My New Honda City in White - The Albus

Thread Starter #1,126

Dr MUDHAN

What a true statement by the author of this thread. I am humbled. But this is what I can do, and will do, just in case someone in Honda Motor is reading this thread (English followed by Japanese) ………………
Albus' center console is now wearing a cricket cap! Well done!
But if you are looking for something to shade the LCD monitor from direct sunlight, something like this could do the job, and looking prettier!
By the way, I don't seem to have an AC cooling problem. On a recent mid-day trip (75 kms up and down outside the city), when the outside temp was around 40*C, the car cooled down within 5 minutes. In fact, the AC had to turn down a bit after 30 mins, it was pretty cold. My door insulation perhaps?
Great. I am quite surprised to know your proficiency over Japanese Language. I am touched, Sir!
This LCD monitor cover I thought of it already and indicated here: http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...new-honda-city-white-albus-55.html#post416370
But it won’t suit for my display as the screen size is 8 inch. I am thinking of creating something better design like this if possible to cover both the AC & Display.
ANHC.jpg

Dear Sir, I own a 2009 SMT Honda City iVtec. The car has done almost 87K KMS and I've driven my twice to my native place in Gujarat a return journey of about 3000 KM and once to Delhi a return Journey of 3700 KMs. Of late while driving during the nights I've found this un usual problem, whenever I apply break, the headlight gets bright and dims[frustration] when the accelerate, kindly help me with this problem, if you have faced. Regards, Sameer
@ Sameer. There could be an electrical earthing problem somewhere, Have you checked up the rear break light area?

Thread Starter #1,127

Dr MUDHAN

PART: LXXX :​

MY ALBUS: GOT THE BEST REAR VIEW CAMERA

ANHC 2012.jpg

My search for the best rear view camera has ended. I got the one which can give a very clear and sharp display both in day and night in my 8 inch Head Unit display. It makes me love see the display again and again.

I was desperate to get a real CCD chip camera, with low LUX for a better night vision, without LEDs.

Commonly available cameras (CMOS with LEDs / IR) are not good at giving the best display and the LEDs will auto light up in low light and spoil the color and make the display noisy!

Please read here to know how much analysis I made and wasted some money over to find out the best.

PART: LVII :CAR REAR VIEW CAMERA - THINK TWICE & CHECK BEFORE YOU CHOOSE ! P-49
http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...new-honda-city-white-albus-49.html#post405366

There are OE cameras from other car manufactures with original SONY Chip but not affordable, the cost ranges from Rs.5000 to 20000. I never wanted a Wi-Fi type as they are yet to be improved and I have already made enough wiring from my aftermarket head unit.

This camera is very small, simple plug and use and no need to be drilled. I just pasted the holding clamp with double side tape, between number plate lights.

173794d1435224795-guide-online-shopping-abroad-customs-formalities-ccd.jpg

See the picture & real time video and hope, you will appreciate.

The cost of the camera was $11.99, though I had to pay unfortunately, unexpected Indian custom duty @ Rs. 860/- (Read Here) , but still worth it.

My seller: @ $ 11.99
Free Shipping HD 170'' wide viewing angle 12V New PC1363 HD chip Night Vision Car Rear View Camera Reverse Backup CCD-in Rear View Camera from Automobiles & Motorcycles on Aliexpress.com | Alibaba Group

ANHC 2012A .jpg

: HD VIDEO :​

Hello Everyone

Just read the last 3 pages.

Is it because 2009-11 model City has slightly curve roof and 2012-13 model City is flat, atleast around the antenna. I have doubt about this. Is it true?

The antenna bought by Quraish786 last year also had such mismatch but it was different design. Fortunately he got replacement antenna that is made for Honda City.
Nope. The roof design of the 2008-2013 Honda city remains the same.

The seller had dispatched just the antenna. He forgot to send the curved base plate for the Honda City. Fortunately he sent a new Antenna with the curved base which matches perfectly with the roof curvature.

The one specifically made for Honda City costs 3 times of VW polo antenna but its not worth to afford.
It is worth it. The extra price definitely gives you much better quality. I have bought both antenna's so I can definitely vouch for the quality. The design is also much more elegant (I'll post some pictures to)
I believe that you get what you pay for. You can't expect high quality items for a low price. You have to pay a premium for it.

After reading this article, one of my friend called me and shared about his experience at China.

During his recent visit he wanted to buy some electronic items. When he went to the market, after identifying him the sellers asked what kind of quality he would prefer – Indian or European?

It seems, the cheaper items they call it there as Indian quality.

He said it is not only there with our cars and in everything![frustration]

It is an unfortunate mindset and perception over Indian people.
That is why I always choose the better quality, even if it is slightly expensive. Pays off in the long run.

Hello,

Hello Everyone

Just read the last 3 pages.

Nope. The roof design of the 2008-2013 Honda city remains the same.

