Tata Aria Pleasure 4X4 a.k.a. The Chronicals of Saphira (Completed 51000 Kms)

Re: Tata Aria Pleasure 4X4 a.k.a. The Chronicals of Saphira

Control your impulse and drive safely.Such a large vehicle like Aria is not meant for spirited driving ,cornering or braking.They are meant for mile munching km after km without any fatigue,just cruise.Though i will wait for your long drive experience and best a travelogue.

lxi.

Be careful and control your temptations. Speed Thrills But Kills!
Such a Giant vehicle is not meant for High speed driving or cornering.

Drive Safe!

Thread Starter #63

Control your impulse and drive safely.Such a large vehicle like Aria is not meant for spirited driving ,cornering or braking.They are meant for mile munching km after km without any fatigue,just cruise.Though i will wait for your long drive experience and best a travelogue.

Oh Yes i always drive sanely, thats the reason why my Indigo never stranded me in middle of the road.

Same is for Saphira: Although the Runin period is over but for me, the entire life cycle of the vehicle is a runin period, where the master has to drive the vehicle sanely and take utmost care of his vehicle. From Day 1 to the last day of ownership.

I drive fast but at onlu those roads which are meant for these kind of speeds like Jaipur to Ajmer. I always try to keep vehicle under 100kmph as our roads are just not safe to drive beyond that speed in any of the vehicle.

Thanks for your advice and i'll keep that in my mind always.

So tornado78 ! Since u have tamed ur dragon.....

Enjoy the ride and continue being a responsible driver ![drive]
Since.... You are, What you Are !!!!:biggrin:

Thread Starter #65

After such a long time iam posting here due to the following reasons:
1.) No mods done
2.) No niggles faced
3.) Was enjoying my ride
4.) Was waiting to post after my long trip of Delhi Ajmer Delhi

So here we go with the next periodic update of the vehicle (saphira)

Factfile:
Kms covered: 5025 kms

So far apart from the initial niggles which i already mentioned in this report, no new niggles are faced by me. High Beam Focsing issue is still there (will rectified in 2nd service).
Fuel Efficiency: on an average on daily commute from delhi to gurgaon and back iam getting 13 kmpl.

Vehicle has crossed 5000 kms and second service is due (might go for it in this week itself).
Things planned for while second service"
1.) Engine oil change with other filters (as a precautionary step after runin)
2.) Rear parking sensor fitting (replacement is now at service centre)
3.) 2 nos of rubber beadings (under warranty)
4.) Clutch makes a Khich Khich sound in bumper to bumper traffic while engaging the clutch, no issues in pick up of sound. May be clutch play adjustment.
5.) Teflon coating and interiors and exteriros wash.

Now the First Short Trip of Saphira: Delhi to Pushkar-Ajmer & back to Delhi
Total Distance covered: 915 kms
Fuel Average: 13.1 kmpl
Best Mileage: 19.1 kmpl
worst mileage: 10.2
People on Board 3+1
Top Speed: between 145-150 kmph

As you all know that this trip was supposed to be my first trip in my car as to pay homeage at Ajmer Sharif Dargah. So me along with three other friends ventured out on this short trip to Ajmer on Saturday afternoon from delhi. The start of the trip was as usual was very tight as i have to face a lot of traffic in city and could manage to reach dalula kuan around 1.30 pm while i started from my place at 11.30 (this 2 hours also includes a round trip to pick two freinds and filling of diesel also). But after that the weather was HOT and gusty with strong cross winds, roads were not so empty and traffic was moderate to heavy.

With company of friends and Aria, we started our journey to Pushkar, the weather was hot, but only outside as we were enjoying the dual AC. The construction activities along the entire stretch make the ride mundane and a bit boring but we enjoyed all the songs played in the integrated Music System with sooper sound quality. We quech our thirst with cold water kept in the Chiller in Car. Friends were in the mood of taking a nap so they adjusted the middle row a bit and reclined it had power naps. Soon we crossed behror and kotputli and RATS who were running in our stomach asked us to feed them and off we enter into a roadside dhabha cum restaurent to fill our stomach with home cooked Plain Paranthas and Vegetables gallop down with chilled coke.

