Tata Motors: The Story Of Epic Journey

Re: The Story of Tata's Epic Journey from Trucks to Aria

^^Guys,I am unable to understand why you people become so happy on reading these meaningless articles?
Arey I can prepare an air powered car any day for you:-
Just get me a big mast,a light cloth and a very light car..then take it to any 'airy' place and see the power of air.
This is the technology of Vedic times on which Tata is spending hundreds of crores,I'd have told it to them for free like I did to you people.:tongue::stupid:

Tata’s Dharwad plant becomes operational

Tata Motors’ Dharwad, Karnataka plant to manufacture small commercial vehicles is now operational and has begun to produce the Ace Zip and Magic Iris small commercial vehicles. The plant has a production capacity of 90,000 vehicles a year which will be implemented in phases. Both the Magic Iris and Ace Zip were launched a year ago in May 2011. The Dharwad plant has set up with a total investment of over Rs 900 crore. It has built-in flexibilities to assemble different variants of the vehicles. The plant, recommended for ISO 14001 Environment Management System Standard, was built with civil and plant engineering work sourced from Europe, the US, South Korea, Japan and suppliers from India. To staff the plant, Tata has recruited workers from the about 76 ITIs in Karnataka.

P M Telang, managing director - India Operations, Tata Motors, said: “We are very delighted to commence manufacturing operations in Dharwad and further expand our operations in the country.” Tata Motors sold 2,285 units of the Ace Zip and 1,304 units of the Magic Iris in April 2012.

This is great news-hopefully we will see a lot of these cute bugs on the roads soon. I hope the Magic IRIS can ply as an auto as well-it actually makes sense as a alternate to a small diesel car for a city dweller on a small budget with a family of 4/5[clap]-thats my two-bit fortune telling!

I hope the Magic IRIS can ply as an auto as well-it actually makes sense as a alternate to a small diesel car for a city dweller on a small budget with a family of 4/5[clap]-thats my two-bit fortune telling!
I agree with you, it has a potential to act as a car for families who are on tight budget,its still safer than a 2 wheeler and will give all weather protection.

^^Guys,I am unable to understand why you people become so happy on reading these meaningless articles?
Arey I can prepare an air powered car any day for you:-
Just get me a big mast,a light cloth and a very light car..then take it to any 'airy' place and see the power of air.
This is the technology of Vedic times on which Tata is spending hundreds of crores,I'd have told it to them for free like I did to you people.:tongue::stupid:
Making a safe, reliable, powerful, economical and practical car is what TATA is trying to achieve.

TATA did wonders with the Nano. Even me and you can make a one Lac car, but would it meet all the safety regulations? Would be pass the crash tests? Would it meet all the ARAI regulations?

Its easier said than done.

Thread Starter #98

Sharing some photographs of TATA ARIA launch party.
Awesome pics buddy.Thanks for sharing with us.It has added so much character to this thread.Great work by you[clap].

BTW,did you attend the launch party of Aria? If you don't mind what is the source of these wonderful pictures?

Tata Motors to invest up to Rs 2000 cr in CV business, launch 50 new products.

To meet competition head on from the likes of Bharat Benz, VE Commercial, Mahindra Navistar, India's largest commercial vehicle player, Tata Motors has lined up 50 new products and variants right from its sub-one tonne trucks to its heavy duty Prima truck range.

A senior company official said, on the sidelines of a SIAM HR conclave, that the company will invest Rs 1,500-2 ,000 crore in the new line of products.

Ravi Pisharody, head commercial vehicle division said, "We would be launching a series of new products and variants across categories right from our sub-one tonne trucks to our Prima range. We will also be introducing our Y1 light commercial vehicle range by September."

In order to meet the market demand, Tata Motors recently launched the LX version of Prima trucks which is 'de-specked' to offer it at an affordable price and Pisharody said it has got a good initial response from the product.

