Tata Aria Pride Ownership Review @ 2 Years and 54K Kms

Re: Tata Aria Pride Ownership Review – TAI’s First!

Either think it as one off incident dhaya, see after replacing headlamp in my Hawk, the automatic leveller isn't working, which i mainly use it in highway drives.
To cover one issue they create lot others and fill the original problem by hit & trial method.
Good to know it was solved.
Still you say that the Mahindra has got the best A*S*S? Like some of the guys claims. Just wanted to know your experience! BTW I am not a critic of Mahindra A*S*S[thumbsup]

problem is not with the cars, namely Tata or fiat but the technicians and engineers.

kind of technicality which tata and fiat put in their products always push other brand to be ashamed but end of the day there is nobody to harness them.
+1 Well said Jaydev, totally agree to you on this! It is matter of luck what kind of SE, Service person is going to work on your car when you hand it over to A*S*S.
I have closely observed this with TATA, and I only hand it over to the person I know and which is capable.[thumbsup]

Still you say that the Mahindra has got the best A*S*S? Like some of the guys claims. Just wanted to know your experience! BTW I am not a critic of Mahindra A*S*S[thumbsup]
We are moving OT here.
Drivetech yes M&M customer care and responding has been swift and they don't deny it & try to fix it.
But the guys at A.S.S miss something and they get a bad name.
The response to my mails when i had ABS failure was excellent.
They fixed the parts, that too i had got a Xylo as a backup car.
Which i feel no other companies entertain such things.

Yes Mahindra's A.S.S is best & they improvise after every feedback and overcome their earlier flaws.

I rate the A.S.S during every visit ,And i post my experiences here:http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...nnerghatta-road-those-initial-impression.html

There is nothing like i want to hide the problems i face with my Hawk & defending that M&M is superior, i share those minor issues on forum, so that other owners benefit out of it, So even if they have it they can express it, along with parts no.

Hi Ilango, don't get me wrong, let me correct you.
Its stand alone system, in otherwords dedicated system which at any point of time should not fail.
They are critical systems, which after a dedicated time should give a response & never fail.

hmmmm ..... read them very long back !! hehehe.. aint a computer guy , but hope i dont become in future!!

:offtopic:

Thread Starter #245

Hello guys long time since i updated this thread!

The car is 11 months old now and almost 20k on the ODO just a few minor niggles which you can expect always in a TATA and one minor accident!

Well niggles first , the ESP and TCS error message showed up on the MID again.(this is the second time).[frustration] This time luckily i was behind the wheel in an highway and so i started to test if i find anything abnormal in the car. The car behaved absolutely normal! Anyways took the car straight to the A.S.S and showed them , they took the car and also me inside their garage and they connected their laptop to the ECM did something and the error message disappeared , probably they cleared the error codes i guess! But seriously i don't understand why this problem keeps repeating itself and disappears when the error codes are cleared everytime. Its high time i buy these OBD scanners and clear the error code myself instead of wasting my time taking the car to the A.S.S because literally that is what they are also doing!

Next one fine day the MID started shuffling itself and started showing all values without me pressing any button. I myself manually fiddled with the MID for sometime and then the problem disappeared , weird!

Next sometime the HU wont respond to any of the inputs you give. The song keeps playing but you wont be able to change the song or alter the volume. Comes back to normalcy when you switch it OFF and ON again. Faced this issue twice.

I wonder why so many problems with the electricals alone!

Now finally coming to the accident part. One fine afternoon was driving with my dad. Was doing around 60kmph i guess. All the vehicles in front of me starting coming to an halt , no it was not a signal! I also slowed down gradually , no not panic braking , just normal braking! Then when i was about to come to an halt , a loud BAM , i look into my IRVM to only see the rear windshield shattered! Came out and saw a couple in TVS 50 rammed straight into out car without braking. Why i guess he din't brake is , if he had tried to brake he would not have been thrown out of his bike to crash into the rear windshield and shatter it. He looked like an middle class man , there is no use arguing with him or asking him for compensation. Scolded him a little and took off in my car straight to the A.S.S. Damages were broken rear bumper , dent on the rear door , broken windshield. Dent is nothing serious and cracked bumper was also negligible but i don't like driving around like that so asked dad to change everything claiming insurance.

Actually i noticed the cracked rear bumper only when i came to the A.S.S and examined the car thoroughly. As usual the A.S.S din't have stock of the new bumper and rear windshield. They gave an estimate of 25k and said it would take atleast 10 days. Since we had our Verna we din't ask for any loaner vehicle for the time period , i am quite sure i would have got nothing better than my Verna! Filled in the insurance claim form and left the A.S.S. Luckily we had taken 0% depreciation policy from TATA AIG , hence damage to our pocket will be minimum. This is the first time we are ever claiming insurance , dad has been driving for 20 years and not a single claim till now! Felt kinda bad when he said the same to me![cry]

Got the car 2 days back. Damage to my pocket Rs.1500 and total bill was around 25k! Well as expected the paint work was shoddy. Paint was sprayed over some parts of the rear number plate also , after bringing the same to their notice they removed and cleaned the number plate. Car is looking good now , works done are satisfactory. Though the silencer is vibrating a little and giving some sound when idle , have to rectify it. Also have to get new sunfilms over the rear windshield again.

Drove the car for sometime today. Legs shivered a little and had a little fear in my heart when i drove for the first few mins! I mainly wanted to check if they had fitted all the plastic panels at the rear correctly as before. Thank god everything was perfect and i did not hear any unwanted rattle or squeak , great!

