New Ford Figo Trend (Diesel) | 3rd Year | 47,000 Kms: Ownership Review

Re: New Ford Figo Trend (Diesel) | 3rd Service Update | 20,000 Kms: Ownership Review

Hi iinfi,
It all comes down to us as a driver how cautious, careful and responsibly we drive. Whether the car has a higher NCAP rating or lower, whether you pay in lacks or in crores we still would not want to crash [:D]. Some of the top selling cars have failed in NCAP but are the cars with the least accident reports.
What you are saying is completely right, and I dont deny that. But you are digressing from the topic here big time. No offense meant please. We do know about road discipline, keeping our vehicles within speed limits and keeping it further down depending on traffic and weather conditions, care for other drivers on the road and above all the Karma part (whats written for us will happen on that day) :) etc
Thats a completely different topic.

My question is, should we as a team go and demand an explanation from Ford top brass on why they thought a weaker chassis is ok for India and Brasil and since NCAP tests are a near failure for Figo (Ka) and Aspire, what tests they did internally and ask them to publish the results of those tests on their website. Is this something they will agree with? Seriously, for me its about getting quality stuff for what I have paid for. Thats the reason for my disappointment. Did expect a next-gen ford vehicle to be this bad. End up with a structurally unstable NCAP result.

too much rant .. thanks for tolerating :)

Re: New Ford Figo Trend (Diesel) | 3rd Service Update | 20,000 Kms: Ownership Review

What you are saying is completely right, and I dont deny that. But you are digressing from the topic here big time. No offense meant please. We do know about road discipline, keeping our vehicles within speed limits and keeping it further down depending on traffic and weather conditions, care for other drivers on the road and above all the Karma part (whats written for us will happen on that day) :) etc
Thats a completely different topic.

My question is, should we as a team go and demand an explanation from Ford top brass on why they thought a weaker chassis is ok for India and Brasil and since NCAP tests are a near failure for Figo (Ka) and Aspire, what tests they did internally and ask them to publish the results of those tests on their website. Is this something they will agree with? Seriously, for me its about getting quality stuff for what I have paid for. Thats the reason for my disappointment. Did expect a next-gen ford vehicle to be this bad. End up with a structurally unstable NCAP result.

too much rant .. thanks for tolerating :)
Actually we should but I am 99% sure Ford wont give a proper reply for this query, they will just excuse us saying that company policy is to provide safe and smart car to customer and all cars made are following such standards,
And the trouble is not with Brazil, even Brazil and South Africa and UAE has better Figos, even they have got better stable structure, its just for India this mess has happened, just like how Maruti has done with its Swift/Dzire/Celerio/etc where import nations get stronger products while Indian ones get weaker chassis so its clear its a heavy cost cutting Ford India has done to make new Figo cheapest car in its segment and cater majority of Indian needs because light weight will add more mileage and airbags will keep buyers happy for safety concerned buyer, a smart play indeed.
This is definitely a huge disappointment for me as I own an MK I Figo that though didnt have airbags has a stable structure.

want to install reversing siren/horn &
upgrading horn voids warranty ?

Few days back I had mentioned about slight burn signs on the HL reflector. Please find the picture of the same.
This has to be replaced in Warranty ASAP

Hi Allhyundaicars!
Last week I saw a video in YouTube uploaded by a Figo owner. In the video the owner of the Figo leaves his hands from the steering wheel while in various speeds and the car automatically goes to the left immediately.
Are you sure its alignment problem and not Torque steer. Assuming the car is FWD with dissimilar front axle length, There is bound to be some torque steer.
DO this,
Find an empty ground parking lot. Slot in the 1st gear. Press the throttle fully. The torque steer shall be evident. Is this the feeling you're talking about? If so its design and not a problem.

Repeat the same in neutral gear, and post here.

This has to be replaced in Warranty ASAP
Are you sure its alignment problem and not Torque steer. Assuming the car is FWD with dissimilar front axle length, There is bound to be some torque steer.
DO this,
Find an empty ground parking lot. Slot in the 1st gear. Press the throttle fully. The torque steer shall be evident. Is this the feeling you're talking about? If so its design and not a problem.

Repeat the same in neutral gear, and post here.
Its not torque steer, torque steer is under power, this happens even while just cruising at high gear at low rpm,with a lot of customers who had this issue, the issue got sorted out after 3D alignment and wheel balancing was done, but for mikem91 the issue seems to be complicated as a lot of things havw been tried and yet the issue persists, so probably some kind of design flaw in front axle or something, still got not much clue on what the issue is.

