Actually ciaz is 1105 kilos with 90 bhp and 200nm torque and corolla is 1230 kilos with legendary 1.4 D-4D engine with 90 bhp and 205 nm torque. Technically Fiat engine is a DOHC and D-4D is SOHC, and power is adequate for both the cars. But if Toyota wants, they can tune their engine for more power but they wont for the sake of mileage and reliability. And the price difference is 4-7 lakhs. Now corolla costs 19 lakhs otr for top end.
Won't it be unfair comparing the Ciaz with Corolla?
Whatever there is on paper, it doesn't matter, some things are better caught when you get in the car and drive it. Ciaz may be at par with Corolla in space and even better in performance, but then Sunny also is. But, what about those dooorpads and many parts taken straight from Swift and DZire? I do own a Corolla and to be true, the Corolla is overpriced BUT it deserves to be pricier than the likes of City, Verna etc. Don't believe me? Check it yourself.
0-100 may come in 11.xx seconds, but that gives no information of the driveability this engine offers and no one can deny the fact that the puny 1.3l(1.248l to be precise) engine is still 'dead' in the low end. Comparing this child with a 1.4l or 1.5l or a 1.6l engine won't do justice.
Yes, Ciaz looks at par with Corolla when compared to features, size and design. Ciaz has better Diesel engine while Corolla has better Petrol engine (drivability).
Ciaz has got a better diesel engine!
![Laugh [lol] [lol]](https://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/images/smilies/Laugh.gif)
MS knows very well which gearbox to use but calling the MJD better than D-4D won't do justice. BTW, on what basis you declared MJD better than D-4D? D-4D engines are known to have a linear power delivery and bulletproof reliability and MJDs are known for their performance. D-4Ds are tuned to produce the power keeping in mind the long term reliability and durability(Else you think that the 3.0 in Fortuner can't produce 250 bhp?) while MJDs do give you performance. BUT, low displacement shows up while driving and you can't ignore this fact.
MJD requires you to keep working your gearbox to keep it on boil and that is a let down for many drivers. Ford Duratec, Honda i-dtec, Toyota D-4D and Renault K all are the engines which offer better driveability and a linear power delivery if compared to MJD. And man, take the MJD on hills and see what it offers
Fit & finish and quality is better in Corolla, as expected. But as rightly mentioned, 6-7 lakhs difference is too much thus Ciaz looks VFM, where as Corolla looks overprized now
+100, Toyota is charging a premium for their badge but being an owner and have used two Toyota cars. I am happy considering the bulletproof reliability, low service bills(Will you believe that Corolla gets services in under 10k?) and the comfort it offers. By 3 am itself finished my drive to Jaipur and by 1 pm will be driving it back, I take that car on full night drives because of the peace of mind it has given to me and for me, that peace of mind, that assurance can be charged a lac or two premium over others.
![Clap [clap] [clap]](https://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/images/smilies/Clap.gif)
Comparing Ciaz with City or Verna is a better comparo in my opinion. Except for what is on paper, nothing else can be compared in Corolla and Ciaz.
Fact: Maruti Suzuki may offer a better car but I am doubtful of its success in long run. Many buyers(including me) simply hate the Maruti A.S.S. because they may be good but the feel good factor is missing(Something Toyota do offer) and secondly the badge on the nose is considered 'low cost' in India(Throughout the world indeed) and anyone who is aware of the reliability and durability of likes of Honda or Toyota won't be looking at Maruti for sure.