After spending 30 minutes or so there we started our journey again and crossed our favourite photo shoot point at Chandwaji Flyover (cul-de-seq) and many memories rushed through our minds. We have crossed this point many a times and enjoyed our photo shoot on this exotic location all the times but this time it is different, this time we are not carrying any camera and due to construction activities we were not impressed to stop and get down to click a snap, so we continued our journey.
Jaipur bypass again in a mess due to expansion of roads and heavy evening traffic but after that road from Jaipur to Kishangarh is bliss to drive. Arrow straight 8 lane road with moderate traffic for over 90 kms which we covered in just an hour and five minutes, we drove around 110 kmph on this stretch, but after Kishangarh roads are in good condition but road widening work in under process and it was getting dark, so we skipped our plan of having a cup of tea at kishangarh and keep driving to Pushkar.
Here initially I feel that the lights of my vehicle are not enough but soon I realized that with high beam on I can only see the upper parts of the trees and bus/truck drivers face, It was focusing issue not the quality of lights (soon to be rectified in 2nd service).
We have taken a direct route to Pushkar which is just 4-5 kms before one enters into Ajmer and this is the road on which I love driving my enfield last time I being there on my bike three years back. This is one lane well tarmac road with very light traffic and has curves. This road is in a small valley and surroundings are beautiful. Though it was dark and our speeds were hampered by out of focus high beams, we managed to reach Pushkar around 8PM and straight pointed ourselves to a tea shop in outer part of the town. The tea was nice and also met a person who can arrange a guest house for us at reasonable rates. He accompanies us to a hotel cum resort where we have taken two rooms @ Rs 600 per room with AC and nice and clean toilets. It’s a very big property of around 1 acre or so with only 14 rooms and a dining hall with lots of vegetation and surrounded by small hills from one side.
After getting refresh we sat for a general chit chat session with some liquid and snacks and spent around 2 hours chit chatting and discussing politics, driving, cinema and other things. That session was followed by a very good veg dinner and we say god night to each other and called it a day.
Total Kms: 460
End of Day 1

@Tornado: Good to see you are munching miles.

But where are the pics of Aria, we need some during every trips.[:)]

Thread Starter #67

@Tornado: Good to see you are munching miles.

But where are the pics of Aria, we need some during every trips.[:)]
No cameras with me and only 6 pics were captured that too of human beings. So sorry for no pics, this time but from next time i'll make sure to click atleast 5 snaps per day of Aria.

My camera is not functioning and the trip was finalised just a day before. so sorry but will post pics soon with adetailed photoshoot of Aria.

Let the dragon gets a detail bath and polishing after 2nd service...

Thread Starter #68

Dawn of Day 2...

After a sound sleep of around 7 hours we all woke up fresh and had a small half km walk in the woods and after that had a delicious paranthas breakfast. After filling ourselves it was time to fill the stomach of our dragon so we took a short break enroute to ajmer from pushkar to fill the diesel.
After paying our homeage at Dargah Shaarif we started at around 12pm from Ajmer towards delhi and reached delhi around 8PM with a stoppage of around 1.25 hrs for lunch. The highlight of the return journey was the Best Milegae acheived by Aria i.e. 19.1 KMPL and also the second highlight was the Speed acheived by us i.e. 145 - 150 KMPH. The vehicle was stable at that high speed and we have to see the speedo to beleive that we are doin 145 KMPH and same goes for Fuel mileage of 19.1 we were shocked to see such a figure.

Sorry guys for not posting a single pic as i dont click even a single pic during the drive, but will surely do a photoshoot after the second service which is schedule in this week.

