New Honda Brio SMT - Ownership Review

Hi Sudeep,

I am new to TAI. I have been following your thread from the last couple of days and i must say you have been doing a really wonderful job. You have made my life easy in choosing a new car and i am planning to buy Honda Brio in a month or so in the festive season of Dussehra. I am currently not in India and my parents went to Green Honda in Hyderabad and asked them regarding the price. Here is what they quoted.

Ex Showroom Price 507,000 [in Hyderabad for S(0)MT Variant]
Insurance 19,256
Handling charges 5,500
Permanent Registration 3,000
Life tax @ 12% 61,090
Life tax @ 14% 71,230

Total on road price @ 12% is Rs 5,95,846/-
Total on road price @ 14% is Rs 6,05,986/-

I some how feel that the prices given by the dealer are misleading. I have never heard of Handling Charges before. And is the life tax always that high? I am also not getting anything else extra (like freebies, extra fittings) from the dealer either. Please let me know if the prices quoted are more or less genuine or do i need to ask for some other freebies. I am also thinking of opting for MODE Package. Do i need to pay extra for that or is it included in the price.

I have never had a car before and i have no idea regarding any of these. So please don't mind if i am asking something stupid.I am unable to talk to Green Honda as i am very busy with my residency during that time. Please let me know if there is anything else needed.

Dr.Rahul

I also had paid 5500 as handling charges when I brought brio in delhi. There are offers going on currently and honda is giving AC/LCD with the purchase moreover they are giving insurance @1.

Thanks a lot for the prompt reply. I will ask the dealer about the things that you mentioned. One of my friend in Hyderabad told me that some one he knows got their Honda Brio S(O)MT Variant for 5.8 Lakh on road price. Hope i scan strike a good deal with the dealer.

I also heard that there is an Automatic Transmission model of Honda Brio coming up by the end of this year. Is this true? Because that would be awesome and i am ready to wait if it happens by the end of this year. If any one knows about this please throw some light on this issue.

Thread Starter #245
Hi Sudeep,

I am new to TAI. I have been following your thread from the last couple of days and i must say you have been doing a really wonderful job. You have made my life easy in choosing a new car and i am planning to buy Honda Brio in a month or so in the festive season of Dussehra. I am currently not in India and my parents went to Green Honda in Hyderabad and asked them regarding the price. Here is what they quoted.

Dr.Rahul
Hi Rahul,

Thank you for your kind words.

As Naveen Said, Honda is giving out ads here in the papers and radio mentioning free TV/AC and Insurance.
Do make sure you cash on the offers.

Also, there are a lot of speculations in the market about an AT variant & Diesel engine as well. I think personally think the Diesel engine might be around the corner and we might see it soon enough. AT I feel will take much longer.

Hi Guys ,

It's almost 2 months , my blue brio (SMT) model started getting rust on the rear bumper .
As it is my first car , I have no idea whether it is natural or should I contact the Honda Dealer . As the time of purchasing 4-5 dots were there , but now 15 - 20 came up .
It is not visible unless you come closer (around 1-2 mtrs) .

Is it obvious or defect in painting ? Guys kindly give your valuable suggestion . Thanks :)
Hi Anupam,

Can u update us on this? Members have given their valuable inputs already. And I am sorry, that I couldn't reply earlier. I was in midst of a lot of travels and then relocation.
What I can tell you is the bumpers are made of fiber. And Fiber doesn't rust.
Might be a defect in the paint job. Please share some pics of the spot.

And do let us know the out come if you have contacted Honda already.

September - 2012
Honda Brio Discount Offers for September 2012

Honda Brio EMT - Free Insurance + Rs. 5K Cash
Honda Brio SMT - Free Insurance
Honda Brio S Option - Free Insurance + Rs. 15K Cash Discount
Honda Brio VMT - Free Insurance + Rs. 35K Cash Discount

@Sudeep: I talked to Green Honda in Hyderabad and was told that the free LCD/TV is valid in Delhi and not in Hyderabad. But the good news is they are offering me free insurance (worth Rs 19,500) and Rs 35,000 Cash back for the higher VMT Model. This makes the on road price of the high end VMT variant to cost around 5,70,000 Rupess which i think is a great deal[:D] What do you think?

@Sanjaysk: Just saying thanks is not enough for your post on the current offers on Honda Brio. I really appreciate your help[clap]. It's been of great help to me and saved me close to 55K. [:D]

Thread Starter #248
@Sudeep: I talked to Green Honda in Hyderabad and was told that the free LCD/TV is valid in Delhi and not in Hyderabad. But the good news is they are offering me free insurance (worth Rs 19,500) and Rs 35,000 Cash back for the higher VMT Model. This makes the on road price of the high end VMT variant to cost around 5,70,000 Rupess which i think is a great deal[:D] What do you think?
[:D]
5.7 L on road for BRIO VMT is a very good deal. Don't think twice its an awesome machine to own and you are getting a superb deal.

Do let us know the outcome.

5.7 L on road for BRIO VMT is a very good deal. Don't think twice its an awesome machine to own and you are getting a superb deal.

