Sedans v/s SUVs - Your Personal Pick?

Sedan or SUV

Where Bolero has the advantage of ruggedness,space and bigger engine,the Manza has the advantage of more power,torque,far better performance,comfort,better equipment and more safety.While Bolero feels very downmarket from inside the Manza has an upmarket flair.And with the advantage of far better FE I can’t find any specific reason for one to buy Bolero except for butch looks and seven seats(uncomfortable).
These are nothing but paper figure analysis.they point nothing bear to real life facts.

Bolero and manza may have similar power ,torque on paper but we all know boleros engine has to be much more powerful than manza's thus it aids .
with 5 people onboard, a car like manza will feel out of breath but bolero wont even with 12 persons.
Something like "Stamina" of an individual works here (I don't know technical term).

two young guys with similar physic racing but chances of winning goes to one who did practice and did regular exercise ,his body will serve him more than the former one.

In sedan case the, bhp torque figure on paper are benefited due to lesser weight .which gets affected even with a mild flexibility. so a sedan may be good ot sprint performance but when it comes to heavy performance they become fuel guzzlers,less flexible.

Conclusion if one requires a perfect car with balance of performance and comfort -SUV.

These are nothing but paper figure analysis.they point nothing bear to real life facts.

Bolero and manza may have similar power ,torque on paper but we all know boleros engine has to be much more powerful than manza's thus it aids .
with 5 people onboard, a car like manza will feel out of breath but bolero wont even with 12 persons.
Something like "Stamina" of an individual works here (I don't know technical term).
Buddy if you would have read the complete post the you could have found a line saying "There is no replacement to displacement"...
About running out of breath...BLAME THE TRANSMISSION FOR IT,NOT ENGINE..
I am yet to drive a Manza which feels out-of-breath at 120 kph but Bolero do feel at even 90 kph.
Until the turbo comes to life,Bolero is more powerful,but once turbo comes to life its the Manza then..

GOING BY YOUR WORDS,A BOLERO IS TRULY MORE POWERFUL THAN A CRUZE TOO,BECAUSE IT HAS A BIGGER ENGINE..HATS OFF TO YOU..

Buddy if you would have read the complete post the you could have found a line saying "There is no replacement to displacement"...
I am yet to drive a Manza which feels out-of-breath at 120 kph but Bolero do feel at even 90 kph.
Until the turbo comes to life,Bolero is more powerful,but once turbo comes to life its the Manza then..

GOING BY YOUR WORDS,A BOLERO IS TRULY MORE POWERFUL THAN A CRUZE TOO,BECAUSE IT HAS A BIGGER ENGINE..HATS OFF TO YOU..
I was talking to a teenager who was reading this thread. he commented that he would like to bring in some bikes too in the list .he prefers bikes over sedan and suv's.and believes that bikes can be always better choice.so it goes on without any sense.
The comparo looks waste of time (I did not mean your efforts) to go through each and every specs and analysis word by word..

Owning a sedan, one is has certain limitation (regarding material things) where Suvs have broader spectrum of utility .

I will pick a Suv any day, but I love small cars a sedan or Hatch.-that is how I am.

I was talking to a teenager who was reading this thread. he commented that he would like to bring in some bikes too in the list .he prefers bikes over sedan and suv's.and believes that bikes can be always better choice.so it goes on without any sense.
Even I too ride my 220 in the city,simple it is..as the need changes the ride too changes..

The comparo looks waste of time (I did not mean your efforts) to go through each and every specs and analysis word by word..
No matter,I have a lot of time to waste(haha,today I got free time after working for nearly a month).
Specs like displacement,top speed,acceleration timings are copied..rest everything is my own experience.
Definitely its longer than desirable but then it contains a fact that a sedan costing equal to the SUV has far far higher comfort and quality levels.

Owning a sedan, one is has certain limitation (regarding material things) where Suvs have broader spectrum of utility .
I too have mentioned the same in the posts too many times that "SUV IS HAVING MORE FLEXIBILITY"..leave the spec sheets and read just first and last paragraph,you will find it all.

I will pick a Suv any day, but I love small cars a sedan or Hatch.-that is how I am.
It depends on personal choices.You bought a Punto because you liked one an another person buys a Polo because he likes the Polo.

