Tata Storme vs Mahindra XUV5OO - Which One To Choose?

Friends –

could please share a few words on After Sales Service of Tata motors from your recent visits? There is tons of negativity floating around feedback from your recent experiences would help much to the folks like me who wanted to migrate to a SUV.

Appreciate your feedback much in advance.
What are you looking for in your car? What are your priorities?

If it only and only about After Sales Service, both M&M and Tata are equal. M&M has the personalised service centres, relationship managers and "With you hamesha" service, whereas Tata has launched a lot of good intitiatives in the "Horizon Next" strategy.

When it comes to the car, to be honest, if you have the budget for the XUV or Storme, I would not even consider the Ecosport. It is several sizes smaller than the SUVs. And I would not even go near the Aria considering it's market situation.

@Raja & Tornado : DO you get Safari Shocks for Rs.1644(Front) and Rs.1814(Rear) How is that possible? that too concorde?
It is very much possible kindly see the attached pictures .

Since you are educating us on how to maintain the xuv and safari storme for optimal performance you must know that right ?

Moreover you also have safari dicor 3.0 yet you don't know the prices ? [surprise]

Concorde has put a huge board were they have listed the spare parts prices and labour charges in all its glory .

The pictures are clicked by tornado in Concorde Pune . Iam posting them here on behalf of him since tornado is having difficulty in attaching the images .

A big applause to tornado for the effort, who allways enhances the quality and reputation of TAI with his immense contribution . [clap]

@Guralla: I may not own a STORME but I have a DiCOR 3.0. and bought a used XUV also. after getting XUV made 2 services and costed Rs.5500 and Rs.6200 thats why I was shocked with Raja's post
No reason to get shocked , see the pics attached .

Now is your turn to shock us

how about you providing us information on some basic things so we can rely on your claims .

Can you kindly present the following things for us ?

1 ) how many Kms had the used xuv which you bought had done at the time. Of purchasing ?

2) after buying how many Kms have you driven it that you had to do 2 services for it and in what time span ?

3) kindly provide us pics of service bills which mahindra a .s .s charged you for 2 services of your xuv .

@ All respected members and readers of TAI and this thread

Internet forum is kind of a cult , a association , a group of like minded people .

Members of this forum sometimes never hear , meet , know in depth about each other ever .

Yet there is a underlying element of trust between each other , a belief that we are supported by each other .

The trust and support is gained when factual information is posted along with proof , source or link of its origin from were information is collected .

It is done so to make the information credible , authentic , full proof which can be trusted and relied upon which often helps in making a decision about a car in general .

This in general enhances the quality of forum which in return attracts more members who are in search of truthful, honest information .

Making big claims and boasting knowledge without providing any concrete proof and prejudice is not a antic which must be relied upon or even entertained which does nothing but degrades the quality of the forum and restricts true information .

There is grace and dignity in admitting and accepting sometimes that " we don't know " because the goal of a forum is to share knowledge and information and not boast it .

@Raj

Thanks for taking time to respond to my queries on these threads. As I said earlier, I have very finite requirements and needless to say the car I am going to buy now is going to stay with me for sometime. I kept the list broader to swing between these models.

Just to get some back ground, last week there was a Tata Aria campaign at my company and I took the TD but the guy promised to get Strome over the weekend. He did not show up. I called him on Friday and Saturday he didn't pick my phone. Finally, I went to another dealer and completed the drive. Going by their lackluster response I am keen to hear on (TASS) thier after sales support from exiting Strome owners. Now I am on verge of making the call between Strome / XUV. BTW, pretty much impressed with M & M follow up, I really like the way they engage with potential customers.

It would be good if Strome owners share any specific observations from their recent visits.

It is very much possible kindly see the attached pictures .