Overall though i have faced a few niggles still i am very much happy with the car! I enjoy driving Aria more than my Verna. No regrets paying a premium for this beauty! Although TATA has given a huge discount now they also have silently increased the price before the discount. So effectively its only a 50k discount along with 40k exchange bonus. Had i bought my car now i could have easily saved a Lakh but as i said before no regrets! I was one of the first few persons to book and drive Aria around the streets of Chennai , i had enjoyed the uniqueness and turning heads for the premium i paid![;)]

Anybody has any other specific questions , feel free to ask. Find the pictures below.

Dhaya this pics was mentioned on our forum before you could post pics on TAI.
Karthickramu, who had been to Concorde for servicing his vehicle.

Check this:http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...rehensive-road-test-review-19.html#post118285

Our other Aria owner Karthickramu, had posted this Aria's pic, i some how felt that it was your Aria, but i didn't wan't to reveal the other day, before you could say.
Infact Raj mentioned it to be an issue of rear demister, but i had known that Aria was your's somehow.

Btw i am shocked to see that they haven't covered the car at A.S.S [surprise]

Good to know Aria has been restored to normal.

Btw where are the pics after restoring?[roll]

Thread Starter #248

@ Mukesh Oh thanks for letting me know buddy , i never checked the previous pages in that thread! But you could have mentioned that was my Aria , no issues! You din't see the car after a few more days , it was even in an even more worst state! None of the accidental cars are kept covered at A.S.S , all the cars are kept open to the rain and sun! I haven't taken any picture after the restoration , will post tomorrow.

@ Ilango Yup car is fine now , everything seems to have been put back together nicely except for the silencer vibrating issue which i mentioned in my earlier post too.

@ cooldhaya

So sad to hear about the bad incident abt your Aria.On a lighter note white Aria looks so beautiful and captivating that perhaps that TVS guy was enamoured so deeply ogling your Aria that he didn't realize the time for braking and crashed on to your beauty.

Good to hear that those minor niggles haven't taken any pleasure away from you of owning Aria and you are still loving to own it.[:)]

About the price rise yes when you would have bought Aria I think the ex-showroom Chennai prices for PRIDE would have been 15.50 lacs, but now Tata have increased the prices of the same to 16.10 lacs.

PS: raj_5004 Yes I have once again posted on an Aria thread,so don't start to bang your head after saying EXPECTED like this[frustration]

Thread Starter #250

Yeah i am happy with the car and as long as the niggles are just minor ones i am ready to adjust with it! Looking at Iron Rock's thread even the XUV is having some minor niggles. Our Indian manufacturers have to still master the art of reliability and they still have a long way to go!

And about the A.S.S experience well nothing great to be honest. Owning an Aria makes me their premium customer , their hospitality and courteousness is great but the premium feel is not present in the repair works carried out by them which is what is even more important. Paint work was shoddy , silencer is vibrating slightly , looks like i need to pay them another visit to get it resolved. TATA has given a world class product in Aria but they just don't have the technicians to take care of the car outside their factory. To be frank their A.S.S is fit to handle only upto Safari which has little electricals and more mechanicals. The SA even said the full form for TCS is Temperature control system and he asked the mechanic to check the AC and i was like--->>[frustration]

Overall their A.S.S still has a long way to go and its high time they hire more skilled personnel and labor atleast now after the launch of Aria. I just pray that i don't face any problems with the electricals or sensors in the car mainly ESP or TCS , they can take care of mechanical problems but not electrical!

@[glasses]Dhaya:Ha ha .ROFL.

Temperature control system [surprise]. Great man.
I am shocked that technicians have no knowledge about vehicle.

That's why M&M has cotech who are trained very well, during a products inception and also when the product is evolved.
So as to understand and diagonise correctly when a problem arises.

How on earth has he been SA there.

Yeah i am happy with the car and as long as the niggles are just minor ones i am ready to adjust with it! Looking at Iron Rock's thread even the XUV is having some minor niggles. Our Indian manufacturers have to still master the art of reliability and they still have a long way to go!

And about the A.S.S experience well nothing great to be honest. Owning an Aria makes me their premium customer , their hospitality and courteousness is great but the premium feel is not present in the repair works carried out by them which is what is even more important. Paint work was shoddy , silencer is vibrating slightly , looks like i need to pay them another visit to get it resolved. TATA has given a world class product in Aria but they just don't have the technicians to take care of the car outside their factory. To be frank their A.S.S is fit to handle only upto Safari which has little electricals and more mechanicals. The SA even said the full form for TCS is Temperature control system and he asked the mechanic to check the AC and i was like--->>[frustration]

Overall their A.S.S still has a long way to go and its high time they hire more skilled personnel and labor atleast now after the launch of Aria. I just pray that i don't face any problems with the electricals or sensors in the car mainly ESP or TCS , they can take care of mechanical problems but not electrical!

Yes i agree and reading the above u have hardly faced any niggles. So i am glad the Aria is serving you well. Yes you are bang on abt their A.S.S.
Tata really need to look at Aria personnel at their dealerships and take them through a grilling training or rather give them a brain 'transplant'!!

Please post some gleaming pics after the paint job.[:)]

Thread Starter #254

@ Mukesh Yeah i always feel Mahindra has a slight edge when it comes to A.S.S and customer care seeing your experiences and other happy Scorpio customers. I still remember when i went to TD Aria first time the watchman forcibly closed the power folding mirrors and i was like [shock]! If i am right this is the first TATA vehicle with projector headlamp , cruise control , ESP , TCS , GPS , rain sensing wipers , Automatic headlamps and power folding mirrors. And unluckily if something goes wrong with any of these i don't know how the A.S.S is going to fix them!

@ Truecitylover Sadly it rained today morning and car went for an highway stint and came back , its very very dirty now! Will post the pictures soon.

@ Iron Rock Err as i said before the car is very very dirty as it came back after an highway stint in the rain , so the car is not gleaming now![;)]