Need a New Ride: A Diesel Workhorse (Booked Elite i20 Sportz)

Re: Need a New Ride: A Diesel Workhorse

Nope, my intention is not ask Singhji to race against fellow XUV/Skoda owners.:tongue:

Its all about how you feel having/owning a car. Hence it would be an Altis for me -> Camry or Jetta also possible at that budget but would be hard to find a good one(is my guess).

Nope, my intention is not ask Singhji to race against fellow XUV/Skoda owners.:tongue:

Its all about how you feel having/owning a car. Hence it would be an Altis for me -> Camry or Jetta also possible at that budget but would be hard to find a good one(is my guess).
Sirji I can bet that you havent yet driven an Altis (Diesel) and hence find it so good. Just drive this heavy car with 1.4l engine and I am sure you will be out with a gun in search for this Altis owner.

My vote is Laura instead, its easier to find one in decent condition for 8-9 lac.

BTW what's your opinion about Cruze LTZ.

Sirji I can bet that you havent yet driven an Altis (Diesel) and hence find it so good. Just drive this heavy car with 1.4l engine and I am sure you will be out with a gun in search for this Altis owner.

My vote is Laura instead, its easier to find one in decent condition for 8-9 lac.

Used car market, ill still trust a toyota. Agreed it wont be give you outright driving pleasure or performance - but it will be a proven workhorse.

No GM for me - new or used, we just dont click. [lol]

+ 1 to that buddy.

But I really don't want to go over my budget. As I have some accessories planned, no matter what car I go for.
1. Alloys wheels
2. Seat Covers (I guess none of the said cars come with leather seat covers)
3. Music System with sub
4. 3D Mats
5. Probably P8 HID Kits.

I have even started searching the alloys and have almost shortlisted few: View attachment 177099

View attachment 177100

View attachment 177101

View attachment 177102

View attachment 177103

View attachment 177104

So far shortlisted these, Indian Made with 5 years warranty
View attachment 177105

View attachment 177106
Waaahh Paaji..
"Gaddi hale tak final hoi nai kedi leni par accessories finalized ne...!!" :biggrin:

Good Going.. [clap]

Singh Saab, I understand your predicament and here is my 2 different cents!

You are already used to bigger cars like XUV and Skoda Octavia - you are used to luxury/space/features to an extent and decent/powerful cars. If you buy a new hatchback no matter what you will feel it to be downgrade especially under 9 lakh on-road.

If i were you I would scout the used car market for something like corolla altis diesel , relatively new with low mileage. With a toyota reliability will not be an issue + FE is decent + you will not miss space/features/feel of luxury per se.

I apologise in advance for not suggesting a new car, i just feel it wont do justice to you from what you drive already and given the budget you want to spend.
+1 to that bro.
But the thing is I need a hatch because I drive a lot in Delhi/NCR and parking is a issue. Secondly hatch will be cheaper in running as well. Getting a sedan won't suffice my need.

Sirji then go for nothing but Polo Comfortline or maybe base trend line.
Since ABS and Airbags are standard in Polo so the safety kit is present on all the variants and then what actually makes the difference is the list of features and accessories. If you have to get ICE, alloys, seat covers and HIDs from outside then why put money on the fully loaded model?
Buy either the trend line (7.2-7.3 lac) or Comfortline (7.9-8 lac) and use the remaining money for anything and everything you like. Why go Highline then?
I did take a TD of polo but I guess i'll opt out of this option (Polo).

If you have enough time to get the vehicle accessorised (some people don't have this comfort) then why spend much for nothing when the same us to be replaced at the end of the day?
That's the thing. I had some free time and I had gone to Karol Bagh (Delhi) with one of my friend as he needed seat covers for his polo. So i utilized the time to search accessories for my next ride. So that next time I go I don't have to go from one shop to another. I have finalized the guy. so when I go with my new car, i'll just park the car at his shop and give him my list and he will start working on it.

Sirji going by your words:

Segments: The premium car driver will find it hard to adjust with a lower one.
Performance: It also needs to be balanced.

