Tata Safari Storme Vs Rest of the Competition

Tata safari storme Vs rest of the competition

What are you talking about overall package ? it has to be a great package right ? Or else why the hell its priced 25 lakhs ? Inspite of being 25 lakhs it still scores poorly in ride quality , space and comfort infront of a 10-15 lakhs car .and inspite of being 25 lakhs car
You dint answer my question which is more abuse friendly BOF or monoqoue ?

And shall we compare the xuv with Innova , xylo or storme ?

@Vipul : MrRanger never said that Monocoque designed car are not good for off roading, but what he meant to said that it is very costlier for the manufacturer to design car with Monocoque chassis with full off road capabilities.
My dear, kindly go through the lines written below..
Buddy here I'm explaining my views about monocoque vs ladder frame.

Monocoque:The monocoque is a lighter design which adds + for fuel efficiency, the better chassis for performance oriented vehicles. you can notice that all hatches and sedans built on monocoque. also has advantage that crumble zone of the vehicle is built very easily(this advantage is for manufacturer not for USER). during accident it is very difficult to repair this unibody. so no one wants to mess with it by taking for extrem off road.

Ladder frame: The heavy nature and tough, much better than the monocoque for carrying heavy loads and towing heavier objects. much easier to repaire or alter.

Now A FULLTIME SUV is to be a stiffer and easy to maintain/repair, since in extre offroad crumble zone and other part of the car gets affted very easily and it as to be repaired with ease. so No manufaturer is ready to take risk by producing FULLTIME HEAVY DUTY SUV on MONOCOQUE platform, User as to think twice before perchasing Monocoque SUV for exterm usage.

My verdict is, Monocoque is well suited for small cars and crossover SUV and also for luxury,sports,performance vehicle. Not for heavy duty machine like SUVs.
So here the price of Range River is justified. And also if it meets accident then need shell out hell lotz of money to fix it as mentioned by MrRanger.
Reread the lines written above..(it feels good posting when exams are over BTW!![;)])

@Vipul : Personal suggestion, do not use CAPS while writing to some one, this is considered as offense and abuse to the other person.
Noted down buddy, thanks[:)]..you won't find it again for sure. Any more suggestions are welcome(Via PM route BTW).

during accident it is very difficult to repair this unibody. so no one wants to mess with it by taking for extreme off road.

Now A FULLTIME SUV is to be a stiffer and easy to maintain/repair, since in extre offroad crumble zone and other part of the car gets affted very easily and it as to be repaired with ease. so No manufaturer is ready to take risk by producing FULLTIME HEAVY DUTY SUV on MONOCOQUE platform, User as to think twice before perchasing Monocoque SUV for exterm usage.

My verdict is, Monocoque is well suited for small cars and crossover SUV and also for luxury,sports,performance vehicle. Not for heavy duty machine like SUVs.
@Vipul : Please read the bold text on the quoted message above. And I hope you get the point.

He answered his own question , which is better for extreme offroading monoqoue or BOF by quoting [clap].

Offroading is in a way abusing the car , and a BOF can handle abuse better then a monoqoue . The land rover discovery comes with a new type of construction

Land Rover developed a body construction method, marketed as Integrated Body Frame (IBF), where the engine bay and passenger compartment is built as a monocoque, then mated to a basic ladder-frame chassis for the gearbox and suspension. Land Rover claims IBF combines the virtues of monocoque and ladder-frame

Source - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Land_Rover_Discovery

Are we brining range rover here now ? If yes lets open a thread and compare it with BMW x6 or x5 or merc g series .

Read the bold part:

I have already named one manufacturer which produces SUVs in monocoque and that also not from today but since years.

He answered his own question , which is better for extreme offroading monoqoue or BOF by quoting [clap]
Can you tell me where?

Are we brining range rover here now ?
I know what I am comparing with what.
I have given an example just to show that there is no hard and fast rule that BOF is always better for offroaders(which you people follow religiously) but I was expecting that you will come up with something like this only.

Hehe, here is something for you:
http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...omotive-technicalities-how-stuff-works-2.html
I have asked the same in that thread.

Way to keep this thread alive.
[clap]
any curious outsider will have to bang his head reading all the posts in the thread or lose interest in the storme.

Read the bold part:

I have already named one manufacturer which produces SUVs in monocoque and that also not from today but since years.

Can you tell me where?
My dear, I am sure you are confused over something and are clapping on your own condition[lol]
BTW, why you get hyper on a sentence or two??

That is a problem with you, I know what I am comparing with what.
I have given an example just to show that there is no hard and fast rule that BOF is always better for offroaders(which you people follow religiously) but I was expecting that you will come up with something like this only.

Hehe, here is something for you:
http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...omotive-technicalities-how-stuff-works-2.html
I have asked the same in that thread.