Since you are educating us on how to maintain the xuv and safari storme for optimal performance you must know that right ?
don't know "[/B] because the goal of a forum is to share knowledge and information and not boast it .
The Price of Side mirrors for Storme is lower than the Wagon R mirror. I am Shocked to see this. Navi Mumbai Automotive had quoted around 6000 for Right ORVM, in Hyderabad couple of months ago I had enquired they had quoted around 5000. I was mighty pleased with the lower cost. But the Storme OVRM are still cheaper.

@Raj

Thanks for taking time to respond to my queries on these threads. As I said earlier, I have very finite requirements and needless to say the car I am going to buy now is going to stay with me for sometime. I kept the list broader to swing between these models.

Just to get some back ground, last week there was a Tata Aria campaign at my company and I took the TD but the guy promised to get Strome over the weekend. He did not show up. I called him on Friday and Saturday he didn't pick my phone. Finally, I went to another dealer and completed the drive. Going by their lackluster response I am keen to hear on (TASS) thier after sales support from exiting Strome owners. Now I am on verge of making the call between Strome / XUV. BTW, pretty much impressed with M & M follow up, I really like the way they engage with potential customers.

It would be good if Strome owners share any specific observations from their recent visits.
Suhas

There are many owners of storme on the forum . Some may visit this thread some may not hence your query getting answered by them on this thread is not guaranteed . You may ask your query on this thread
http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...safari-storme-road-test-drive-review-130.html
You can go and visit their ownership threads or PM them and ask your specefic queries which might get more faster Response .Few ownership threads are as below hope it helps .

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...orme-vx-4x4-pearl-white-ownership-review.html

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/ownership-reviews/12567-my-tank-tata-safari-storme.html

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/ownership-reviews/13448-my-new-storme-lx-k-carbonado.html

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...rme-ex-4x2-urban-bronze-ownership-review.html

This is small review of owner and respected member 68 year old captain bhatte from Pune .

I too am one proud and satisfied owner of Tata Safari Storme VX 4x4 and have already completed 12000 kms on all types of roads + even routinely on off road trips on my farm.

The ride is excellent and any type of surface is traversed with ease n elan.
I had also owned a Safari 4x4 earlier so, I am going to dwell upon my experience in relation to that.
The handling is definately improved many folds and the Storme is nimble and composed at any speeds. I have braked at 140km/hr and there was no drama. We have also tried driving over serious potholes where all other vehicals had to really slow down to 5 kms/hr. We managed 50/60 kms per hour - though we bounced and dived around a lot. Most of the passengers were scared (and later elated) but, the vehical never went out of control and the driver was at ease with the situation. The brakes on this vehical are really special. Most SUVs now a days have ABS/EBD etc as standard. What is not standard is having disc brakes on all four wheels. Tata Motors should accentuate this fact. Here I wished Tata had given Safari Storme Traction Control too.

The turning circle is a real improvement and I am able to drive easily through narrowest of Pune inner city lanes. On open highways the vehical is deceptively fast for such a large/high/heavy body. The commanding view from the driver's seat is excellent. With the rear spare wheel now gone, the rear view is also very good. The old Safari suffered on this account.

4x4 with Limited Slip Differential is fantastic. I have come out of 200 mm deep thick mud (where I was stuck in 'stop' position due to a fallen tree) with ease in 4x4 Low gear last month.

Very recently, I parked the Storme and wend to horse around unnder a 30 feet tall waterfall. unfortunately in strong current I lost my car key. We found the key after 4 hours of searve 100+ feet down stream in 2 feet deep water. Upon recovery, we were expecting problems with the key due to water. Our fears were without reason. The key worked as normal from the word go. We all thanked Tata Motors for this that day.

The AC on this SUV s excellent. One should not forget that the inner volume on Safari is morethan most SUVs.

Some improvements that I carried out:
I kept the original single din sound system (which is very good) and removed all the speakers. We fitted top quality Hellix speakers, tweeters and sub whofers (10 in all). We also carried out 'sound deadning' of all the body panels. So, the Storme now is super quiet inside.
3M sun screen film has been a great help too.
In addition to the reverse parking system given by Tata, we fitted reverse camera too.
Now I am awaiting a kit from Tata - decals + nudge guard + chrome strips etc.

