My Modified Maruti 800

Re: My Modified Maruti 800.

Varun you lowered the car but using wider tires with lower sidewall.Now you have increased the height again.

A lowered car handles better than a taller car.Not vice versa.

Varun sir yours 800 is jst awsome.which polish do you use that it shines soo much.your car is an inspiration for the other 800 owners, happy miles ahead. keen to see the car with all the glory that it had before like music system,central locking and ps.One question why you use wagonr damper as it will make your ride more bumppy?[confused]

Thread Starter #1,248

Varun you lowered the car but using wider tires with lower sidewall.Now you have increased the height again.

A lowered car handles better than a taller car.Not vice versa.
Hi Keith, here I am not increasing the height of the car / suspension. I am just equalizing the height of the coils and the shocks.
I shall put up a image in reference to the above.

Varun sir yours 800 is jst awsome.which polish do u use that it shines soo much.your car is an inspiration for the other 800 owners....happy miles ahead... ps.One question why u use wagonr damper as it will make ur ride more bumppy?[confused]
Thanks Vaibhav, I use collinite845 for polishing my car. I have used Waggy's shocks so that the suspension gets stiffer and gives me better handling.

But the height has increased by using taller shocks, has it not?

Stiffer suspension is good.But using spacers and taller coils and shocks the GC has increased and the handling will decrease.

Varun Sir
This is my firat post
I must state that I Love my Maruti 800 more than myself. Infact once I was on the verge of getting my fingers chopped to save a scratch on my car so you can understand how crazily I love my car
And your DIY are awesome. So you can guess my respect for you. I've joined TAI just to be able to be in contact with you, and nothing else.
Sir I couldn't find links to some of your DIYs
1 . tachometer installation
2. Changing inside light of the speedometer console.

thanks

And btw, here's my 210000kms done March 2000 make m800

The maintenance of the car is a testimony to my love towards it.

Thread Starter #1,253

Varun Sir

Sir I couldn't find links to some of your DIYs
1 . tachometer installation
2. Changing inside light of the speedometer console.

And btw, here's my 210000kms done March 2000 make m800
Hi Welcome to TAI, your car looks neat. Did you overhaul the engine ? 210,000 kms is great !

Here are the links.

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...s/4537-aftermarket-tacho-meter-rpm-meter.html

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...-instrument-cluster-colour-change-alto-3.html

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/do-yourself/180-instrument-cluster-color-conversion.html

Hi Varun

Its a nice ride you have maintained out there.
I am planning a few upgrades for my car, Maruti 800 Std (2004), 1 lac+ kms done. I guess you could be some help.

1. Upgrading Tyre size: Currently using Stocks 145/70/12, what could be the best upgrade with the same Rim Size R12 ?
and does it has any effect on the Speed and Odo indications ?

2. Tachometer: A tachometer from the Maruti Ritz or the Maruti A Star, is it possible, and the procedure required ?

3. Fog Lamps: As far as my knowledge updates me, MSIL is using the same Fog Lamps on all its cars, ranging from Alto to the SX4 with only the Fog Lamp's plastic body different according to the car. So, how about getting a pair of MGP Fog Lamps and installing them on the Front Grill ?

Your recommendation will be greatly admired.

Thanks and Regards
Abhishek Aggarwal

Hi Welcome to TAI, your car looks neat. Did you overhaul the engine ? 210,000 kms is great !

Ans-Engine was not fully overhauled,something called lower kit was changed around 9k kms back for 16k with labour.Funny thing was,the compression tests still gave value of 170(psi was the unit I guess),but I did it as I've never seen a Maruti with 1k kms on odo and without engine overhaul,and mine had done twice of that !!!!Clutch has been changed twice. Timing belt was changed 100kms back for the third time.

Here are the links.

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...s/4537-aftermarket-tacho-meter-rpm-meter.html

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...-instrument-cluster-colour-change-alto-3.html

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/do-yourself/180-instrument-cluster-color-conversion.html

Sir,I'm having difficulty in opening the Console. Can you please put up a step by step guide of just opening the Console??A single photo of dash with markings of screws and their order will do. Please Sir.
Secondly,I'm willing to install only A-star Tacho,and not aftermarket ones....I've seen it did blow up once for you.How is it now?? Where did you find the RPM signal??Is there a brown wire found for the RPM as told by Senior Memer Deville in His estilo thread??

Thread Starter #1,256

Hi Varun

Its a nice ride you have maintained out there.

1. Upgrading Tyre size: Currently using Stocks 145/70/12, what could be the best upgrade with the same Rim Size R12 ?

Sizes which can be put on your R12 - 145/70 , 145/80 , 155/70 , 165/60
Best would be 165/60, better handling braking

2. Tachometer: A tachometer from the Maruti Ritz or the Maruti A Star, is it possible, and the procedure required ?

Please check the above post

3. Fog Lamps:
You can try them or get a pair like what I have.
Sir,I'm having difficulty in opening the Console. Can you please put up a step by step guide of just opening the Console??A single photo of dash with markings of screws and their order will do. Please Sir.
Secondly,I'm willing to install only A-star Tacho,and not aftermarket ones....I've seen it did blow up once for you.How is it now?? Where did you find the RPM signal??Is there a brown wire found for the RPM as told by Senior Memer Deville in His estilo thread??
I will try to upload them, you can find many pics in my thread of the speedo console removed please check.

In 800 there is no RPM signal, you have to connect it to Ignition coil. I have posted the pic's on my DIY (RPM) thread.

Please find my answers in Bold

I will try to upload them, you can find many pics in my thread of the speedo console removed please check.

Sir there are umpteen number of pictures,but I need only method of opening screws and their location... In your thread,there are opened Speedo consoles. Please take picture of an unopened dashboard and kindly mark the screws and method of lifting the console.Please Sir

In 800 there is no RPM signal, you have to connect it to Ignition coil. I have posted the pic's on my DIY (RPM) thread.
But it did blow up once,if I remember correctly,what did you do to avoid it??
[/QUOTE]

ok ya thanks, got the answers mostly.
But, i am still not clear with that where the Blue Cable goes ?

Hi Varun

3. Fog Lamps: As far as my knowledge updates me, MSIL is using the same Fog Lamps on all its cars, ranging from Alto to the SX4 with only the Fog Lamp's plastic body different according to the car. So, how about getting a pair of MGP Fog Lamps and installing them on the Front Grill ?

Your recommendation will be greatly admired.

Thanks and Regards
Abhishek Aggarwal
Abhishek@

as far as i know, there is no MGP fog lamp coming for 800 and fog lamp for each model/version for car is different. Not only the grill but size/interior and for some model bulb(Swift) also differ. MGP foG lamp price starts from Rs.300 to Rs.1500 for one piece.