Sedans v/s SUVs - Your Personal Pick?

Sedan or SUV

Re: Mahindra XUV500 vs Tata Aria vs Toyota Innova!

Don't get me wrong. As said to Raj, this is based on what is largely seen in Pune. You can even check what has been written by drivetech as well.

3 of my relatives too own SUV but they are not based in Pune. Anytime you come to Pune, 90% of scorpios/fortuners will be driven by khadi clad netas, chamchas or gunthamantris. Hence, the statement. And buddy, don't take it personally.

* Sharad Pawars fav vehicle is Audi Q7, netas below him drive Fortuner while low rung chamchas & corporators drive scorpio. Pls visit PMC/PCMC HQ.
Hi S-Class
I wonder what makes you compare & link your tread to "Pune" itself , again & again you are quoating Netas , Chamchas & so on .Its once own choice , I have been driving sedans but then after experiencing my first SUV , i.e Safari , forget me my full family including my 06 yrs old child likes SUV only & strictly.

So its everyones personal choice , I see that with so many people giving their inputs , u r still repeating Goons , Neetas & Pune city ; I think its absurd , I mean your arguments or comparisons are like a blind folded horse , that's , going in just one direction.

I own a sedan too , I enjoy driving it when & where it has to be driven.

So , enjoy your self buddy & avoid categorising SUV's for goons & Neetas. [:D]

The 7 seater Scorpios have slightly more legroom in middle row than 8 seater versions.
Its not just the space in middle row but the discomfort factor is upright back rest in scorpio which creates a lot of trouble in long journeys (personal experience).

Front seats are good but middle and rear are not meant for long drives.

Its not just the space in middle row but the discomfort factor is upright back rest in scorpio which creates a lot of trouble in long journeys (personal experience).

Front seats are good but middle and rear are not meant for long drives.
True.

In the 7 seater versions, you cant tilt the back rest of the middle row. In the 8 seater versions, you can.

Thread Starter #335

Please tell me the procedure to register one & also grant me a driving license for one. I am sure you must have done this, else you wont say this, right?
Seems you are a Serious person, can't take anything in lighter note. Please understand the context against which anything is posted, don't look at mere face value.

No car is the ultimate dude, you need to understand that. When we talk about off roading, even Hummers & LRs & LCs get stuck.
Exactly, this is what we were trying to say. No point in going gung-ho on UVs.

Point is, an SUV is more competent on non existent roads. Take a sedan to the same place, wont it get stuck? So, what have you proved here? NOTHING.
Who said at first place that sedans go to non-existent road ?

I dont know what's your height but you are uncomfortable in Scorpio, XUV5OO, Innova, Fortuner... in ever car your knees get stuck, GOD knows how! (By the way, you are supposed to steer with your hands... just in case!)
When steering gets stuck, even if you bring JCB, whats the use ? Seems you can't visualize simple things. Neways, I found that phone in which I had taken pics. Will upload it here.

I am 6'2" and I am very comfortable in a Scorpio! And I am talking about why I use the Scorpio in city (since that's what you asked). So I could not care less how comfortable you feel!!!
There is one term called 'Body Structure'. Please understand it & then comment. Height alone doesn't decide anything.

Not everytime. Not all SUVs are the best off roaders.

But nevertheless, they are better than sedans off road, that's the point here, right?

Your sedans can?
It seems you are trying to oppose me rather than my points. In all threads, it is only you who does Tu, Tu...main main. Grow up, KID.

All said and done, the poll results clearly declare SUVs as the winner... by a huge margin.
LoL. The real winner is one who does lot of 'Sales'. Please find sales fig in India & then say winner.

i am 6.2 ft by height. and i find driving the scorpio and legroom comfortable than even the VW jetta.

also it seems you did not find a steering adjust knob to lift up the steering wheel.
Buddy, I tried not one but 3 scorpios, right from base M2Di to top end model.
Even sat in one at Silver Jubilee Motors when I had gone for enquiry of XUV. And even the sales guy there admitted that scorpio is not suitable. If anytime you are in Pune, please pm me. I will meet you & show you live demo.

Yes that's my primary concern as well.But I have sorted it out as well one Nano and one cross-over.What say?
Thats real good combo, but better even if it is Vista & Aria coz you atleast have some boot to put stuff bought from hypermarkets.

