Tata Aria Pleasure 4X4 a.k.a. The Chronicals of Saphira (Completed 51000 Kms)

Re: Tata Aria Pleasure 4X4 a.k.a. The Chronicals of Saphira (Completed 33333 Kms)

@navnit : if he's adding a tuning box the temperature of the engine will be more but tml would have designed radiator and intercooler for 140 ps and if the power is increased the engine temperature will also increase and at that time the std intercooler and radiator will not be sufficient and to support the high temperature only I have said to use synetic lube after adding tuning box

Re: Tata Aria Pleasure 4X4 a.k.a. The Chronicals of Saphira (Completed 33333 Kms)

Congrats Tornado78 on clocking 33333 kms.

And refrain yourselves from any kind of further mods to engine, as it may hamper the reliability in the long run.

Wish you many more miles of safe and happy motoring.

@maran,

Engine oil is to lubricate the engine and helps heat dissipation to some extent. Synthetic oil performs better than crude based ones but as of now the difference is minimal, specially at the level of operation of passenger cars. Synthetic oil being gold standard compared to crude based one is just a marketing trick.
And it has nothing to do with radiator or intercooler. Radiator and intercoolers are filled with coolants. A high performance coolants will do the trick.

Thread Starter #259

@navnit : if he's adding a tuning box the temperature of the engine will be more but tml would have designed radiator and intercooler for 140 ps and if the power is increased the engine temperature will also increase and at that time the std intercooler and radiator will not be sufficient and to support the high temperature only I have said to use synetic lube after adding tuning box
Congrats Tornado78 on clocking 33333 kms.

And refrain yourselves from any kind of further mods to engine, as it may hamper the reliability in the long run.

Wish you many more miles of safe and happy motoring.
@maran,

Engine oil is to lubricate the engine and helps heat dissipation to some extent. Synthetic oil performs better than crude based ones but as of now the difference is minimal, specially at the level of operation of passenger cars. Synthetic oil being gold standard compared to crude based one is just a marketing trick.
And it has nothing to do with radiator or intercooler. Radiator and intercoolers are filled with coolants. A high performance coolants will do the trick.

Thanks a lot Guys for your valuable suggestions:

1.) I guess 37000 kms in just 15 months is a good milage I have achieved, its like around 3000 kms per month. I was out of country for around 40 days or so.

2.) Would like to install RD box only if no ECM patch will not be released by TML for increase power and more drivability.

3.) Yes engine would tend to heat up a bit more if I will go for P2 mode which has 30% more power and torque figures over a sustained longer usage. But I have plans to use it only in P1 mode to get more drivability and highway crusing.
Infact I have plans to change the engine oil at 10000 kms not as prescribed 15000 kms. As my daily driving in Delhi Gurgaon Delhi Jams.

4.) To keep the engine cool we need a good quality COOLANT and regular change of mineral Oil. As due to a bit of extra heat oil will tend to loose its sheen a bit earlier than its desired 15000 kms interval.

But for now its all going fine and the vehicle needs a good underbody wash and anti rust coating before rains. SO I might go for it in the coming weekend at ABS Motors.

Note: Even in this 46 degree summer my car is keeping me super chill at medium AC and 2 speed. with a healthy average of 13-14 kmpl.

@Tornado78

Wow !! congratulations buddy, you are one of the patianceful owner of Tata Aria on TAI providing lot of inputs for other members, I wish you many more happy miles with your Aria

@Navnit: at very high temperature the natural oil's viscocity shall be reduced but this will never happen in synthetic Oil.
Bro please reffer to shell website in which they have mentioned the temperatures and the specification of each Oil.
Out of my expreience in VIsta QJT while climbing hills the vehicle let out smoke like old generation tavera but after changine to synthetic Oil there are no smoke even after 3500PRM.
@Tornado 78: for sure tuning box will change the smoothness of engine. Orginal sound of the engine will surely get changed.

@maran,

You are perfectly right regarding Viscosity and temperature relationship.

As I said, it makes no difference in a passenger car. Shell will post some good bits on their website as they want to sell these things. Do you know the price differential. Its 100%. The oil that the service stations (all manufacturers) use is a blend (crude+synthetic). And Vista emitting black smoke is due to unburnt diesel. Oil burns with white(grey) smoke. And if your car emits grey smoke, then its an indicator of damaged rings. And during the oil change, just check if they have done decarbonizing of the head/injectors.

I have a Grande that has now done 57000 kms, and still use normal oil. And it doesnt cough up black smoke. The day it does, I'll get an injector cleanup and everything will be fine. Thats what I did when I owned the Indigo TDCI.

Thread Starter #263

Hi All

Modern diesel engines in TML vehicles which are euro 4 compliant doesn't have any serviceable Catalic converters like it used to have till euro three phase. Now the regular cleaning is done by revving the engine at high RPMs like 3-4 k RPM so that exhaust system will belch out all the carbon and pollutants deposits in it. Whereas the cleaning and polishing of the system is done at a much higher rate where the exhaust system will be open and converter is cleaned and polished.

This is a major contributor of showing black smoke while we revv hard the vehicle.

Rates of normal engine oil and synthetic engine oils are
Normal Engine oils: Price range is Rs 180/ ltr to Rs 250/ ltr
Semi Synthetic: Rs. 350 to Rs 500
and
Synthetic Oils: Rs 850 to Rs 1100 per litre

So if I have to change engine oil in my car than the total cost would be

7.5 x 300 = Rs. 2250 for oil and Rs 400 for oil filter + Labour of Rs 100

Total Cost would be Rs 2750 per oil change at 8000 kms instead of 15000

If a synthetic oil is used than the cost for 15000 interval would be

Rs 7500 + 400 + 100 = Rs. 8000

So even in this scenario normal engine oils makes good sense where iam changing the engine oil at 7500 kms and spending only Rs 5000 - Rs 5500 for both the oil changes vis a vis Rs 8000.

@Tornado 78: good comparision BRAVO!
practically ture man and can work out well

Petronous Synthetic Oil is Rs.500/Litre only this is a newly recommended brand by TML

couple of questions I have ...
I am looking to go for Aria. Options I have is Pure LX and Pleasure.
Pure doesnt have ABS EBD but have disc brakes on all 4 wheels.

Pleasure has ABS EBD along with 4 disc brakes.

Price difference between the two is around 2 lacs. Can I give more importance to price or even if it being a costly option go for pleasure (with ABS EBD)

my other question is I really loved the 17 inch alloys which are part of pride offering. However for pure and pleasure 16 inch steel wheels are given. When I enquired with sales guys for alloys, he said they could only give 16 in alloys the ones fitted for storme. But not 17" alloys as pride is different model.

My question is, is the sales guy right in saying above or that I can still go for 17" alloys?

@Vikyjoshi: THere will be difference in Ground clearence and performance between the 17" & 16" wheel patern.
THE dealers should not change the OE specification.but 16" wheels perform better than 17".
Its not only the wheel but tyre also should be changed.Even speedometer configuration should be changed.

@navnit013: really petronous is 500-550/litre and pure synthetic.

@ Maranprashant kindly check your spellings. Its not petronous its Petronas [;)].
I was wondering if a new oil company called petronous have emerged out of nowhere [;)][lol].

@ Vickyjoshi here is the link to specs of TATA Aria I hope this should clear some doubts.

I feel ABS and EBD will always come handy in an emergency situation, That 2 lakhs spent on such safety devices is better than spending that much money or more on accident repairs and hospital bills.