Tata Storme vs Mahindra XUV5OO - Which One To Choose?

Mahindra has increased the service intervals of the XUV from every 10k kms to every 20 kms ()
God bless IR for the pioneering efforts done by him .He has labelled the previous servicing intervals as '' over kill while requesting the m&m to increase the servicing interval.

Even prices of consumables like oil, filters, etc. has been reduced.
The oil and oil filter costs just about 2-2.5k now and mind you, this runs for 20k kms, before it needs to be replaced.
For this god bless TAI and this thread as it has exposed the exorbitant pricing of the spares , and M & M seems to be agreeing with us now[clap] .Thank you Gurrala for starting the thread.I know actually XUV owners should be thankful to the thread starter.

The air filter needs to be changed every 40k and not before that.
Ideally ' withyouhamesha' should answer these questions, why uptill now air filter replacement interval was before 40 k km ?
What was the fault of the initial owners of XUV as they have suffered from ' the cost of the early intervals for servicing and replacements' ?

It is ironical to see ARIA was bashed for declaring ' heavy discounts' which caused loss of resale value for the initial owners but XUV is praised for similar thing.

@navnit and raj 5004 , I was under impression that PM short form of private message but now I feel that it is short form of ' Public Message'.[;)]

It is too early to comment on usefulness of the cost calculator of ' withyouhamesha ' and 'horizonext' publicly.IMO.

@ raj 5004 , I agree with your following part of the comment as long as we custemers get benefits due the intensified competition between the automakers.

All's well that ends well...

Well the service charges for xuv is 2500rs in delhi as of 14 June 2013 did they reduce further then this ? and as reported by tornado the service charges for storme is 1100 rs and in Mumbai its 1500 rs
Yea, but XUV has a service in 20k kms and Storme has it in 15k kms. The lesser frequency of services also reduces the cost, isnt it?

If not much of a difference, atleast it may be on par...

On other famous forum people are actually saying prices of stone guard which is just made of plastic is expensive for the xuv
Why should we compare prices of accessories in maintenance costs?

In that case, the new touch screen HU of Storme is said to be horribly priced. Lets wait for TATA to launch the 'Explorer' variant of the Storme then!

And btw have you visited the xuv Facebook page and some other forums ? people have made a big joke of their TNS survey .

Consumer Reports - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
As I have said before, I anyways dont trust these surveys.

And tata must learn from mahindra that if pampered the anger of a consumer somewhat cools down .
This is what I have been saying from day one. If a customer is given good service and support, then he may bear some of the inconveniences cause by the vehicle's niggles. But if he is treated like trash, then even a fused bulb can make his blood boil.

If you go to a five star restaurant, you expect a royal treatment because you are paying a premium. But what if the waiter drops a drink on you while serving? If the waiter is apologetic and guides you to the washroom to help yourself and even offers a complimentary dessert or drink as a goodwill gesture, you will pass it off as a mistake and shake hands. But instead if both the waiter and the manager corners you and blames you for sitting in the wrong place or say that 'such things happen, nothing can be done about it'... you will make sure they are taught a lesson.

God bless IR for the pioneering efforts done by him .He has labelled the previous servicing intervals as '' over kill while requesting the m&m to increase the servicing interval.
Earlier, the service interval was a ridiculous 3k kms. That was the time, IR wrote a mail to them and they changed it to a more understandable 10k kms. Now, I think they have changed it to 20k on their own, unless I missed something... IR???

Ideally ' withyouhamesha' should answer these questions, why uptill now air filter replacement interval was before 40 k km ?
What was the fault of the initial owners of XUV as they have suffered from ' the cost of the early intervals for servicing and replacements' ?
[frustration]

When people bought the XUV way back then, they were informed that the service intervals would be 3k or 10k. It is not that they were cheated. They knew what they were buying and agreed to it before putting down their money on it.

And now when the service intervals are increased, even the older customers would be benefited, not just the new ones.

