New Ford Figo Trend (Diesel) | 3rd Year | 47,000 Kms: Ownership Review

Re: New Ford Figo Trend (Diesel) | 3rd Service Update | 20,000 Kms: Ownership Review

@Madann4u, I prefer buying a petrol vehicle since my average daily driving distance would be less than 15km and occasional 200km trips to my hometown Ernakulam from here in Trivandrum.
@balaramsundaram : Going with Tiago is wise choice I feel by considering above running KMS and VFM. Also do check with Tiago perspective owners experience with service centre at your place.

The bad decision I have taken is jumping from Maruthi which served more than 10+ years with hassle free to Ford worst sales and service which has taught a good lesson.

So think well before you choose any car because at the end it is hard earned money and should not go into drain like my case.

Re: New Ford Figo Trend (Diesel) | 3rd Service Update | 20,000 Kms: Ownership Review

This is my first comment in this forum though have been an silent observer for years.

After a little bit of search, I have zeroed in on Ford Aspire Titanium 1.5TDCi. I have already sold my old car (Tata Vista, such a faithful companion; 5 years and 90K but not one single major issues throughout my experience) so will not be getting any exchange bonus.

Below is the offer I was able to negotiate with Ford dealer.

OTR for the model is 8.51L
Dealer Discount - 15000
3rd and 4th year warranty free - 13999
No basic accessories pack worth 3999
Insurance I'm getting it directly from Royal Sundaram for 20.8K (Dealer quote is 28.8k Zero dep)

Effectively I have to pay 7.90L
offcourse, insurance I have pay directly to RS.

Is this a good deal? Please advice.

Note: I earlier booked Aspire in Aug'16 but cancelled in Dec'16 owing to delays and insipid response. Booked Baleno then in Feb'17 with a tentative delivery in May. But came across a new dealer for Ford closeby my place who promised delivery within 3 weeks to booked it again. Only reason I was so smitten by this car;

Thread Starter #2,043

That's a good deal you are getting. Ask them to throw in free parking sensors and close the deal.
I went today to a Ford dealership for Aspire petrol titanium.
They were willing to give 20k cash discounts (or 12k discounts with seat covers and parking sensors)with 3rd year warranty for free as loyalty bonus plus the basic accessory kit.

There is a lot of work done on my car for left pulling issue like wheel alignment more than 10 times and changing knuckles, absorbers and finally rack at Service centre but nothing is helpful. Escalated to ford but they are keeping quiet.
Currently I am looking for exchange my car with Maruthi Brezza/Ertiga but the resale value came with big shock (4lac only for 2015 titanium diesel ,ODO at 15000kms) after the valuation.

Now I am confused[sleep] and [frustration].
Hey mike, sad to hear that you are contemplating exchange for the figo, such a nice car plagued by this issue making you sell it in such a short ownership. Btw, did they change both the shocks or just one side? I was thinking that changing my left shock which is leaking a bit might solve the issue.

@afterburner: They have changed both the sides. Even the previous one has no any problem. They just gave a try by changing shocks to see for improvement but this did not help.

Thread Starter #2,046

There is a lot of work done on my car for left pulling issue like wheel alignment more than 10 times and changing knuckles, absorbers and finally rack at Service centre but nothing is helpful. Escalated to ford but they are keeping quiet.

They are doing everything they can to solve the problem. And I don't think changing all these parts means they are keeping quite. It sure will be troubling to give the car to sc many times but still I wouldn't say after service is bad just because they are not able to pin point the issue. And it is really helpful that you are updating each and everything related to issue and I hope the problem gets rectified.

Currently I am looking for exchange my car with Maruthi Brezza/Ertiga but the resale value came with big shock (4lac only for 2015 titanium diesel ,ODO at 15000kms) after the valuation.

Thats one real bad experience !! a small advise from my side, try and visit a good tyre alignment guy and your problem may vanish as my previous experience has shown that many of the service centers doesn't do proper alignment and certain issues sometimes gets solved outside miraculous

That's pretty serious issue, did you notice any difference in 3D alignment figures every time you got it done like was your steering centered or need adjustment, also go for a advanced wheel balancing (were a roller stone is used to replicate road not the one which only rotates the Tyre image attache for your reference) and determine your tires uneven were & tear, bulges etc.. this will help you to rule out the culprit being the tyre get this done from an out side vendor. if still issue prevails it is either your steering column or the suspension.