So you think that a Corolla diesel can satisfy an Octy and XUV owner?

I guess Singh Saab needs a heavy dose of performance too and Corolla simply fails there and yes, Corolla diesel doesn't come cheap in used car market either. Instead a better option will be to lookout for a used Verna, Vento or Rapid in decent condition. Other option can be a Laura DSG or Cruze
Nope, my intention is not ask Singhji to race against fellow XUV/Skoda owners.

No used car for me because if I am spending 8 - 9 Lacs why should I get a used? And on the other hand if I had to i would have preferred Toyota over any other car. Coz jetta and cruze are too costly when it comes to maintenance, especially a used one

Bro ford aspire launched take a look.
you can look used cruze too.
I will go and have a look at Figo Aspire this week.

Used car market, ill still trust a toyota. Agreed it wont be give you outright driving pleasure or performance - but it will be a proven workhorse.

No GM for me - new or used, we just dont click.
+1 to that

Waaahh Paaji..
"Gaddi hale tak final hoi nai kedi leni par accessories finalized ne...!!"

Good Going.. [clap]
Paji that's another big task as well[;)] and a very time consuming one.

Thread Starter #37

Over the past 2 weeks I managed to take TD of Swift, Elite i20, and Polo.

Polo:
Positives:
It was the best car of all when it comes to drive. Really loved that grunt and the suspension. They way it goes through pot holes and the stability is very good.
Negatives:
I some how felt that the space management is really poor in this car. Front seats and the leg room is fine but second row is too cramped and boot is humongous. They should have given more space for the second row rather than giving a huge boot.

Swift:
Positive: Fun to drive hatch with really nice pickup. Front seats are very comfortable and wide. rear seats are OK and the legroom is just ok unlike polo.
Negative: Feels too light and the boot space is very less. And somehow the interior feels like a decent amount of cost cutting is done to reflect the price of the car.

Elite i20:
Positives: Well the looks are stunning and the interior is just awesome and very well laid out. Also the great part is the 6 speed gearbox plus the overall space is very well organized which results in decent space in the first and second row with good amount of boot space as well. Drive-ability of this car is really good with superb handling. The steering feels more alive as compared to the previous gen i20.
Negatives:
Suspension is bit too soft as compared to counterparts but definitely not a deal breaker. Also there is a significant amount of turbo lag in the lower gears.

Still have to take TD of Jazz and Aspire. But due to my work I am not able to make time for TD's frequently. Will update once I take the TD for both of them. So far I am confused between Swift and i20 as Polo is out of my list after the TD.

Guys can I get some input from Swift and Elite i20 (both diesel) owners on the following points:
1 What are the service costs?
2 What is the city and highway mileage you guys getting from your respective cars?
3. Can you guys over take with ease in city and highways or due you feel substantial turbo lag?

Guys can I get some input from Swift and Elite i20 (both diesel) owners on the following points:
1 What are the service costs?
2 What is the city and highway mileage you guys getting from your respective cars?
3. Can you guys over take with ease in city and highways or due you feel substantial turbo lag?

I had Swift Diesel & currently have Elite i20 Diesel.

1. Swift Service cost for 5k service was around 3000, while for i20 it is around 3000. For 10k service, Swift used to cost around 5000. i20 i haven't checked yet because the car has done 6955 kms currently. Post 35-40k kms running of Swift, it requires replacement of some mechanical components which will cost around 12-15k depending on the parts.

2. Swift used to give me around 16 kmpl in city & around 22-23 on highways at speeds of 100 kmph. i20 is currently giving me 13 in city & around 17-18 on highways.

3. In city drives, Swift does better while on highways the i20 has power to overtake although sometime you do require to downshift to make overtaking easily. The additional 15bhp does help in i20s on highways. i20 is good at city speeds but i feel the Swift is slightly better.

