Tata Storme vs Mahindra XUV5OO - Which One To Choose?

@ Raja, brake replacement is due to anticipated fear of CPA.,while tripmeter update is a good gesture.,However the ' brake replacement ' also sounds like ' good gesture ' as mahindras have done it before someone reaches the court.
Hahahahahaha that was typical tornado humor [clap]
CPA is consumer protection act.

It can be deterimental to the automaker as follows ,in case of dharmesh, if he files an application in the court of cpa against fiat for delivering defective axle equipped car ,court would definitely compell fiat to relpace the axle free of cost and would then impose heavy fine and ask them to pay comensation to dharmesh for the mental and financial damage suffered due to same reason.
But if dharmesh files a case against fiat for providing a car with low gc as compared to 2112 models ,then fiat would get relief from court as dharmesh was well informed about gc specification
by fiat before the deal was done.

In case of XUV ,possibilty of getting punished is high as m&m never informed the custermer that brakrkes are going to create noise and they won't be able to proove thst noisy brakes are not
unsafe.

ustemer
However, if someone complains about the 3 digit tripmeter, m&m can easily get relief from the court.as the custmer had checked the specifications before the deal.
unsafeunsafe.
Thanx for the detailed explanation .

i still dont get it how brake noise can be a condition for CPA or even a case for m & m.

Brakes did not fail with earlier pads.

Stopping distance was lower than storme as per official test drives.

The fact is, even after so much of “internet cry” on the “famous XUV niggles” mostly by non XUV owners[roll], the product still continues to sell more than twice that of Storme. XUV did come with some niggles, which shouldn’t have happened in the first place. Agreed, but it is arguably the first and only product from an Indian Car manufacturer at par with international standards in terms of safety and luxury features. It was a “great effort” relatively in the Indian context, especially considering the price bracket it came with/under.

Unfortunately even in 2013, every single car from our manufacturers do have its own share of niggles. Some appear initially and get rectified over a couple years time, where as some others remain unresolved but ‘get used to” by the customers. Though our Indian manufacturers do show some levels of improvement, they still have a lot to catch up in the QC department.

Since it is a fact that niggles are part of the package, any action taken by the company to address them can’t be named as ‘good gesture’, it’s their duty to do so.

As long as the company is right up there to address any issues/niggles proactively, a customer in me should be very much satisfied, I don’t care whether it was done as a good gesture or they were just performing their duty.

Nobody denies that these companies are here to do business. The question is who does the business better. The company who does its business better in the long run, should be the one who would treat its customers better as it is very well known that good customer service is the lifeblood of any business.

BTW,
  • the introduction of withyouhamesha , but how it functions especially the accuracy of the data like service history is to be verified in a long run though.
  • the recent trip-meter upgrade for XUV
are certainly good gestures from Mahindra and for that they need to be appreciated.

so i am taking your case and inferring. and applying it to XUV.

people complained about the grinding noise, the brake pads were changed free of cost : nothing great.

then M & M upgraded the brake pads periodically with a newer set of brake pads for all the customers, whether they complain or not : so GREAT ?
M&M upgraded brake pads periodically for the reasons known to all, If everything was all right why to change brake pads again and again. Like there is saying "Why to fix when it is not broken".

i still dont get it how brake noise can be a condition for CPA or even a case for m & m.

Brakes did not fail with earlier pads.

Stopping distance was lower than storme as per official test drives.
When a single rattle can be condition for CPA then anything can be. As we all know a simple tuk tuk sound from our car can make us feel uneasy while driving, think what a grinding noise from brake can do to a normal not auto educated person.

Now if we consider Raj, he is well aware of everything and also knows that sound have nothing to do efficiency of brakes. But for normal person if you ask him "Sala brake mein kuch to lafda hia, time pe laga nahi to". (It seems there is some problem in brakes, if it did not work when required, then what?).

For me MnM is doing great job by resolving the issues of the consumers on priority basis. I am happy with that. But we need to understand the difference between MnM's duty and MnM's good gesture.

people complained about the grinding noise, the brake pads were changed free of cost : nothing great.
Buddy don't you feel that it's their duty to provide their customers a niggle free vehicle.

then M & M upgraded the brake pads periodically with a newer set of brake pads for all the customers, whether they complain or not : so GREAT ?
No buddy that's not great why because if they won't have done that then there would have been more customers with grinding noise complain. For ex: Maybe out of 55000 they have 1000 customers now but if they would have used the earlier pads than this number might have crossed 2000.