Thr same issue got rectified for some users after getting a 3D alighnment and balancing done, but as per @mikem91 , all such alignment has been done, but in some other forums also thr same issue was rectified after various alignment corrections, Ford has also tried alignment many times but still it persists and at least they have tried changing shocks and some other components, so I am happybthat they atleast tried,but fact remains that Ford couldnt sort out a Ford customer issue, thats a a disappoinment, anyway so far, a lot has found this issue to be alignment problem alone,but not sure whats wrong with @mikem91s car.

Hello,

I am wondering, am I the only one who is disappointed and unhappy and feel cheated after by Ford after the NCAP results are out. Pardon me I am not an expert in cars and automobiles. Started reading few stuff only after I bought a car last October (New Figo).
One might think,
Did Ford give me a guarantee that they would pass NCAP with x starts? NO! Because of their brand and previous record, I just assumed that they would have done a good job.

Did anything stop me from waiting till the NCAP results were out before buying this car. NO! Same reason.

When I checked with Ford before buying the car this is what they said.

============
We regret to inform you that we would not be able to share internal documents. However we assure you of our product quality with respect to both performance and safety as safety is a primary factor for Ford during the 100 year successful manufacturing journey and relationship with our customers. Request your understanding on this.
============

Now, does anyone think, we should check with them about what test they did internally to ensure safety of passengers incase of a crash?

I spent 8L (Titanium) just for the safety features and the brand, which I feel have now cheated me by just scraping through the crash test and having a Unstable Structure when hit at 64kmph. Whereas most impacts happen at much higher speeds.
Thanks for your time.

Hello,

I am wondering, am I the only one who is disappointed and unhappy and feel cheated after by Ford after the NCAP results are out. Pardon me I am not an expert in cars and automobiles. Started reading few stuff only after I bought a car last October (New Figo).
One might think,
Did Ford give me a guarantee that they would pass NCAP with x starts? NO! Because of their brand and previous record, I just assumed that they would have done a good job.

Did anything stop me from waiting till the NCAP results were out before buying this car. NO! Same reason.

============
We regret to inform you that we would not be able to share internal documents. However we assure you of our product quality with respect to both performance and safety as safety is a primary factor for Ford during the 100 year successful manufacturing journey and relationship with our customers. Request your understanding on this.
============

Now, does anyone think, we should check with them about what test they did internally to ensure safety of passengers incase of a crash?

I spent 8L (Titanium) just for the safety features and the brand, which I feel have now cheated me by just scraping through the crash test and having a Unstable Structure when hit at 64kmph. Whereas most impacts happen at much higher speeds.
Thanks for your time.
I cant be sure whether Ford cheated or not, but they definitely have taken a step back from what they used to be , that is to give customer a perfectly safe car, Airbags as standard is good but as mentioned a safe structure is more important, supplementing structural integrity with airbags is what Indian and Chinese brands used to do , and to cater the mass market needs Ford definitely have compromised on structure strength,

But its good to see that they at least supplemented it with airbags, so in a way I think one can say, the car has balanced its weakness , but thats a cup of coffee that I can never enjoy [frustration] as I am used to the rock solid MK I Figo .

Thr same issue got rectified for some users after getting a 3D alighnment and balancing done, but as per @mikem91 , all such alignment has been done, but in some other forums also thr same issue was rectified after various alignment corrections, Ford has also tried alignment many times but still it persists and at least they have tried changing shocks and some other components, so I am happybthat they atleast tried,but fact remains that Ford couldnt sort out a Ford customer issue, thats a a disappoinment, anyway so far, a lot has found this issue to be alignment problem alone,but not sure whats wrong with @mikem91s car.
That is unfortunate I hope it gets addressed sooner.

Hello,

One might think,

============

Thanks for your time.
Hi iinfi,
It all comes down to us as a driver how cautious, careful and responsibly we drive. Whether the car has a higher NCAP rating or lower, whether you pay in lacks or in crores we still would not want to crash [:D]. Some of the top selling cars have failed in NCAP but are the cars with the least accident reports.

Please explain the term "UNSTABLE" in NCAP test AFAIK it is body structure is stable until 50 odd KMPH and it can not take further load not that structure is weak.