Total Kms done: 915 kms
Top Speed - 145
Best Mileage- 19.1 KMPL
Best operating speed: 80 - 120 (due to the traffic in our country)
Brakes: Perfect, no shuddring issues, no fading, they are quick and nimble
CLutch: a bit hard or may be have a play issue (will check in service)
Riding Position: Is super but i have to get used to it as i was wearing HIGH Heel Shoes and that cause a bit of pain in my Right A**. As i drive with a very straight back.
Passenger Comfort: They were cocooned in the seats
Lights: High Beam Focussing issue
4x4: Did try it a bit in sand and immediately felt the difference as rear stopped drifting (pushkar) after engaging 4x4.
Even on flat roads you'll feel a rush in the vehicle in 4x4 and i dont understand how they say that it works only when slippage is detected.

Note: I dont know how the Car computer calculate Range of the vehicle, as i filled the vehicle once with diesel upto the brim when there only 8kms left in the range and it swallos only 49 lts of diesel in a fuel tank of 60 lts. I guess car consider 10lts for reserve after the range is finished. Kindly suggest how does it works in Aria and in other vehicles.

Thanks will share more info as i gathered more miles.

Fantastic narration of events,wonderful journey and a great car.Enjoyed it to the max,keep it coming.

Thread Starter #70

Hi Guys,

Kindly provide suggestions on the following:

1.) Rear Crash Gurad like the same design of Fortuner
2.) Front Crash Guard
3.) Speaker in the rear door, Please suggest the best size and brand with tentative pricing.
4.) Film on front glass.

Hi Guys,

2.) Front Crash Guard
3.) Speaker in the rear door, Please suggest the best size and brand with tentative pricing.
4.) Film on front glass.
Tornado somehow crash guards don't suit the aria I had seen one in Mumbai and it spoils the super elegant look of the aria , more ever I think they will create some issue with air bags too . For the film you can try vcool or 3 m . A d pls post some pics of your aria pls

Hi Guys,

2.) Front Crash Guard
4.) Film on front glass.
For front Glass Go for V-kool.

No need of Rear crash guard, as it may look ugly, same for the front.

Go for Ovals From Infinity or Polk Audio.

Hi Guys,

2.) Front Crash Guard
4.) Film on front glass.
Front crash guard is a big no-no,since it will nullify the front airbags during any unwanted mishap.Though other things can be easily installed without any problem to safety.

REMEMBER NOT TO COMPROMISE ON SAFETY.IF YOU WANT TO FIT FRONT BULL BARS THEN WHY DID YOU BUY ARIA WITH AIRBAGS?

Thread Starter #74

So no crash gurard at front but i have seen a rear crash guard in Aria two days back and it was so neat and integrated that i am tempted to go for it, It just looks same as we have seen in Fortuner (with steel finish and has black protuding rubbers at both the ends which curves into the sides of the vehicle).
First time i have seen such a good guard with Aria written over it, it was dark and i did clicked the snaps from my vehicle but they are of no use. I asked the guy from where he procured it and he said it is from BIMBRA AUTO in Rajinder Nagar Delhi. I might try to go on coming weekend.
I'll first post pics of the guard and than ask you fellow members to provide your views on it. If it suits it than only i'll go for it.

Regarding Front, its better to leave it.

Film: i might go for Vkool as sides and back already has vkool.

Sorry guys: My camera is not working and clicking from mobile will not give the kind of results i want, so lets see how soon i'll be able to post the clicks. But surely will post some pics after sunday as vehicle will be serviced and polished on sat.

Thread Starter #75

Hi Guys,

Finally i have given my Aria for 2nd Service today in the morning with 10 point agenda or so, Total kms done 5380.

the following were the main issues:
1.) Engine oil change (personal choice)
2.) Clutch play adjustment
3.) Headlight Focussing
4.) Brake ply Adjustment
5.) Seats to be tighten properly
6.) General checkup of all the fluids and top up
7.) Air filter clean
8.) Interiors clean and Teflon COating and Anti rust Coating Check.

Tata have also introduced some updation in the vehicle in the form of
1.) Peak Torque Limiter Nut to be replaced with new design
2.) Some bolts and nuts to be changed in Front shock absorbers

Total estimate given for the service is around rs 2500/- including oil change, oil filter change.

They'll deliver the vehicle tommorow in morning as inclusion of both the nuts and bolts required a lot of time of dismantle and reassembling.