Need a New Ride: A Diesel Workhorse (Booked Elite i20 Sportz)

Re: Need a New Ride: A Diesel Workhorse

Just one suggestion:
Wait for Aspire and then decide, strictly being against CS segment won't be good if you end up missing a potentially good vehicle.

Now if you travel in HIGHWAY's then polo gt tdi is good choice. Shortliste elite i20 and polo gt tdi or non-gt.
+1 to that.

He needs a hatchback. He is not going to get the torque of XUV in a hatchback, so Grand's diesel torque is as good as any other hatch (Jazz Diesel would have been great but it has far higher NVH and higher price). With lower maintenance (unlike TDI) , sufficient power, good FE, good boot space (unlike swift) and hardly any niggles, Grand asta trim is a good bet
I think Grand i10 will be bit under powered while comparing it with the Elite i20 and polo. Also Grand i10 is smaller in width and other dimensions.

i20 will be clicking all the boxes as per your requirements in opening post.

If you are ok with CS, then have a look at Xcent and Zest

Meantime, Octavia and Skoda are Czech legend - not a German.
We should give due credit to them and not all prizes to be reserved for Germans.
In fact Skoda is older than Volkswagen.
+1 to that buddy. So far Elite i20 is ticking all the boxes on paper though. Still have to take a lot of TD's.

Just one suggestion:
Wait for Aspire and then decide, strictly being against CS segment won't be good if you end up missing a potentially good vehicle.
Aspire will be launched on 12 Aug if i am not wrong, right?

So far Elite i20 is ticking all the boxes on paper though. Still have to take a lot of TD's.
Why have you not considered Jazz? SV Diesel version is priced at 8.69 lakhs on road Delhi and comes with 2 Airbags, ABS as standard plus it offers better Boot Space & Cabin Space compared to i20. And you'll expect cheaper bill compared to i20.
Yes the engine is noisy and the rear styling is hit or miss, but in other terms the Jazz is a better car then i20.
i20 is also good, but you'll have to compromise on boot space & cabin space & slightly high maintenance compared to Jazz. You'll like the Jazz once you Test drive it as it suits you're requirements and you'll love it after you buy one. I can assure you that. I love my 6 lakh Full Spartan Brio more then the 9.5 lakh loaded & stylish i20 I have.

check out jazz sv idtech
build quality is superb and the cabin quality is cool
abs with ebd and dual airbags and lots of space
otr around 9 lacks

Why have you not considered Jazz? SV Diesel version is priced at 8.69 lakhs on road Delhi and comes with 2 Airbags, ABS as standard plus it offers better Boot Space & Cabin Space compared to i20. And you'll expect cheaper bill compared to i20.
Yes the engine is noisy and the rear styling is hit or miss, but in other terms the Jazz is a better car then i20.
i20 is also good, but you'll have to compromise on boot space & cabin space & slightly high maintenance compared to Jazz. You'll like the Jazz once you Test drive it as it suits you're requirements and you'll love it after you buy one. I can assure you that. I love my 6 lakh Full Spartan Brio more then the 9.5 lakh loaded & stylish i20 I have.
check out jazz sv idtech
build quality is superb and the cabin quality is cool
abs with ebd and dual airbags and lots of space
otr around 9 lacks
+1 to that guys. I am considering the JAzz as well. I have not taken the TD till yet of the diesel version. I was thinking to take couple of TD's today but the rain spoiled all my plans.

I couldn't go for any TD today because of heavy rains throughout the day. I had plenty of spare time so I thought of hovering around carwale and shortlist all the options available in my budget. So I shortlisted the following cars:

1. Swift Zdi.
2. Swift Dzire Zdi.
3. Elite i20 Sportz
4. Grand i10 Asta
5. Xcent SX(O)
6. Fiat Punto
7. Polo Highline
8. Honda Jazz (SX)
9 . Honda Amaze
10. Tata Bolt
11. Tata Zest
12. Toyota Etios
13. Toyota Liva

I hope I have covered all the options available in the market under my budget.