It is ironical to see ARIA was bashed for declaring ' heavy discounts' which caused loss of resale value for the initial owners but XUV is praised for similar thing.
Does reducing prices of spares lower the resale value of a car? [confused]

Isnt there a difference between giving discounts on the price of the car and lowering maintenance costs?

@navnit and raj 5004 , I was under impression that PM short form of private message but now I feel that it is short form of ' Public Message'.[;)]
navnit was informed before this discussion was pasted online. I felt it is more appropriate to discuss things online rather than on PMs... IF ITS NOTHING PERSONAL.

For this god bless TAI and this thread as it has exposed the exorbitant pricing of the spares , and M & M seems to be agreeing with us now[clap] .Thank you Gurrala for starting the thread.I know actually XUV owners should be thankful to the thread starter.

It is too early to comment on usefulness of the cost calculator of ' withyouhamesha ' and 'horizonext' publicly.IMO.
tornado read this , what have you to say about the CC ? like i said if tata is shaitaan , mahindra is a devil which pampers .
reactions from people on xuv offfical facebook page as of 14 june 2013 .

about tata and their storme i have just posted above how our member mukesh was frustrated .

both our indian car makers need work .

Why should we compare prices of accessories in maintenance costs?

In that case, the new touch screen HU of Storme is said to be horribly priced. Lets wait for TATA to launch the 'Explorer' variant of the Storme then!
Bro the stone guard is the engine cover of xuv which got damaged its not a accessorie , even your car has that .

Please don't even mention about the HU of storme it is the worst ever HU I have seen in my life just one word atrocious .
As I have said before, I anyways dont trust these surveys.
I know you don't , but some were providing rationale about how great the survey is and how metaciously the sampling is done .

This is what I have been saying from day one. If a customer is given good service and support, then he may bear some of the inconveniences cause by the vehicle's niggles. But if he is treated like trash, then even a fused bulb can make his blood boil.

If you go to a five star restaurant, you expect a royal treatment because you are paying a premium. But what if the waiter drops a drink on you while serving? If the waiter is apologetic and guides you to the washroom to help yourself and even offers a complimentary dessert or drink as a goodwill gesture, you will pass it off as a mistake and shake hands. But instead if both the waiter and the manager corners you and blames you for sitting in the wrong place or say that 'such things happen, nothing can be done about it'... you will make sure they are taught a lesson.
+1000 I agree with you completely , and also request you to read official Facebook page of xuv and some reactions from owners from non- metro cities .

For example this -->

Kokila Kohli -The so called ,"PURPLE CLUB", for Mahindra XUV 500 owners exists on paper only, at the time of booking. Mahindra has so called work shops all over the country, but when in reality, in a place like Jodhpur, Rajasthan, it is beyond their brain capacity to fix any electronic faults, or to even be able to comprehend the problem indicated by the computer on the panel. Also, since petrol pumps here don't have educated/ trained attendants to top up or check oil, coolant etc., I ended up going to O.S. motors. After they finally understood what I wanted.....
Like · Reply · 1 · June 11 at 7:32am via mobile
Source -

https://www.facebook.com/MahindraXUV500

So I say tata is a shaitaan and mahindra is a devil which pampers .

Bro the stone guard is the engine cover of xuv which got damaged its not a accessorie , even your car has that .
Sorry, I missed the stone part and read it as guard!

+1000 I agree with you completely , and also request you to read official Facebook page of xuv and some reactions from owners from non- metro cities .

For example this -->
Egg-jhaak-taaly!

@Raja and Dharmesh

Yes there are niggles reported by one of member finally, but most annoying part is the handling of TASS which is hopeless and pathetic. Here Mahindra seems to be very proactive and customer supportive[:)]

in my view both tata and mahindra are good and equally pathetic and need a lot of work .

so lets not label as one is great and 0ne is bad .

both have some cool sweet stories and some horrible stories

the fact is both are growing companies as they need appreciation they also need to be critized keeping our brand love , loyalty , prejudice aside .

dont belive me ? well proof is in the pudding .

kindly see the attachments and then tell me which is good mahindra or tata ? iam sure it will be hard for you to tell who is good or bad .

following are reactions on xuv official facebook page as of this month that is june 2013 after they posted that xuv won coustomer satisfaction award from TNS.

