Tata Hexa Finally Launched. Priced @ ₹11.99 Lakh (Details: Pg.68)

Re: Tata To Rename New Aria as Hexa (Codenamed Eagle)

Atleast 50 % Sure about the launch date Raj ? I wish it launches this year so we can wait one year and the go for the buy after the initial bugs are removed .
Seriously considering this MUV if launched this year.

The Tata Hexa Concept is on display at the 2015 Geneva Motor Show. Based on the Aria platform, the Hexa crossover features a a 2.2-liter VARICOR 400 engine with a maximum output of 115 KW (154.21 hp).
By looking at the engine specs of this Tata Hexa concept, i now strongly feel its a full production ready car. Becoz, in concept cars any company makes one hell of an engine like 500hp to showcase their power and capability. But in this case, it is not like that. Its just the same engine which is doing duty currently in Tata Aria!!!

So Hexa lovers, we can expect this MUV to be launched soon. I guess by now Tata Motors brand image is improved. Is Tata Motors also trying to change the perception of "showcasing concepts and not launching or launching them lately???"

Absolutely, this same engine with 400NM torque and 156 ps of power has been under the test for ages. But Tata has to be Tata, and screw up every product by first launching it months after display, and then pricing it much more than the competition. Zest is only few of the products where they got it right at the first go. But ever since they have stopped providing alloy wheels in the middle variant, it has started to lose steam henceforth.

Hexa looks mind blowing, BTW are they going to provide multi-terrain drive system? e.g. mud, snow etc. I saw in one of the interior picture. TML is improving their passenger car segment day by day, kudos to them.
It will be an even bigger sales disaster if they do this! They need to understand what the market wants - lets not forget this is an MUV segment and this is India, do we have soccer moms driving along in big vans and SUV ?

Absolutely, this same engine with 400NM torque and 156 ps of power has been under the test for ages. But Tata has to be Tata, and screw up every product by first launching it months after display, and then pricing it much more than the competition. Zest is only few of the products where they got it right at the first go. But ever since they have stopped providing alloy wheels in the middle variant, it has started to lose steam henceforth.
I dont understand why an MUV needs 400NM of torque and 156ps power ? If Tata really think thats why Aria didnt sell, then i am supremely perplexed. Its a simple logic for me, you are competing against innova, hit toyota hard where it hurts(pricing, FE and ongoing service costs). Make Innova buyers think twice before they purchase Innova. Why try and create a segment which doesnt even exist in India and when they have failed once trying to do that.

Make no mistake as a product i like it - all it requires a proper positioning, pricing and right marketing strategy. It had low end turbo lag to fix but it surely doesnt require 400NM torque to bring about sales.

It will be an even bigger sales disaster if they do this! They need to understand what the market wants - lets not forget this is an MUV segment and this is India, do we have soccer moms driving along in big vans and SUV ?

I dont understand why an MUV needs 400NM of torque and 156ps power ? If Tata really think thats why Aria didnt sell, then i am supremely perplexed. Its a simple logic for me, you are competing against innova, hit toyota hard where it hurts(pricing, FE and ongoing service costs). Make Innova buyers think twice before they purchase Innova. Why try and create a segment which doesnt even exist in India and when they have failed once trying to do that.

Make no mistake as a product i like it - all it requires a proper positioning, pricing and right marketing strategy. It had low end turbo lag to fix but it surely doesnt require 400NM torque to bring about sales.
They are still considering it as a crossover. MPV+SUV. Attacking XUV5OO and Innova with single product. IMHO price it accordingly. Like pricing it 40K cheaper variant to variant with Innova. So adding 'terrain response' in the upper variants is a good idea. But provide adequate variants with 4x2 and extra features than Innova and XUV.

Beating Innova on
Price- very much possible (the first thing to do without cutting features)
FE- No way. I feel Hexa will be still in the 2 ton league.
Service costs- Hard to beat Toyota here. Give 543 program[;)]

They are still considering it as a crossover. MPV+SUV. Attacking XUV5OO and Innova with single product. IMHO price it accordingly. Like pricing it 40K cheaper variant to variant with Innova. So adding 'terrain response' in the upper variants is a good idea. But provide adequate variants with 4x2 and extra features than Innova and XUV.

Beating Innova on
Price- very much possible (the first thing to do without cutting features)
FE- No way. I feel Hexa will be still in the 2 ton league.
Service costs- Hard to beat Toyota here. Give 543 program[;)]
MPV+SUV is what i will call identity crisis, they used the word SUV noticeably in the geneva show, but with a slightly flatter bonnet - but that cant take out the van like silhouette.
They will end up making it even more expensive and way out of league for even the 50 odd monthly buyers. In my view they should simply focus on MUV segment rather than the confusing crossover van.