I took my requirements and budget into mind and started working on the list. Ohh I forgot two main factors which will play very important role in making the decision as well, you guys know them too. HEART & MIND. So let’s start:
1. Swift Zdi: Well it’s one of the hot selling cakes in India and ticks more than half of the requirements, so definitely in the list.
2. Swift Dzire: Swift with added boot space, let’s keep it as of now in the list.
3. Elite i20 Sportz: Hits almost all the tick marks in my requirements list, so yes definitely a strong contender.
4. Grand i10: Mind says yes but Heart says no as it gets too small a car for me coming directly from XUV. Secondly smaller engine and less space as compared to its contenders.
5. Xcent i10: Well this is the same case as Dzire. Grand i10 with added boot space. So goes away from the list as well.
6. Fiat Punto: Well Heart and Mind are confused on this one. Heart says it has space, best GC if I am not wrong and the stability will be the best in class. But on the other side Mind thinks of ASS and Resale hence denies it. But let’s keep it in the list as of now.
7. Polo: Hhmm definitely the best highway car out of all the contenders. Tank like build quality and excellent stability makes a solid case for itself. So makes entry in the contender list.
8. Honda Jazz: Well that’s a new product in market and ticks almost all the requirements and backed by Honda reliability. Hell ya, a very strong contender in the list.
9. Honda Amaze: A straight NO from heart. Reason being, don’t like the interiors. A good car but heart wins hands down on this one, so out of the list.
10. & 11. Bolt/Zest: Again, very nice cars with new technology and might save good amount of money as well. But again Heart does not allow me to put 8-9 lacs on a Tata when other worthy options are available in the market. And After Sales horror stories backs the decision made by heart. So both these cars of the list.
12.&13. Etios/Liva: Simply NO because of the speedo located in the middle which looks very odd and a straight NO from Heart and Mind both. So, off goes Etios and Liva from the list.

So the contenders left in the race are:
1. Hyundai Elite i20
2. Honda Jazz
3. Swift
4. Polo
5. Punto
6. Dzire

And one more contender which might make its place in the list is Figo Aspire. If it launches before I book the car. So hopefully I have taken all the options in mind. Will try to start taking the TD's from tomorrow.

Wow Paaji... 70k done in the XUV!!! [cheers]

Regarding the new ride, my suggestion is SWIFT ZDi or SWIFT VDi(ABS) with awesome looking alloys and tyres. :biggrin:

My suggestion is try Fiat punto evo do not worry about a.s.s they improved a lot. I have a linea at 120k kms still runs like new. No problems of spares or with service center.
maintenance is also not that high almost same as swift...
second Volkswagen polo makes sense it is all rounder for city and highway's. Should not worry about maintenance costs as you are buying new one with extended warranty!!
These are perfect for highway and city especially for highway's.

I won't suggest honda jazz with 1.5 earth dreams motor... those are unreliable and
Noisy (no offense to honda owners). If you are going then 1.2 jazz is best
Choice. My friend's are not happy with their
Amaze diesel. I have seen 3 engine seize cases at honda service those are diesels.
maintenance is also somewhat higher than punto/linea. They needs 6 months or 10k kms service. Punto/polo @ 15k/1 year service. Honestly I don't like 1.5 honda motor(but i love i-vtec) even it claims 100 ps but not feels like
Powerful car.
And last if you ignore both two above options. Go for elite i20 it surely better than jazz. And reliable 1.4 crdi motor than 1.5 earth dreams motor...
my cousin has honda city 1.5 for 2 days we
exchanged our cars. Honestly my linea nvh was better than honda city. My linea runs at 120k kms still better than 35k kms honda idtec.
Still it's your choice... cheers

Wow Paaji... 70k done in the XUV!!! [cheers]

Regarding the new ride, my suggestion is SWIFT ZDi or SWIFT VDi(ABS) with awesome looking alloys and tyres. :biggrin:
Thanks bro.
I am considering swift zdi as of now. Have to take the TD and get price quotes.

My suggestion is try Fiat punto evo do not worry about a.s.s they improved a lot. I have a linea at 120k kms still runs like new. No problems of spares or with service center.
maintenance is also not that high almost same as swift...
second Volkswagen polo makes sense it is all rounder for city and highway's. Should not worry about maintenance costs as you are buying new one with extended warranty!!
These are perfect for highway and city especially for highway's.

