Tata Hexa Finally Launched. Priced @ ₹11.99 Lakh (Details: Pg.68)

Re: Tata To Rename New Aria as Hexa (Codenamed Eagle)

I read the Autocar Magazine and was impressed with the pictures. But these pictures
are much more clear and the car feels WOW! Amazing!!!

It bears absolutely no resemblance to the ARIA except a few bits and pieces. I really
like the way the car has been put together. This is the next launch from TATA Motors
in Australia after the XENON. This ca will surely have some market in South Africa as
well.

But it surely will have its own value and will surely be a hit if priced right and marketed
well.

tdcarlover said:
What if it came in at under 10laks-initial offer,like the XUV, (suffer some loss for a few months)
and when people accept the product then come to a rational price (not innova level)?-perhaps
then they can target ~1.5 k sales a month?-the XUV seems too well entrenched to be displaced
in a hurry
Hey bro! Don't you think you are asking too much.

I want it to come in just 4 models at an inaugural price.
XM Manual 14 Lakhs
XT Manual 15 Lakhs
XMA Auto 15.5 Lakhs
XTA Auto 17 Lakhs

Revision by 0.75 Lakhs after 6 months and another one after 9 months will surely do the trick.

I read the Autocar Magazine and was impressed with the pictures. But these pictures
are much more clear and the car feels WOW! Amazing!!!

It bears absolutely no resemblance to the ARIA except a few bits and pieces. I really
like the way the car has been put together. This is the next launch from TATA Motors
in Australia after the XENON. This ca will surely have some market in South Africa as
well.

But it surely will have its own value and will surely be a hit if priced right and marketed
well.

Hey bro! Don't you think you are asking too much.

I want it to come in just 4 models at an inaugural price.
XM Manual 14 Lakhs
XT Manual 15 Lakhs
XMA Auto 15.5 Lakhs
XTA Auto 17 Lakhs

Revision by 0.75 Lakhs after 6 months and another one after 9 months will surely do the trick.
I think we ask really big from Tata motors.
Bang on pricing (assumption): XM Manual 14Lakhs

The price would start from 12 to 13 (lowest model- lower to XM) given the kind of details we can see in pictures shared till now.

It's much more premium to XUV500; if we remove Tata Batch and put like say Honda or Hyundai for a second, then everyone will be ok with 16 Lakhs + for XM variant considering the price of S-cross, Creta, Mobilio, Innova and yes Fortuner as well.

I think Tata can't go less on price as then people will say cheap product and if they price high then again people will say high price for Tata product[lol]

Tata price it smartly [glasses]and make a product which no one can degrade or offence nun.... give extra(huge) discounts to the loyal existing Tata customers(specially Aria & Storme owners) and let them be the Brand ambassadors.

And one more advice- advertise it on ground of Make in India product... Be proud

Subtle differences between pre production model and the Concept one. Most of them are internals.

The ICE in Concept seem tobe bigger with IPS screen, where as in production it seems to be smaller like that of Zest.
Comp1.jpg

Notice the difference in the AWD drive selector. The Preproduction ones seem to be better.
Comp2.jpg

The dials have a pattern in the concept where as clean grey band below the numbers in pre production. notice the speed numerals are indifferent sizes in that of concept where as same sized numbers in pre production.
comp3.jpg

Concept had white seats and chorme garnish on the rear AC vents where as in preproduction we have all black interiors and ac vents with piano black finish
comp4.jpg

Don't care about what people say, i believe in you TATA Motors. I will surel get hold of this beast when it launches.

I think we ask really big from Tata motors.
Bang on pricing (assumption): XM Manual 14Lakhs

The price would start from 12 to 13 (lowest model- lower to XM) given the kind of details we can see in pictures shared till now.

It's much more premium to XUV500; if we remove Tata Batch and put like say Honda or Hyundai for a second, then everyone will be ok with 16 Lakhs + for XM variant considering the price of S-cross, Creta, Mobilio, Innova and yes Fortuner as well.
Your pricing is more mouth watering. I hope it is true.

The smaller SUVs from Renault/Nissan and Hyundai are priced quite high. Duster top end comes around 14 Lakhs and Terrano 15.5 Lakhs Hyderabad that too in manual. The Creta top end Automatic is costing 16.5 Lakhs. Asking for the base HEXA XM Manual at 17 lakhs is not much. XE at 12-13 is surely not much. But Airbags, ABS & EBD should be standard across the board.

A little modification: one more variant added

XE Manual 4X2 - 12.5 Lkahs
XM Manual 4X2 - 14 Lakhs
XMA Auto 4X2 - 15 Lakhs
XT Manual 4X4 - 15 Lakhs
XTA Auto 4X4 - 17 Lakhs

But too many variants make it too complicated

XE might be priced lower than 12.5 to lure customers. Or a bare basic model be introduced without bells and whistles and even with Aria's tyres configuration to get smaller price tag.