Beside that point here is off roading generally ends in abusing the vehicle and BOF can withstand abuse better then a monoqoue .

Btw you think Toyota needs to take their quality control more seriously ?

@ sclass - you are right buddy , elantra + lx storme superb value rather then buying a bouncy fortuner for 25 lakhs

Request to mods - since only because fortuner dosent come in price bracket on storme , xuv , Scorpio I request you to remove fortuner from the poll as it leads to many off topic discussions .

Edit - vipul can you tell us which car maker is making monoqoue SUVs not from today but from years ?

Way to keep this thread alive.
[clap]
any curious outsider will have to bang his head reading all the posts in the thread or lose interest in the storme.
Superbad happy new year [:)]

Why will any 1 lose interest in storme ? If they read the thread they will come to know

1) storme has better ride quality then 25 lakhs fortuner .

2) they will know as per our estmeed knowledgeable member that xuv is a muv and not SUV , but storme is a SUV .

3) its is better then Scorpio .

Rather they will get better insights about storme and will have more interest , atleast the poll on our forum suggest this .

I beg,fortuner stays .

storme and fortuner can be very well compared from buyers perspective.

it was after storme I realized how arrogantly toyota priced it.

I beg,fortuner stays .

I think Storme and Fortuner should cost actually same/similar. It is just that "T" for Toyota is costing Rs.10 lacs more than "T" for TATA. [lol]

Sorry buddy, fortuner notwithstanding boring interiors.
is much upmarket than Storme.

only 2 issues I find fortuner is poor ride quality and high asking price,it rides like a boring truck.18 lakhs would have made sense.

Here I will not agree with you , fortuner has a powerful engine then storme , is super responsive , the fit and finish is very good. But 25 lakhs is too much for a fortuner , it should be priced between 18-20 lakhs IMHO .

Or else sclass options seems great elantra + storme lx [;)]

I do agree Fortuner is over priced (been personally cribbing about this for a long time now) but comparing it to a part time 4wd vehicle is a bit too much. Storme has much better ride quality - no 2 doubts about it, the fortuner is set up more stiffer and hence dynamically is more competent - not to mention you are driving 4x4 full time giving better handling.

This truck debate for me is not worth the time/effort, also how anyone can factually prove Fortuner is better than Safari offroad is beyond me. I think it does deserve a bit more respect - compare it with the pajero and it will come down as a worthy second place.

I do agree Fortuner is over priced (been personally cribbing about this for a long time now) but comparing it to a part time 4wd vehicle is a bit too much. Storme has much better ride quality - no 2 doubts about it, the fortuner is set up more stiffer and hence dynamically is more competent - not to mention you are driving 4x4 full time giving better handling.

This truck debate for me is not worth the time/effort, also how anyone can factually prove Fortuner is better than Safari offroad is beyond me. I think it does deserve a bit more respect - compare it with the pajero and it will come down as a worthy second place.
One of southafrican friend explained me once, Heavier distributed mass offroader is way to go. Better gripping due to weight while crawling, Fortuner being based on Pickup truck and much lighter did never performed as good as his Pajero. usually wheels of fortuner would spin and worsen the situation .

Read the bold part:

Are you indicating FIAT panda? [surprise]. Please tell me which car was it?

I know what I am comparing with what.
in Range rover 2013 they didnt ditched BOF completely, point was just to loose some weight to increase its performance. you must be wondering how range rover manage to retain its off road ablity right ? its simple they reduced weight but the suspension mechanizm is totally different it is electromagnetic dynamic suspension tuner, by increasing/decreasing electro magnetic field the suspension of the vehicle is tuned accordingly and hence differnt behaviour on different surface. All this never comes free, the New Range Rover 2013 is costier than old. it starts from 1.8cr ex delhi.

Fact is still Disco/Prado/Rangie/Uncle Pajero/Jeep cherorke all are riding on FRAME only.
Can you Dare Defender with your Rangie!!!! if you do so you spend more time and money in garage than defender.
Hope you get this

@Vipul : A monocoque chassis is better that a BOF that I surely agree, but, here we are comparing the off-roading capabilities of both. for some time let's forget Storme and XUV and Fortuner. Just understand this, a monocoque is a lot more stiffer and hence provides better road handling (on tarmac), lesser body roll as the chassis has very less flex. A BOF has more flex and comparatively a bit more roll. BUT when you are off-roading, a BOF chassis has a lot more flexibility to take those undulations that a monocoque.

Do not take things/comments personally and do maintain a polite tone in your replies. [:)]

I beg,fortuner stays .

Hell YES!!! Comparing Fortuner to Storme is the best thing that could happen to Storme. [evil]. A 12 lac SUV being compared to a 25 lac one in which the latter falling apart in most areas (comfort, ruggedness, drive-ability) is just too delicious. (I am no Fortuner basher in anyway [:)])

freakdude.