Do let us know the outcome.
My dad called Green Honda for an invoice so that he can apply for a loan. He got the invoice today and to his surprise the total onroadprice for Honda Brio VMT is mentioned 5,55,000Rs/- He is really happy with the deal and when he asked the dealer he politely replied "Yes" and that he is giving the additional discount which is valid if we buy the car in September. It can't get better than this. We will be applying for the loan this week and hopefully should be getting the Sweet Ride by the end of September[:D]

Need your input on the Black color Honda Brio. I have seen the pics of the Energetic Blue Honda Brio posted by Sudeep and instantly fell in love with it. And then later on saw the Rallye Red colour and was really impressed. I wanted to chose between either of these colors. But my brother says he wants the Black color (Crystal BLack Pearl) Brio and this started a mini debate in my family[frustration]. To be frank i have never seen the Black colored version on the roads nor in any of the pics uploaded on TAI. Even doing a quick google search did not bring up any real life ownership pics/test drive pics of the car in black color. What do you guys say? Does anyone here own the black color Brio or atleast seen one. What would you suggest? How does the black colored Brio look? Does Brio lose the beautiful looks in Black color that it is known for? I some how feel that the rear glass hatch and the black color of Brio do not gel together well like the Blue or the red colored ones[confused]. Its just my feeling and have never seen one in reality. Correct me if i am wrong and give me your valuable suggestions on choosing the color of the car.

P.S. Please don't mind if i am being paranoid as Honda Brio is gonna be the first car in my family and i am having my share of emotions

Thread Starter #251
My dad called Green Honda for an invoice so that he can apply for a loan. He got the invoice today and to his surprise the total onroadprice for Honda Brio VMT is mentioned 5,55,000Rs/- He is really happy with the deal and when he asked the dealer he politely replied "Yes" and that he is giving the additional discount which is valid if we buy the car in September. It can't get better than this. We will be applying for the loan this week and hopefully should be getting the Sweet Ride by the end of September[:D]
Thats a steal man!!
I knw a lotta people who have picked a lower version at the same price. Congrats.

I have seen the pics of the Energetic Blue Honda Brio posted by Sudeep and instantly fell in love with it. And then later on saw the Rallye Red colour and was really impressed. I wanted to chose between either of these colors. But my brother says he wants the Black color (Crystal BLack Pearl) Brio and this started a mini debate in my family[frustration]. To be frank i have never seen the Black colored version on the roads nor in any of the pics uploaded on TAI. Even doing a quick google search did not bring up any real life on road pics of the car. What do you guys say? Does anyone here own the black color Brio or atleast seen one. What would you suggest? I some how feel that the rear glass hatch and the black color of Brio do not gel together well like the Blue or the red colored ones[confused]. Its just my feeling and have never seen one in reality. Correct me if i am wrong and give me your valuable suggestions on choosing the color of the car.
I have seen black in the thane showroom,thats not looking ugly though i like or i prefer white always.

Re.5.70 lakh quotation- initially they might have included the octroi charges also.

Thread Starter #253
Need your input on the Black color Honda Brio. I have seen the pics of the Energetic Blue Honda Brio posted by Sudeep and instantly fell in love with it. And then later on saw the Rallye Red colour and was really impressed. I wanted to chose between either of these colors. But my brother says he wants the Black color (Crystal BLack Pearl) Brio and this started a mini debate in my family[frustration]. To be frank i have never seen the Black colored version on the roads nor in any of the pics uploaded on TAI. Even doing a quick google search did not bring up any real life ownership pics/test drive pics of the car. What do you guys say? Does anyone here own the black color Brio or atleast seen one. What would you suggest? I some how feel that the rear glass hatch and the black color of Brio do not gel together well like the Blue or the red colored ones[confused]. Its just my feeling and have never seen one in reality. How does the black colored Brio look? Does Brio lose the beautiful looks in Black that it is known for? Correct me if i am wrong and give me your valuable suggestions on choosing the color of the car.
Hi Rahul,

I have seen a couple of Black Brios on the road. And to be honest, didnt impress me much.
Also, black gets dirtier fast. And most importantly, do consider the climate in your city, as Black cars become very uncomfortable during summers as they absorb a lot of heat.

I have seen black in the thane showroom,thats not looking ugly though i like or i prefer white always.

Re.5.70 lakh quotation- initially they might have included the octroi charges also.
I too like the white color any day but wanted the Blue as it is unique. We just don't find that many cars in Blue in India. The 5.70 Lakh quoted initially did not include the octroi charges. Things were basically the same in the invoice except that this time the dealer decreased the Ex showroom Price by 15K in the new invoice along with free insurance and 35K money back for the VMT Model to make the finlal onroadprice to a sweet 5.55Lakh.

Hi Rahul,

I have seen a couple of Black Brios on the road. And to be honest, didnt impress me much.
Also, black gets dirtier fast. And most importantly, do consider the climate in your city, as Black cars become very uncomfortable during summers as they absorb a lot of heat.
Hi Sudeep,
You have bought some valid points like black color getting dirtier faster and uncomfortable during summers and i will use them to defend my side of the story[evil]. Hope my family agrees to what i say.

What do you mean by black color din't impress you much? Could you be a little more specific. Was it because the glass hatch not gelling well with the black color body or is there anything else?