The seller had dispatched just the antenna. He forgot to send the curved base plate for the Honda City. Fortunately he sent a new Antenna with the curved base which matches perfectly with the roof curvature.
Thanks for your response. Glad to know that you have received the matching antenna.

It is worth it. The extra price definitely gives you much better quality. I have bought both antenna's so I can definitely vouch for the quality. The design is also much more elegant (I'll post some pictures to)
I believe that you get what you pay for. You can't expect high quality items for a low price. You have to pay a premium for it.
Paying premium is not a problem unless it is priced right. Otherwise you'll pay extra money for the same item which costs less from different seller.

I'm not telling about shark fin antenna but overall pricing condition in aliexpress and ebay.com. There are lot of same products from different sellers but priced from low to high.

Also product quality cannot be assumed by the product pictures attached online. Sometimes or most of time, the product you receive will be different then what is shown in product picture. So I find listings which have good feedback rating or reviews instead.

The shark fin antenna I purchased is also good in quality and finishing. Just that it is bigger in size by 1cm so it couldn't match properly into car roof surface. Recently some sellers have listed shark fin antenna's for Honda City but its design and size is same as shark fin antenna thats for VW polo, the one that I bought so unless we try the product it cannot be assumed to fit or work.

Another thing is, I don't like to buy costly items from abroad because its risky. Either it will get lost is transit (because I have lost many items including a mobile) or held in customs or transit damage is also possible.

Thanks...
Best Regards

Sir
Does the reverse camera only work when the reverse gear is on. Or is there an option to switch on the reverse cam during a normal drive too?
I am asking this because in my caska system I had an option where i could keep the cam on while moving ahead too. But the cam had some problem and had to be replaced. As it was still in warranty a free replacement was made but now cam is activated only when reverse gear is engaged. The option for reverse cam while driving is still available but it does not display anything.

This is news for me

Even I have a caska system but have never quite searched for the option to view the rear camera while driving

Normally it only starts when reverse gear is engaged.

Will check it today and revert.

Power Of Sun Rays​

It just doesn't heat up the car or reduce life span of parts but can also melt plastics and fiber parts. I'm sure most of you already know this but I would like to show one of incident happened to my car interior item; the God idol stand got melted horribly. [shock]

DSC_0009.JPG DSC_0008.JPG
DSC_0014.JPG DSC_0017.JPG

It is the second incident of ultra violet rays happened to my car. Last year the music system display went blank due to extreme interior temperature but later it got working. Since then I started to cover dashboard with cotton cloth when parked under sunlight. I don't know when this God idol stand melted but I noticed it today. May be I forgot to cover the whole dashboard or didn't on some unknown day.

God idol stand is made of high quality material like ABS plastic but I cannot believe a direct sunlight can melt it so badly. Fortunately no damage has happened to car dashboard but I am going to be more careful now. Cover dashboard with cotton cloth is not sufficient, need to get good quality sunshields for windshield.

I also would like to add another incident or accident related to this topic, posted by Akash1886. Check it out here. The car interior temperature had heated upto a level of melting point and that caused a fire!

@cracing - you should install a heat rejecting sunfilm on the front windshield.

I got garware icecool shield for 2800 rupees for my verna with installation and 5 years warranty.

My car is parked in the open and sometimes facing the sun , the gear knob , the steering and the leatherite seats were always hot when i entered the car. The car used to heat up even if i went for 30 minutes.

After installing this there was an instant relief. Now the steering never gets hot and even the temperature inside is not high.

And this film has just 50% heat rejection , there was another one with i think 20 or 30% and that costed just 1500 rupees.

And don't think about the ban , it's for your own good and you will be happy to invest in something like this. Believe me.

@allhyundaicars - Thanks for the advice. Looks like a better idea.

I think Garware sun control film is available here because my car 1st owner had it installed (Garware Classic) for all glasses except front windshield but 6 years ago. Now it has lost adhesive in corners, has some defects and scratches.

Here if costs around what you paid, then will get new film installed soon. The Icecool Shield or Icecool Shield Gray. [:)]

Dear Sir

I wanted to know if its alright to put a 90/100 bulb setup on my Honda amaze-SMT?

Are their any problems involved?

My vehicle has run 4000 kms and due for the second service.

Turn indicators – these bulbs will not fit as length will be a problem.

Buy a wedge type like this, what I am using:
T10 9SMD Xenon White LED CAR Wedge Signal Light Lamp Bulb | eBay

Parking Lights - You can use the same one as wedge type
OR
Ceramic LED Parking Indicator Bulb T10 Socket White
or
2 X 9 SMD 5050 LED White T10 Socket ALL Type Bike CAR Parking Indicator Light | eBay
(But will be brighter)

@allhyundaicars - Thanks for the advice. Looks like a better idea.