"Hexa starting from 11.99 lakhs introductory price"

I am considering Tata Motors brand value as of now in the market for the prices to make it a hit (maybe too much to ask) however Tata is not spending much on RnD for Hexa as they are only doing changes to front & rear when it comes to metal dies (the biggest investment to produce a vehicle) rest are all plastic parts outsourced to vendors and parts sharing will help to decrease the cost of new production setup and product itself for example harman system, engine steering wheel, stalks, wipers, engine bay to name few. We can see only 27 parts (approximately)were sent for patent for hexa that means rest were earlier there/used in other models like Aria, bolt , zest and Safari. Maybe they ask for more patents once they are ready with the final production model.

At the end .... I like the Hexa design and the kind of details are followed to get it ready. Job well done Tata designing team.

Things which I wish could have been better-
# Bigger touch screen (capacitive)
# Odo dials should have been designed more sporty
#DRL's integrated in the headlight unit
#Rear ac vents integrated in the roof or side pillars
#Instead of oval logo T A T A written on grill like it use to be on trucks earlier (to make it more aggressive)

This is my whish list not necessary that others would like or Tata Motors consider it for production but if you like it do let me know[:)]

XE might be priced lower than 12.5 to lure customers. Or a bare basic model be introduced without bells and whistles and even with Aria's tyres configuration to get smaller price tag.

"Hexa starting from 11.99 lakhs introductory price"

I am considering Tata Motors brand value as of now in the market for the prices to make it a hit (maybe too much to ask) however Tata is not spending much on RnD for Hexa as they are only doing changes to front & rear when it comes to metal dies (the biggest investment to produce a vehicle) rest are all plastic parts outsourced to vendors and parts sharing will help to decrease the cost of new production setup and product itself for example harman system, engine steering wheel, stalks, wipers, engine bay to name few. We can see only 27 parts (approximately)were sent for patent for hexa that means rest were earlier there/used in other models like Aria, bolt , zest and Safari. Maybe they ask for more patents once they are ready with the final production model.

At the end .... I like the Hexa design and the kind of details are followed to get it ready. Job well done Tata designing team.
Well that is an eye opener,but if this revamped car could be a quality option to the Toyota Innova which is now ridiculously priced i can say then it will change the competition.
Every once in a while the newbie should change the game so everyone will follow & improve.

Remember how Maruti was until Hyundai entered with the Santro.

Just one line to start with:
Quality doesn't come cheap

If we go by what Mr. Shorabjee has written in his review then:
  • Interior plastic: High quality
  • Seats: Very comfortable design with decent quality
  • Fit and Finish: Best or maybe best rivalling in the segment
  • Build and NVH: Brilliant
  • Power train and transmission: Newly developed and completely reworked

In the article published in ACI, there is an interview from the Tata motors design head and the person said "Quality can't be sprinkled on the product like salt. It has to be built in the product from the initial stage of development". Completely agree and I hope TML can set quality benchmarks in the segment.

If it is so that TML is building an exceptional quality then expecting the Hexa to be priced anything between 15 lac won't do justice to the efforts made by TML.

If Tata can get the cabin ambience, quality and reliability spot on then it is the responsibility of their marketing teams to give their best for increasing the customer awareness.

What Toyota is enjoying today is not just aa well suited product. It is the Kaizen, continuous effort and improvement, something that is well accepted by the customers throughout the world. I have my own set of doubts on if Tata can match the faultless quality levels of Toyota. But yes, if Tata can get a quality level that is head and shoulders above Mahindra, load the vehicle with features and price it between say 15-18 lac then I can't find a reason for why it should'nt sell.

Rest it's the Indian buyer who is never happy thinking good things about Tata. They actually need to be very careful on pricing:
1) Price it too low: the buyers will start comparing it with Scorpio because its a Tata and reject it doubting that it's too good to be true
2) Price it too high and buyers will buy a Fortuner by stretching a bit.

At Max they can overlap the base variant with top end Safari Srorme VX, lesser than that can't be expected.

All in all, good quality, well laid interiors, no niggles and nasty surprises and a feeling of comfort. But yes, if all this is needed then don't expect it to come cheap because quality has a price of its own and buyer needs to be prepared to pay something extra for quality itself.