"There is no replacement to displacement" is somewhat correct.
But when we look at todays world and the kind of technological advancements this phrase need to be re written. As nowadays supporting techs like high pressure injectors, VG Turbos or dual turbos are so much refined that companies are able to get more power and torque figures in smaller capacity engines.

You are absolutely right if a person has to confined himself only to city driving and occasionally driving in semi off roads area like till manali or some rural areas bad pathces than Sedan is the best thing as you get a better product in the same price in which one can buy a suv and rarely or will never use it for even semi off roads. For eg in base price of Safari Lx (8.19L) and Scorpio (8.15L) Ex showroom Delhi one will get Manza top model, Verna (1.4L model), Rapid, Vento, SX4, even Mid model of Linea and Fiesta Classic, which will provide much better handling and fuel efficiency and low maiantaince cost.

But if a person is wanderer by nature and prefer to go beyond manali, almora, munsiyari and in semi off road or off roads kind of adventures than SUV or cross over make sense.

If you need best of both the world than XUV, Aria and Innova are best.

Tsi vipul very very good post and very informative thanx for the effort and congrats for your 1000 post.

My purpose of making this compare was not to prove the above said SUVs inferior in front of those sedans,but was to just focus of the following points:-
First of all, sorry. I dint not go through your entire comparison as on first looks itself, it seems that you have compared only factual figures. That seems futile to me. It is evident that a sedan with lower kerb weight & better aerodynamics will easily beat an SUV. And I agree to that, no doubts about it. But most of us dont buy SUVs for drag races.

1):When most of the people buy 4X2 SUVs then they and sedans are nearly equal.Only the SUV has a GC advantage,none else in fact the weight of SUV helps getting it trapped in case of a 4X2.
Many people buy a 4x2 SUV just for the ease of ingress & egress, space & ease of driving.

2):You can get a far far better sedan if you spend as much money on the sedan as much you spend on the SUV.
Sedans wont give you the superior view, the good driving position & the comfort for tall people like me.

A note to fellow members : Please dont blast me with comments like "my knees get stuck in so & so SUV". The above is purely my opinion & I feel more comfortable in SUVs. In sedans, I have to sit with knees up position.

Simple it is,if I’d have compared the XUV and Safari VX with Cruze and Corolla then they stand no chance on front of those sedans while both of them costs near about 15 lacs and the mid variants of these sedans too come in the same price.
Depends of what parameters you are comparing it with.

3):Seven seats…the hell..SUVs also have just 5 ‘COMFY’ seats,rest is a boot fitted with seats. Just have a 100 kms long hilly trip on those seats.
In most cases, we dont use those seven seats for a 100 kms hilly trip. We use the three rows for short city trips.

Now I know, we have had this discussion before & you will say that I can hire a taxi. There are many among us who buy a car for multi purposes, so that we can use it for all occasions... so that we dont need to hire a cab.

4):Boot space,SUVs have a lot of it,but then sedans too have a big boot for accommodating luggage.
Not as huge as SUVs.

@Raj:Whatever the poll results may say,it doesn’t matter.Take is this way:”Punto is a better car than Swift but still it isn’t selling in as much numbers as the swift is selling”.Do I need to explain what I mean?Okay I’ll do it,these polling results does not mean what is really better.
In that case, why have a poll in this thread, in the first place? What was the purpose of people voting over here?

Many people buy a 4x2 SUV just for the ease of ingress & egress, space & ease of driving.

Sedans wont give you the superior view, the good driving position & the comfort for tall people like me.

A note to fellow members : Please dont blast me with comments like "my knees get stuck in so & so SUV". The above is purely my opinion & I feel more comfortable in SUVs. In sedans, I have to sit with knees up position.
same is the case with us . we use it to drive with 1 + family(5 members) most of the times during long trips and it is this when the SUV is put to use.

In most cases, we dont use those seven seats for a 100 kms hilly trip. We use the three rows for short city trips.

Now I know, we have had this discussion before & you will say that I can hire a taxi. There are many among us who buy a car for multi purposes, so that we can use it for all occasions... so that we dont need to hire a cab.

Not as huge as SUVs.
the boot can take a lot of luggage, more than a sedan.
we travel to our native place during summer and we end up carrying lot of fruits on the way back (mangoes, jackfruits,etc).

the SUV can take all of that along with 5 members without any discomfort.

not to forget the original luggage needed during long travels.

