of India .

Secondly tornado 78 doesn't live in Chennai .

And beside that service cost here is discussed about fortuner and not the Innova there is a considerable amount of price difference in both the cars and that carries to service cost also .

There is a difference between service cost of a Honda civic and accord , tata sumo and storme , bolero and xuv .and also the Innova and fortuner .

Raj_ 5004 is saying compared to a fortuner the service bills will be lesser in the xuv and storme . And after owning both mahindra and Toyota products for a considerable time .

Afaik ( I don't remember perfectly ) fortuner requires service every 6 months by Toyota .

And like you said if " somehow" a.s.s manages to make high bills it is only because of our ignorance and such things are rampant all over the a.s.s .c including BMW , Audi , maruti , Honda , tata and mahindra .

Thankfully,even after 9 months from its launch, apart from minor issues,we haven't heard anything serious about the Storme.Now the time is perfect for Tata to launch two more variants.One stripped down variant CX at around 9 lakhs ex-showroom,and one fully loaded(with ESP,TC,6 A'BAGS etc) variant ZX at around 15 lakhs.