@Tornado,

That PM with Raj was not meant to be a PM, thought it would save a few pages of unwanted discussion.

Raj had asked permission and was granted.[glasses]

in my view both tata and mahindra are good and equally pathetic and need a lot of work .

so lets not label as one is great and 0ne is bad .

both have some cool sweet stories and some horrible stories

kindly see the attachments and then tell me which is good mahindra or tata ? iam sure it will be hard for you to tell who is good or bad .
Raja, you have attached only Mahindra's SOB stories, nothing about TATA, so we cant compare.

Here are some poor reviews by Storme owners:

I have purchased a new Tata Safari Storme this Jan, 2013 and it has been driven for 9500 Kms only and already the car has started showing overheating problem. The engine stops working after every 2-3 kms. The second service is not even due still today. I have given my car for rectification of the overheating problem in service centre in Srinat Ji Motors Kaushambi, U.P . Let see whether the problem will be solved or not but anyways
It is very shameful to see your new car gets stopped in middle of road for overheating when it is so new.
Source: Carwale.com

Look and Style - We bought vx storme in jan 13. Interior good but exterior just plain ..

Comfort - Looks like a mini tata truck then SUV.bounces on rough terrain.

Pickup - Good.

Mileage - Can not expect much from a 2650 kg mini truck named SUV.drive Kia SUV and feel difference.

Best Features - Pick up and power .ac.interior.

Needs to improve - refineness in assembly.engine noise and vibration,weight,exteriors,

Overall Experience - Bought a Ac mini bus in lieu of SUV. company is fooling customers. seat belt gets entangled. driver seat has torn my 6 trousers, parking sensors alarm without any object in rear. dont be fooled by ads. poorest resale value
Source: Cardekho.com

I have purchase new tata storme but all doors is heavy noise from the purchase date, I have repaired many times from the Tata service center but problem is still now as a thes.I have repaired many times from the Tata service center but problem is still now not solve, I think tata company that has cheated, and they are not intersted in solve the problems,
Source: Cardekho.com

Please note some of the above are just a few among the handful of reviews available online from actual Storme users. If you search, you may find more such reviews by actual users.

You will find a lot of such stories online... not just for the XUV, but for every car. I can show you hundred of such posts cribbing about Toyotas and Hondas too. Even Marutis.

Point made is - every product has its share of positive and negative reviews online. Safari Storme is too new and has sold far less (in comparison) to get its share of negative publicity. Even a good product will have some amount of negative publicity. That is the reason, I always follow "ownership reviews" because there are a perfect indication of not just what went wrong, but also about how it was handled and what happened later. Basically, it shows a complete picture of the ownership experience.

Coming to the XUV, I would always ask prospective buyers to look at ownership experiences of the newer batches of XUVs. It is not the most reliable car in India, but if you want something like that, you are better off with the Innova.

As of today, if you ask me -

Which is a more reliable car? - It should be the Storme.
Which is a better car? - It has to be the XUV5OO. In my opinion.

Who should buy the XUV? - Someone who test drove the XUV, liked it more than the Storme and can live with some niggles like headlights fusing.
Who should buy the Storme? - Someone who wants a "comparatively" reliable car and does not like the Innova.
Who should buy the Innova? - Someone who has lots of money and wants the 'T' tag on his car.
Who should buy the Aria? - ..........................

Raja, you have attached only Mahindra's SOB stories, nothing about TATA, so we cant compare.
you or anybody can post here as many stories of storme as they come so we can have other side of the picture too . and in the end it will help readers to see a clear picture .

and can you give us the source of the post you posted about complaints in storme ? i.

i lost patience in posting all the sob stories of mahindra from their official social media communicating page of facebook since they are just way way too many , maybe because it got sold well before compared to what it sells now .

