Tata Safari Storme Breaks Cover (Launch Coverage: Pg.301+)

Re: Scoop! New Tata Safari (aka Merlin) To Launch Soon

Well,dunno why but out of all the SUVs I love the way the Bolero looks,especially when you add good fat alloys and tyres,a set of good big fog lamps,jet-black tints and some more mods.Its rugged look and the aggressive front always moves me.
About Safari,now it really feels that Safari now needs quite changes in its side profile too,only those pull type door handles and slight change in the 'D' pillar will not work,rest still overall the Safari looks quite good and the new face just adds some more bits to the look.

Well,dunno why but out of all the SUVs I love the way the Bolero looks,especially when you add good fat alloys and tyres,a set of good big fog lamps,jet-black tints and some more mods.Its rugged look and the aggressive front always moves me.
About Safari,now it really feels that Safari now needs quite changes in its side profile too,only those pull type door handles and slight change in the 'D' pillar will not work,rest still overall the Safari looks quite good and the new face just adds some more bits to the look.
Exactly. The Bolero has always had that rugged, take no prisoners appeal that more fancy design like the Scorpio seem to lack. The original Bolero looked the most brutish while the subsequent two upgrades have only served to make it look more, what's the word, weird. The original Bolero in black with some fat rubber and tasteful alloys would still make a better statement than many modern SUVs could hope to make. Old school charm is, after all, old school charm.

The Merlin interiors are all new and an improvement over the preset Safari's interiors. Anyone could mistake the Merlin for a Safari when viewed from the profile. I was terribly disappointed when I first saw the spy pics of the Merlin. After more than a decade of making the Safari, they still couldn't get anything more exciting out? I just hope the Merlin wouldn't have as many niggles as the Safari. On second thoughts, I know it would [frustration] !

Exactly. The Bolero has always had that rugged, take no prisoners appeal that more fancy design like the Scorpio seem to lack. The original Bolero looked the most brutish while the subsequent two upgrades have only served to make it look more, what's the word, weird. The original Bolero in black with some fat rubber and tasteful alloys would still make a better statement than many modern SUVs could hope to make. Old school charm is, after all, old school charm.
Ooooh, I have always fantasized about a white or military green Bolero with fat tyres, chrome alloys, nudge guard with Hellas on it & a snorkel... drool material!

The Merlin interiors are all new and an improvement over the preset Safari's interiors. Anyone could mistake the Merlin for a Safari when viewed from the profile. I was terribly disappointed when I first saw the spy pics of the Merlin. After more than a decade of making the Safari, they still couldn't get anything more exciting out? I just hope the Merlin wouldn't have as many niggles as the Safari. On second thoughts, I know it would [frustration]
In the initial pics, even I was pretty excited, but as soon I saw the side profile & rear, i lost my interest on the Merlin. They had so much potential on the new Aria platform... Even the dash looks very 'sedan' like.

Hi all fellow members,

As iam seriously planning for a new car here are some of my questions for you:

1.) Shall i wait for the new safari merlin/storm before taking a plunge into Aria
2.) Which is a better vehicle, Safari or Aria (4x2 only)
3.) How many people can seat in Aria comfortablly.
4.) At a price point of 10.7L OTR Delhi for Aria Pure variant (4x2) is it a worth buy or shall i have to wait for Auto expo and new launches?

Kindly reply to these queries asap
thanks in advance...
Note: Iam a bit inclined towards Aria becuase of its niggle free nature (i own a tata indigo from last 7 years so Tata ASS is ok with me), hope u'll respond to my issues.

^^
Hey tornado78

I think if you are looking to buy Aria you should hurry, because Tata are stopping production of Aria in January, the production will only begin come February.I am sure you don't want to wait for 3 months to get your ride[;)].But to be honest to you THE XOVER says why not, why not wait for Merlin aka Safari Storm, its only 10 days left before getting launched.[:)]

U dint understand what I meant.

When I wrote that, I meant that I am talking about some 10 years back & then I must be around 15-16 yrs old, so... a kid!

Dont tell me by kids you mean toddlers!
I didn't knew your current age...had I known it, why would have I made that statement [;)].

Dont agree. I am 6'2" & have travelled innumerous times in the 3rd row of the Innova (even long trips) & it was decently comfortable. yes, it had a front facing seat & that makes a difference.
Look, height is not the criterion. It is the part of the body which makes the difference.
Eg. One may have height like Big B, concentrated more in legs & hence, legroom requirement will be more; while in some other case, one may require more head-room if height is concentrated more in back.
For me, legroom matters more than headroom, for my cousin, it is the headroom.

Utility of the 3rd row comes into picture, when your whole family wants to travel within city (without luggage). Thats the precise reason it is made foldable.
Agreed. Hence, 3rd row can be used but only in cities. For inter-city, these are useless.

