Restoration Of My Hindustan Ambassador 2412

Regarding the fender corner piece, is it ready made one from the the sheet metal shop or it has been fabricated by your tinkerer? As of my understanding your wheel arch is not the original Ambassador shape and how did you manage to match the shape.

Thread Starter #62
hi ambyson, thank you for referring the source, first i thought it might difficult to get the part as avigo model sales is stopped but your reference brought some hope to my hunt so definitely will look into that.

In previous post you mentioned about the logo, well it is OE logo for Avigo model and the fender arch shape of my car was altered 10 years back and new corner piece is ready made and the arch shape was original type but it was further altered by tapping work and aligning it with the existing fender arch(old) to get desired shape

Hi HKS, i believe you are in coimbatore right now, so whatever spares you want to source for your amby better get it done. And if you are going to Koyas for any enquiry , you can see my Amby getting dressed there.

Thread Starter #64
Its been a week since my last update as i was busy in attending my Ph.D course work exam at bharthiar unversity, coimbatore, so had to stay back for 6 days, meanwhile i got time to visit dhanam automobiles and discussed with the ambassdor spares section head regarding my spares requirement for future then he suggested me to send an fax 15 days before so that they can keep everything ready when i visit them again and for this visit i purchased anti roll bar, bushes links and lower arm links

Thread Starter #66
hi,
since when i started restoration project my main aim was to improve the car in terms of performance and handling wise (may be expecting too much from ambassador genetics [roll]). I have done research through some international classic car forums as references to update certain modifications on my ride,
1.PERFORMANCE:
Engine:presently have Isuzu 4FG1(2400cc) imported, a superb engine with good balance of power and fuel efficiency(Japanese master piece) so cant expect any internal changes as originality will be spoiled as spares is difficult to source and no good mechanics are around so i am looking for expert Isuzu mechanic and OEM parts to overhaul as already done over 1lakh km but still going strong so modification like intake( performance air-filter), fuel pump recalibration, fuel nozzles calibration can be done to extract few hp

Gearbox: imported Isuzu 5+1, overhauling needed to enhance performance

Differential/transmission axle:presently equipped with Contessa axle and double joint so need to find a good crown and pinion as the existing is producing humming sound at certain speeds

2.Handling:
Steering box: modify to collapsible column and changing to power-assisted (if budget permits)

Front suspension: updating from rubber bush to metal bush housing(new kin-pin, upper arm and lower arms links) for long life, then adding sway/ anti-roll bar(OEM) for better stability

Rear suspension: well this is the major area i am looking to upgrade because its leaf-spring suspension, ride quality is not perfect at times and have done much survey on it... so here it goes
i) adding carbon fiber composite leaf spring (work well at less load but vulnerable for heavy loads) and reliability is also a issue.
ii) adding traction bar to existing leaf spring by which lateral movement and bouncing of rear axle on Bumps and path holes can be controlled.
iii) adding anti-roll bar for better cornering stability.

Thread Starter #67
sample pics of carbon fiber composite leaf springs- CFL(source ARC Facebook page), these leaf springs are famous for 4x4 gypys, mahindra scorpio(old), jeeps and ford endeavour the company is promising that after installing CFL the ride quality will be similar to coil spring suspension and even they have designed for ambassador model(old and new also)[;)]

Wow!! looking at this log, the thought which comes to mind is " Shauk ( Hobby/Desire) badee cheez hai".
Hats off to your enthusiasm, where other people would have just scrapped the car, you have been rebuilding it.
Well just a thought, Amby looks classy in white. But red would be fantastic too.
Waiting for more updates.

Thread Starter #69
Traction bars were created to cancel the effects of axle wrap. Axle wrap can happen to leaf springs under hard acceleration. (When you drop the hammer...) The torque from the rear axle can try to twist the leaf spring into an 'S' shape. As the spring snaps back, it can cause wheel hop. One way to fix this is to use traction or 'slapper' bars. Another method is to use the 'Caltrac' style traction bars.

1.'Slapper' bars work by stopping the twist of the rear axle. As the axle tries to twist, the bar twists up and comes into contact with the leaf spring 'eye'. This stops the twist of the axle and spring and makes the tires dig in and go.
The rubber snubber needs to contact the spring 'eye'. Some manufacturers just let them hit the spring, but that is the weak point of the spring we are trying to save... Many springs have been bent by incorrect snubber placement. So lengthen or shorten bars to work correctly.

2.'Caltrac' style bars work differently, but end up with the same reaction. They stop the twist of the axle and spring and make the tires dig in and go.
Basically, they use a lever and bell crank system to 'push down' on the weak part of the spring, keeping it from twisting into an 'S' shape.

Brilliant piece of information bro, by the way, is your mechanic is capable of understanding and execute your plans. If so , that would be awesome bro. All the best for your mods and keep researching to enhance the performance of Amby.

I am looking for a complete left hand swivel pin assembly to use on a Morris Oxford Series IV traveler. The one I have has accident damage. the car is 90% restored and I have been searching for this part since 1998!

Great work! I am looking for a complete left hand swivel assembly from an ambassador to fit on a 1958 Morris Oxford Series IV Traveler. I have searched since 1999! This is all that I need to complete my restoration.

Hi HKS,
Its a nice update from you. The plan was laid perfect i believe.
All the best to execute it. Kindly post some images after your modifications.

Whether you hold Isuze Turbo G1 engine?

Thread Starter #74
Great work! I am looking for a complete left hand swivel assembly from an ambassador to fit on a 1958 Morris Oxford Series IV Traveler. I have searched since 1999! This is all that I need to complete my restoration.
hi excels, to my knowledge swivel pin assembly design has been same from old(morris oxford series 2 to 5) to present models(HM ambassador) only minor changes have taken place ( like bush size and tie-rod end arm), so what is your exact location now ( India/ SA) because if you are in India you can get it pretty easily, if you are in abroad you have to source(shipping is headache)

I am attaching the pic of swivel pin assembly, let me know if its matches to your model