And I posted them just to show Gurralla that there are equally bad amount of a.s.s support in mahindra too and not just tata . Infact more or less both are in same category .

Secondly, you will find a lot of such stories online... not just for the XUV, but for every car. I can show you hundred of such posts cribbing about Toyotas and Hondas too. Even Marutis.
exactly so why to make and declare a saint or a sinner out of tata and mahindra ??.
Point made is - every product has its share of positive and negative reviews online. Safari Storme is too new and has sold far less (in comparison) to get its share of negative publicity.
what has that to do with overall a.s.s ? as we clearly see that its not all that rosy with mahindra with their so called 5 star a.s.s.

infact a.s.s is something which is the most complained about thing after cheap parts being used in the xuv .

you can clearly see in pics attached many have complained that mahindra a.s.s has not been able to rectify many issues .

point made is both are equal in terms of the a.s.s and have equal amount of sob stories .

taking your logic and assuming that stormes are sold less , they are selling in the range of 700-1200 , how big is that a difference ? 2000 cars ? if problems have to occur they will occur in a car which is sold 1000 or 10000 .

storme even after being relatively selling less then xuv , the complaint of door rattling from the first lot quickly surfaced and was all over the web world .

how come aria had problems and they were quite famous inspite of not being sold like the xuv ?

arias official page also had some extremely bad reviews from owners , even though they were sold in less numbers .

the fact of the matter is both tata and mahindra are sailing in same boat , its just that one is red and other is blue in colour . so lets not degarde one or make other look golden .

so anybody wants a complete piece of mind ( fill it shut it forget it in terms of car and after a.s.s ) both are not upto the mark yet IMHPO ( in my honest personal opinion ) .

Does that mean one must refrain from buying both cars ? No absolutely not , its just that get a clear picture of the thing in which you are getting into since both are fairly expensive vehicles .

And not get carried away by sales numbers , gimmicky surveys , publicity made by both the companies .

i dint find sob stories of safari storme , if you can find it will be great
I have edited that in the above post and added some reviews.

Some other issues members faced in other forum. Obviously, I cannot copy-paste it because of forum rules, so I will jot some of them here -

1) Power window makes noise
2) Power steering makes noise when turned
3) Brakes lost bite and sensitivity within 1500 kms (premature wearing)
4) Handbrake does not hold the car on a slope on a brand new car
5) Gear lever vibrations and noise
6) Rattling issues
7) Issues with door locks
8) Issues with suspension (bumpy ride in rear seat)
9) Steering wobbles when braking in new car
10) Power steering jammed - will turn right, but will not turn left completely
11) Remote not working in new car
12) Rattle in rear AC vents
13) Rattle from tail gate and glove box in new car
14) Wind coming in from fully closed rear window
15) Doors are very heavy with use
16) ORVMs vibrating at high speeds

Other minor niggles like loose footrest and mudflaps exist, but not worth mentioning.

One member quotes: "I was told that the STORME is quality wise way-way better than the 2.2. but looking at your list of issues, I recollect my warranty and extended warranty days."

Please note that the above niggles are only from 3 ownership reviews, I did not read the rest. I think the above is suffice to show that every car has some niggles.

Member "decool" of our forum has faced a similar situation in his Storme too: "Faced the first problem with my beast while driving to Yercaud (a hill station that requires around 21 hair pins to reach). Took the first left hair pin and the beast ended up on the wrong side of the road – was totally shocked and wasn’t sure if I was driving properly.