Even that 1 trip out of 20 makes a difference because it is for that 1 trip, people buy a 7 seater MUV/SUV and not a sedan!
If it is matter of just one trip, then better hire a safari/innova or scorpio. Why buy ??

People buy UVs either because of the liking, bad roads or regular travel with 5+ persons. I haven't came across anyone as yet who has purchased a UV just for a single trip with many people in an year.

1.) Shall i wait for the new safari merlin/storm before taking a plunge into Aria
If i was you, I would wait for Merlin's launch.

Currently, Aria is better.
4+1.

4.) At a price point of 10.7L OTR Delhi for Aria Pure variant (4x2) is it a worth buy or shall i have to wait for Auto expo and new launches?
Nopes, it is not Value For Money.

Note: Iam a bit inclined towards Aria becuase of its niggle free nature
Aria is not entirely niggle free. Just search around the net & you will find many issues (some serious) with the Aria. You can ignore the minor niggles.

I feel if you go for the Aria now, you will be getting a very old car which has been lying in the stockyard for quite some months. With TATA, I would avoid that, since such cars are prone to more troubles.

Agreed. Hence, 3rd row can be used but only in cities. For inter-city, these are useless.
Mumbai-Shirdi & Mumbai-Pune is intercity? I have done it in the 3rd row.

If it is matter of just one trip, then better hire a safari/innova or scorpio. Why buy ??
How does it differ if you are hiring a Innova? Why not better buy it?

Hi all fellow members,

As iam seriously planning for a new car here are some of my questions for you:

The Merlin/Aria are two different category of vehicles. Knowing Tata, one should aviod buying their new vehicles for the initial two years, which is the time they usually take to set things right based on vehicle feedback received from the market. So go for the Aria 4x2 if you like it, or be prudent and wait for some market feedback on the Merlin before plunging for it. p.s. Wait for the Duster.

Aria, no doubt about that. The overall quality, dynamics, reliability, etc are much better than the Safari.

Five. the rearmost seat can take two people comfortably provided they are not more than 5'6" and built lean.

I suggest you wait for the Auto Expo. As such, it's only a week away from today. Frankly, even though I love the Safari, I still wouldn't pay my hard earned 10 lakhs or above on any Tata product.

Kindly reply to these queries asap
thanks in advance...
Note: Iam a bit inclined towards Aria becuase of its niggle free nature (i own a tata indigo from last 7 years so Tata ASS is ok with me), hope u'll respond to my issues.
All the Best !

Thanks a lot to all the members,

1.) The vehicle must be old but not more than 3-4 months,

2.) Will be going to check the vehicles tommorow and will get the VIN of all the vehicles so that they can be decoded, i have downloaded the PDI list so that they can be checked properly even before giving the booking amount.

3.) Will try to bring down 10.7L OTR to 10.2L with lots of freebies.

4.) They have one 4x4 pleasure model, and they are also offering depriciation on that so i guess if they;ll give it to me at arounf 11.3L than i 'll go for it.

5.) Again a question if 4x2 is at 10.3L and 4x4 is at 11.5L (both max) than which model shall be taken (i'll increase my loan amount from 3L to 4L)?

Kindly suggest...

Full profile pics of the Merlin leaked on the net. I am so damn disappointed. Exactly same side profile with a new face...!

As far as I know about the 3rd row seating, the Mahindra Xylo has the best of the Safari, Scorpio, Aria, and Innova.

^^^ 100% correct. Most legroom, headroom, good seats (not benches) & also individual AC vents, reading lights, armrest & cupholders.

5.) Again a question if 4x2 is at 10.3L and 4x4 is at 11.5L (both max) than which model shall be taken (i'll increase my loan amount from 3L to 4L)?

Kindly suggest...

Go for the 4x2 as it would be sufficient for 99% of your needs. Save Rs 1.2 lakh for fuel. Being lighter than the 4x4 version, the 4x2 would also be marginally more fuel efficient.

Thanks a tonn
but i want to take my vehicles to ROhtang and Leh Laddakh, so isnt it a good idea to buy 4x4 for those few trips where it matters most. Just a thought only or will 4x2 be enough to propel through these no mans land...

Again a question if 4x2 is at 10.3L and 4x4 is at 11.5L (both max) than which model shall be taken (i'll increase my loan amount from 3L to 4L)?Kindly suggest...
I will only look for 4x2 if I am really tight on budget,since I am a fan of 4x4 vehicles.Infact I only started to love Aria because of its adapterra 4x4 system.The 4x4 also is more safer as it meets Euro NCAP safety ratings(4 stars) while the 4x2 doesn't meet the euro safety norms.But on the flip side the 4x2 is lighter, cheaper, more fun to drive, more fuel efficient, so there are pros and cons of both, at the end you have to take the plunge so decide prudently and go for what your Heart Desires more[:)].