I think Garware sun control film is available here because my car 1st owner had it installed (Garware Classic) for all glasses except front windshield but 6 years ago. Now it has lost adhesive in corners, has some defects and scratches.

Here if costs around what you paid, then will get new film installed soon. The Icecool Shield or Icecool Shield Gray. [:)]
I got 2 dealers number from the garware site. One mentioned 2900 rupees and the other 3200 rupees [:D] and they both provided free home delivery.

Just take a number from the garware site and ask them the rates on the phone and then visit a dealer and i am sure he will arrange the fim in a day or two. You can also try lumar and even blaupunkt makes sunfilm. Do update after getting it installed.

Hello,

Dear Sir

I wanted to know if its alright to put a 90/100 bulb setup on my Honda amaze-SMT?

Are their any problems involved?

My vehicle has run 4000 kms and due for the second service.
Until Dr. Sir comes up with a complete answer, I'm will let you know some important points related to headlight upgrade:

1. Warranty may void if you use bulbs other then spec. i.e 50/60w to 90/100w
2. High wattage bulbs are not direct replacement to factory bulbs because they require a relay and some extra wiring to with-stand high current.
3. Because of above you cannot revert back to OEM fitment easily incase of warranty claims.
4. High wattage bulbs have higher temperature so it can melt headlight housing but it is the rare case.

Thats it.

I got 2 dealers number from the garware site. One mentioned 2900 rupees and the other 3200 rupees [:D] and they both provided free home delivery.

Just take a number from the garware site and ask them the rates on the phone and then visit a dealer and i am sure he will arrange the fim in a day or two. You can also try lumar and even blaupunkt makes sunfilm. Do update after getting it installed.
As per Garware site, there are no distributors located in my city (Hubli) and no mention about authorized dealers either so I have to look for 3rd party dealers or car accessories shops who sell Garware sun controls.

On the other hand, its raining all day here and too much cold that makes unhealthy so unable to go out. Also car shops think I'm stupid if I ask for sun controls in this rainy season so will get it once sun the throws light. :stupid:

Thanks...
Best Regards

Hello

Thank you for the reply.For now I have Installed a Philips Wiring harness with relay with osram 90/100w bulbs.It was a DIY and took around ten minutes to install the wiring kit and bulbs.What i have planned is that I shall remove the wiring harness the previous day i go to the service and install them right back on after the service since it seems to be a breeze to swap them out in ten minutes.So ny the above statement i believe their might not be any issues with warranty.

I owned a 2001 accent and a verna crdi 2008 and i did not face any issues before with the discolouration of the headlamp units.

I shall be using the philips kit until my cree led H4 80 watts arrives from china after which i can swap them [:)].The only reason i ordered the cree 80 watt led lights were i recently purchased 30 watt system which i found inadequate for highway driving.

Hello,

Until Dr. Sir comes up with a complete answer, I'm will let you know some important points related to headlight upgrade:

1. Warranty may void if you use bulbs other then spec. i.e 50/60w to 90/100w
2. High wattage bulbs are not direct replacement to factory bulbs because they require a relay and some extra wiring to with-stand high current.
3. Because of above you cannot revert back to OEM fitment easily incase of warranty claims.
4. High wattage bulbs have higher temperature so it can melt headlight housing but it is the rare case.

Thats it.

As per Garware site, there are no distributors located in my city (Hubli) and no mention about authorized dealers either so I have to look for 3rd party dealers or car accessories shops who sell Garware sun controls.

On the other hand, its raining all day here and too much cold that makes unhealthy so unable to go out. Also car shops think I'm stupid if I ask for sun controls in this rainy season so will get it once sun the throws light. :stupid:

Thanks...
Best Regards

Hello

Thank you for the reply.For now I have Installed a Philips Wiring harness with relay with osram 90/100w bulbs.It was a DIY and took around ten minutes to install the wiring kit and bulbs.What i have planned is that I shall remove the wiring harness the previous day i go to the service and install them right back on after the service since it seems to be a breeze to swap them out in ten minutes.So ny the above statement i believe their might not be any issues with warranty.

I owned a 2001 accent and a verna crdi 2008 and i did not face any issues before with the discolouration of the headlamp units.

I shall be using the philips kit until my cree led H4 80 watts arrives from china after which i can swap them [:)].The only reason i ordered the cree 80 watt led lights were i recently purchased 30 watt system which i found inadequate for highway driving.
Well, If you got that Philips wiring harness then it makes install or remove easy. Also you have self knowledge about DIY so you may not face issues with warranty.

Some people get this done from car repair shops and without harness kit so it will be difficult to revert back.

As of headlight melting, a friend of mine had Skoda Octavia 2005 which he had installed 90/100w bulb but after few days of usage, the back part of headlight housing was melted. He noticed it when the light focus was changed. Had to buy new set of headlights.

Thanks...
Best Regards