Which means more complains, more negative reviews, more customer frustration and more expenses.

As long as the company is right up there to address any issues/niggles proactively, a customer in me should be very much satisfied, I don’t care whether it was done as a good gesture or they were just performing their duty.
Exactly that is what matters.

The fact is, even after so much of “internet cry” on the “famous XUV niggles” mostly by non XUV owners], the product still continues to sell more than twice that of Storme.
Exactly non- owners had nothing to lose or gain so they made the hoopla on internet which actually benefited the owners by mahindra recalling the car . [clap]

Better then non - owners who kept on defending the car as if the car , brakes , were designed by them for mahindra .
Some even now feel screeching noise from brakes in 16 lakhs car is ok as long as they perform .[lol]

Same were even without seating in the storme were bashing the car , so its ok a consumer has his opinion and he is free to give it .

Take example of you and me we both don't own either of the cars yet are very active on this thread typing our opinions right ? [:D]

And your statement of xuv sells more then storme and what does that prove ? What if I say mahindra is -39% year on year basis regarding sales of xuv ? And after recall their numbers are coming down ?

XUV did come with some niggles, which shouldn’t have happened in the first place. Agreed,
Thanx god atleast you agree it did come with some niggles .

but it is arguably the first and only product from an Indian Car manufacturer at par with international standards in terms of safety and luxury features. It was a “great effort” relatively in the Indian context, especially considering the price bracket it came with/under.
So what ? Already as consumers we appreciated mahindra for the effort, what else we must do ?
Unfortunately even in 2013, every single car from our manufacturers do have its own share of niggles. Some appear initially and get rectified over a couple years time, where as some others remain unresolved but ‘get used to” by the customers. Though our Indian manufacturers do show some levels of improvement, they still have a lot to catch up in the QC department.
Agreed .
Since it is a fact that niggles are part of the package, any action taken by the company to address them can’t be named as ‘good gesture’, it’s their duty to do so.
This is exactly we are saying too .
Agreed then statements like atleast " mahindra owes it " doesn't make sense . And beside we were not talking about what we individually feel we were just talking about the survey and how the survey uses a flawed and outdated model to gauge costumer satisfaction .

Nobody denies that these companies are here to do business. The question is who does the business better. The company who does its business better in the long run, should be the one who would treat its customers better as it is very well known that good customer service is the lifeblood of any business.
Exactly the one which will not do will get washed out from the market simple .

*]the introduction of withyouhamesha , but how it functions especially the accuracy of the data like service history is to be verified in a long run though.
Like you yourself said I will wait for the verification of that service if it works as intended and like you I have my opinion that its not a gesture its just part of business nothing great .
Btw +100 for the trip matter , that's a good gesture indeed .

yes. no two ways about it. i am just trying to gauge what would qualify as good service.
all i get upto now is "nothing great"
good service is a must, its a basic ability , its a prerequisite in the segment in which xuv comes in hence

Good service = nothing great .

Same goes for Toyota and Honda too they provide great service but that is what is given since their cars are expensive then the competition so giving great service is not some great extraordinary feat achieved by them .

Do you expect a bad service or a good service in a five star hotel ?

good service is a must, its a basic ability , its a prerequisite in the segment in which xuv comes in hence

Good service = nothing great .

Same goes for Toyota and Honda too they provide great service but that is what is given since their cars are expensive then the competition so giving great service is not some great extraordinary feat achieved by them .

thanks for the clarification.

BTW my building compound now has a XUV in it too.[:)]

Exactly non- owners had nothing to lose or gain so they made the hoopla on internet which actually benefited the owners by mahindra recalling the car .
Same were even without seating in the storme were bashing the car , so its ok a consumer has his opinion and he is free to give it .
Take example of you and me we both don't own either of the cars yet are very active on this thread typing our opinions right ?
I know what I am posting here.
BTW, I owned a Tata vehicle earlier and have a Mahindra now. [;)]

And your statement of xuv sells more then storme and what does that prove ? What if I say mahindra is -39% year on year basis regarding sales of xuv ?
We have had enough on this in the other thread of yours already.[sleep]

And after recall their numbers are coming down ?
As a customer, I would prefer a manufacturer accepting their fault openly and declaring official recalls. It’s unfortunate that people associate “recall” with “bad products”.