On the next left hair pin, took my time to make as wide a turn possible and even that was not enough. However, the right turns were going along fine. It took me 3 or 4 turns to finally conclude something was amiss with the beast. Somehow managed to negotiate the remaining turns and got there. (some pics of the beast in Yercaud below)

On the way back, took a different route during the day with lesser hair pin bends and lesser traffic and went straight to the dealership. TASS mentioned that the issue was due to loosening of ball joint bolt which I think is a serious problem, and am not sure how that could affect only the left turn. "

taking your logic and assuming that stormes are sold less , they are selling in the range of 700-1200 , how big is that a difference ? 2000 cars ? if problems have to occur they will occur in a car which is sold 1000 or 10000 .

storme even after being relatively selling less then xuv , the complaint of door rattling from the first lot quickly surfaced and was all over the web world .

how come aria had problems and they were quite famous inspite of not being sold like the xuv ?

arias official page also had some extremely bad reviews from owners , even though they were sold in less numbers .
Count the overall number of XUVs on the road buddy and compare it to the Storme. Taking an average figure of 3500, there would be around 70-80k XUVs on road compared to about 9-10k Stormes. The XUV was launched a full year ago... More the users, more the reviews online. More the reviews, more the chances to find negative reviews.

For example, I searched another forum and it has only 4-5 Storme ownership reviews but has around 15 XUV ownership threads. So, chances of finding negative reviews/niggles in threads are lesser owing to lesser number of owners and hence threads/posts.

the fact of the matter is both tata and mahindra are sailing in same boat , its just that one is red and other is blue in colour . so lets not degarde one or make other look golden .

so anybody wants a complete piece of mind ( fill it shut it forget it in terms of car and after a.s.s ) both are not upto the mark yet IMHPO ( in my honest personal opinion ) .
+100.

Do all ownership reports are facing this issues ? And did the t a s s solved it ? But thanx for posting them , let readers read it .

Please note that the above niggles are only from 3 ownership reviews, I did not read the rest. I think the above is suffice to show that every car has some niggles.
Our forum has more ownership threads of storme and so far only 3 owners have reported issues like rattling which was solved to perfection . And Mukesh whose problem and solution both have posted above .

Count the overall number of XUVs on the road buddy and compare it to the Storme. Taking an average figure of 3500 (not 2000!), there would be around 70-80k XUVs on road compared to about 9-10k Stormes. The XUV was launched a full year ago... More the users, more the reviews online. More the reviews, more the chances to find negative reviews.
Dear I understand but problems in xuv started as early as 1500- 3000 Kms the nigggles thread on xuv on some forum has started after 2 months of its launch . Why are you forgetting that fact ?
The thread kept growing when they sold just 1500 then 3500 and even now when its 2200 .
Also the fact that new owners from new batch ate also having problems .

Off topic -
To give you an example android sells a lot , but their are issues of virus . The iPhone too sells a lot yet there are no issues of virus because inherently the system is made to be virus proof . The windows phone sells less but their are no issues as viruses not because it sells less its because the system has made it virus proof . ( read strict control and approval process of submitting apps in the store by microsoft like iOS )
Tomorrow if by magic android starts selling less still it will be vulnerable to virus until and unless google changes their policy .
For example, I searched another forum and it has only 4-5 Storme ownership reviews but has around 15 XUV ownership threads. So, chances of finding negative reviews/niggles in threads are lesser owing to lesser number of owners and hence threads/posts.
There are equal amount of Innova reviews also like the xuv do you find so many issues ? The same forum iam sure has aria ownership threads too and and they are very few yet are full of glorious niggles .

If there are quality control issues , bad designs they will surface no matter how many car units are sold .

Do all ownership reports are facing this issues ? And did the t a s s solved it ? But thanx for posting them , let readers read it .
As I said, I have read only 3 out of the 4 or 5 ownership threads. Some issues are common among different threads. Why should all ownership reports face the same issue anyways? In case of the issues of XUVs mentioned, many are one-off cases, except of common (and old) issues like brake grinding noise.

Yes, T.A.S.S. did manage to resolve many of the issues and hence the owners are satisfied.

Exactly my point and now compare this with complaints from owners about xuv in the above attached pics from Facebook , can one seriously say which has better a.s.s ? Both are equally worst and equally good .
+10.

Our forum has more ownership threads of storme and so far only 3 owners have reported issues like rattling which was solved to perfection . And Mukesh whose problem and solution both have posted above .
Yes, that is the reason I searched outside our forum. [:)]

If you look at our forum ONLY, all XUV owners are happy with their cars!

