Ownership Review: Polo 1.2 TDI Comfortline Diesel (100K Crossed)

Thread Starter #856
Re: Ownership Review: Polo 1.2 TDI Comfortline (Diesel)

Polo road trip update

Last weekend did the Delhi-Lansdowne-Tarkeshwar Mahadev-Delhi 673kms road trip, due to Holi festival road was mostly empty and we managed to cover Delhi-Lansdowne in less than 4.5 hrs even after starting @5:10AM from Delhi all the shops were closed and very few vehicles are on road. During return journey on Sunday faced the worst jam of this stretch which started right after Meerut city. Had a painful experience with Yatra.com which cancelled my hotel booking at last moment and adjusted us at worst hotel of Lansdowne Shantiraj hill view connected with 3km long kaccha road inside the forest with pathetic rooms since Lansdowne have limited hotels all were full due to long weekend.

Here are few pics of this trip:

IMG_4305.JPG

IMG_4364.JPG

IMG_4469.JPG

IMG_4516.JPG

IMG_4634.JPG

IMG_4680.JPG

IMG_4702.JPG

IMG_4755.JPG

IMG_4758.JPG

IMG_4759.JPG

Thread Starter #857

Polo Update

Couple of weeks back Explorer-1 got complete clutch overhaul VW Delhi west replaced clutch plate, bearing and clutch pressure plate they took 15 days to import these parts total cost of replacement was Rs. 26479 and two days of time.

Replacement work was carried out nicely and now explorer-1 is showing improved pickup and soft clutch compared to what it was previously. Find below copy of bill and part images for reference:

IMG_5106.JPG

IMG_5103.JPG

IMG_5104.JPG

IMG_5105.JPG

IMG_5107.JPG

Thread Starter #859

Running repair update

After such a long time updating this thread, last month sent the Explorer-1 to service center for running repair following was done:

1) Jounce bumper was replaced
2) Driver side view mirror glass and frame replaced
3) Front brake pads replaced

Total bill of Rs. 7160 for the above work was charged. Find below more details:

IMG_6787.JPG

IMG_6788.JPG

IMG_6789.JPG

IMG_6792.JPG

IMG_6795.JPG

Invoice.jpg

Running repair update
Total bill of Rs. 7160 for the above work was charged. Find below more details
I can't believe that for a running repair of 4K VW charges a labor of Rs. 3100/-[surprise] What is this? In 7K I can get my Honda CITY repaired twice if need be (as running repair). Labor charges are insane!

Why 2 charges for replacing the jounce bumper ? I agree with akash labor charges are insane and really i would never ever visit vw service center after the warranty gets over.

Thread Starter #862

I can't believe that for a running repair of 4K VW charges a labor of Rs. 3100/-[surprise] What is this? In 7K I can get my Honda CITY repaired twice if need be (as running repair). Labor charges are insane!

Yes both material and labour costs are quite high in service center of VW

Why 2 charges for replacing the jounce bumper ? I agree with akash labor charges are insane and really i would never ever visit vw service center after the warranty gets over.
One is for side view mirror glass and frame fixing with some adjustments second is for jounce bumper yes i too agree with Akash cost of repair is insanely high.

Thread Starter #863

Sixth service update:

Explorer-1 crossed 90,000 KM mark and it was time for his sixth service, gave my vehicle to VW Delhi-West Moti Nagar branch. Total cost incurred was Rs. 42002/- they took 6 days to service the vehicle got following work done:

1) Timing kit replaced
2) Engine mount replaced
3) Routine Oil and filter changes
4) Wheel alignment and balancing
5) Front wheel lathe job for wheel bolts
6) Coolant water pump with gasket replaced (Under extended warranty)
7) Steering gear with track rods replaced (Under extended warranty)

Find below the images of part changed, and invoice copy for reference:

Invoice-1.png

Invoice-2.png

IMG_7202.JPG

IMG_7203.JPG

IMG_7204.JPG

Sigh.. it took me an hour to quickly go through last 5 pages.

What an ownership review, what an owner and what a traveler. As already mentioned at some other part of the forum; whenever I see your ownership thread or travelogues, I stop thinking that I am an avid traveler.

Best part is that this year itself I have done Surkanda, Dhanaulti, Lansdowne, Kangda and Jwal ji trips and looking at most fo your pics, half of the memories have came alive again.

And and and that service bill, whoa man!! 42000 rupees for the maintenance of a Polo!!

Sirji, I recommend you an upgrade now since you are an avid traveler and the car is nearing a lac kilometers on odo. Go an get a Duster man, that's the true car for travelers at this side of 15 lac.