Even in case of Storme, if Tata have identified faults, if any, after its launch, I would appreciate if those are corrected through some sort of “recall” with immediate effect informing all the owners in advance, let the defects be associated with doors or any other.

Like you yourself said I will wait for the verification of that service if it works as intended and like you I have my opinion that its not a gesture its just part of business nothing great .
Let Mahindra use it for their marketing/business, why should I be worried?
As a customer does it enhance your experience? or
does it have any potential to offer any additional benefits/support to the customers? It does.

BTW, I wish it doesn’t get disappeared the way this, “Tata Aria Priority Assistance” did,[lol] though the latter is no where comparable to the one from Mahindra.

I know what I am posting here.
BTW, I owned a Tata vehicle earlier and have a Mahindra now. [;)]
You allways post sensible stuff and your opinion , and I think everybody who is posting knows what they are posting and they post their opinions . ( or else mods are clever and efficient enough to delete the post which are useless )

You owned a tata vehicle before and a mahindra vehicle now I know that, but what has that to do with your opinions about xuv and storme in particular ?

Are we talking about brand loyalty/ love / hate here or cars in questions ?

I never owned or even don't know if I will ever own any cars from tata or mahindra hence I have a advantage of having my opinion free of prejudice because I don't gain or lose anything . [;)]

We have had enough on this in the other thread of yours already.
And since you belive in numbers ( assuming it because you gave the sales figures example ) majority of members care less for which car sells less or more the polls there indicate that .

As a customer, I would prefer a manufacturer accepting their fault openly and declaring official recalls. It’s unfortunate that people associate “recall” with “bad products”.
This is you and me and other members who understand and respect a official recall and dont care for sales figures .
general public sometimes dosent . The same general public also associate high sales means good car and low sales means bad car ideology unfortunately .

Even in case of Storme, if Tata have identified faults, if any, after its launch, I would appreciate if those are corrected through some sort of “recall” with immediate effect informing all the owners in advance, let the defects be associated with doors or any other.

Infact every company must do that . The govt of India must have more strict rules .
Let Mahindra use it for their marketing/business, why should I be worried?
As a customer does it enhance your experience? or
does it have any potential to offer any additional benefits/support to the customers? It does.
So there is nothing to be worried and the same time nothing to cherish . As a consumer more of such things the better .
BTW, I wish it doesn’t get disappeared the way this, “Tata Aria Priority Assistance” did,[lol] though the latter is no where comparable to the one from Mahindra.
Exactly it should not disappear hence wait and see how it unfolds , when we don't know anything about it now why to term it as a good / bad gesture ? So Hold on, if it turns good that's better for consumer if it dosent then its unfortunate for the consumer .

Brakes did not fail .
If at all brakes fail and happen to cause an accident ,then the case would stand in the criminal court rather than CPA court and that too against the owner of the car .And probably against m&m.if the car owner and his lawyer is aware of internet hoopla about the brakes. If the concerned owner prooves that he had comlained about the brake noise to m&mASS in the past ,but he was sent back with same brakes then m&m won't get any relief from the law just by providing ' braking distance comparison of xuv vs storme. '

But if m&m prooves that noisy brakes were replaced with better non noisy ones then court would dismiss any allegation against them on the day one of the hearing.
However ,if they start showing the 'sales figures 'then the court proceedings would be adjourned till the laughfter subsides.

I think every one expects five star service .

. It’s unfortunate that people associate “recall” with “bad products]
”. +100000, And lack of reading and reserch is a major cause for this.

I will definitely keep track of the following part of your post.

BTW, I wish it doesn’t get disappeared the way this, “Tata Aria Priority Assistance” did,[lol] though the latter is no where comparable to the one from Mahindra.[/QUOTE]

Well, These days every car manufacturer has a log of the car they have sold. Every service, every part put into the car, every fault detected will be registered by the ASS.

Now the "with you hamesha" thing. Well, for the ones who dont know and are happy to ignore, It doesnt do any thing other than give you access into the log of your car (which all the manufacturers do including Mahindra). And the rest, ie service cost calculator, things to replaced and stuff, why do you think they give you "OWNERS MANUAL".

The "OWNERS MANUAL" has every thing that you need to know about your car. Even the spares that are going to be used and stuff.

So this "With you hamesha" is just catering the needs of the 'tech savvy' generation who need every thing digital.