[/QUOTE]

the boot can take a lot of luggage, more than a sedan.
we travel to our native place during summer and we end up carrying lot of fruits on the way back (mangoes, jackfruits,etc).

the SUV can take all of that along with 5 members without any discomfort.

not to forget the original luggage needed during long travels.
For such purpose a UV like xylo,innova would suffice .
An SUV is generally far more expensive.(India have different situation though)

PS:
I am getting mad at the use of these vowels..I feel discomfort using "a SUV" rather "an SUV" sounds good and "A UV sound" better than an UV . am I the only one feeling the prick..aarggh.

But for us the SUV made a better choice since we are a family of four.
Had the family been larger we would have opted for An innova or a xylo.
We are not frequent travellers to expressways.
So somebody bragging about the high speed handling is futile. One simply does not drive at speeds more than max 60 kmph in the ghats of kashedi .
If one does speeds of 160+ he would be found in a valleys of ghats or crushed by an oncoming truck ,bus.
All one needs there is torque to drive your car.

But when we look at todays world and the kind of technological advancements this phrase need to be re written. As nowadays supporting techs like high pressure injectors, VG Turbos or dual turbos are so much refined that companies are able to get more power and torque figures in smaller capacity engines.
And when the turbo goes off,haha that time these VGTs,FGTs etc etc all are left behind bogged down.
You are right that smaller capacity engines can produce more power and torque after all these VVT,VGT etc etc are applied but what you loose is the overall revv range to play with.With a bigger engine you get more responsiveness,better pulling capacity etc.
If this would not have been true then bigger SUVs would never have got those 4.5-5 liter engines.

You are absolutely right if a person has to confined himself only to city driving and occasionally driving in semi off roads area like till manali or some rural areas bad pathces than Sedan is the best thing as you get a better product in the same price in which one can buy a suv and rarely or will never use it for even semi off roads. For eg in base price of Safari Lx (8.19L) and Scorpio (8.15L) Ex showroom Delhi one will get Manza top model, Verna (1.4L model), Rapid, Vento, SX4, even Mid model of Linea and Fiesta Classic, which will provide much better handling and fuel efficiency and low maiantaince cost.
+10..

But if a person is wanderer by nature and prefer to go beyond manali, almora, munsiyari and in semi off road or off roads kind of adventures than SUV or cross over make sense.
Buddy,I have made the Manali-Ladakh trip 4 times till today and the cars were:-
Pajero,Innova,Swift VXi and Laura TSI and every time we completed the trip without any issue.
And this year we are going to do the same trip in a Ford Endy.Every time we did the trip there are some broken patches after you cross the Rohtang but still the road is driveable and if you have got enough patience then even a sedan or Hatch with decent GC can make the trip(Laura scraped her belly 3-4 times but no serious issues).
In other words,if you have enough skill thent he sedan can easily do those semi off-road trips.I have done some trips in Corolla D-4D too like:-
Meerut-Gangotri-Yamunotri-Badrinath-Kedarnath.
Meerut-Kangra-Jwala Ji.
Meerut-Mussoorie-Dhanaulti-Surkanda.
And many more and every time it was the sedan which did the trip without any issue.

In fact after making these trips I can say that if sedan has got enough power(not Corolla but sedans like Optra,Cruze,Laura etc)then they are far far easier to drive on hilly roads.

+100..
Tsi vipul very very good post and very informative thanx for the effort and congrats for your 1000 post.
Thanks and welcome buddy,both at the same time..

First of all, sorry. I dint not go through your entire comparison as on first looks itself, it seems that you have compared only factual figures. That seems futile to me. It is evident that a sedan with lower kerb weight & better aerodynamics will easily beat an SUV. And I agree to that, no doubts about it. But most of us dont buy SUVs for drag races.
Well,dear you took me wrong.Only figures have been copied rest all the experiences are mine.You are right that SUVs are not bought for drag races but my purpose of comparing those acceleration timings was to make a comparison in responsiveness.