Also you mentioned only Innova and Aria,why not XUV500?Will in not fit for my kind of usage?Just want to know your opinion.
Your name is Xover. Will Xovy go hand in hand with XUV ?
Aria is proper cross-over, XUV is more jeep like.
And as you drive on highways, Aria is far more planted than XUV & not to forget the looks of Aria, they are far more rich & sophisticated than XUV, which looks cheaply overdone. Infact, even scorpio looks more natural than XUV.

@ raj_5004 & S Class

Please don't disrespect each other.I don't find mutual respect for one another in your posts.
+1. But problem is in 90% of posts, he just keeps repeating same points.
And I think it has more to do with his anti-sedan outlook. First bash it here & then in sedan vs hatch thread......& funny thing is he himself will say under 8L, no boot required & now decide [lol].

Hi S-Class
I wonder what makes you compare & link your tread to "Pune" itself , again & again you are quoating Netas , Chamchas & so on.
So its everyones personal choice , I see that with so many people giving their inputs , u r still repeating Goons , Neetas & Pune city ; I think its absurd , I mean your arguments or comparisons are like a blind folded horse , that's , going in just one direction.

So , enjoy your self buddy & avoid categorising SUV's for goons & Neetas.
Can't help buddy as it is real fact. And it is not only in Pune but in entire Western Maharashtra, Vidarbha & border areas of MH-KA. Even in UP, the goons drive UVS. Members like TSIVipul have even said this. I also know this well as my family friend is close associate of one of most known MP in UP. His men drive around in scorpio & safaris.

And even in AP, the Jagmohan Reddy has fleet of SUVs, so are the Reddy bros of Bellary in KA. My uncle was room-mate of JD(U) general secretary & even they use SUVs to large extent. This guy owns Ford Endy & fortuner.

Please understand that this is not Pune phenomenon, but more or less pan-India. I still remember that in my school days, I used to be wary of Maruti Omni. Reason - It was used extensively for kidnapping. Now this doesn't mean all Omni owners of that time were kidnappers. Hope you got my point.

Exactly, this is what we were trying to say. No point in going gung-ho on UVs.
Problem is - you totally forget on what context we are talking about!

Who said at first place that sedans go to non-existent road ?
Dude, we are saying - SUVs can do some off roading stuff. Sedans cant do it at all... That does not mean SUVs are mountain climbers!

There is one term called 'Body Structure'. Please understand it & then comment. Height alone doesn't decide anything.
Means some problem with your body structure?? Ohhh ok, sorry. I though something wrong with the car!

In all threads, it is only you who does Tu, Tu...main main.
Because I am getting 'Reputations' for it from many members. Their PMs states that they are tired of debating with you because of some senseless points.

Grow up, KID.
Kindly refrain from such statements.

LoL. The real winner is one who does lot of 'Sales'. Please find sales fig in India & then say winner.
Gosh! you are confused!

Then why did you open this thread in the first place? Why did you start a poll?

you could have simply gone ahead, posted sales figures & claimed that sedans are better!

XUV is more jeep like.
XUV looks like a Jeep to you? [frustration]

+1. But problem is in 90% of posts, he just keeps repeating same points.
Really?

And I think it has more to do with his anti-sedan outlook. First bash it here & then in sedan vs hatch thread......
Hmm, not anti sedan. Anti-sedan loyalists who claim that sedans are the ultimate & the rest is "crap".

funny thing is he himself will say under 8L, no boot required & now decide [lol].
Please explain what's funny about it?

It is not my problem that you did not understand the content. Those who did posted some sensible replied there. Check.

Can't help buddy as it is real fact. And it is not only in Pune but in entire Western Maharashtra, Vidarbha & border areas of MH-KA. Even in UP, the goons drive UVS. Members like TSIVipul have even said this. I also know this well as my family friend is close associate of one of most known MP in UP. His men drive around in scorpio & safaris.

And even in AP, the Jagmohan Reddy has fleet of SUVs, so are the Reddy bros of Bellary in KA. My uncle was room-mate of JD(U) general secretary & even they use SUVs to large extent. This guy owns Ford Endy & fortuner.

Please understand that this is not Pune phenomenon, but more or less pan-India. I still remember that in my school days, I used to be wary of Maruti Omni. Reason - It was used extensively for kidnapping. Now this doesn't mean all Omni owners of that time were kidnappers. Hope you got my point.
[sleep]

i am 6.2 ft by height. and i find driving the scorpio and legroom comfortable than even the VW jetta.

also it seems you did not find a steering adjust knob to lift up the steering wheel.
Buddy are you sure you have driven a Jetta not a Vento?
I think driving comfort for you means high seating position...your personal preference it is,truck drivers feel cars like tin cans and hence they are never comfortable driving cars.
I don't know what's wrong with me that I am yet to find this comfort in these SUVs but have gone gaga over Yeti and CR-V only.

