Renault Duster Review & Pictures

Re: Renault Duster Road Test Drive Review

Great review, 350Z.. !! You have covered many aspects that are typically overlooked in such reviews.

Now, a dampener of spirits... Renault has increased the prices of all its models including the Duster, by about 20-25k, effective 1st May. That makes it an increase of almost a lakh in the last 1 year on the Duster.. This looks like Renault is all set to kill the golden goose... !!!

Superb review 350Z [clap]

Monthly sales figures:
View attachment 90820
From the customer POV an upgraded/all new Scorpio is expected at the earliest, since its been FOUR years since the current Scorpio received a facelift. But the question is whether the manufacturer feels any immediate need for it ? Looking at the sales figures, I doubt.[roll]
Although Scorpio is doing some great numbers itself even today, the fact that the No. 1 selling SUV tag(not including Bolero in this competition) has been taken away from it should itself cause some amount of panic in the Mahindra camp. A newcomer just comes and takes the crown away,won't be digested so easily by the folks at Mahindra. I feel Mahindra in the MUV/SUV segment, is somewhat comparable to what Maruti Suzuki is in the hatchback segment. They are the overall leaders. Its upto the manufacturer now to up the game. Or they can just sit back and be happy with the way things are going. After all its not bad either. But I feel Mahindra will be up for the challenge and we can expect the new gen Scorpio sooner than the predicted timeframe. Wishful thinking.[:D]

Superb review 350Z
Your attention to every single detail which in turn very well complemented by self explanatory pictures is commendable indeed. I am thinking of test driving one and if convinced might go for a Duster, provided I get a good deal for my Scorpy.

Monthly sales figures:
View attachment 90820
From the customer POV an upgraded/all new Scorpio is expected at the earliest, since its been FOUR years since the current Scorpio received a facelift. But the question is whether the manufacturer feels any immediate need for it ? Looking at the sales figures, I doubt.
350Z a superb review and really elaborate, Hats off to you Man!!. [clap]

IMO Duster doesn't fits the bill as a VFM package in the very same amount you can opt for a more powerfull and passenger capacitive vehicle, As Manoj attached the sales figure it is evident that the Scorpio has not lost its numbers infact gained a couple of Hundreds but the Duster took away the entry level Sedan buyers. The crowd which wants a SUV not a CUV will always go for a Scorp or a Safari anyday.

This is just the same case as the Birbal's method of shortening the line without altering the original but making a longer one alongside.

Just my two cents.

OT:: Manoj can you please put up an ad for your Scorpio. [:)]

Although Scorpio is doing some great numbers itself even today, the fact that the No. 1 selling SUV tag(not including Bolero in this competition) has been taken away from it should itself cause some amount of panic in the Mahindra camp. A newcomer just comes and takes the crown away,won't be digested so easily by the folks at Mahindra. I feel Mahindra in the MUV/SUV segment, is somewhat comparable to what Maruti Suzuki is in the hatchback segment. They are the overall leaders. Its upto the manufacturer now to up the game. Or they can just sit back and be happy with the way things are going. After all its not bad either. But I feel Mahindra will be up for the challenge and we can expect the new gen Scorpio sooner than the predicted timeframe. Wishful thinking.[:D]
well, i have been saying it from the past one year even before the launch of the duster, that M & M knew about the challenge posed by the duster.

So much so that they had begun work on their duster competitor well before its launch.

Now i do not see any reason why M & M should hastily launch a new product after the quanto.

They are not losing sales per say atleast by numbers .
So in all probability, we need to wait,because they too will wait for the ecosport and duster effect to strategise for their reply.

Jayd

Renault Duster is a robust, reliable and easy-to-drive SUV, ideal for drivers looking for a vehicle with real off-road capacities

What is the typical warranty that is offered by car manufacturers these days? Renault is offering a 4 year/80K km warranty for Duster, which i believe is pretty good.

Renault is offering a 4 year/80K km warranty for Duster, which i believe is pretty good.
That’s 2 + 2 Years warranty (last two years are optional). Most of the carmakers in India offer upto 2 – 3 Years of standard warranty.

Actually, Reanult is offering 4 years warranty by default now on Duster - and not with 2 years as an option.

Renault India website says
Your new Renault vehicle is covered by Renault warranty for a period of 2 year/50,000 km* from the delivery date. It covers all mechanical and electrical failure or defect relating to material, workmanship or manufacturing fault.
[roll]

Bijoos is right because when Renault launched the duster they did launch it with 4 years warranty even the pulse came with same warranty .

Maybe they must have gone greedy and changed now

The Renault Duster is available in six colours – white, black, red, grey, silver, brown and black. The company offers a 2+2 years, 80,000 kms warranty along with pick up and drop service
Complete article - Renault Launches Duster Priced At Rs. 7.19 Lakhs | MotorBeam – Indian Car Bike News & Reviews

To further lay emphasis on customer satisfaction the company is offering its customer the “Renault COMPLETE CARE” service package which is a globally benchmarked offering and provides customers with a host of best-in-class facilities which includes a 2+2 years/80,000Km warranty, labour free service at 2,000, 10,000 and 20,000Km with 24/7 Roadside Assistance through a dedicated call center. The cars would be serviced by COTECH technicians who have been specially trained at the Renault facility in France. The new Renault Duster will be manufactured at its manufacturing facility in Oragadam, Chennai and will be available at all Renault dealership’s across the country in six exciting colours.
Renault India launches Duster SUV starting at Rs 7.19 lakh

and this is on their official website ,a media release

Product offering bolstered by network and top-quality services

High-quality services and an extensive network are essential to winning customer loyalty. Renault India is developing a dealership network, which currently includes 14 dealerships. The company’s aim is to increase that number to 40 by the end of the year and to 100 at end-2012 (covering 55 cities or 90% of the market). In addition, the service offer includes a comprehensive package called “Renault Complete Care”, comprising technicians trained in France, at every dealership, a four-year/80,000 km warranty and a one-year warranty for maintenance and repair, free service coupons at 2,000 km, 10,000 km and 20,000 km, and 24/7 assistance.
http://www.media.renault.com/global/en-gb/alliance/Media/PressRelease.aspx?mediaid=28867

Bijoos is right because when Renault launched the duster they did launch it with 4 years warranty even the pulse came with same warranty
Again, it mentions 2+2 which means the latter is optional.

Again , This is what media paper released by Renault themselves say.

In addition, the service offer includes a comprehensive package called “Renault Complete Care”, comprising technicians trained in France, at every dealership, a four-year/80,000 km warranty and a one-year warranty for maintenance and repair, free service coupons at 2,000 km, 10,000 km and 20,000 km, and 24/7 assistance.

We understand that the Indian customer is extremely value conscious, hence our commitment to globally benchmarked product quality, service and after-sales quality and network quality” says Jérôme Stoll, Executive VP, Sales and Marketing
No where have they mentioned the word optional

Check here

Renault announces launch of Duster in India in 2012 - media.renault.com

that is a matter of fine print with * (conditions apply)
Can you kindly show me were in the media release they have mentioned asterix * and have mentioned conditions apply ?

What does the word " includes " means ?

Please go on the link provided and point me if there is a " astreix " or " condition apply " mentioned .