Re: Need a New Ride: A Diesel Workhorse
I had Swift Diesel & currently have Elite i20 Diesel.
1. Swift Service cost for 5k service was around 3000, while for i20 it is around 3000. For 10k service, Swift used to cost around 5000. i20 i haven't checked yet because the car has done 6955 kms currently. Post 35-40k kms running of Swift, it requires replacement of some mechanical components which will cost around 12-15k depending on the parts.
Wow does swift really require some mechanical components replaced at 35-40K!. My XUV has recently got 70000 kms service and the bill was 8K., highest I have paid is at my 50K service which was Rs 12900 and that included rear brake pads replacement. 3000 for the first service which usually is free service and our XUV 1st service was Rs 2200/-..LOL. So coming back to the point it means that i20 is almost same as swift or maybe cheaper than swift when it comes to maintenance.
2. Swift used to give me around 16 kmpl in city & around 22-23 on highways at speeds of 100 kmph. i20 is currently giving me 13 in city & around 17-18 on highways.
My daily running is almost 45 kms one way and that includes almost 20 Kms on NH8 and 15 kms in moving traffic and 5 kms in bumper to bumper traffic and sometimes I don't even get that. I guess I can get 14-15 kmpl from both of these.
3. In city drives, Swift does better while on highways the i20 has power to overtake although sometime you do require to downshift to make overtaking easily. The additional 15bhp does help in i20s on highways. i20 is good at city speeds but i feel the Swift is slightly better.
The surge in swift is really nice making it easy to overtake in cities, I guess its one of the reason why swift is easy to drive in cities? Also which one is better planted on highways on high speeds?
Also you can consider the Polo & Jazz. Polo is powerful on highways & better then i20 in city speeds. But Jazz is better compared to Swift & i20 in terms of city drivability & on highways. In fact the diesel Jazz offers better performance compared to petrol Jazz. And it is more efficient as well, you'll get higher figures compared to Swift/i20/Polo. And Honda service costs are generally on lower side as they don't charge labour cost as high as Maruti & Hyundai.
I took the TD of polo and I liked the car very much when it comes to driving it, superb handling and very well planted on high speeds as well. But the reason I took it off from my list is due the space allocation. Second row has very less legroom and the boot is too big and the maintenance part of VW was another reason.
^^And my Innova got serviced at 78k kms for just 4100 bucks
That's the best part of owning a Toyota buddy because the smile package really brings a smile on the owners face when it comes to servicing the car.
@Singh Saab:
IMO, the i20 is the one that deserves every single penny it asks for. Swift is more about only the feeling of power surge and maybe some ride and handling difference but i20 is a way way better package overall. I have driven an i20 en rote from Meerut-Delhi-Gurgaon-Dharuhera-Tijara-Alwar-Jaipur-Mathura and back to Meerut within 32 hours and I can tell you that the way this car takes everything and still keeps you comfy is simply unmatched (for this money).
Ride quality is good and so is handling; going north if 120 is never an issue and it is confident even up to 150 although it loses a bit of surefootedness there but is still well under control and confident. Overall I will rate i20 highest in terms of a complete package under 10 lac; higher than even the Jazz, the Jazz simply doesn't give that special feeling that the i20 gives once you enter its cabin.
I agree with you on the interior part of i20 and Jazz. Somehow Jazz does not give the overall rich and awesome feeling that you get from i20. But I really like the speedo of the Jazz.
Do take a td of the jazz. If you want sedan space then this is the car but i won't agree about low maintenance, honda parts are costly especially previous jazz's.
I am thinking you will end up with elite i20 :p
And that was petrol so diesel would be more expensive, if I am not wrong? But I am really confused between swift/i20/jazz.
Paaji,
Just to ask you, are you comfortable in i20? I mean the headroom? IMO swift has a better headroom. And after driving the desi cheetah, just think how the next car you would be buying behave.
Brought the Fluidic in 2012, just because of looks looks and looks. Believe me, till now verna fluidic is the hottest sedan for me. But over all I personally found that the Fluidic is not that rough and tuff car. Its light and suspension was very soft. Also one big issue was the headroom in the verna. Getting in and out of the car for Me and Dad was a pain. The result was, in 2014 sold the Fluidic after some 45K kms, Brought the 2014 XUV. No headroom issue. Its solid and a Desi workhorse.
Paji I really didn't had any problem with the headroom in both these cars infact I adjusted the height of the seat and took it to the top most setting and still had decent headroom. how tall are you?
Also 95% times i'll be driving on tarmac roads and 5% driving will be on potholes or bad roads.
So, its your decision. Your hard earned money. Spend it wisely. I personally cant see myself driving an I20 elite after spoiling myself in the XUV
Well Paaji I still have the Cheetah for my long highway runs, road trips, family trips/functions etc) And I know this as well that I will replace this XUV with the new one or with Fortuner whenever I will replace it.
But currently looking at my requirements I need a small car but yes getting spoilt by the long feature list of XUV only 2 options stand as a winner and they are Elite i20 and Jazz.