Finally, Concorde Motors (Pune) have created a new 'customer experience' for us. The service is top grade and we have satisfied in al respects.

I would recommend Tata Safari Storme to anybody with confidence. What we get for money - very few other SUVs can manage. I wish we Indians have more pride in our own products.
Source -post no -117
Link
http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...x-urban-bronze-buying-ownership-review-8.html

@ suhas

Tata and mahindra a.s.s can't be concluded with a simple good or bad .

The a.s.s varies from region to region , dealer to dealer .

Some storme and xuv owners are not happy and some are extremely happy too . Depends on our perception of good and bad service and also at times depends on the efficiency and attitude of the a.s,s in your city . ( at times the effort from them is honest and genuine but there is lack of knowledge )

Since you are going to invest your hard earned money , I would suggest you to take feedback of both the cars from owners and then visit local a.s.s of both the brands in the city were you live . If possible get hold of some owners there and ask their feedback too .

Test drive both the vehicles and calmly decide which would suit your needs more .

Maybe with a Honda or Toyota you don't have to take so much effort in doing research but unfortunately both at this point of time don't have SUVs in the price range of xuv , storme , aria , Scorpio .

On the discussion on the price of the spare parts -

"XUV500 has the LOWEST SPARE PARTS COST (as % of vehicle price) among all premium SUVs (SUVs priced over Rs. 10 Lac) as per the ‘Autocar Spare Parts Survey’ in the Aug’13 issue. "

Since ,maranprasnth has paid bills for his xuv which contradicts above survey.If he comes with proof , it's possible to debate the authenticity of Autocar's survey.

Sales figures lovers
July 2013

Xuv -2045

Storme / safari - 598 .

The price reduction in xuv seems to have worked its magic for xuv [clap]

Sales figures lovers
July 2013

Xuv -2045

Storme / safari - 598 .

The price reduction in xuv seems to have worked its magic for xuv [clap]
XUV has seen a 48.51% increase in sales whereas Safari+Storme has seen a 26.54% decline. I did not think a mere 30k reduction in price can bring such an improvement, but I wish to see how long it remains like this.

More importantly - Tata has been pushed down to the 6th position (from the 4th position) in the top 10 manufacturer's list by Toyota and Honda. It's high time they wake up from their slumber. I can see some initiatives but I guess its time for something drastic.

Mahindra remains at No. 3 - tough to beat Maruti and Hyundai I guess!

More importantly - Tata has been pushed down to the 6th position .
It's high time they wake up from their slumber. I can see some initiatives but I guess its time for something drastic.

Mahindras have gained their reputation and businesses over a period of years especially after scorpio launch.TATAS were at nadir AFA custermer satisfaction was concerned .And in those days Tatas were reference point for the custermers so as to express satisfaction or dissatisfaction about the other automakers.Little better than TATAS was prooving fruitful for other auto makers.

If tatas want to improve businesses , anything drastic won't help, instead they should show consistency in efforts taken for storme and its ASS all over India across all segments (hatches , sedans UV s Xovers) ,so that most of the owners can give ' good experience 'feedback. It's the mouth to mouth publicity which defines the business in India.
Though there are positive reports from storme owners on internet .Most of the buyers are not net savvy in India. It's gonna take long time to spread recent positive s of Tatas outsiders net world.
Till then , tatas will have to sustain the poor sales figures which is possible if they are financially strong.IMO they are strong enough to wait till the patience bears fruits.
For we auto enthu s it's the research which is important than the mouth to mouth publicity.

Till then , tatas will have to sustain the poor sales figures which is possible if they are financially strong.IMO they are strong enough to wait till the patience bears fruits
Above opinion is my personal opinion.
It's very important to discuss about recent financial condition of TATA group since there is wave of recession . Because if they go near bankrupt status , it's the passenger car(which is bringing less and less profit for them) which would suffer and theirby current owners of their cars., if they happen to close down the production.
It will be helpful if someone provides link to their current situation.

