Tata Nano GenX Launched at Rs.1.99 Lacs

Changes expected in next update
1) Steering wheel with a flat bottom for more leg room(atleast in top end model)
2) External fuel filler hose.
3) Provide grey (honda city) and maroon (skoda) color shades. Multiple color shades in built to order.
4) Tachometer for manual variant.
5) Fuel gauge be needle based.
6) Gear indicator marking in Speedo console in manual variant
7) Alloy wheel be standard in top variant.
8) Head rest for rear seats. Sliding rear seat.
9) Change the design language similar to smart swatch car
10) Side view mirror with turn indicator light.
11) Optional LED headlamps.
12) Engine start only when driver seat belt is active + push button start.
Wish list for TATA Nano
1) Optional Airbags
2) Change the design language similar to smart swatch car
3) Better suspension like swift. Current one is like WagonR.
4) Increase list of accessories in ebay or flipkart
5) Provide a variant with super charger (electric blower) rather than a all new 800cc petrol.
6) Damper for front doors.
7) Sliding rear seat to increase leg space, when boot is not used
8) Front disc brake (option)
9) Central LCD display for parking display, GPS navigation
10) Android app for owner to run OBD from smart phone.
11) Day night ORVM
12) User configurable top speed limit
'Quoted post edited as per the request from original member of the post.Please reply in words going forward.'

First of all man up enough not to complain to a moderator on one simple reply on online forums, what are you a 12 year old sitting in crappy class room fighting with others over a damn ball pen?

And about the 'professional meaning', is this a place of business to be 'professional'? and when you talk about professionalism, read and re-think about what you have written above.

Sliding Rear Seat, LED Headlamps, Electric Blower as super charger, Flat bottom steering wheel, User configurable top speed limit, funniest of all 'Change of design language to Smart Swatch Car'..... it wasn't just me who 'Laughed out loud' but few others who hail from TAI as well and are using Tata Nano from long time.

So now question comes for me, will this new guy go crying again to the mods and get me banned from TAI?

@007india: Don't you think you are asking too much from a Nano. Tata is making continuous efforts to improve the car but in terms of practicallity and not just cosmetic features. The features you are imagining are not even available in the cars priced 10 lakhs. Hence Phoenix Bird didn't had any words to describe your comments.

Expectations are not skyrocket. Just recall, when Maruti 800 is doing rounds on its initial days, people called it as a soap box(safety). But the car with its claimed fuel efficiency(unimaginable for those days with amby and padmini) and negligible maintenance made established brands to down their shutters.

Similarly Nano is somewhat in same situation today. You have a AMT with loaded features for less than 5laks INR. With minor tweaking, this car can make all established brands to run for their money in terms of affordability.

I worked on Nano development briefly and I believe I know what to expect from this product and from TATA. Read more about smart swatch car. I presume TATA is reading on all social forums to get people feedback for improvements and with that intent is my post.

As you mentioned you worked on nano development can you please educate us why the nano has bad alignment(left pulling) right from the showroom and even after 3 years it is their after several fixes.
I'm responding to your post as a forum member. If you are not happy with your experience, have a test drive on the new model and see if it is really a issue for your vehicle /model /general design. If not, then have the service manager with you for a shirt drive on your vehicle to explain the problem and try to understand. After service, check again and ensure that it is fixed.

Have you checked the wheel alignment in an independent wheel alignment place to understand the issue better? Did you find anything odd in your Tyre wear?

This problem is not with me with all most all the nano owners I know. I managed to make tire wear symmetrically by visit service centre numerous times even I stopped counting.

After fixing the alignment in TASS it stays good for some 300-400 km and again goes bad. Some times a jump in road pit is enough for making miss aligned nano.

now my left wheel is shaking when on jack not checked right one, will visit the service centre for the reason.

I'm responding to your post as a forum member. If you are not happy with your experience, have a test drive on the new model and see if it is really a issue for your vehicle /model /general design. If not, then have the service manager with you for a shirt drive on your vehicle to explain the problem and try to understand. After service, check again and ensure that it is fixed.

We all are facing the same issue. My 6 month old Nano Twist's front left tyre is wearing out fast. I have done the wheel alignment but still the car is pulling on left side.

I worked on Nano development briefly and I believe I know what to expect from this product and from TATA. Read more about smart swatch car.

*Please kill me*

The person who claims to have worked 'BRIEFLY' (glad it was brief) on Nano with Tata Motors, expect having 'Sliding Rear Seat'! One thing I can say for sure any person who knows thing or two about automobiles will know why this is Invalid!! Person who has even a slightest knowledge about automotive lighting will know why 'LED Headlamps' won't make to such category of vehicle. And best of all who refers to 'Smart' as 'Smart Swatch Car', Smart stands for Swatch Mercedes and ART, so it's just Smart, 'Not SMART SWATCH CAR' smart-shirts!!!

I presume from your post that you have not heard about sliding rear seat, it is new for Nano, but it is there already, atleast in a 3 row seat cars. The sliding rear seat will provide enough leg room when the middle row is folded. But easier said, it posts lot of engineering challenge in mounting it. But its not impossible.

smart swatch car (refer to smart fortwo in google), many features in this car can be applied to Nano. In principle, smart swatch car is a proof why rear engine fares well in a compact car.

I presume from your post that you have not heard about sliding rear seat, it is new for Nano, but it is there already, atleast in a 3 row seat cars. The sliding rear seat will provide enough leg room when the middle row is folded. But easier said, it posts lot of engineering challenge in mounting it. But its not impossible.
I am not sure why do you want sliding seat in car which already has ample leg room for a 6 feet guy to sit comfortably. [roll] Leg room in Nano has never been an issue.

Sliding seats are given in 3 row seat cars so that people in the 3rd row can move in and out of the car. This sliding seat is only provided in the 3 row seat cars which has seat where 3 people can sit in the middle row. So in short, the features provided are as per requirement and not luxury.

Finally good news from Tata, got a call from territory sales manager, a Truck with my car has left Sanand and will reach to the dealer on wed/thr.

The only compromise is instead of automatic I have to settle for manual genX XT but I will get persian rose color.

I have a doubt, when the payment is supposed to be made to the dealer? after inspecting the car? or before taking final delivery?

Finally good news from Tata, got a call from territory sales manager, a Truck with my car has left Sanand and will reach to the dealer on wed/thr.
[clap][clap]

The only compromise is instead of automatic I have to settle for manual genX XT but I will get persian rose color.
That's a bit sad though. Anyways, its good that you'll be having the car in couple of days. Congrats!

I have a doubt, when the payment is supposed to be made to the dealer? after inspecting the car? or before taking final delivery?
At the time of final delivery pay the balance. Prior to delivery do a detailed PDI of the car.Also, As you are getting MT Nano instead of AT Nano then you'll be saving some amount on this aswell!

Thank for the reply.

I want to do NEFT, I have added the dealer's account. Now after the PDI, when I initiate the NEFT, is there any legal document to be signed (bond paper/letter of intent) ? I mean from my side I will have transferred the money, from dealer's side; he will generate the bill at the time of delivery so in between, what proof I will have about this deal?