Are you sure that SUVs really offer ease of driving.If yes,then only in city driving where you sit quite high and ingress and egress else on what scale SUVs offer ease of driving?
They are really headache to park,reversing and parking in tight pots is always an issue(I have owned Armada,Safari,Scorpio and Innova and everytime I found them tough to park etc).On highways they can neither accelerate like a sedan for overtaking nor they can brake with enough force.Handling is like a boat most of the time and body roll adds icing to the cake.Ride is always bumpy and handling is better less said..NOW TELL ME WHAT IS EASE OF DRIVING?IN JUST CITY THEY CAN BE ELSE OVERALL THE GAME IS DIFFERENT..

Its not the sedan culprit here,its your height buddy.if your head is about to touch the roof then how will you look around easily.I am 5'9 and I find the driving position and comfort of sedans far far better than SUVs.I always find that the steering wheel of SUV's is placed a bit too low even in the top position as compared to the sedans.I love keeping my hands straight on the wheel not down like of bus and truck drivers.

Maybe the person has got vary long knees,steering of SUVs is low but still the footwell is always bigger and higher than that of sedans.

Depends of what parameters you are comparing it with.
+1000..

Its you who does it,but most of the people use those 7 seats for even 500 kms of hilly driving and then at last they find half of their passengers half dead.

I remember it buddy,and my answwer is same as I said above.

Not as huge as SUVs.
How many people need that boot as big as a room.A Corolla and Laura can consume enough luggage for your 5-10 days long trip.

In that case, why have a poll in this thread, in the first place? What was the purpose of people voting over here?
Hmm..on this point..I QUIT..

Thread Starter #357
First of all, congrats on your 1000 posts TSIVipul. Also appreciate the efforts you took in putting up such informative posts. [clap]

One also needs to look at no. of cylinders. How many UVs have V6 ? Forget V8-V12.

+1.

In complete off-road, UV or SUV fail. See the vids posted before.
UVs are good only when there is kuccha road where you require higher GC. After all, how many so called SUVs sell in 4x4 ? I am sure over 90% must be in 4x2 in sub-20L bracket.

+1 but XUV ? Big no. It is surely not a cross-over.

Infact in sedan it is much more comfy.

• For tall men, the step is not useful & directly getting inside is difficult,
  • For normal men & short men, one needs to jump down as putting feet down on step & then climbing is again difficult, thanks to small broadness of the step,
  • For ladies, irrepective of height, ingress & egress is difficult, thanks to the type of their footwear,
  • One of the classic UV which is absolutely hopeless for ingress-egress is Sante fe & even here, I faced issue with steering as knees went in dashboard.

Have you driven Merc E 350 ? Even Pajeros & likes can't beat it when it comes to driving position & view. Ofcourse, if you definition of superior view is height, then truck offers the best view !

Most of the people who buy UVs buy for mass carriers only. Seldom I have seen people opting for 7 seater when they don't have over 4 person in family.

Not as huge as SUVs.
But for that, the last row is gone, which means passenger carrying capacity is reduced to 4-5, same as that of sedan. And sedans do provide enough boot-space for a 7-10 days tour for 4-5 persons with ease.
And if 6+ people need to travel (this why UVs are used for most of the times), what you end up is roof-rack which spoils ride quality even further.

In other words,if you have enough skill then the sedan can easily do those semi off-road trips.

In fact after making these trips I can say that if sedan has got enough power(not Corolla but sedans like Optra,Cruze,Laura etc)then they are far far easier to drive on hilly roads.
+100

They are really headache to park,reversing and parking in tight pots is always an issue(I have owned Armada,Safari,Scorpio and Innova and everytime I found them tough to park etc).On highways they can neither accelerate like a sedan for overtaking nor they can brake with enough force.Handling is like a boat most of the time and body roll adds icing to the cake.Ride is always bumpy and handling is better less said..NOW TELL ME WHAT IS EASE OF DRIVING?IN JUST CITY THEY CAN BE ELSE OVERALL THE GAME IS DIFFERENT..
Again +1. The current safari has one of the most pathetic rear view, & thanks to the spare wheel, even remaining space goes for toss.

I find the driving position and comfort of sedans far far better than SUVs.I always find that the steering wheel of SUV's is placed a bit too low even in the top position as compared to the sedans.I love keeping my hands straight on the wheel not down like of bus and truck drivers.
+1. I sat in Sante Fe & then hopped back in Accord. It was like shifting for economy class to first class.