Yes that's my primary concern as well.But I have sorted it out as well one Nano and one cross-over.What say?
Hmm,naaa with a crossover the Nano will not work.Simple it is,who will like travelling in the Nano then?I think a Punto and a crossover will do well.

@ raj_5004 & S Class

Please don't disrespect each other.I don't find mutual respect for one another in your posts.
+1000.

Hi S-Class
I wonder what makes you compare & link your tread to "Pune" itself , again & again you are quoating Netas , Chamchas & so on .Its once own choice , I have been driving sedans but then after experiencing my first SUV , i.e Safari , forget me my full family including my 06 yrs old child likes SUV only & strictly.

So , enjoy your self buddy & avoid categorising SUV's for goons & Neetas.
No comments,as I have many times mentioned before,DIFFERENT PEOPLE,DIFFERENT PRIORITIES AND HENCE DIFFERENT CARS.

Right now I am in a mood of writing a long comparo between sedans and SUVs and will definitely come up with it(My post count is nearing 1000,and my 1000th post will come up in this thread only.)

Buddy are you sure you have driven a Jetta not a Vento?
I think driving comfort for you means high seating position...your personal preference it is,truck drivers feel cars like tin cans and hence they are never comfortable driving cars.
I don't know what's wrong with me that I am yet to find this comfort in these SUVs but have gone gaga over Yeti and CR-V only.
sat in the drivers seat of the jetta but did not drive it.

extended the seat to the maximum but still the knees were hitting the dashboard, so placing the foot on the clutch, etc was out of question.

i simply refused to drive it.

also the ingress and outgress was again problematic.

maybe because of my height i found it difficult and others with slightly medium height might find it comfy.

just for an idea my height

Thread Starter #339

+1

Right now I am in a mood of writing a long comparo between sedans and SUVs and will definitely come up with it(My post count is nearing 1000,and my 1000th post will come up in this thread only.)
Awaiting your 1000th post.

extended the seat to the maximum but still the knees were hitting the dashboard, so placing the foot on the clutch, etc was out of question.
And are you able to drive scorpio without your knees hitting dashboard ? [confused] I found scorpio more cramped than jetta.

i simply refused to drive it.

also the ingress and outgress was again problematic.

maybe because of my height i found it difficult and others with slightly medium height might find it comfy.

just for an idea my height
Buddy after seeing the pic,I can say that you are over 6 feet(On a lighter note:STILL YOU DON'T LOOK LIKE A 'SUPERBAD' GUY).
About Jetta,I have driven the older one just once but as much I remember it has enough legroom.Maybe the seat hieght was adjusted to the maximum and steering to the lowest position,due to which you encountered this issue.Now let me repeat your words:
"It looks like you haven't found seat height as well as steering position adjusting knobs".
About ingress and outgress,seeing your height and build,ant sedan will cause problem for you.
Overall:Your height is the culprit here,again same words:Different people,different priorities and hence different cars(I know you people are fed up reading this,but then this is true..[:D])

Hi Gauresh

I suppose thats your Scorp , nice one , enjoy your rides.[cheers]
yes you are right. am a G3 customer too [;)]
thanks aaditya [:)]

Now let me repeat your words:
"It looks like you haven't found seat height as well as steering position adjusting knobs".
found them and both were at the extreme. since my knees were hitting the dashboard so steering controls were out of question.

Hello guys,so here comes my 1000th post.First of all,Why this thread only for this special post?Simple it is ’Because this thread is special and has a lot of potential’..:biggrin:

Okay,so now I try to make a brief compare between SUVs and sedans.For this compare I have taken the vehicles which come under the price tag of 15 lac only.Why?Because above this comes premium cars and they do not contribute that much in the sales.And yes, Prices considered are on-road Delhi

SUVs considered:
1):Mahindra Bolero ZLX-------About 7.9 lacs .
2):Mahindra Scorpio VLX-------About 12.85 lacs.
3):Mahindra XUV 500 W8------About 15.10 lacs.
4):Tata Safari VX------About 14.2 lacs.
(Why three M&M SUVs?Because M&M has the largest number of SUVs on offer(note:I have nothing to do with M&M and its owners,nor I took them to bash them etc etc))
Sedans considered to compete against these SUVs:
1):Tata Indigo Manza Aura ABS-------About 8.10 lacs.
2):Ford Fiesta 1.5 Titanium +--------About 12.2 lacs.
3):Hyundai Verna 1.6 Option-------About 12.3 lacs.
4):Chevrolet Optra Magnum LT------About 10.7 lacs.

