Sedans v/s SUVs - Your Personal Pick?

Sedan or SUV

Re: The BIG Debate: Sedans v/s SUVs

@Autosafari:
Its okay with an Innova or Tavera or Grande or a Bolero to be thought to be a taxi and being checked.But the reason behind the UVs like Scorpio and Safari being checked by the cops here in NCR is somewhat different,the reasons are as follows:-
1)Now a days most of the criminals here in NCR are using either Scorpio or Safari.
2)A major part of the stolen vehicles here in NCR are either Boleros,Scorpios or Safaries.
3)These vehicles have been found involved in smuggling too.
4)Basically these are used by politicians or ministers so,illegal jobs are carried out in them extensively.

While there is nothing like the same with the sedans.

Arre:mad: all your basic views are to confirm that only these of kind people will use for bad purpose??
Change your views,All are not meant to be like that.
Some need SUVs for their utility,and to suit their personal needs,but what can one do when its used for bad purpose,in fact everyone uses money, then will you confirm he is doing it for a bad thing?

Well i say the sedan owners are selfish,they only want their family to travel and not others to enjoy with them,whereas SUVs are to trip with families around,in the way that no one feels rejected when it is around.

@Autosafari:
Its okay with an Innova or Tavera or Grande or a Bolero to be thought to be a taxi and being checked.But the reason behind the UVs like Scorpio and Safari being checked by the cops here in NCR is somewhat different,the reasons are as follows:-
1)Now a days most of the criminals here in NCR are using either Scorpio or Safari.[surprise]
2)A major part of the stolen vehicles here in NCR are either Boleros,Scorpios or Safaries.[surprise]
3)These vehicles have been found involved in smuggling too.
4)Basically these are used by politicians or ministers so,illegal jobs are carried out in them extensively.

While there is nothing like the same with the sedans.
I am shocked, astonished and can't control my [lol].
Lol, so you mean UV's are meant for illegal activities.
This is ridiculous man so how did you come to conclusion.
I can't agree with this.

Guys kindly keep the debate, in favour of automotive views.

I can't agree with this.
No they did not mean it that way.
Rather criminals prefer uv's against Sedan due to abuse it can handle.

Down south in kerala too, is same situation.Innova and scorpio remains in hitlist.
That does not mean innova/scorpio owners are all criminals in kerala.

just because a few goons and netas are using suvs doesn't mean that all suv users belong to that category. in fact in holiwood movies criminals making fast get aways use sedans.what vehicle one uses depends on what are the needs of the user. i use a sedan because it gives me more mileage, i have a family of four, long trips with my other family members occurs say once or twice in a year, where i live parking is also a problem,at present my financial position doesn't permit me to afford an suv.in our part of the country police don't differentiate between suvs and sedans while checking.true that suvs have a better road presence in the sense that bus/ truck drivers give them better consideration than sedans.

The only reason I might go for a SUV is the ground clearance, tyre size and the suspension setup???. I may feel more confident on a SUV than a sedan while traveling on very bad roads.

When I travel on real bad roads in my sedan, I am always apprehensive that something might give way. But at the end of the journey the sedan comes out without any hassles.

Now, I am wondering if it is really necessary to go for an SUV?

My Ex boss had A scorpio that was in 2005-2006 . he bought it out of hype and Goodies he heard everywhere.
But he used it maybe for 7-8 months and sold it off. I traveled with him in same car and did say how it felt to which he shruged his shoulders. next car he bought was Skoda Laura.(now he owns audi )
My boss (he is one of the Directors in the company), I think brought his Scorpio (2.6L) somewhere in 2006, Is still using it and Happy with it.

In a way, He using the Scorpio for almost 6 years and did not want to part from it, made my decision of going for a Scorpio easier.

By the way he has a Linea, which is driven by his driver, but never seen him using his driver for the Scorpio.

And mHawk 2.2 L is far better than the 2.6L engine.

Thread Starter #98

@S Class:
Just have a look at what I have written and you wil find that I haven't mentioned 4X2s as SUVs but have mentioned them simply as UVs.
This 4x2 statement was not meant to you buddy, it was for those who used to compare scorpios with big daddys like Range Rovers & then used to say it is done to keep cost down [lol].

I am already used to UVs maybe even more than some of our SUV/UV owners here.My Innova has covered about 90k kms,Safari was sold after 18k kms and Scorpio after 7k kms.That means overall I have experienced this breed of vehicles for more than one lac kms.I hope this much experience is enough to judge a vehicle.
More than enough. Good to see both side of the coins from a person having used both type of vehicles extensively.[thumbsup]

ok i give up call it whatever you like UV BUV SUV LUV DUV or even people carrier

Happy
Don't get frustrated buddy. Have a look at pic below. One is San Storm which sells at 6L & other is Merc SLK. Both have 2 doors, 2 seats, convertible. Now does this make San Storm a SPORTS CAR ? NO. Similarly, Scorpios & Safaris can't be called as SUVs. Hope you got what we are trying to say.

No they did not mean it that way.
Rather criminals prefer uv's against Sedan due to abuse it can handle.

Down south in kerala too, is same situation.Innova and scorpio remains in hitlist.
That does not mean innova/scorpio owners are all criminals in kerala.
And scorpios are used by goons in West Maharashtra & that too either black or white color. Some gangsters were shot dead in Scorpio.

Ofcourse, this doesn't needs to have direct effect on Sedan Vs SUV, but yeah, UVs are more crude.

When I travel on real bad roads in my sedan, I am always apprehensive that something might give way. But at the end of the journey the sedan comes out without any hassles.

Now, I am wondering if it is really necessary to go for an SUV?
I felt the same when Pune-Nagar road highway was being widened to 4 lanes ahead of Shirur. However, once the road got ready, it is simply fantastic for cars, beats UVs by miles. Also, what I have seen is even on a smooth highway, there are long bumps due to uneven surface of land & proper filling not done by road contractor. In this case, even when the road is smooth, at high speeds, the vehicle tyres go in air for some moment & it is here that sedan remains grounded while UVs literally jump.

as i said earlier call whatever you like i don't care .

By showing that pic is like comparing gypsy with land rover

Thread Starter #100

Just wanted to add that in case of Scorpio, we were discussing just CRDe & MHawk engines. What we forgot was Scorpio M2DI Micro-Hybrid one [lol].

the suspension and everything remains the same. only difference is the engine which was meant to appeal to the fuel efficency conscious customer. never really took off like the mHawk.

I am shocked, astonished and can't control my [lol].
I can't agree with this.

Guys kindly keep the debate, in favour of automotive views.
@Vishwas and Mukeshus:
Actually both of you people misunderstood me,its a fact that everyone is not the same,then how you people can even think that I have mentioned the same..

As much I remember,I haven't anywhere typed "ALL SUVs"..instead I have everywhere typed "Some SUVs".

IMO, Sedan is more of an image vehicle. Hatches these days have enough cabin space and boot space to survive the long journeys and short city stints! There are too many options to choose from as well.

So if the requirement is for a people/things mover, MUV/SUV it has to be!