I have done 16500 km in past one year in my Aria pure LX bought in sept 2014. The clutch is as soft as when I bought the car and in bumper to bumper traffic gives me 11.4kmpl with AC in eco mode. On highways I usually get 14kmpl at speeds around 110kmph and once even managed 18kmpl driving at 90kmph for a distance of 280km between Hyderabad and Vijayawada! Don't believe check out this video

https://youtu.be/K4vjtaLs2JA

One more clarification for everyone who believes this is a long vehicle and difficult to drive in traffic, my car being a 2wd the turning radius is just 5.6m and the steering being very quick I don't have problems darting in traffic. If you observe the front overhang and bonnet being short the visibility is excellent which also helps.

Needless to say I am eagerly waiting for Hexa and will surely go for from the first lot itself.

What Toyota is enjoying today is not just aa well suited product. It is the Kaizen, continuous effort and improvement, something that is well accepted by the customers throughout the world. I have my own set of doubts on if Tata can match the faultless quality levels of Toyota. But yes, if Tata can get a quality level that is head and shoulders above Mahindra, load the vehicle with features and price it between say 15-18 lac then I can't find a reason for why it should'nt sell.
When reliability comes to my mind, one thought just struck me. Why are the engines and gearboxes from Toyota & Honda reliable and TATA not?

If you look at the equations just to site an example
TATA 2.2 VTT develops 140BHP @ 320NM on a 5 speed gearbox
TOYOTA INNOVA 2.5L engine produces just 102 BHP @ 200NM of torque again on a 5 speed gearbox

Now TATA strains the engine to the maximum there by causing more stress and leading to disturbances in reliability. But Toyota Innova though has space to increase torque and power limits it there by not strained to the last.

Now that the newly re-developed 2.2 Varicor engine with new reinforced metals for the Hexa develops 154 BHP @ 400NM of Torque thought it can bear 175 BHP @ 450 NM torque. Similarly the new six speed gearbox G450 develops 450NM will be restricted to 400NM. So this might reduce stress and excessive wear & tear and can increase the life.

This is just my two cents of observation. I may be wrong.

TATA 2.2 VTT develops 140BHP @ 320NM on a 5 speed gearbox
TOYOTA INNOVA 2.5L engine produces just 102 BHP @ 200NM of torque again on a 5 speed gearbox

Now TATA strains the engine to the maximum there by causing more stress and leading to disturbances in reliability. But Toyota Innova though has space to increase torque and power limits it there by not strained to the last.

This is just my two cents of observation. I may be wrong.
You may be right. BUT.

A word on TATAs 2.2. Its a very good engine. With massive potential. Surprisingly refined. Its refinement levels are better than the ones in the Innova or Fortuner or last gen Endevour. And also efficient.

As for reliability of that engine goes, I havent seen many (or should I say any) who have complaints on that front.

Its an AVL developed motor. With Peugeot base (If I am right). And in India it has two clients, the other one being Mahindra. And it sells in good numbers. If you look at the total range, Scorpio, Xuv, Safari/storme, sumo grande ie upto 10000 engines a month.

You may be right. BUT.

A word on TATAs 2.2. Its a very good engine. With massive potential. Surprisingly refined. Its refinement levels are better than the ones in the Innova or Fortuner or last gen Endevour. And also efficient.

As for reliability of that engine goes, I havent seen many (or should I say any) who have complaints on that front.
Exactly. Engines are good upto the cylinders and camshaft, but surrounding components like the heads, drive chain, clutch gearbox drives have been the most notorious components and are subjected to more wear and tear on excessive stress ans strain. I have seen them on certain TATA cars I have owned. Then TATA had multiple vendors for every component.

Now things have changed with TML sticking to one vendor per component and introduced responsibility and now reliability has jumped certain folds and that can be seen with a drastic drop in number of service complaints in TATA cars. So expect TML to jump a certain number spots in the next 6 months J.D. Asia-pacific customer satisfaction index.

Its an AVL developed motor. With Peugeot base (If I am right). And in India it has two clients, the other one being Mahindra. And it sells in good numbers. If you look at the total range, Scorpio, Xuv, Safari/storme, sumo grande ie upto 10000 engines a month.
TATA cars do not have any link with Peugoet DNA. That was a misconception believed by many. Infact Mahindra vehicles had more of Peugeot DNA with XDP3 and XDU9 engines which were widely used in their jeeps. Maruti too picked it TUD5 engines for its Zen Di and Esteem Di cars.

Thread Starter #194

TATA motors all diesel engines used in Passenger vehicles engines are derived from their pickup and trucks expect 2.2L dicor motor by reducing bore strock their like TATA safari 3.0L dicor engine derived 497DI engine in the same way TATA Indica 475IDI engine derived from TATA 207 engine TATA's 1.9L 483DI engine

somehow I have a feeling of deja vu.
the audience loves the car,in autoshows and magazines they rate it better or vfm than the competition and then it flops in the sales..think of the recent lodgy.
I sincerely wish I'm wrong