Tata Motors' Design Language

We are not talking of how many units were sold my friend. We are talking of the design language of tata cars. If the number of tata indica's sold were to be considered then IMO how many of those tata indica's turned into yellow plates should also be considered.
Indian mentality doesn't see the tata cars as a premium brand. This mentality will not change until there is a premium offering by them. By premium offering I literally mean PREMIUM. Not the cars which are released under 5-6 lakhs and don't have an engine guard (atleast) and are called luxury/premium Hatches.

Tata has to get into the luxury/premium league. They did it(tried may be) with the zest. But by then the taxi image with the tata's was already soldered hard into the heads of the general public which just refuses to change. since they have JLR with them, the luxury image can be used to a large extent and release limited edition atleast. [;)]

I am repeating the same comment here, which I posted in other threads. Tata should first focus on its ASS, and should consider people as customers. Once their attitude change, they will be able to sell premium cars in the market

Tata need to do a NEXA, make more of thier outlets work to Private Owners only and some of them Taxi Owners only. Differentiate between Private and Taxi have seperate outlets selling to Taxi Segment.

We are not talking of how many units were sold my friend. We are talking of the design language of tata cars. If the number of tata indica's sold were to be considered then IMO how many of those tata indica's turned into yellow plates should also be considered.
Indian mentality doesn't see the tata cars as a premium brand. This mentality will not change until there is a premium offering by them. By premium offering I literally mean PREMIUM. Not the cars which are released under 5-6 lakhs and don't have an engine guard (atleast) and are called luxury/premium Hatches.

Tata has to get into the luxury/premium league. They did it(tried may be) with the zest. But by then the taxi image with the tata's was already soldered hard into the heads of the general public which just refuses to change. since they have JLR with them, the luxury image can be used to a large extent and release limited edition atleast. [;)]
How do you define a Premium car? What are the parameters?
Mileage?
Features?
Power?
Space?
safety features?
Chrome?
Price?
In that case Bolt and Zest tick all the boxes.
In case of hatches
Bolt sits pretty high with those of elites et al lead by the punto Abarth.
in compact sedans clearly Zest is the most premium of offering in the market. But sales wise it is exactly the opposite. Lowest selling CS. Worst CS is infact second best seller. So inspite of offering most premium sedan with all bells and whistles and power and space indians want something more. The Foreign brand appeal.

Why because,
ASS wise, Tata is way better than Fords and Skodas but people do venture out buying these products for a premium. Skoda offer more luxury interms of interiors and better egronomics. Tata and Skoda cannot be compared. However ASS wise if we are to compare Tata definitely scores over skoda.

Feature wise, Zest is way better than amaze however, More Hondas are sold than compared to Tata.

Mahindra has Verito which is very able sedan. However it sells only as taxi.

So we indians need foreign brand. what ever they dishout we accept it with glee. For the first time we see that safety features is being offered by Suzuki in all variants of baleno. till then safety features were only for top end model just to tick the safety list in the car. Suzuki sales had a cheek to discourage people from going for the safety features and selling the variant which they had in stock. (my BIL fell prey to it.)

Just did a comparison on Three cars,Bolt,Baleno and Zest.By going through that it is pretty understandable that Tata didn't understood the pricing till now. Used cardekho.com.In the comparison,only in the top most model tata have passenger airbag.Putting up music system was a great achievement for tata? Being Indian,they have no need to pay any royalty to other companies.So keeping the prices high may be due to mismanagement (unnecessary white collor work force).Best way,cut the price to win the war.Keep on procrastinating,you are bound to fail.I am not a fan of Maruti,they started learning now regarding security.
Compare Maruti Baleno and Tata Bolt and Tata Zest | CarDekho.com

And if I talk about market hero Swift dezire..
Worst breaks and safety.. Less u talk it's better[anger]

Tata always left behind bcoz they never advertised in right manner and not a foreign tag. However I think they should advertise now as real Indian brand and I can think of one line

"At Tata motors- we make cars from 1 lakh (nano in visual) to crores(Jaguar in visual)"

And then another add-- toughest SUV's Tata Xenon and then Range Rover and punch line "we produce them for people who live their dream- the toughest way"

I would say topend of bolt and baleno as pretty evenly matched.

safety wise baleno has Brake assist, butdonot have traction control, vehicle stability control.
With regards to the boot space it clearly has a bigger boot than Bolt.
Bolt has a great Audio system but lower GC.