Now the compare goes this way:-
1)::Mahindra Bolero ZLX Vs Tata Indigo Manza Aura ABS.
Why?Because both costs nearly same and both are launched at about same time.

2):Mahindra Scorpio VLX Vs Ford Fiesta 1.5 Titanium+.
Why?Because Fiesta is priced quite close to Scorpio,people say that M-Hawk is very responsive!Hence I compared it with the responsiveness of Ford TDCi.

3):Mahindra XUV 500 W8 Vs Hyundai Verna 1.6 CRDi Option.
Why?Although there is a very wide price gap,but then both of them have got very refined engines.Both have got good performance mated to just okay handling and most important ‘BOTH ARE LOADED WITH FEATURES’ for people who love features.Both are VFM too.

4):Tata Safari 2.2 vtt Dicor VX Vs Chevrolet Optra Magnum TCDi LT.
Why?Both are old,both are living with an old design for a long time.But what made me compare them is same torque figures for both.

Here goes the comparo(for comparing power,torque,performance etc ACI(Autocar Magazine) has been taken as a reference,while the FE figures,comfort levels and dynamics are compared as per my own experiences):-
Disclaimer:Since there is no replacement to displacement,so until the turbo comes live the SUVs are expected to perform better..
Mahindra Bolero ZLX Vs Tata Manza Aura ABS:
Mahindra Bolero ZLX:-
FjgPO.jpg
The heart thing:
Engine:2523cc in-line-four,turbocharged(FGT) with common rail technology(M2-DICR).
Power:63 BHP.
Torque:19.8 KGM.
0-60 kph:8.67 secs.
0-100 kph:25.61 secs.
Top speed:124 kph.
FE:About 10.5 kpl in city and About 15-16 kpl on highways.
GC:180 mm.
Equipment:
Simply nothing except an ICE system.
Safety:None,neither ABS nor airbags.

Advantages:
High GC,rugged,highly reliable,new engine is refined.
Disadvantages:
Interior quality is pathetic,ergonomics are not that good,still its crude,safety levels,uncomfy seats,ride and handling.

Tata Manza Aura ABS:-
8SorK.jpg
The heart thing:
Engine:Haha our national engine..1248cc in-line-four,turbocharged(VGT) with common rail technology(Quadrajet-90).
Power: 89 BHP.
Torque:20.4 KGM.
0-60 kph:5.83 secs.
0-100 kph:14.54 secs.
Top speed:168 kph.
FE:About 13-14 kpl in city and 18-20 kpl on highways.
GC:165 mm.

Equipment:
Adjustable steering wheel(rake),ORVMs adjustable from inside,three way adjustable driver seat,rear defogger.
Safety:ABS for safe braking.

Advantages:
Space,comfortable seats,tremendous VFM,better performance,FE and ride quality.
Disadvantages:
Styling may not appeal to many,fit and finish still not upto the mark.

Where Bolero has the advantage of ruggedness,space and bigger engine,the Manza has the advantage of more power,torque,far better performance,comfort,better equipment and more safety.While Bolero feels very downmarket from inside the Manza has an upmarket flair.And with the advantage of far better FE I can’t find any specific reason for one to buy Bolero except for butch looks and seven seats(uncomfortable).

Mahindra Scorpio VLX Vs Ford Fiesta 1.5 Titanium+
Mahindra Scorpio VLX:-
lE7Dh.jpg
The heart thing:
Engine:2179 cc in-line-four,turbocharged(FGT) with common rail technology(CRDe-Mhawk).
Power: 120 BHP
Torque:28.5 KGM.
0-60 kph:6.10 secs.
0-100 kph:14.88 secs.
Top speed:152 kph.
FE:11 kpl in city and 14-15 kpl on highways(Scorpio owners kindly confirm it).
GC:180 mm.

Equipment:
Rake adjustable steering,alloy wheels,electrically adjustable RVMs,rear defogger.split/folding rear seats,added comfort of sliding middle row.
Safety:ABS and airbags.