The company says market is very tough on the medium and heavy truck space and it is currently operating at 70% capacity, however things continue to be robust on its sub-one tonne truck space with Ace Zip and Magic Iris touching 5,000 units of monthly sales.

Tata Motors to invest up to Rs 2000 cr in CV business, launch 50 new products - The Economic Times

Thread Starter #102

TML till this day remains an unfathomable enigma to me.One the one hand they are so much hyper active on their CV divison.But on the other they are completely lackluster and dellusional when it comes to their passenger car divison.Any one knows why?

The automobile major Tata Motors has stated that Ratan Tata has hiked his stake in the company to 0.05 percent through an open market transaction, leading to a surge of 6 percet in the company's scrip on the BSE. In a filing, Tata Motors said its Chairman Tata had purchased 4,25,000 ordinary shares yesterday having a face value of Rs 2 each on National Stock Exchange for a total consideration of Rs 9.94 crore through the open market route.

It was reported in Business Standard that following this transaction, his holding in the company went up to 0.05 percent from 0.03 percent earlier. The report quoted a Tata Sons spokesperson as saying "He bought these shares in his personal capacity and it is the open period for the company." Tata Motors said the transaction was carried out through Dhanki Securities Ltd.

After the news broke, the stock was the top performer among the blue-chip counters on both BSE and NSE. On the volume front, 33.43 lakh shares were traded on the BSE, while more than one crore shares changed hands on the NSE during the day.

Sharing some photographs of TATA ARIA launch party.
Mr.P.M. Telang, Managing Director (Quoted post, second last image) has retired from Tata Motors in India on attaining the age of superannuation and stepped down from the board of the company. Tata Motors has now appointed two new Executive Directors:
Mr. Ravindra Pisharody, President: Commercial Vehicles Business Unit, has been appointed Executive Director (Commercial Vehicles). An alumni of IIT, Kharagpur, and IIM – Calcutta, Mr. Pisharody has been with the company since 2007. He has over 30 years’ experience in sales, marketing, and business development.

Mr. Satish Borwankar, Senior Vice-President: (Manufacturing Operation Commercial Vehicles Business Unit), has been appointed Executive Director - Quality, Vendor Development & Strategic Sourcing for Tata Motors. An alumni of IIT, Kanpur, Mr. Borwankar has been with Tata Motors since 1974, and has held various responsibilities in manufacturing and quality functions in the company.

Tata Motors wins court case over Singur land.

The Singur Land Rehabilitation and Development Act, 2011, which came into force under the current State government led by Mamata Banerjee, has been held as unconstitutional and void by the Calcutta High Court today. Under the Act, the State had vested land leased to Tata Motors.

Giving its verdict on an appeal by Tata Motors, a division bench comprising Justices Pinaki Chandra Ghosh and Mrinal Kanti Chaudhury observed that it was void and unconstitutional as the President’s assent had not been taken for the Act. The division bench set aside the order of Justice I P Mukerji who had held the Act to be constitutional. The court also observed that what was done in Singur was acquisition of land by the said Act and as such it was void.

Tata Motors had challenged the order of the single bench of the Calcutta High Court, which had upheld the Singur Land Rehabilitation and Development Act, 2011, before the division bench of the court. Tata Motors decided to relocate from Singur in October 2008 to Sanand in Gujarat.

Tata Motors had appealed against the order of Justice Mukerji, which was passed on September 28 last year. Justice Mukerji had held the Singur Land Rehabilitation and Development Act 2011 to be constitutional. The court had, however, ordered on September 28 an unconditional stay of the judgement till November 2 to allow any aggrieved party to file an appeal, if it so desired.

Tata Motors had been leased 997 acres at Singur in Hooghly district, about 40km from Kolkata, by the previous Left Front government for its Nano car project, billed as the cheapest car in the world. Tata Motors’ plant operation in Singur was expected to create employment in excess of 10,000 direct and indirect jobs within the plant, among vendors and service providers in the vicinity.