XUV has seen a 48.51% increase in sales whereas Safari+Storme has seen a 26.54% decline. I did not think a mere 30k reduction in price can bring such an improvement, but I wish to see how long it remains like this
Yes in the month of July it has seen this increase . But if you check year on year basis

mahindra xuv = 49% decline .

Safari/ storme = 30% decline .

Year on year basis shows a major negative shift in xuv figures actually . Even if you bring " product cycle " chart , it is obvious that the product cycle is ending relatively soon for xuv .

And is 2000 odd number export included , mahindra sells their xuv in South Africa , Europe and some South American countries too ?

More importantly - Tata has been pushed down to the 6th position (from the 4th position) in the top 10 manufacturer's list by Toyota and Honda. It's high time they wake up from their slumber. I can see some initiatives but I guess its time for something drastic

What position tata motors is exactly it hardly matters for consumers . And I think chances are they might even hit the bottom more . Until and unless some new cars are launched the situation won't change soon .

Beside something drastic actually along with tata even mahindra needs to do because even their new launches are doing nothing for the company

Quanto -347

Vertio/vibe -344 / 683 .

Refreshed Xylo -1070

forget beating maruti and Hyundai .

If you see the situation from other side its not hard for Honda and Toyota to actually beat mahindra at the 3 rd position the difference is just odd 4,000 cars .

next year Honda will come with their

new MUV ,

new jaaz ,

mini SUV and

new city (all mentioned cars are in diesel option too )

and IMHO it can easily break the odd 4,000 figure between them and mahindra with their new launches infact even zoom past them .

What new models is mahindra going to launch next year ? New Mini SUV ? If yes then it has to compete with marutis xalfa , hyundais mini SUV , tatas mini SUV , ford ES .

July 2013

Mahindra -15,530 .

Honda -11,222.

Toyota -11, 515 .

Mahindras have gained their reputation and businesses over a period of years especially after scorpio launch.TATAS were at nadir AFA custermer satisfaction was concerned .And in those days Tatas were reference point for the custermers so as to express satisfaction or dissatisfaction about the other automakers.Little better than TATAS was prooving fruitful for other auto makers.
Tata was not able to leverage the overall reputation and trust which people have for tata group in India for their motor division .

And same with mahindra , with 60 years of expreince in making jeeps they yet have not figured out how to make a nigggle free car .

Talking about reputation regarding mahindra and tata is like comparing a man with 3 fingers and 2 and half fingers when actually fact remains both are handicapped .

Normal public ( non internet savvy ) treat both at same level .

If tatas want to improve businesses , anything drastic won't help, instead they should show consistency in efforts taken for storme and its ASS all over India across all segments (hatches , sedans UV s Xovers) ,so that most of the owners can give ' good experience 'feedback. It's the mouth to mouth publicity which defines the business in India.
Though there are positive reports from storme owners on internet .Most of the buyers are not net savvy in India. It's gonna take long time to spread recent positive s of Tatas outsiders net world.
Till then , tatas will have to sustain the poor sales figures which is possible if they are financially strong.IMO they are strong enough to wait till the patience bears fruits.
For we auto enthu s it's the research which is important than the mouth to mouth publicity.
Rightly said .
Above opinion is my personal opinion.
It's very important to discuss about recent financial condition of TATA group since there is wave of recession . Because if they go near bankrupt status , it's the passenger car(which is bringing less and less profit for them) which would suffer and theirby current owners of their cars., if they happen to close down the production.
It will be helpful if someone provides link to their current situation.
Tata motors consist of comercial , passenger and jlr too . Tata motors can't get bankrupt so easily and so soon. And lets not even talk about over all tata group here which we don't even know how big it is . Maybe senior member auto safari and xover can guide us .

Jaguar Land Rover reports strong sales and high profits - Telegraph

Jaguar Land Rover sales up by 14% in first half of 2013 | Business Standard

Lets not go very far in deciding fate of tata motors just so early .