Advantages:
Aggressive styling(I love it),responsive engine,good FE,refinement,reliability.
Disadvantages:
Ride and handling still not upto the mark,interior plastic quality does not feel anywhere near even a sedan costing 3 lacs cheaper.

Ford Fiesta 1.5 Titanium+:-
aEuZq.jpg
The heart thing:
Engine:1498cc in-line-four,turbocharged with common rail technology(TDCi)
Power: 88.7 BHP.
Torque:20.8 KGM.
0-60 kph:5.79 secs.
0-100 kph:13.90 secs.
Top speed:171 kph.
FE:About 14-15 kpl in city and about 19-20 kpl on highways
GC:175 mm.

Equipment:
Automatic climate control,Rake adjustable steering,three way adjustable driver seat,electrically powered as well as retractable ORVMs.
Safety:ABS with front airbags.

Advantages:
Ride and handling,responsiveness,fun to drive factor,FE,features,styling,fit and finish.
Disadvantages:
Rear seat lack comfort(for sedans,not SUVs),highish price,pricey spares.

When responsiveness meets responsiveness,I have been hearing people daily talking about the responsiveness of the MHawk engine.So what I did is,I selected two diesel engines which are said to be most responsive throughout the rev range(ie:Mahindra MHawk and Ford TDCi).
Where Scorpio has more power,torque and a bigger engine,it’s the Fiesta which despite having far lower power and torque is still more responsive,thanks to the perfect combination of engine and gearbox,there is nothing like turbo lag in the Fiesta and hence with the responsiveness the razor sharp handling and ride with fantastic brakes make a perfect driver’s car.
Rear seats are where the Fiesta takes the beating.Where Scorpio has got wider seats with fantastic space,the Fiesta is short on space at the rear(as compared to Scorpio).But then the ride of Fiesta still makes it as comfy as the Scorpio to be in.
After all,a price difference of 1.5+ lacs leaves a lot to think for,and then the overall product quality still favors Fiesta.

Mahindra XUV 500 W8 Vs Hyundai Verna 1.6 CRDi VGT Option:
Mahindra XUV 500 W8:-
WjyZ1.jpg
The heart thing:
Engine:2179 cc in-line-four,turbocharged(VGT) with common rail technology.(MHawk)
Power: 140 BHP.
Torque:33 KGM.
0-60 kph:5.56 secs.
0-100 kph:12.34 secs.
Top speed:178 kph.
FE:City 11-12 kpl,Highway:15-16 kpl(can go upto 17,XUV owners please take time to correct any mistakes).
GC:200 mm

Equipment:
Automatic climate control,Reach/Rake adjustable steering wheel,Alloy rims,leather seats,three way adjustable driver seat,electric retract for ORVMs,split/folding rear seats.
Safety:ABS with 6 airbags(two front,four curtain).

Advantages:
Hmmm,XUV is the SUV of gen-X and hence its loaded with the gizmos with the added flavor of ‘performance’.There are a lot more electronics then anyone has seen in any SUV costing even double the price of XUV.Fantastic low speed ride and so is the steering at low speeds.Space is great,seating is great,in fact it’s a comfy ‘city’ SUV.And with all these the added safety features make the treat special and once you look at the price and it is surely a mouth watering package.
Disadvantages:
Dynamically still not upto the mark,non-confident high speed ride,braking could have been better,plastic quality still nowhere near the sedans costing even a lac or two cheaper than the XUV.Fit and finish could have been better .

Hyundai Verna 1.6 CRDi VGT Option
Z9NrR.jpg
The heart thing:
Engine:-1582 cc in-line-four,turbocharged(VGT) with common rail technology(CRDi)
Power: 126.2 BHP.
Torque:26.5 KGM.
0-60 kph:4.51 secs.
0-100 kph:10.54 secs.
Top speed:191 kph.
FE:14-16 kpl in city and 20-22 kpl on highways(thanks to 6th Gear,Verna ownerk please correct if any mistake)
GC:175mm.

Equipment:
Automatic climate control,rake adjustable steering wheel,alloy rims,leather seats,three way adjustable driver seat,electrically retractable ORVMs.
Safety:ABS,EBD with 6 airbags.

Advantages:
Features(this car is loaded with them),refined engine,responsive engine,FE,ease of ownership,interior quality with fit and finish,design,fantastic car for city driving due to its feather light steering.
Disadvantages:
Soft suspension setup and steering not suited for highway speeds,rear seat not as comfy as expected,gearbox could have been better.

