Tata Aria Pride Ownership Review @ 2 Years and 54K Kms

Re: Tata Aria Pride Ownership Review – TAI’s First!

Welcome back dhaya, its been so long your presence was absent all these days.

Thread Starter #227

Thank you Mukesh , the problem was with my modem all these days , i couldn't surf continuously for more than 5 minutes![frustration]

And a small update , faced my first minor niggle/issue with TATA Aria , will update soon about soon. Nothing too serious though ,it was resolved on the same day.

After all its a TATA , all these are expected!

Thread Starter #228

Well as i said before our Aria made the first unscheduled visit to the workshop , i expected this from a TATA!

One fine morning last week when my dad was driving the MID showed a warning "TCS and ESP failure , performance restricted". Dad luckily was near the A.S.S so he drove there straightaway , dropped the car around 11AM and even the A.S.S had no clue to what was the problem , they asked my dad to come back around 1 or 2PM. When my dad went back at 2PM still they were not even able to detect the problem! Dad got pissed off and scolded them. They promised they will give back the car before 6PM. I went to there at 4PM and found the car had gone for a road test and i waited for 10 minutes till the car came back. They said they connected a laptop and cleared all the error codes and the problem wont appear again. I guess it must have been some sensor problem and hopefully they have resolved the issue. The car is running fine without any other problems now.

First issue/niggle in my Aria in just 10 months! These things sometimes makes me feel my Verna(Hyundai) is far far better , not even a single unscheduled visit due to mechanical problems!

A car with lots of electronics is bound to have such minor issues. No worries. After all, it was nothing "mechanical" or part failure. Such errors are nothing to worry about, if it happens once in a while.

Either think it as one off incident dhaya, see after replacing headlamp in my Hawk, the automatic leveller isn't working, which i mainly use it in highway drives.
To cover one issue they create lot others and fill the original problem by hit & trial method.
Good to know it was solved.

They said they connected a laptop and cleared all the error codes and the problem wont appear again. I guess it must have been some sensor problem and hopefully they have resolved the issue. The car is running fine without any other problems now.
It seems they did a ECU reset. does that mean the problem wont arise again?

It is a pity that Tata "Ass" as usual keep ill trained or under trained technicians.

Cooldhaya ,I suggest you to take this matter seriously and look deeper to prevent any future troubles. as i understand you do frequent long trips in it.

The thing is , what is the root cause for these signal.

As the saying goes , no smoke with out fire , there must be something , that service guys trying to hide.

There are usually two options in this.
1. there is really a problem.

2. like the cell phones , computers , these thing did hang ??

but the possibility of first option is more , since a sand alone computer , with no cd/pen drive and original windows/linux installed and used only to type and print or play the card games and more important , nevere ever connected to internet , never hang.

Car's ecm comes under the sand alone system right?

Good thing is car is back to normal.

Thread Starter #233

@ Raj Yes once in a while is okay but still this is where the Koreans and Japs excel , they probably will never make an unscheduled visit in their entire life.

@ Mukesh Sad to see TATA and Mahindra lagging behind in A.S.S. They are delivering world class products with no proper trained technicians to repair or maintain the car.

@ Jayadev Exactly! Even i feel the problem will resurface again after sometime , but lets hope it really doesn't! But next time if it comes again i am shooting a mail , these fools can't play with an 18Lakh car!

@ Ilango Yeah even i feel they have just reset the ECU to remove the error message. What irked me even more is the SA who handled my case doesn't even know the technical terms properly , why hire such people TATA??!!

The car has clocked 18k KMS in 10 months now and running fine apart from this one-off issue. And however good their products are i probably still will never buy a TATA as my personal primary car till they drastically improve.

My time with Aria is very limited now , infact its more than a month since i last drove it , my time with Aria is restricted to only while washing the car!

Thread Starter #235

Yeah i am planning to get that also soon , it works with Hyundai for sure , have to wait and check if it works with Aria too.

ilango[speed thirst];108104 said:
but the possibility of first option is more , since a sand alone computer , with no cd/pen drive and original windows/linux installed and used only to type and print or play the card games and more important , nevere ever connected to internet , never hang.

Car's ecm comes under the sand alone system right?

Good thing is car is back to normal.
Hi Ilango, don't get me wrong, let me correct you.
Its stand alone system, in otherwords dedicated system which at any point of time should not fail.
They are critical systems, which after a dedicated time should give a response & never fail.

But dhaya, will the koreans & Japs give you so many features? Your Aria is loaded to the gills. Name the feature, you have it. Now compare it with the 24 lac fortuner or 28 lac Santa Fe.

You win some, you lose some, isnt it? Gosh! Life is so difficult! LOLZ

Thread Starter #238

Aah yes , i do agree in this segment our Indian manufacturers have did a great job! the thing is which you want and which you are ready to lose.Take the other segments say Hatch or C-segment or even C+ segment. Just for the sake of pure driving pleasure aren't we getting robbed in spares and overall maintenance? But i think this will go OT , let us create a new thread on this topic.

problem is not with the cars, namely Tata or fiat but the technicians and engineers.

kind of technicality which tata and fiat put in their products always push other brand to be ashamed but end of the day there is nobody to harness them.