Tata Safari Storme Comes Home: Dream Fulfilled!!!

@mukesh
I am confused b/w storme lx or ex variants.So need some inputs.

1)fog lamps: I 'll be driving on NH1 for atleast 5 to 6 times every month.as u must be aware of winter conditions of the area and sometimes there is dense fog in Delhi and around.Do you think main headlights are enough or fog lamps are required.I want to know did u face any need of fog lamps .

2)Roof A/C: if only first two rows are considered how is the performance of front ac vents .Are they able to cool the beast during summer.I am concerned only about first two rows.

3)Arm rest:I think u miss it in your beast.

4)driver seat height adjuster:do u think it will be required as I am 5'8.Is the default height of seat well adjusted by TMIL?

There a difference of around 1.5 Lakhs(OTR) in both the variants.
So want to know the worth of applying so much extra amount.

Thread Starter #272
@mukesh
I am confused b/w storme lx or ex variants.So need some inputs.

1)fog lamps: I 'll be driving on NH1 for atleast 5 to 6 times every month.as u must be aware of winter conditions of the area and sometimes there is dense fog in Delhi and around.Do you think main headlights are enough or fog lamps are required.I want to know did u face any need of fog lamps .
Ans: Only once i felt that fog lamp is required, there was a dense fog here in delhi, but since my Storme did not had it so cannot tell the effectiveness.

2)Roof A/C: if only first two rows are considered how is the performance of front ac vents .Are they able to cool the beast during summer.I am concerned only about first two rows.
Ans: For first two rows the AC is sufficient but for the last row you will need the roof mounted AC. Some times i thought of getting a roof mounted AC from aftermarket for around 13-14000 but since we rarely travel will all seats full so i dropped the idea.

3)Arm rest:I think u miss it in your beast.
Ans: I miss the driver's arm rest, tried to find out aftermarket arm rest but could not find it.

4)driver seat height adjuster:do u think it will be required as I am 5'8.Is the default height of seat well adjusted by TMIL?
Ans: I don't care for it, i do have this feature in my other car but have never used it.

Note: The above mentioned feature are really helpful but i think spending 1.5 lacs is just wastage of money.

Thread Starter #274
Hi Sahil,

I once enquired about aftermarket AC, the guy shown me the Sanden roof AC (dicor type). He was asking for 14000 and told me that installation will take around 6 hours.Though i did not installed on my Storme.

@mukesh
Have you ever tried for after market fog lamps?
I saw a video of safari 4*4 in which extra lights were installed on front bull bars.does it void the warranty?

Thread Starter #276
@mukesh
Have u ever tried for after market fog lamps?
I saw a video of safari 4*4 in which extra lights were installed on front bull bars.does it void the warranty?
Hey Sandy,

I never installed fog lamps in my Storme, but there is a member on TAI (i think Navnit from Dehradun) who has installed extra lights on front bull bars. You can check with him. Anything electrical you install from aftermarket may void warranty but if you can find a good mechanic then i don't think there would be a problem. I think you can install fog lamps from TASS for around 3000.

Hi Mukesh

You mentioned earlier in your thread that initially you were getting a mileage of 12.5 - 13 in city. Later in your thread you posted a overall milate of 9-10 in city & 11-12 on highway. Did your mileage went down because you upgraded to wider tiers ??

Can you please post latest city / highway mileage ?

Thread Starter #283
@rohit,

i think wider tyres do effect the overall mileage. My suggestion is not to add the wider tyres. I am just waiting for these tyres to change after 30k more kms and after that i will only buy the tyres with right dimentions.

Have you completed your 30k servicing ? If yes then can you please provide me some details ? Beacuse my storme is due for 30k servicing in december.

Thread Starter #285
Have you completed your 30k servicing ? If yes then can you please provide me some details ? Beacuse my storme is due for 30k servicing in december.
Hey Param, yes i did 30K service few months back. The ODO on my beast is around 38K, if i remember correctly the service costed me around 8000. I went to Concorde Mathrua road for it.