I won't suggest honda jazz with 1.5 earth dreams motor... those are unreliable and
Noisy (no offense to honda owners). If you are going then 1.2 jazz is best
Choice. My friend's are not happy with their
Amaze diesel. I have seen 3 engine seize cases at honda service those are diesels.
maintenance is also somewhat higher than punto/linea. They needs 6 months or 10k kms service. Punto/polo @ 15k/1 year service. Honestly I don't like 1.5 honda motor(but i love i-vtec) even it claims 100 ps but not feels like
Powerful car.
And last if you ignore both two above options. Go for elite i20 it surely better than jazz. And reliable 1.4 crdi motor than 1.5 earth dreams motor...
my cousin has honda city 1.5 for 2 days we
exchanged our cars. Honestly my linea nvh was better than honda city. My linea runs at 120k kms still better than 35k kms honda idtec.
Still it's your choice... cheers
+1 to that buddy.
And the confusion is growing day by day. I gotta start taking TD's [:D]

Yeah, Start TD. But don't forget to test drive
Punto/polo...
am sure you'll stick anyone of this 2 cars.
You should consider ford aspire too.
just seen the car in mall. The car is good looking
Aston Martin'ish looks. Good interiors and with 3 people at back
Was comfortable and ford claims it has 100ps 1.5 tdci.
Car is launching on August 12th. Except small alloy's every
Thing is good. It have 6 airbags also. I am pretty much confident
and my friend who owns ford dealership confirmed it would priced
9 lakhs OTR. I have test driven aspire for a short spin. My observation
Is refined 1.5 tdci and good power has good amount of features. 100% better than amaze diesel.
4th option is elite i20.
but big no for honda jazz idtec.
Update after booked car...

OFF-TOPIC: BTW what is the FE of your xuv500. My xuv giving 9 kmpl in city. Car odo is at 2k kms. Hope FE will increase after first service.

I couldn't go for any TD today because of heavy rains throughout the day. I had plenty of spare time so I thought of hovering around carwale and shortlist all the options available in my budget. So I shortlisted the following cars:

1. Swift Zdi.
2. Swift Dzire Zdi.
3. Elite i20 Sportz
4. Grand i10 Asta
5. Xcent SX(O)
6. Fiat Punto
7. Polo Highline
8. Honda Jazz (SX)
9 . Honda Amaze
10. Tata Bolt
11. Tata Zest
12. Toyota Etios
13. Toyota Liva

I hope I have covered all the options available in the market under my budget.

I took my requirements and budget into mind and started working on the list. Ohh I forgot two main factors which will play very important role in making the decision as well, you guys know them too. HEART & MIND. So let’s start:
1. Swift Zdi: Well it’s one of the hot selling cakes in India and ticks more than half of the requirements, so definitely in the list.
2. Swift Dzire: Swift with added boot space, let’s keep it as of now in the list.
3. Elite i20 Sportz: Hits almost all the tick marks in my requirements list, so yes definitely a strong contender.
4. Grand i10: Mind says yes but Heart says no as it gets too small a car for me coming directly from XUV. Secondly smaller engine and less space as compared to its contenders.
5. Xcent i10: Well this is the same case as Dzire. Grand i10 with added boot space. So goes away from the list as well.
6. Fiat Punto: Well Heart and Mind are confused on this one. Heart says it has space, best GC if I am not wrong and the stability will be the best in class. But on the other side Mind thinks of ASS and Resale hence denies it. But let’s keep it in the list as of now.
7. Polo: Hhmm definitely the best highway car out of all the contenders. Tank like build quality and excellent stability makes a solid case for itself. So makes entry in the contender list.
8. Honda Jazz: Well that’s a new product in market and ticks almost all the requirements and backed by Honda reliability. Hell ya, a very strong contender in the list.
9. Honda Amaze: A straight NO from heart. Reason being, don’t like the interiors. A good car but heart wins hands down on this one, so out of the list.
10. & 11. Bolt/Zest: Again, very nice cars with new technology and might save good amount of money as well. But again Heart does not allow me to put 8-9 lacs on a Tata when other worthy options are available in the market. And After Sales horror stories backs the decision made by heart. So both these cars of the list.
12.&13. Etios/Liva: Simply NO because of the speedo located in the middle which looks very odd and a straight NO from Heart and Mind both. So, off goes Etios and Liva from the list.