To be honest, TATA was never in my mind but off late having read positive reviews online from genuine and handful customers thought they are not that bad. I have been shuttling between TATA dealers in past couple of weeks and I could completely note a major disconnect in the place. It was hard to find any positive vibrations when you step in their place. I even got surprised how could they afford to operate in such a stale ambiance. Before it gets too late, I wish TATA execs will expedite their efforts to fix the issues at ground level. Honestly speaking, I don’t know what their current challenges are. But from what I could see the morale seems to be very low so do their body language. Aggression is what I see is missing. At the moment, I closely watched them operating in very silos with a complete disconnect from each other. If they have to win they need to work, as a single team. Where as I noted exactly the opposite when I stepped in M & M. I am not surprised at the sales figures TATA down trending by 58%. For M & M there could be several reasons for slighter (9%) dip in their sales, could be launch of Ecosport, Audi masam to name a few. One would still surprise how could M & M able to sustain their volume despite so many issues (Brakes, Clutch, Electronics, bumpy rides) a million $$$ question to me at the moment!

Pasting a few for reference but I don't vouch or own any of these statements,

https://www.facebook.com/MahindraXUV500/posts/488253377926898

XUV 500- bad experience: An Open letter to Mr. Anand Mahindra ( CMD Mahindra) 6813 | CarDekho.com

To be honest, TATA was never in my mind but off late having read positive reviews online from genuine and handful customers thought they are not that bad. I have been shuttling between TATA dealers in past couple of weeks and I could completely note a major disconnect in the place. It was hard to find any positive vibrations when you step in their place. I even got surprised how could they afford to operate in such a stale ambiance. Before it gets too late, I wish TATA execs will expedite their efforts to fix the issues at ground level. Honestly speaking, I don’t know what their current challenges are. But from what I could see the morale seems to be very low so do their body language. Aggression is what I see is missing. At the moment, I closely watched them operating in very silos with a complete disconnect from each other. If they have to win they need to work, as a single team. Where as I noted exactly the opposite when I stepped in M & M. I am not surprised at the sales figures TATA down trending by 58%. For M & M there could be several reasons for slighter (9%) dip in their sales, could be launch of Ecosport, Audi masam to name a few. One would still surprise how could M & M able to sustain their volume despite so many issues (Brakes, Clutch, Electronics, bumpy rides) a million $$$ question to me at the moment!

Pasting a few for reference but I don't vouch or own any of these statements,

https://www.facebook.com/MahindraXUV500/posts/488253377926898

XUV 500- bad experience: An Open letter to Mr. Anand Mahindra ( CMD Mahindra) 6813 | CarDekho.com
Off topic

What is Audi masam btw ?

.Yes in the month of July it has seen this increase . But if you check year on year basis

mahindra xuv = 49% decline .

Safari/ storme = 30% decline .

Year on year basis shows a major negative shift in xuv figures actually . Even if you bring " product cycle " chart , it is obvious that the product cycle is ending relatively soon for xuv .
When we bring in the 'product cycle', dont forget that the XUV was launched way before the Storme. So it is expected that the XUV will hit the decline stage sooner than the Storme.

And is 2000 odd number export included , mahindra sells their xuv in South Africa , Europe and some South American countries too ?
AFAIK, the source includes domestic sales only.

What position tata motors is exactly it hardly matters for consumers . And I think chances are they might even hit the bottom more . Until and unless some new cars are launched the situation won't change soon .
Tata at one point for time was at No. 2 position. From there, they have slowly and steadily slipped to No. 6. From a consumer's point of view, I would not like to see the biggest automotive giant of India slipping down like this, simply because I have huge expectations from it. Some day, I want both Tata and Mahindra to be in the top two positions. M&M is slowly improving, but TATA has till now not shown any such signs.

Beside something drastic actually along with tata even mahindra needs to do because even their new launches are doing nothing for the company

Quanto -347

Vertio/vibe -344 / 683 .