Maybe the person has got vary long knees,steering of SUVs is low but still the footwell is always bigger and higher than that of sedans.
What I found for myself is I find at ease driving cars like Accord than any of UVs out there. Advantage is I can push the driver seat quite at back, without the rear passenger legroom getting compromised. In case of UV, the front seat adjustment is not so long as car & the 2nd row seats don't have enough legroom either as they need to manage even the 3rd row space.
Cars beat UV hands down.

Are you sure that SUVs really offer ease of driving.If yes,then only in city driving where you sit quite high and ingress and egress else on what scale SUVs offer ease of driving?
Well. If you want a corner carving machine, you are better off with sedans.

But for relaxed driving, I prefer an SUV, both in cities as well as on the highways.

They are really headache to park,reversing and parking in tight pots is always an issue(I have owned Armada,Safari,Scorpio and Innova and everytime I found them tough to park etc).
Parking depends on driver skill and how habituated he is with the car. I find no issues in parking an SUV. Parking is really a chore in Mumbai, still I have managed, so...

On highways they can neither accelerate like a sedan for overtaking nor they can brake with enough force.
Accelerate, well they can. Braking, you are right.

Handling is like a boat most of the time and body roll adds icing to the cake.Ride is always bumpy and handling is better less said..
True.

NOW TELL ME WHAT IS EASE OF DRIVING?IN JUST CITY THEY CAN BE ELSE OVERALL THE GAME IS DIFFERENT..
As i said, the commanding driving position, the visibility, ability to gobble potholes, mile munching capabilities... I prefer the SUV.

Its not the sedan culprit here,its your height buddy.if your head is about to touch the roof then how will you look around easily.I am 5'9 and I find the driving position and comfort of sedans far far better than SUVs.I always find that the steering wheel of SUV's is placed a bit too low even in the top position as compared to the sedans.I love keeping my hands straight on the wheel not down like of bus and truck drivers.
Then its simple. And that's what I said - sedans are not meant for tall people. You just said it.

LOLZ, driving an SUV is not like driving a bus. Please dont talk like 'S Class'!

Its you who does it,but most of the people use those 7 seats for even 500 kms of hilly driving and then at last they find half of their passengers half dead.
Maybe half dead. But they opt to travel like that. In sedans, even if you are okay with the discomfort, you cant seat 7 people. That's the point.

How many people need that boot as big as a room.A Corolla and Laura can consume enough luggage for your 5-10 days long trip.
Not necessary. some may need to transport larger items like flower pots, etc.

One also needs to look at no. of cylinders. How many UVs have V6 ? Forget V8-V12.
V6 - there are many dude!

V8/W12 - how many normal sedans have it?

+1 but XUV ? Big no. It is surely not a cross-over.
Yea yea. Its a "Jeep" right? [lol]

Infact in sedan it is much more comfy.

For tall men, the step is not useful & directly getting inside is difficult,
Who says so? I am tall and I easily sit in the Scorpio.

For normal men & short men, one needs to jump down as putting feet down on step & then climbing is again difficult, thanks to small broadness of the step
You are imagining things.

For ladies, irrepective of height, ingress & egress is difficult, thanks to the type of their footwear,
Maybe true. But my elderly parents prefer a Scorpio over any sedan. Of course, they love the Innova.

One of the classic UV which is absolutely hopeless for ingress-egress is Sante fe & even here, I faced issue with steering as knees went in dashboard.
The issue is not with the car, check your driving position. your knees have a problem with all SUVs.

Have you driven Merc E 350 ? Even Pajeros & likes can't beat it when it comes to driving position & view.
Nopes, I have not driven it. You have?

Of course, if you definition of superior view is height, then truck offers the best view !
I'll ignore this comment - typical 'S Class comment' !

Most of the people who buy UVs buy for mass carriers only. Seldom I have seen people opting for 7 seater when they don't have over 4 person in family.
Not necessary. 99%, only 2-3 people sit in my Innova. we like it because of it's driving position & ride height. We dont have to crouch in, like in sedans.

But for that, the last row is gone, which means passenger carrying capacity is reduced to 4-5, same as that of sedan.
So that's flexibility. you can carry 7 people or you can carry 6 people with some luggage or you can carry 5 people with lots of luggage. beat that sedans!

And sedans do provide enough boot-space for a 7-10 days tour for 4-5 persons with ease.
I dont think so. Sorry.