So the contenders left in the race are:
1. Hyundai Elite i20
2. Honda Jazz
3. Swift
4. Polo
5. Punto
6. Dzire

And one more contender which might make its place in the list is Figo Aspire. If it launches before I book the car. So hopefully I have taken all the options in mind. Will try to start taking the TD's from tomorrow.
Saarji when your list is so long and Polo Highline is already there in the list then why not stretch a bit (a bit == 50k) and get a GT TDi? Having driven one quite a bit (quite a bit ==1500 kms) I can bet that you will go gaga over it and this stretch over Polo Highline is nothing much to bother.

Rest out of your list, even the 'sadharan' Polo ('sadharan' == regular 1.5 TDi) is the best of all if you are a self driven buoy. Just TD the Polo and it won't take a moment to tick off all the Hs', Ss' and Fs' from your list; only if the i20 doesn't kill the XUV and Octavia owning enthusiast inside you.

If Elite then go for Asta variant, I guess the price difference is not much and hence asta sounds more VFM.

Saarji when your list is so long and Polo Highline is already there in the list then why not stretch a bit (a bit == 50k) and get a GT TDi? Having driven one quite a bit (quite a bit ==1500 kms) I can bet that you will go gaga over it and this stretch over Polo Highline is nothing much to bother.

Rest out of your list, even the 'sadharan' Polo ('sadharan' == regular 1.5 TDi) is the best of all if you are a self driven buoy. Just TD the Polo and it won't take a moment to tick off all the Hs', Ss' and Fs' from your list; only if the i20 doesn't kill the XUV and Octavia owning enthusiast inside you.

If Elite then go for Asta variant, I guess the price difference is not much and hence asta sounds more VFM.
+ 1 to that buddy.

But I really don't want to go over my budget. As I have some accessories planned, no matter what car I go for.
1. Alloys wheels
2. Seat Covers (I guess none of the said cars come with leather seat covers)
3. Music System with sub
4. 3D Mats
5. Probably P8 HID Kits.

I have even started searching the alloys and have almost shortlisted few: IMG_4614.JPG

IMG_4615.JPG

IMG_4616.JPG

IMG_4617.JPG

IMG_4618.JPG

IMG_4626.JPG

So far shortlisted these, Indian Made with 5 years warranty
IMG_4622.JPG

IMG_4623.JPG

Sirji then go for nothing but Polo Comfortline or maybe base trend line.
Since ABS and Airbags are standard in Polo so the safety kit is present on all the variants and then what actually makes the difference is the list of features and accessories. If you have to get ICE, alloys, seat covers and HIDs from outside then why put money on the fully loaded model?
Buy either the trend line (7.2-7.3 lac) or Comfortline (7.9-8 lac) and use the remaining money for anything and everything you like. Why go Highline then?

If you have enough time to get the vehicle accessorised (some people don't have this comfort) then why spend much for nothing when the same us to be replaced at the end of the day?

Singh Saab, I understand your predicament and here is my 2 different cents!

You are already used to bigger cars like XUV and Skoda Octavia - you are used to luxury/space/features to an extent and decent/powerful cars. If you buy a new hatchback no matter what you will feel it to be downgrade especially under 9 lakh on-road.

If i were you I would scout the used car market for something like corolla altis diesel , relatively new with low mileage. With a toyota reliability will not be an issue + FE is decent + you will not miss space/features/feel of luxury per se.

I apologise in advance for not suggesting a new car, i just feel it wont do justice to you from what you drive already and given the budget you want to spend.

Singh Saab, I understand your predicament and here is my 2 different cents!

You are already used to bigger cars like XUV and Skoda Octavia - you are used to luxury/space/features to an extent and decent/powerful cars. If you buy a new hatchback no matter what you will feel it to be downgrade especially under 9 lakh on-road.

If i were you I would scout the used car market for something like corolla altis diesel , relatively new with low mileage. With a toyota reliability will not be an issue + FE is decent + you will not miss space/features/feel of luxury per se.

I apologise in advance for not suggesting a new car, i just feel it wont do justice to you from what you drive already and given the budget you want to spend.
Sirji going by your words:

Segments: The premium car driver will find it hard to adjust with a lower one.
Performance: It also needs to be balanced.

So you think that a Corolla diesel can satisfy an Octy and XUV owner?

I guess Singh Saab needs a heavy dose of performance too and Corolla simply fails there and yes, Corolla diesel doesn't come cheap in used car market either. Instead a better option will be to lookout for a used Verna, Vento or Rapid in decent condition. Other option can be a Laura DSG or Cruze [evil]