Renault Kwid Now Launched @ Rs.2.56 Lakh

Went to Renault Baner (Pune) today. It was very rush there and the test drive list was huge.
Loved the bold design after seeing it in flesh. Saw white and red car. Both looks masculine. Couldn't talk to any sales person about booking and other details. Would go again in some weekday.

I saw a TD Kwid today in Bangalore, must say it is looks modern,stylish and an underrated, they say waiting period is 5 months. It's creating a lot of buzz, let's see how it lives up to the people's expectations.

I had booked Kwid on September 14 th using app online.I got booking reference ID from Renault.But dealer had not contacted me and when I contacted I was told they did not get any details from company.I wrote to customer care and got call saying dealer will contact me soon.Frustrated!
Anyone else who booked through kwid app..please help???

^^Write a mail to cancel the booking with an immediate effect citing poor and C grade pre delivery customer service as the reason (they cant say that they are occupied because if large number of bookings, MSIL sells equal number of Altos every month as much bookings they have) for cancelling the booking. Mark the mail to some officials at Renault headquarter (add 3-4 of them). After that you will get enough calls to force you switch your phone off.

Yes I will cancel my booking.Before that I will go to dealership personally and check the status.Renault has got the pricing right to counter Maruti Suzuki,but dealing with customers is pathetic

Have some patience man. It's a new launch. It takes some time to smooth things out. Renault wanted to start deliveries by 14th/15th October, but they were barely able to reach demo cars to their showrooms across the country by this week, thanks mainly (possibly) to the Transporters strike. Things will smoothen out in a few days. Once despatch for deliveries start from the company, you will receive a call.

Renault India is new to handling big volumes. Renault+Nissan+Datsun together were doing just about 4-5K units monthly recently. But the Kwid alone will be doing over 5K monthly volumes soon & maybe even more later. The initial couple of months will be needed to get everything on stream.

One of my friend is waiting for Tata Nano (new model) delivery for almost a year now. Could this happen to Renault Kwid also? What is average production rate for Renault per day?

:offtopic: But does he have much of patience waiting for almost a year??
You might want to check with other dealers my friend, because the wait is too much for asking!

From the posts itself it's clearly understood that Renault has straightaway thrown the product without training the dealers to handle the crowd. Hope they Read our forum and get things right before things go out of control.

The GenX Nano was launched around 4-5 months ago. How come your friend is waiting since a year? Or maybe the 2-3 months wait feels like a year to him. The GenX AMT model has carried a 10-12 weeks waiting period right from the time of launch. The company is gradually scaling up production month-after-month, depending on availability of AMT kits, which are in tight supply.

The Kwid's waiting period to go into 3-4 months, if not more, initially. I am sure the company won't be able to start producing 10K or 15K units monthly right from the first month. Possibly the capacity will be to produce around 5K units monthly initially, which will be scaled up in stages, depending on demand from dealers and supply of components from vendors. If the user experience of the car remains positive for the initial set of customers, the word-of-mouth will be positive and the bookings will then keep piling up. There is huge potential in the segment that Kwid is priced in.

:offtopic: But does he have much of patience waiting for almost a year??
Yeah. He owns a second hand Nano and waiting for a new AMT version. Nothing beats a nano fan.

The GenX Nano was launched around 4-5 months ago.
I would be misinformed then. I heard from him about the booking about 4-5 months ago only. He is still waiting for delivery.

It is true that Nissan and Renault vehicles gets manufactured in same factory? If this is the case then will Nissan's production will affect Kwid's delivery schedules? Another point is as advertised by company 25000 booking have been done, so in that case, 25000/5000 (Per Month) would take 5 months to clear current bookings. Are we seeing a horizon of 4-5 months for any new booking now.

One of my friend is waiting for Tata Nano (new model) delivery for almost a year now.
This should be put in the joke thread. The GenX nano is launched May 20 2015. Which translates to 5 months and he is waiting for 1 year?

Looking at the kwid booking orders, there could be a easy more than 3 months of waiting period.

Yeah. He owns a second hand Nano and waiting for a new AMT version. Nothing beats a nano fan.

I would be misinformed then. I heard from him about the booking about 4-5 months ago only. He is still waiting for delivery.

It is true that Nissan and Renault vehicles gets manufactured in same factory? If this is the case then will Nissan's production will affect Kwid's delivery schedules? Another point is as advertised by company 25000 booking have been done, so in that case, 25000/5000 (Per Month) would take 5 months to clear current bookings. Are we seeing a horizon of 4-5 months for any new booking now.
We are the consumer. Not the Factory production supervisor. Let those people handle the production volumes. We can book the car and wait, depending on our urgency.
OTOH, what Renault will have to (and probably will do) is to adjust the production to churn out more Kwids so that the wait time is reduced. This is part of any new launch production cycle. Only, Renault must realize that people will not wait too long for a 3 lac car. They will wait more for a Duster/Ecosport/Creta, however, since they are planning to plonk big ones into a more aspirational product.

When I visited the showroom the SA told me that there is a wait time of 5 months.so i think we may need more patience to buy it.

Just saw the demo car on Sohna road , gurgaoon showroom

Initial Impressions

a) A wow looking car
b) Top model just 4 lacs
c) Good boot space

The dealer told me already 800 bookings done at the showroom and waiting is 4 months

This is a killer for alto,wagonr,eon and maybe swift [clap]

Maruti - Do you smell what Renault is cooking

@Rakesh:
Sirji that is one of the toughest question I have ever faced. Alto is a steady steed which is already well proven too. Good FE, low maintenance and a very competent A.S.S.

I have driven an Alto LXi for around a complete week back in 2012. In fact even took the Alto on a long drive too (highway + hills). Of course the vehicle feels under powered at times and really needs some throttle inputs to keep the vehicle moving. Still on the highways I managed to get 20+ kpl FE on the highway doing 70-90 kph for whole time.

Kwid may look promising (more promising) but as an upgrade from Alto, IMO it won't fit. I remember driving a K10 AMT that costs around 4.2 - 4.3 lac OTR. Alto K10 now gets a better interior, a better all round visibility (Kwid has thicker pillars and a rising window line), internally adjustable ORVMs, 1000 cc potent engine and above all is an auto tranny. I really doubt if Kwid can match this one at the price.

A better upgrade from Alto for 25-50% budget rise IMO can be a K10 VXi or K10 VXi AMT or a Celerio. Kwid can be an option of Alto but not of K10, rest a TD will confirm.
Thank you Vipul and Vishwas for your inputs. I am also looking to swift lxi, even though it lack so many things such as ABS and very basic tacho. Removed kwid from the list anyway!