And if 6+ people need to travel (this why UVs are used for most of the times), what you end up is roof-rack which spoils ride quality even further.
Please explain how roof rack hampers the ride quality. Some logical explanation please.

Cars beat UV hands down.
The poll results suggest otherwise. You are the thread starter & you made the poll !

Thread Starter #359
But for relaxed driving, I prefer an SUV, both in cities as well as on the highways.
What does relax means to you precisely, except for tall seating position ?

Parking depends on driver skill and how habituated he is with the car. I find no issues in parking an SUV. Parking is really a chore in Mumbai, still I have managed, so...
Same driver, different cars. It is difficult to park UVs than sedans.
In your hatch vs sedan, you said hatch are easy to park & we didn't denied it. Buddy, problem is where UV fails, you bring in driver. Kindly understand that the driver here remains the same.

Accelerate, well they can. Braking, you are right.
Please see the 60-100 kmph figs of UV. Sedan beat it hands down here. Saying 60-100 as this is what matters on highways while over-taking.

LOLZ, driving an SUV is not like driving a bus. Please dont talk like 'S Class'!
It seems you have some S Class phobia.....keep dragging in the name here & there [glasses]

Maybe half dead. But they opt to travel like that. In sedans, even if you are okay with the discomfort, you cant seat 7 people. That's the point.
In rural parts, I have seen Mahindra Commandar jeep carrying over 25 persons. Similar is case with Trax-Cruiser. Now shall we say these can be substituted for bus ? Ofcourse, if one can travel like a cattle class, then they will be comfortable even in tempos & 407.....sleeper coach [lol].

Not necessary. some may need to transport larger items like flower pots, etc.
+1. Add to it generators, rods, high diameter pipes, drums, plastic tanks, etc.
Didn't I say that UVs are pick-up trucks in disguise. Thanks for confirmation.

V6 - there are many dude!
Please name them, we will then do a comparo.

V8/W12 - how many normal sedans have it?
Few but fact is UVs DON'T HAVE THEM AT ALL, especially V10/12.

Nopes, I have not driven it. You have?
Seems you missed my Pune-Goa trip eg. given somewhere in this same thread before.

I'll ignore this comment - typical 'S Class comment' !
S Class Phobia, again !

Not necessary. 99%, only 2-3 people sit in my Innova. we like it because of it's driving position & ride height. We dont have to crouch in, like in sedans.
We are talking about general scene in India & not individual. Tomorrow I will tow a UV & say no-one sits in it !! Please state which has some meaning for everyone.

So that's flexibility. you can carry 7 people or you can carry 6 people with some luggage or you can carry 5 people with lots of luggage. beat that sedans!
What flexibility ? In city yes, when no luggage but when you have over 4 on board with luggage, you either need a mini-bus or 2 vehicles, right ?

And as you said, only 2-3 person travel in your vehicle, so seating 7 person doesn't come to picture in your cases, right ??

Please explain how roof rack hampers the ride quality. Some logical explanation please.
Wind resistance goes up which increased the coeff. drag. Put luggage on it (carriers are meant for luggage BTW), and you feel like driving a bus.

The poll results suggest otherwise. You are the thread starter & you made the poll !
SUV votes are inclusive of MPV & cross-overs. Person buying Innova or Aria won't buy scorpio, safari or XUV.
I request mod to add the option of MPV & Cross-over also.

@ raj,

Some requests for you -

* Either be specific to your points or go with universally applicable points (like rest of people are doing here),

* Note that the driver here is the same. Good driver for UV & bad driver for sedan is not the case,

* We are discussing about travel in comfort & not cattle class,

* Full seats & luggage is how one should calculate. There are also sedans whose rear seats fold down giving you bigger boot.

What does relax means to you precisely, except for tall seating position ?
Relaxed driving for me means normal sane driving with no hard cornering & no 0-100 kmph drags.

Same driver, different cars. It is difficult to park UVs than sedans.
Dont know. Maybe. Since I have been driving SUVs & MUVs for years, I find it very easy to park. I find it easier to park my Innova than my Punto.

In your hatch vs sedan, you said hatch are easy to park & we didn't denied it. Buddy, problem is where UV fails, you bring in driver. Kindly understand that the driver here remains the same.
All I am saying is - parking should not be a factor of comparison between SUVs and sedans.