A battle of VFM Vs VFM it is,if one speaks of features then both the vehicles are loaded with them to the brim,if anyone wants design then again both the vehicles have smashing design.If one wants ease of city driving then both have got great city driveability.Only what makes the difference is the number of seats,FE,price and performance.
Definitely XUV is having a far more comfortable rears eat as compared to the Verna but when it comes to driving,again Verna is head and shoulders above XUV,why?Because it is a sedan.
Where XUV is having very refined engine,the Verna is having even more,although the XUV has the advantage of power and torque and with a simply perfect gearbox the XUV ticks all the right boxes,only let down is the high speed stability.While Verna is also having a seriously powerful engine,but then it has got good turbo lag too and added to it is the gearbox which makes you feel like the total power of engine is never used.
Both are low speed heros,Verna is really having a better low speed ride while XUV has got a better mid-speed ride(60-90 kph and this is a serious advantage as most of the time the car is driven at this speed only).Both are lacking confidence at high speeds still verna being a sedan has an edge over XUV here.
No doubt overall XUV is really better than Verna,it is more comfy,has got more equipment,looks butch,is better built and many more factors.But then there is a price difference of more than 2 lacs which again leave a lot to be desired.

Chevrolet Optra Magnum LT Vs Tata Safari VX:
Tata safari VX:-
XCJtW.jpg
The heart thing:
Engine:2179 cc in-line-four,turbocharged(VGT) with common rail technology(vtt Dicor)
Power: 140 BHP
Torque:32.6 KGM.
0-60 kph:5.76 secs.
0-100 kph:15.16 secs.
Top speed:156 kph.
FE:10-12 kpl in city and 14-16 kpl on highways(Safari owners please confirm it).
GC:205 mm.

Equipment:
Rake adjustable steering wheel,alloy rims,leather seats,three way adjustable driver seat,split/folding rear seats.
Safety:ABS with 2 airbags.
Advantages:
Space and comfort is where Safari excels,it is a true comfy cruiser with fantastic high speed ride,FE,powerful diesel engine,refinement.
Disadvantages:
Braking could have been better,overall quality could have been better,interior fit and finish still not upto the mark.

Chevrolet Optra Magnum TCDi LT:
pGrWW.jpg
The heart thing:
Engine:1991cc in-line-four,turbocharged(FGT) with common rail technology(TCDi)
Power: 120 BHP.
Torque:32.6 KGM.
0-60 kph:4.55 secs.
0-100 kph:10.90 secs.
Top speed:190 kph.
FE:14-15 kpl in city and 18-20 kpl on highways.
GC:165 mm.

Equipment:
Rake adjustable steering wheel,three way adjustable steering wheel,leather seats.
Safety:ABS,EBD with 2 airbags.

Advantages:
Shattering performance(bigger engine always shows its signs),powerful engine,fantastic mid range,space and comfort,ride and FE,interior quality.
Disadvantages:
Handling could have been better(still far better than SUVs),clutch is hard,non exciting interior design.

Here between the comparison of oldies,both are old but have loads of power and some ‘serious’ torque.Both are having great high speed ride and very comfy rear seats.While Optra is more fun to drive then Safari is having a far more comfy rear seat.
Both are lacking in the equipments and both have started looking dated now.But with a price difference of about 3 lacs,no doubt Optra strikes the cord better than Safari.

My purpose of making this compare was not to prove the above said SUVs inferior in front of those sedans,but was to just focus of the following points:-
1):When most of the people buy 4X2 SUVs then they and sedans are nearly equal.Only the SUV has a GC advantage,none else in fact the weight of SUV helps getting it trapped in case of a 4X2.
2):You can get a far far better sedan if you spend as much money on the sedan as much you spend on the SUV.Simple it is,if I’d have compared the XUV and Safari VX with Cruze and Corolla then they stand no chance on front of those sedans while both of them costs near about 15 lacs and the mid variants of these sedans too come in the same price.
3):Seven seats…the hell..SUVs also have just 5 ‘COMFY’ seats,rest is a boot fitted with seats. Just have a 100 kms long hilly trip on those seats.
4):Boot space,SUVs have a lot of it,but then sedans too have a big boot for accommodating luggage.
5):Flexibility:No doubt SUVs win here.

@Raj:Whatever the poll results may say,it doesn’t matter.Take is this way:”Punto is a better car than Swift but still it isn’t selling in as much numbers as the swift is selling”.Do I need to explain what I mean?Okay I’ll do it,these polling results does not mean what is really better.