Tata Hexa Finally Launched. Priced @ ₹11.99 Lakh (Details: Pg.68)

^^ Congrats Raj, Wish your family many many safe miles. From the XUV , Hexa makes a good upgrade proposition - you should return back from Dubai so that we can have an ownership thread :biggrin:

Hello guys, I am putting up this post on the behalf of a friend called Anubhav Lamba. It's a classic example of how poor after sales and their bad attitude can spoil a brilliant product like Hexa.
I believe this matter won't be resolved till a written mail reaches to Mr. Pareek. Tweets and FB Post won't get needful attention and the only way is to get in touch with the Top man in TATA Motors. Classic case of how good products are getting wasted by the attitude of dealer's nincompoop staff. Basic courteous attitude missing in them.

A new addition to our family - Arizona Blue Hexa XTA.

Initial feeling of driving around this hulk was amazing. Of course, by now everyone knows the strongest point of the Hexa is the ride and I'm not going to harp about it. Other good points are the quality of the cabin, space and the NVH. Our previous car was the XUV and the Hexa feels more premium. However, as a buyer, I do feel shortchanged that the Hexa at 22 Lacs on road does not come with a decently sized touch screen with it's standalone navigation, keyless entry and push button start and TPMS. The XUV W10 offers all this and more at the same price.

We'll surely be opting for the extended warranty program which will cover the car for 5 years. We are also considering the AMC package after evaluating the benefits for our usage.

I'll primarily be in Dubai and this vehicle will be used by my family here and hence I'm not planning a separate ownership thread.
i'm more confused when i see again and again arizona blue and sky grey.at first decided to go for blue but know grey is hovering in my mind. will add hexa next year.

Hello guys, I am putting up this post on the behalf of a friend called Anubhav Lamba. It's a classic example of how poor after sales and their bad attitude can spoil a brilliant product like Hexa. Here are some details about the car and the owner:
  • Car name: Tata Hexa XT 4x2
  • Dealer: Oberoi Motors, Dehradun, Uttarakhand
  • Booking: First week of January 2017
  • Delivery: 2nd April 2017
  • Owner Name: Mr. Manoj Rai
  • Owner Residing at: New Tehri, Uttarakhand (Around 120 kms from the dealer location)

So after booking in the first week of January 2017, they were promised a delivery in the month of February. Come February, and still the dealer was clueless over when the car is reaching them. Finally after a lot of calls and e-mails, the car had finally reached the dealership stockyard in March end and was delivered to the customer on 2nd April 2017.

Clutch Plate Replacement
Hexa owners may be knowing of a small whoosh whoosh noise that comes while backing off the throttle while changing gears etc. Since this is a strange noise, so they complained of it right on the day of delivery itself. Now either out of their lack of experience or their incompetence, the dealership guys called him back for and inspection and zeroed down on the faulty clutch plates. On 5th April, after the owner gave a go ahead and the clutch plates of his brand new car which didn't had even 1000 kms on odo, were replaced.

A quick small test drive and it was observed that they have worked really hard on a wrong diagnose. [lol]
The noise was still there. So, this was the situation, in the words of owner himself:

Mr. Ankur, State Head In - Turbo Out!!
Now the customer dropped an e-mail to Tata motors customer care and Mr. Ankur, who happens to be the person appointed to take care of this issue. We really appreciate this step from Tata motors. So, Mr. Ankur, along with his teams (Incompetent?) had zeroed down on the turbocharger as being the culprit. So the new turbocharger was ordered and the older one was replaced with it - in fact, both were new as the car itself 'was' new then (They haven't left any newness in the car).

The noise was still there!! :biggrin:
Incompetence and Humiliation of car owner by field service manager
Now since the issue was as it is. Customer simply told Tata guys to show the same noise in other cars too, if it is at same level. If it is so, he will sit quietly. Now his car was called again for inspection and he was told that he can drive with heavy foot as there is no such noise at high engine speeds. Now Mr. Ankur started driving and he drove everywhere and at varying speeds, all in third gear itself, telling the owner that yes sound is there but see, now it is either zero or very less. On this, owner asked him to drive like we do normally - same situation again. Now Mr. Ankur agreed that many cars have this noise but this particular car has it a bit higher. Then he gave his unique idea that drive with music volume higher!

Anyhow, the owner returned back home. Now yesterday evening, he called the Field Service Manager Mr. Vikas Rana (Dehradun) to express his concern. And Mr. Rana was furious over him. His words in the owner's words:

He called him again and this is how it went on:

Finally the phone call was cut after the customer had a minor argument with this person. Now the frustrated customer is even planning to sell off his Hexa.

Concern(s)
  • Is a field service adviser authorized to talk to a customer in this manner?
  • After a customer buys a car, A.S.S. is the place he has to visit for any complaints, where will this customer go, when the service manager himself is against the customer?
  • If they didn't knew the right issue, why change clutch plates and turbo and spoil the actual factory settings of the vehicle?