Price Difference is Bolt is 1.2 Lac cheaper than Baleno.

Where do you think Tata have gone wrong wrt to pricing?

Just did a comparison on Three cars,Bolt,Baleno and Zest.By going through that it is pretty understandable that Tata didn't understood the pricing till now. Used cardekho.com.In the comparison,only in the top most model tata have passenger airbag.Putting up music system was a great achievement for tata? Being Indian,they have no need to pay any royalty to other companies.So keeping the prices high may be due to mismanagement (unnecessary white collor work force).Best way,cut the price to win the war.Keep on procrastinating,you are bound to fail.I am not a fan of Maruti,they started learning now regarding security.
Compare Maruti Baleno and Tata Bolt and Tata Zest | CarDekho.com
You have got this completely wrong. The variant you have chosen for Zest is 1.3 XTA which is Automatic diesel top end version. See the pricing, it's close to Baleno top end diesel. Zest is the only Diesel automatic provider in sub 4m segment and that too at a very affordable price range. In fact if you take the sub 4m sedan category, Zest is the cheapest car available.

Regarding Safety, both Zest and Bolt comes with ABS + EBD + CSC as standard. Dual airbags available in top end XT and one variant down XMS.

TML has done a great job by bringing these two cars and now what went wrong is the poor marketing from them. They have a winner in hand but just doesn't unleash the full potential. It lacks the push from the marketing and sales guys to bring more cars on road. Also i agree that the Bolt pricing was very close to Zest which hampered the sales to a large extent.

Design Language which Pratap Bose is trying to follow, is it what bring the customers back??

TATA Megapixel concept-- lead to New gen Nano(Pelican)

Tata Nexon---lead to premium hatchback or compact SUV

Upcoming Tata Kite

Comments [;)]

And good news to Tata Bolt/Zest owners and Tata supporters...
Lot of people reported that Bolt/Zest interiors are better than Baleno...
And I felt the same as well... Experts can put some lite on it[:)]

Design Language which Pratap Bose is trying to follow, is it what bring the customers back??

TATA Megapixel concept-- lead to New gen Nano(Pelican)

Tata Nexon---lead to premium hatchback or compact SUV

Upcoming Tata Kite

Comments [;)]

And good news to Tata Bolt/Zest owners and Tata supporters...
Lot of people reported that Bolt/Zest interiors are better than Baleno...
And I felt the same as well... Experts can put some lite on it[:)]
True! The interior quality and appeal of the Zest and Bolt is way better than that of the Baleno. I felt that the Baleno is nothing but a remodeled Swift with touchscreen unit and bigger wheels. It is the ugliest looking car in it's segment I feel. The Bolt has almost all the features the Baleno has except for the lesser boot space. I would choose the Bolt Revotron or Zest Diesel anyday over the 75 bhp Baleno.

Upcoming projects from TATA Motors like TATA NEXON and TATA Pelicon cars will definately grap attention when it comes to design of the products both have futuistic design

And if I talk about market hero Swift dezire..
Worst breaks and safety.. Less u talk it's better[anger]

Tata always left behind bcoz they never advertised in right manner and not a foreign tag. However I think they should advertise now as real Indian brand and I can think of one line

"At Tata motors- we make cars from 1 lakh (nano in visual) to crores(Jaguar in visual)"

And then another add-- toughest SUV's Tata Xenon and then Range Rover and punch line "we produce them for people who live their dream- the toughest way"
Mate, that could be a marketing disaster. Please don't tag JLR with TML PVs. Atleast not this time. And advertising is not like a corporate film where we could include JLR Daewoo and Hispano..! Tata once did great ads. Safari ads were fantastic. Indica's More car per car ads too were good conveying the msg. Now the ads are sub par. Also I haven't seen a single full page ad of Bolt/ Zest in National/ Local daily. That's cheap marketing. Delna Avari, are you hearing ? Now regarding design language: still not sorted out. Current Nexon/Pixel grill will not suit a macho SUV. If they are going for a family look, that will not work. I believe in Pratap Bose. But only after seeing the models in flesh, we can comment. Hope 2016 Auto Expo showcase TM Design is all about.

Well the quality of zest interiors and music system is better than Baleno. The engine is better the stance is better pricing is better features are matched. Hope with this zest sales increase it deserves better and the marketing team at Tata need to do more print ads