As I said, I have read only 3 out of the 4 or 5 ownership threads. Some issues are common among different threads. Why should all ownership reports face the same issue anyways? In case of the issues of XUVs mentioned, many are one-off cases, except of common (and old) issues like brake grinding noise.
Clutch plates , power steering , power windows , alarm breaking down ,music system conking , head lights conking are also most common issues faced by many many xuv owners ,along with that infamous brake noise . If you keep a tab on xuv Facebook page you will see a clear pattern and also many ownership reports are proof of that . And also the famous recall done because of faulty components .

I asked you if all faced same issues in storme , just to find a common pattern ( like rattling of doors from first batch ,which tata solved by changing hinges in first 1000 km service ) and compare them with problems faced by owners on our forum to see a pattern like observed in xuv regarding issues .

Yes, T.A.S.S. did manage to resolve many of the issues and hence the owners are satisfied.
This is the point , then what edge are we talking about mahindra and their a.s.s which is brought allways by some saying they are effective then tata in solving issues ?

It is same as tata , only they have a RM which are at times clueless as seen from the Facebook responses .

Means

mahindra is also thrashed by owners which at times even owners of tata cars do to tata .

Both resolve the issues ,

both are capable of not resolving issues ,

both have cheater dealers ,

both have lack luster a.s.s .

Both keep vehicles in their a,s,s without solving the issue .

Both take owners for a ride .

Both change things under warranty without making any fuss .

Both have a.s.s which are equally clueless about handling electronics .

Both cars can breakdown in the middle of journey .

And both owners of xuv and storme regret their decision of buying it and some keep singing praises of respective cars also .

If mahindra has launched that " hamesha " thing , tata has launched horizon next or whatever .

And both initiatives are yet to prove how they excel in real time .

So my point is do not glorify one and thrash other since both are almost equal on both grounds .

If tata is bad and good , mahindra is equally bad and good .

And Reporting issues and making noise about either of the cars must not be taken personally since none of us have desgined the car nor work for mahindra or Tata.

I was told that both car makers watch this thread by one respected moderator so rather showing our brand love lets bash them and their wrong doings which will in the end help the interested consumer .

Yes, that is the reason I searched outside our forum. [:)]

If you look at our forum ONLY, all XUV owners are happy with their cars!
You are right hence I dint post some glowing post about storme from their owners on our forum too [:)].

Thanks to member 'Mukesh', I will update a few more niggles in the Storme -

Majority of the customers have reported these issues:

1. Door noise: Not sure about the new lot of Storme but earlier manufactured Storme had this issue and Tata is changing the latches and hinges of Storme.
2. Steering hardness: Well i never faced this issue but Tata is changing the washers of the steering and if customer will still report these issues then they will change the entire steering.
3. Air circulation button not working: Due to which you get the outside smell inside.
4. Bluetooth mike not working: This issue has been reported by couple of customers including me and the mike has been replaced.
5. Stereo remote stops working: I think this issue has been reported by few customers including me and is corrected now.

This is the point , then what edge are we talking about mahindra and their a.s.s which is brought allways by some saying they are effective then tata in solving issues ?

so rather showing our brand love lets bash them and their wrong doings which will in the end help the interested consumer .
Yes, this is exactly what I wanted to say -

Storme and XUV are equal in almost every aspect. It is not that the Storme is reliable and niggle free nor is it that M&M is a lot more customer supportive. So ultimately it all depends upon which car suits your preferences and priorities more.

Purely from my personal observation, I feel that the Storme has fewer electronic glitches when compared to the XUV and I have also observed that M&M is comparatively more customer centric and supportive than TATA. Dont ask me for analytical data supporting this, I dont have any! Other's opinions may differ, that's okay.

Although, after looking at the overall posts and various experiences posted by different members, it can be assumed that both the XUV and Storme are equal in these aspects. The vehicle will be reliable (if you get such a car) and the customer service will be great if you have a good A.S.S. near you.