Repeating the words of Vibhor, "next time I head somewhere, I know whom to ask about the route and its condition". :biggrin:

Re: Ownership Review: Polo 1.2 TDI Comfortline Diesel (90K Crossed)

@toughguy

Can you tell the total cost of service and maintenance of your polo for 90000km?

will also be buying one and wanted to know that it should not be too expensive to maintain

Wow ToughGuy. Great to see your explorer crossing 90k mark. [clap] Mine has just crossed 35k in the same duration I believe. Service bills seem to be quite hefty for the 5th and 6th services. I don't know about other cars but this seem to be quite pricey IMO. I'll have to keep track for my Polo's next service bills now. For my Polo's 3 annual services done till now, I've spent close to 26k in total in 3+ years but my running has been just about 10-11k kms per year.

On the other hand, your explorer looks as stunning as always. Wish you clock the 1,00,000kms mark soon on your Polo. Cheers.

Just found your thread. Good to see a Polo Fan like myself. Very beautifully written ownership experience, simple and crisp. rated 5 stars. Man the maintenance cost is too much. I own two Polo's.:stupid:

Whoo whoo [clap]
Toughguy, take a bow man [:)]
Very well written and maintained thread, spent last 3 hours going through this. And man you are a true traveler. After reading your travelogues...i am speechless, inspires me to take off right away and get down somewhere, kudos to you (5 stars)

I also own a POLO highline 1.5 TDi bought some time back, and i m in love with it.
A query though, man your sixth service bill terrified me...is it so steep down the years ? [surprise]

Thread Starter #869

Sigh.. it took me an hour to quickly go through last 5 pages.

What an ownership review, what an owner and what a traveler. As already mentioned at some other part of the forum; whenever I see your ownership thread or travelogues, I stop thinking that I am an avid traveler.

Best part is that this year itself I have done Surkanda, Dhanaulti, Lansdowne, Kangda and Jwal ji trips and looking at most fo your pics, half of the memories have came alive again.

And and and that service bill, whoa man!! 42000 rupees for the maintenance of a Polo!!

Sirji, I recommend you an upgrade now since you are an avid traveler and the car is nearing a lac kilometers on odo. Go an get a Duster man, that's the true car for travelers at this side of 15 lac.

Repeating the words of Vibhor, "next time I head somewhere, I know whom to ask about the route and its condition".
Hi Vipul,

Thanks for your kind work man people like you keep me going. Yes maintenance is on higher side but I am still in love with my car

@toughguy

Can you tell the total cost of service and maintenance of your polo for 90000km?

will also be buying one and wanted to know that it should not be too expensive to maintain
Chetan maintenance cost need to be calculated you can go through thread for same. I guess it must be between Rs.1.5 to 2 per KM

Wow ToughGuy. Great to see your explorer crossing 90k mark. [clap] Mine has just crossed 35k in the same duration I believe. Service bills seem to be quite hefty for the 5th and 6th services. I don't know about other cars but this seem to be quite pricey IMO. I'll have to keep track for my Polo's next service bills now. For my Polo's 3 annual services done till now, I've spent close to 26k in total in 3+ years but my running has been just about 10-11k kms per year.

On the other hand, your explorer looks as stunning as always. Wish you clock the 1,00,000kms mark soon on your Polo. Cheers.
Thanks GM88 for your lovely words, since I own Hyundai i10 and WagonR too currently compared to them service cost is too steep no doubt about that.

I like driving Explorer-1 hence ignore this part till now, it might clock 10K mark by next month.

Just found your thread. Good to see a Polo Fan like myself. Very beautifully written ownership experience, simple and crisp. rated 5 stars. Man the maintenance cost is too much. I own two Polo's.
Thanks Jazzy for 5 stars

Whoo whoo
Toughguy, take a bow man
Very well written and maintained thread, spent last 3 hours going through this. And man you are a true traveler. After reading your travelogues...i am speechless, inspires me to take off right away and get down somewhere, kudos to you (5 stars)

I also own a POLO highline 1.5 TDi bought some time back, and i m in love with it.
A query though, man your sixth service bill terrified me...is it so steep down the years ? [surprise]
Hi Vikas thanks for 5 stars to this thread and your work of appreciation.

Sixth service is a major one and it require investment.

TG

Thread Starter #870

Polo update:

Last month Explorer-1 gear box started creating problem while shifting to gear 1 & 2 slot, sometimes gear shift completely refused to shift to either 1 or 2 number slots.

Talked to my previous service adviser at VW Delhi-West, he told me to bring the vehicle for check up later culprit was found and gear shift cable was changed at cost of Rs.7,738/- now Explorer-1 is doing fine.

1.JPG

2.JPG

3.JPG

4.JPG