Refreshed Xylo -1070
+10. But as of now, it is TATA who is in dire need of a rescue.

forget beating maruti and Hyundai .

If you see the situation from other side its not hard for Honda and Toyota to actually beat mahindra at the 3 rd position the difference is just odd 4,000 cars .

next year Honda will come with their

new MUV ,

new jaaz ,

mini SUV and

new city (all mentioned cars are in diesel option too )

and IMHO it can easily break the odd 4,000 figure between them and mahindra with their new launches infact even zoom past them .

What new models is mahindra going to launch next year ? New Mini SUV ? If yes then it has to compete with marutis xalfa , hyundais mini SUV , tatas mini SUV , ford ES .
You are right, some day M&M will slip down from the 3rd position but then they have always been a UV manufacturer till now (barring the Verito). I personally would want them to stick to the UV segment (which is their forte), even if that means slipping down a position or two. On the other hand, TATA has a wide range of product portfolio - right from the Nano to the Indica to Manza to Sumo to Safari and finally Aria.

Tata was not able to leverage the overall reputation and trust which people have for tata group in India for their motor division .

And same with mahindra , with 60 years of expreince in making jeeps they yet have not figured out how to make a nigggle free car .
Yet, the "trust" factor which you are talking about lies more in M&M's products. I recently did a survey for my MBA project and the biggest problem with TATA's products is that people dont 'trust' them. Mind you, like all other surveys, mine is based on a small sample size too, but then that is a representative sample of the entire Indian market. So it is entirely unto you to believe the survey or not.

When we talk about M&M's product, it is only the XUV which has shown niggles. The Scorpio, Bolero and Xylo were considered very reliable. Please ignore the few one off cases. But when it comes to Tata, the issues started with their first generation Indica, was carried forward to the Safari and the infamous DICOR engine, then the Manza and the Aria too. The most reliable TATA ever made has been the Sumo. Some owners may jump in to say that their cars have done so & so kms and had never had an issue. Good, but I am talking on a larger scale.

My survey asks a question in the end - which among Tata and M&M will you consider for your next purchase? 80% said M&M. That's a huge difference.

Please note, all the above are my personal observations only.

Talking about reputation regarding mahindra and tata is like comparing a man with 3 fingers and 2 and half fingers when actually fact remains both are handicapped .
True. But when we are comparing two companies, it is always a relative comparison.

Normal public ( non internet savvy ) treat both at same level .
I have found out that its not really true.

Infact, forget the surveys. Even in my day to day encounters, I have met more people who trust M&M more than Tata when it comes to their cars. Of course, you may have different experiences.

Lets not go very far in deciding fate of tata motors just so early .
I am not deciding TATA's fate here. Touch wood, it would be one of India's best manufacturer some day. But as of today, I cant just see that happening. That is the reason I said I am awaiting for a drastic change.

Where as I noted exactly the opposite when I stepped in M & M. I am not surprised at the sales figures TATA down trending by 58%. For M & M there could be several reasons for slighter (9%) dip in their sales, could be launch of Ecosport, Audi masam to name a few. One would still surprise how could M & M able to sustain their volume despite so many issues (Brakes, Clutch, Electronics, bumpy rides) a million $$$ question to me at the moment!
As I said, I have personally observed that people trust M&M more than TATA when it comes to their automotive division. Others may have different observations.

Inspite of the niggles in the XUV, people still want to buy the XUV because M&M has done a consistent improvement in the product since the day of its launch. Most of the issues were with the products of the initial batches. Secondly, I have heard and read umpteen cases where people had issues in their XUV and M&M has been more than supportive to help them out, sometimes doing the extra bit to satisfy the customer. Members here in this forum say that it is the duty of the company to do that and they are not doing anything special. Agreed, but then that is where people's perception of a brand changes. As of today, inspite of the niggles, most of the XUV owners are happy with their vehicles. That is because of the customer service of M&M.