Also, you had asked me for the source of the issues of Storme - unfortunately, the source does not show up on this forum even if I type it. You can just google it.

Thanks to member 'Mukesh', I will update a few more niggles in the Storme -
This niggles were present for sure , and in first lot itself tata cleared most of them and some were proactive measures ( for a particular batch same like xuv ) send to a.s.s which have been carried out whenever your car goes to a.s.s and since then " as of now " there are no niggles . ( if there are any it will be posted for sure , same goes with xuv too )
Mukesh had some issues which tata guys have sorted out to his content and has been posted above . Both issues and solutions .

About the issue you posted about our member décool's storme he faced the issue with his steering only came up after his storme got stuck in sand and by his own accord it was his driving mistake .

This is the incident

Having got 4x4, couldn’t help going to beaches near home almost every other weekend. The beast was happy too – had no qualms about handling this terrain (tried with 9 [7adults + 2 kids] people on board once). Got used to driving around the beach so often, I forgot the basics and became overconfident. One day, while treading on the beach on 4H (just 2 people on board), stopped on a spot with very loose sand and the beast got stuck. Tried getting it out on 4L but no luck - all attempts only led to sinking it much deeper into the sand. (pic below).

Fortunately, dealership staff came for help in no time and went out of the way to get me out of the mess – right from attempting to dig away the sand all around to make way and handling questions from the police. Finally, they got water from the beach, poured all around and got him out. Took nearly 3.5 hours.

I was also impressed with the cleaning service from the dealership after the recovery – was really worried because there was sand all over. Nowadays am little hesitant to go to the beach as the little misadventure grabbed too much attention.
And

On the way back, took a different route during the day with lesser hair pin bends and lesser traffic and went straight to the dealership. TASS mentioned that the issue was due to loosening of ball joint bolt which I think is a serious problem, and am not sure how that could affect only the left turn. However, given that the beast had been handled a bit roughly during the rescue from beach, decided to pass on this one temporarily. (Requested home delivery after service so haven’t had the chance to discuss with the service people in detail yet)
Sterring hard issue is faced by maranprashant only as far as I know ( that to he felt it hard relatively compared to fortuner and Innova ) . Rest I have atleast never heard of this issue If you have any source you can provide and I will read through it and post it here .

Purely from my personal observation, I feel that the Storme has fewer electronic glitches when compared to the XUV and I have also observed that M&M is comparatively more customer centric and supportive than TATA. Dont ask me for analytical data supporting this, I dont have any! Other's opinions may differ, that's okay.
No it's your personal subjective observation so no analytical data is needed since you have mentioned that its your personal opinion and thus perception .

Similarly like I told you the best in show room treatment in my expreince I recived in Mumbai was from mahindra and tata .
miles better then Honda , Toyota and maruti . Even dharmesh , Superbad , Gurralla were there with me ( although their opinion can differ ) .

But then Again like you no data to prove it they are really better then Honda and Toyota since its just my observation and experience.
Although, after looking at the overall posts and various experiences posted by different members, it can be assumed that both the XUV and Storme are equal in these aspects. The vehicle will be reliable (if you get such a car) and the customer service will be great if you have a good A.S.S. near you.
+100 , iam of a firm opinion that when buying tata or mahindra car one must first research about the local a.s.s even before the test drive [:D] because both companies have polarizing reviews about their a.s.s from various cities in India . What happens in Mumbai dosent allways happen in Jammu and Kannur and vice a versa .
Also, you had asked me for the source of the issues of Storme - unfortunately, the source does not show up on this forum even if I type it. You can just google it.
Its ok I regularly follow the forums which you are talking about . Some niggles were not from that forum so was curious is there some other source which i can go through but its ok .

And i request you and all to post as many issues you find in storme as it will give a clear picture to readers , about what exactly are the issues and if tata is able to solve it or not . Same applicable to mahindra and their xuv .