If you cant park a car, it's your fault. Unlike a common parameter of comparison, like say ride quality, space, etc.

It seems you have some S Class phobia.....keep dragging in the name here & there [glasses]
Your comments are like that!

In rural parts, I have seen Mahindra Commandar jeep carrying over 25 persons. Similar is case with Trax-Cruiser. Now shall we say these can be substituted for bus ? Ofcourse, if one can travel like a cattle class, then they will be comfortable even in tempos & 407.....sleeper coach [lol].
Some sane discussions please.

+1. Add to it generators, rods, high diameter pipes, drums, plastic tanks, etc.
Didn't I say that UVs are pick-up trucks in disguise. Thanks for confirmation.
Again requesting - some logical debates please.

Please name them, we will then do a comparo.
A comparo with you... Why? so that we can again have some more illogical comments like the ones above?

Not interested.

Few but fact is UVs DON'T HAVE THEM AT ALL, especially V10/12.
V10s are found in supercars my friend.

SUVs are not meant for racing. By that logic, I would ask you -

which sedan has lockable differential?
which sedan has low ratio 4x4? (Please note I am not talking about AWD)

Understand that they are built for different purposes.

Seems you missed my Pune-Goa trip eg. given somewhere in this same thread before.
Yes, I did. Anyways, its fine.

S Class Phobia, again !
[sleep]

We are talking about general scene in India & not individual.
Same here dude.

Tomorrow I will tow a UV & say no-one sits in it !! Please state which has some meaning for everyone.
you seriously think there was some logic to the above statement?

What flexibility ? In city yes, when no luggage but when you have over 4 on board with luggage, you either need a mini-bus or 2 vehicles, right ?
An SUV can easily seat 5 people with lots of luggage unlike sedans where shoulder space is at a premium.

And as you said, only 2-3 person travel in your vehicle, so seating 7 person doesn't come to picture in your cases, right ??
We are a family of 5. Along with driver, it becomes 6 people. We can easily travel together in the Innova with lots of luggage space by folding half of the third row seat.

Not possible in sedan.

Wind resistance goes up which increased the coeff. drag. Put luggage on it (carriers are meant for luggage BTW), and you feel like driving a bus.
Wait a minute. I am asking you how does it hamper ride quality... you still have not answered that.

Please say something right this time. Dont post just for the heck of it.

SUV votes are inclusive of MPV & cross-overs. Person buying Innova or Aria won't buy scorpio, safari or XUV.
Who said? You are in some dream world dude. There are many prospective Innova & Scorpio customers out there who bought the XUV. I personally know many!

Infact Innova, Scorpio, Safari, Aria prospects buy XUV...

I request mod to add the option of MPV & Cross-over also.
Now that sedans lost the race, you want to bifurcate the poll resuts... LOLZ.

@ raj,

Some requests for you -

* Either be specific to your points or go with universally applicable points (like rest of people are doing here),
Sure. The rest of the people have voted for SUVs. So you should agree, right?

* Note that the driver here is the same. Good driver for UV & bad driver for sedan is not the case,
+10.

* We are discussing about travel in comfort & not cattle class,
For me, SUVs are comfortable. Cant help with your great ideologies.

* Full seats & luggage is how one should calculate. There are also sedans whose rear seats fold down giving you bigger boot.
Even an SUV's rear seats fold down. Whatever you do, volume of an SUV's boot is much more than a sedan's. Its not rocket science to know that.

As per giving advises, now let me give you one & allow me to be blunt dude. Excuse me for that.

You are a bit stern when it comes down to your choices. You cant accept other's opinions. And that is the reason I debate strongly with you. But that's fine. Problem is - you take it as a responsibility to shove down your thinking down everyone else's throat. So if there is something you dont like or prefer, you start baseless arguments & even calling it names like crap, cattle class, goons, etc. Criticisms should be constructive.

Have you heard me or any other member here using such words for sedans? We may have given you 1001 reasons why we dont prefer sedans but we have never used any strong words for it or it's owners.

There are many SUV/MUV owners here, who can object to your strong words here, can take it personally & even attack you in a similar way. But we have decided not to do that (through way of PMs). As we are not goons.

If you dont like something, its fine. Keep debating on it. But make sure you use some logic for the debates. Your credibility on the forum is at stake. I have nothing else to say on this. It is your call in the end.