I welcome the facelift and a new branding perhaps - but it should take the innova head on. I dont see why an Aria cant beat an Innova on FE and Service. FE it beats innova even today, well service thats a long story.[:D]

MPV+SUV is what i will call identity crisis, they used the word SUV noticeably in the geneva show, but with a slightly flatter bonnet - but that cant take out the van like silhouette.
They will end up making it even more expensive and way out of league for even the 50 odd monthly buyers. In my view they should simply focus on MUV segment rather than the confusing crossover van.

I welcome the facelift and a new branding perhaps - but it should take the innova head on. I dont see why an Aria cant beat an Innova on FE and Service. FE it beats innova even today, well service thats a long story.[:D]
Placing it as a pure MPV will definitely see some action in that segment. It will be a Zest like effort in the MPV space. Looks good and feature packed with great interiors. So pricing can be more realistic and in lines of what people expect for a Tata model. But still this will be a 'weighty' opponent for sure. I really wish Tata to bring down the weight. But as you said, for a MPV 154 bhp is more than enough. So I believe Tata will again market it as a crossover..[sleep][confused]

@IR: Aria/Hexa is a very heavy vehicle(kerb weight around 2.2 tons for the top variant), so 400 NM sounds too sweet for this UV. Also Innova was never the target for TML, they always aimed towards the soft-roaders(Captiva, CRV et al). You could argue that it was where they went wrong. But that's how it is. And even now for them number one competition is not Innova, but XUV 500, IMHO. So 400 NM may increase its appeal amongst prospective XUV buyers(??). Lets see...

If INNOVA was never the target then why is TML comparing ARIA with the INNOVA in their website?
"NOW" is the keyword. It was not their primary target. Heck Aria wasn't launched with 4x2 variant at the time of launch, only AWD was offered. Anyway, the HEXA shall target both Innova's as well as XUV's customers as all these three would fall in the same price range(10-16 lacs ex-showroom).

Thread Starter #71

The only reason behind tata aria failed because of its blind looks most of the people doesn't attracted and at the time of launch tata launched with 4x4 variants with higher price tag compared to its revivals but now things changed tata came up with proper design. And functionality so we may expect few more sales from this beauty

Don't think these were the only reasons. People still don't know the improvements in the new car. My uncle used to own an indica v2 and years later when i said bolt is a good car he just said "it's a tata , you'll regret buying it" i tried to explain how good the vista was(had recently driven my cousin's car but he won't understand. There are many people like this.

Tata and many members here as well cannot expect that people will just shift to tata , it will take years to make brand value and with the recent launches and hexa i'm sure tata is on the right path[thumbsup]

Tata Hexa Preview
Tata Motors has used the Geneva Motor Show as a platform for many product debuts in the past. The Prima sedan concept designed by Pininfarina for the Indica, Tata Elegante concept for the Manza and Tata Xover concept for the Aria all of them premiered at the previous iterations of the Geneva Motor Show. This year, a new Aria-based Hexa concept SUV premiered at the show.

This near production-ready concept previews the brand’s future design direction and will be one of the new crossovers and SUVs that the company has in its pipeline.

Exterior
The Hexa is a new SUV concept measuring 4,764mm in length, 1,895mm in length and 1,780mm in height. The vehicle has a long wheelbase of 2,850mm. The car's fascia boasts of newly designed projector headlamps, a honeycomb grille and new bumper with fog lamps. The horizontal chrome slat under the grille extends towards the headlamps and the honeycomb pattern can also be seen on the front chin.

Coming to the sides, the newly designed 19-inch alloy wheels can be seen. Though the overall design is similar to the Aria, the concept gets a sporty design language which is continued at the rear as well. The rear bumper, with dual exhaust tips, gets a dual-tone paint scheme with a new shape for the reflectors. The tail lamps are restyled and come with LED units. A new spoiler can also be seen at the back.

Price and Competition
The vehicle might go into production in early 2016 along with Tata's upcoming Nexon. It might be placed in the D-segment of cars and priced in the range of Rs 13 lakh to Rs 18 lakh. With Tata Motors slotting it in the premium segment of cars in India, the Hexa might go up against the Mahindra SsangYong Rexton, Chevrolet Captiva and Hyundai Santa Fe.
This is the review of Tata Hexa by CarWale. They post that it is an SUV concept, but it is near-production ready ready to go into production by early 2016!!!..
Also note that what are its competetors - "Hexa might go up against the Mahindra SsangYong Rexton, Chevrolet Captiva and Hyundai Santa Fe"!!! and to be priced in between 13L to 18L!!!
Pretty interesting.