New Ford Figo Trend (Diesel) | 3rd Service Update | 20,000 Kms: Ownership Review

Had another tank full diesel and economy is at 16 by tankfull and 15.6 by display . Total km is at 1315

Actually we should but I am 99% sure Ford wont give a proper reply for this query, they will just excuse us saying that company policy is to provide safe and smart car to customer and all cars made are following such standards,
And the trouble is not with Brazil, even Brazil and South Africa and UAE has better Figos, even they have got better stable structure, its just for India this mess has happened, just like how Maruti has done with its Swift/Dzire/Celerio/etc where import nations get stronger products while Indian ones get weaker chassis so its clear its a heavy cost cutting Ford India has done to make new Figo cheapest car in its segment and cater majority of Indian needs because light weight will add more mileage and airbags will keep buyers happy for safety concerned buyer, a smart play indeed.
This is definitely a huge disappointment for me as I own an MK I Figo that though didnt have airbags has a stable structure.
Will filing an RTI fetch us the info? On what and how they did their internal testing. And what their explanation is on the NCAP rating?

That is a good idea, an RTI might give a sufficient and solid data, and in RTI if filed one must ask whether International models are also built on same standards and if NOT, why?

I may be wrong here but RTI is applicable only to central/state governments and administrative bodies. It doesn't cover private firms which means car manufacturers doesn't come under the ambit of RTI.

Is there a taxi variant for Aspire/Figo?
I see brand new Figo/Aspire taxis in Trivandrum that are not having the horizontal slats in the front grill. The grill appears like an open mouth now :). It doesn't look that bad though.
Or is this a silent update by the Ford to the base variants?

Is there a taxi variant for Aspire/Figo?
I see brand new Figo/Aspire taxis in Trivandrum that are not having the horizontal slats in the front grill. The grill appears like an open mouth now :). It doesn't look that bad though.
Or is this a silent update by the Ford to the base variants?
Base variants already dosent get the chrome grill, so it might be the Aspire Base trim
I too saw a new Aspire taxi that was just 6 months old but already did 30k kms
Taxu driver was already very happy with Aspire after switching from Indigo which he claimed ran 1.9 lakhs kms before it retired.

https://www.goauto.com.au/mellor/mellor.nsf/story2/CDE49733B8F628F7CA2580EA00140F7F

This is the 2018 Ford Figo/Aspire for Australia, interesting bit is that this website says India will get an update for Figo/Aspire in 2018, probably a new 1.2 i3 Dragon Petrol motor and crucially will it get extra structural rigidity!! and new form of SYNC 3 based touch screen as well, somewhat like what we see now in current Ecosport Titanium/Titanium+ Trims

Base variants already dosent get the chrome grill, so it might be the Aspire Base trim
I too saw a new Aspire taxi that was just 6 months old but already did 30k kms
Taxu driver was already very happy with Aspire after switching from Indigo which he claimed ran 1.9 lakhs kms before it retired.

https://www.goauto.com.au/mellor/mellor.nsf/story2/CDE49733B8F628F7CA2580EA00140F7F

This is the 2018 Ford Figo/Aspire for Australia, interesting bit is that this website says India will get an update for Figo/Aspire in 2018, probably a new 1.2 i3 Dragon Petrol motor and crucially will it get extra structural rigidity!! and new form of SYNC 3 based touch screen as well, somewhat like what we see now in current Ecosport Titanium/Titanium+ Trims
Yes, base variants used to come with silver painted grill instead of chrome.
But the new ones that I saw have no silver/chrome horizontal slats or they are painted black.
Hope I am clear this time :)

And, I don't think Figo will get the 1.3 petrol as the car will loose the excise cut which are applicable only to sub 4m cars with a max cubic capacity of 1.2L (petrol).

Yes, base variants used to come with silver painted grill instead of chrome.
But the new ones that I saw have no silver/chrome horizontal slats or they are painted black.
Hope I am clear this time :)

And, I don't think Figo will get the 1.3 petrol as the car will loose the excise cut which are applicable only to sub 4m cars with a max cubic capacity of 1.2L (petrol).
I havent seen how the base model looks at showrooms but by the look of it base models nowadays come without painted front grill,
Regarding 2019 Figo, I said about a 1.2l petrol itself, Ford is developing a new range of Dragon petrol motors for developing markets, they are 1.2 and 1.5l units, both 3 cylinders engines, and the new Figo might get this new 1.2l i3 petrol motor which is expected to make around 94 bhp and new 1.5l unit around 128 bhp, and still be 10-15% more efficient than current 1.2 and 1.5l motors.