The video below is the weird engine noise the car is making. Please notice the rubbing noise coming in time and again:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gg0EDCfnfzQ&feature=youtu.be

The call history below shows the time calls were done with 2 repeated calls back to back, and Mr. Vikas not picking any calls of the customer.
Time and again Tata Motors history repeats itself-
- Ir-repairable niggles
- Unruly ASC
- Strange noises and problems within short period of ownership
etc

This is the main reason Ive always dissed Tata cars and even higher end Jaguar and Land Rover

An owner of a Discovery 4 is still fighting for his lemon car 4 years after purchase in another forum, how do you expect their regular car customers to be treated

Id say companies like Ford and Hyundai are perfect examples of companies which have taken aches and pains to improve their ASC in short time and are around the levels of Toyota, Maruti and Honda in a span of just 5-6 years

My dad and I have a discussion regarding whether to go for the Hexa every day but such experiences keep us at bay even though my neighbours Hexa looks at us every day after exiting our building lobby

Id say companies like Ford and Hyundai are perfect examples of companies which have taken aches and pains to improve their ASC in short time and are around the levels of Toyota, Maruti and Honda in a span of just 5-6 years
I guess you forgot Mahindra. I have experienced their A.S.S. in 2008, 2012 and in 2015-16. Man, I found them to be very alert, attentive and quick. XUV, in my case had issues but the A.S.S. simply left no stone unturned to make sure that I always rate them at the top. My experience with Mahindra A.S.S. has been diametrically opposite to the experience I have mentioned above.

Here we wrote to Tata higher management and all we got was a phone call from someone and an apology call from the concerned person, in case of Mahindra, I have experienced even Anand himself intervening and coming in for helping the customer - there are hundreds of such examples. In fact, other than Anurag and Anand, I don't know a single honcho in the auto industry in India who actually bothers to make sure that the customer issue is actually resolved.

I guess you forgot Mahindra. I have experienced their A.S.S. in 2008, 2012 and in 2015-16. Man, I found them to be very alert, attentive and quick. XUV, in my case had issues but the A.S.S. simply left no stone unturned to make sure that I always rate them at the top. My experience with Mahindra A.S.S. has been diametrically opposite to the experience I have mentioned above.

Here we wrote to Tata higher management and all we got was a phone call from someone and an apology call from the concerned person, in case of Mahindra, I have experienced even Anand himself intervening and coming in for helping the customer - there are hundreds of such examples. In fact, other than Anurag and Anand, I don't know a single honcho in the auto industry in India who actually bothers to make sure that the customer issue is actually resolved.
True !! I forgot to mention Mahindra
However niggle loaded their cars' initial batches are, they are very prompt and have good responses

+1 Vipul! Admittedly I am in the M&M corner (still happily running my 12+ year old Scorpio!) but I tend to agree with your assessment. M&M's efforts to keep their ears close to the ground (as far as new owners' experience is concerned) has seen marked improvement over the past few years.

But their casual indifference (of the service centre staff) to veteran owners like me - my first hand experience when replacing the t/charger core recently in Lucknow! - continues as before!

Yes, in that particular case we have seen the infamous tata ASS showing up its ugly head. Those incidents i want to believe are to be one off. since my association of over 4 years with my storme never did i get this kind of issue from any of the service centers. Yes there were minor issues which i got them resolved by escalating to the service manager. But other than that, none such incidents of rude behaviour.

comng back to the hexa,
Have seen quite a few hexas on hyderabad roads off late and they are really head turners and stand out of the crowd of cars just like the mercs or Beamers or jags.

[cry] I just saw a new Hexa for the first time; why the tears-if they treat customers like this (as mentioned above) they will not have a second chance! The Indica V2 was a chance they had once; the Hexa itself is the Aria V2

Time and again Tata Motors history repeats itself-
- Ir-repairable niggles
- Unruly ASC
- Strange noises and problems within short period of ownership
etc

This is the main reason Ive always dissed Tata cars and even higher end Jaguar and Land Rover

An owner of a Discovery 4 is still fighting for his lemon car 4 years after purchase in another forum, how do you expect their regular car customers to be treated

My dad and I have a discussion regarding whether to go for the Hexa every day but such experiences keep us at bay even though my neighbours Hexa looks at us every day after exiting our building lobby
Hyundai ASS is good and due to some ASC they had bad name. We in general have good ASS experience in Ranchi and even in Kota. Ford's ASS is rather hit or miss. Recently there are so many bad reviews and even many good reviews of Ford ASC that its better to call it hit or miss. Recently someones Fiesta gave issues bcz they put Ecosport's spark plug by mistake! Even Tata's ASS is a hit or miss. While many ASC give it a bad name, there are some really good ones too. But since its Tata, the bad news takes a toll on its reputation which doesn't happen much with other brands. The problem for both Ford and Tata is fewer number of ASC.
A good ASC is very rare and a myth. Even Maruti spares are grossly overpriced. There is a rule in China all spare prices cost collectively must not be greater than 3 times the cost of the car and companies have been penalized for this. Remember reading some article in an auto magzine, in India spares value collectively can go as much as 15 times the cost of the car.

Yes, in that particular case we have seen the infamous tata ASS showing up its ugly head. Those incidents i want to believe are to be one off. since my association of over 4 years with my storme never did i get this kind of issue from any of the service centers. Yes there were minor issues which i got them resolved by escalating to the service manager. But other than that, none such incidents of rude behaviour.

comng back to the hexa,
Have seen quite a few hexas on hyderabad roads off late and they are really head turners and stand out of the crowd of cars just like the mercs or Beamers or jags.
truly said, hexa is icon. soon would buy one at the end of next year .

Thats the beauty of Mahindra A$$. When they first launched XUV5OO & faced many problems I thought XUV5OO will be vanished from market in a year or two but what a mind blowing support Mahindra gave to XUV5OO owners. That is the reason XUV5OO still sell like hot cakes even after TML launched their Best product HEXA.

Yeah even if service centres are hit or miss, Mahindra higher staff are actively involved and very personal with the customers including Mr Anand Mahindra himself
My cousin has the 1st batch of XUV500 and however niggle loaded it was, another cousin went ahead and bought a brand new XUV500 any ways because Mahindra inspired more trust than Tata even though Hexa is a very compelling product otherwise with the Varicor 400 and the Harman audio system