Renault Duster Now Launched at Rs.7.19 Lakh (Coverage – Pg.19)

Re: Renault Duster To Hit Showrooms in July 2012

I hope duster advertisement comes true
Sedans like dezire are smashed . [anger]

I hope duster advertisement comes true
Sedans like dezire are smashed . [anger]

I don;t understand howdzire is smashed ? Its just 7 lacs for diesel where as duster is 9+ lacs for diesel. The price difference is huge. I don't think anyone who is going for dzire will ever go for duster.

True.. Duster may not be a competitor for sedans that come under CS(compact Sedan) category since they have a price advantage due to sub 4 meter category.

I don;t understand howdzire is smashed ? Its just 7 lacs for diesel where as duster is 9+ lacs for diesel. The price difference is huge. I don't think anyone who is going for dzire will ever go for duster.

+1 kikloo.
I don't think that Duster is going to be a competetor to any of the sedans like dzire , indigo, or some thing. A person who have parking constraints in city and office and a traditional city resident would still go for a fully loaded hatch or sedan rather than going for duster.
But Duster is going to have a market share which would be from the safari lx and the base variants of scorpio.. Those mahindra and tata is going to face a nice competition if they are not doing some changes with the prices of safari and scorpio lower varaints.

+1 kikloo.
I don't think that Duster is going to be a competetor to any of the sedans like dzire , indigo, or some thing. A person who have parking constraints in city and office and a traditional city resident would still go for a fully loaded hatch or sedan rather than going for duster.
But Duster is going to have a market share which would be from the safari lx and the base variants of scorpio.. Those mahindra and tata is going to face a nice competition if they are not doing some changes with the prices of safari and scorpio lower varaints.
Duster is as long as sedans why you think it can be a parking constraints ? Infact it is less then the skoda rapid.

+1 kikloo.
This will have no impact over Scorpio or Safari market.
Reasons which i can think of as of now
1. Duster is a 5 seater (compact SUV or may be a extended Sedan)
2. It has good luggage capacity meaning, a good taxi vehicle (airport/city drivers).
3. Its smaller in length meaning cannot have that road presence to scare auto cab guys.
4. a pakka soft rd vehicle.

This will have no impact over Scorpio or Safari market.
Reasons which i can think of as of now
1. Duster is a 5 seater (compact SUV or may be a extended Sedan)
2. It has good luggage capacity meaning, a good taxi vehicle (airport/city drivers).
3. Its smaller in length meaning cannot have that road presence to scare auto cab guys.
4. a pakka soft rd vehicle.

I think it will definitively dent the sales of Scorpio and Safari because they fall in the same price category. Also Duster has better looks than Scorpio and safari which are now very old.

I also feel that young people will definately go for Duster and not Scorpio / Safari due the following reasons:

1. High mileage of Duster 20+ kmpl
2. Better looks.
3. Better Quality.
4. Better comfort.

I think they will compromise infact have compromised the quality and features.may not keep to the expectations if we expect good quality/powerful SUV.

Duster is launched in U.K at Rs.7.98 Lakh (£8995). It’s exported from Chennai Plant. Probably now we have a better idea of the expected pricing of Duster in India?

Renault Duster is going to launch at 4 July, 2012. I am totally impressed with the news that it is coming with lowest price as sedan.

I think it will definitively dent the sales of Scorpio and Safari because they fall in the same price category. Also Duster has better looks than Scorpio and safari which are now very old.
+1000 and it will cheaper to maintain also ,and again the so called 2 extra seats in Scorpio and safari are useless . And the duster is capable of doing everything what the safari and Scorpio is willing to do and since it's a new suv it's presence will have a wow factor then the old looking Scorpio and safari both .

Im not 100% sure on this. Xylo launch was also expected to blow off Innova sales which did not happen. I would expect the same on this tool

I also feel that young people will definately go for Duster and not Scorpio / Safari due the following reasons:

1. High mileage of Duster 20+ kmpl
2. Better looks.
3. Better Quality.
4. Better comfort.

+1000 and it will cheaper to maintain also ,and again the so called 2 extra seats in Scorpio and safari are useless . And the duster is capable of doing everything what the safari and Scorpio is willing to do and since it's a new suv it's presence will have a wow factor then the old looking Scorpio and safari both .
Duster is strictly 5 seater so impact on Safari and Scorpio will not be accountable. In lower segment Ertiga and in upper segment XUV doing well so most probable affect may be on C1,C2 segment. No doubt Duster will be very good product and very well engineered but Renault thin sales/service network which could affect the success of Duster. Very interesting competition after launching Ford EcoSport.