Also you can consider the Polo & Jazz. Polo is powerful on highways & better then i20 in city speeds. But Jazz is better compared to Swift & i20 in terms of city drivability & on highways. In fact the diesel Jazz offers better performance compared to petrol Jazz. And it is more efficient as well, you'll get higher figures compared to Swift/i20/Polo. And Honda service costs are generally on lower side as they don't charge labour cost as high as Maruti & Hyundai.

^^And my Innova got serviced at 78k kms for just 4100 bucks :biggrin:

@Singh Saab:
Out of swift and i20, it has to be i20 only. It feels an entirely different animal. Now how to explain.. Ehh.. It's like making out with a newbie and a well matured girl who not only does it well bt helps you also learn a trick or two.

IMO, the i20 is the one that deserves every single penny it asks for. Swift is more about only the feeling of power surge and maybe some ride and handling difference but i20 is a way way better package overall. I have driven an i20 en rote from Meerut-Delhi-Gurgaon-Dharuhera-Tijara-Alwar-Jaipur-Mathura and back to Meerut within 32 hours and I can tell you that the way this car takes everything and still keeps you comfy is simply unmatched (for this money).

Ride quality is good and so is handling; going north if 120 is never an issue and it is confident even up to 150 although it loses a bit of surefootedness there but is still well under control and confident. Overall I will rate i20 highest in terms of a complete package under 10 lac; higher than even the Jazz, the Jazz simply doesn't give that special feeling that the i20 gives once you enter its cabin.

Do take a td of the jazz. If you want sedan space then this is the car but i won't agree about low maintenance, honda parts are costly especially previous jazz's.

I am thinking you will end up with elite i20 :p

Do take a td of the jazz. If you want sedan space then this is the car but i won't agree about low maintenance, honda parts are costly especially previous jazz's.

I am thinking you will end up with elite i20 :p
Sirji, after being driven around for 8-10 kms in a brand new top end Jazz. Neither I bothered to drive one, nor I got that premium feel which comes in an i20.

A side by side comparison says it all, IMO its the i20 which is just bang on to the target. Space and practicality isn't everything after all.

For people who want more features (bling) vs performance,mileage, practicality and space it is truely I20 all the way. Either way you cannot go wrong with either of them.

Space and practicality isn't everything after all.
Then Looks & Features aren't everything after all. You like interiors of i20, i too like them but what if the people sitting in the car complain regarding lack of space. Well if that's not a bothering thing for others, its one of our requirements when buying a car at least for us. All the cars we have in our Garage (Brio, Rapid, WagonR, Jetta) are spacious. The only 2 exceptions being Verna & i20 which aren't that spacious. The only reasons why we bought Verna & i20 are because of Design, Engines, After sales. Other things like FE, Space, comfort, service costs are all hated.

So, for me i20 is more about Design, Features, After sales. While Jazz trumps i20 in terms of Space, Practicality, Performance, Better Handling & Lower Service Costs.

So for me Jazz, for others it's their personal choice.

Paaji,
Just to ask you, are you comfortable in i20? I mean the headroom? IMO swift has a better headroom. And after driving the desi cheetah, just think how the next car you would be buying behave.

I am giving you my personal example. We had DZire 2008-2012. Maruti product, rough and tuff. Used for 80K kms. No issues.

Brought the Fluidic in 2012, just because of looks looks and looks. Believe me, till now verna fluidic is the hottest sedan for me. But over all I personally found that the Fluidic is not that rough and tuff car. Its light and suspension was very soft. Also one big issue was the headroom in the verna. Getting in and out of the car for Me and Dad was a pain. The result was, in 2014 sold the Fluidic after some 45K kms, Brought the 2014 XUV. No headroom issue. Its solid and a Desi workhorse.

Now 2015, one friend brought the i20. Wanted to drive it but didn't drove it. Reason was low headroom, and cabin felt cramped as compared to the XUV. Didn't even started the car. I left it. Sat in a swift recently, it felt better as compared to the I20 IMO.

So, its your decision. Your hard earned money. Spend it wisely.
I personally cant see myself driving an I20 elite after spoiling myself in the XUV.

(P.S. No hard feelings for the I20. And I am neither promoting the Swift.)