Maruti Suzuki Wagon-R Stingray Ownership Review

Thread Starter #106
Sorry, my question was how many blocks were there after filling for Rs.500/-

In my car A-star its 10 blocks. Could you please confirm about yours? AFAIK Wagonr Stingray got its fuel gauge division of 8 blocks instead of 10.

Edits:
Attaching a pic for the reference.
View attachment 156702
Hey
It was in 3 Point .
Thanks for the pic, till Now thought it was 10 points. But still confused
Will confirm it tomorrow by adjusting contrast of the display, by the way by long pressing avg fuel efficiency you get how many liters needed for 100km

Hey
It was in 3 Point .
Thanks for the pic, till Now thought it was 10 points. But still confused
Will confirm it tomorrow by adjusting contrast of the display, by the way by long pressing avg fuel efficiency you get how many liters needed for 100km
My pleasure.[:D]

Here you filled about 7.5L and drove about 160kms before it started to blink.

So if we make a rough calculation using "BLINK to BLINK Method", we get
160km / 7.5L = 21.3kmpl

Even if we add around 15kms to this 160kms, we get
175km / 7.5L = 23.3kmpl

So my point is, I dont think you achieved 33kmpl during this trip of 215kms, it must be a maximum of around 25kmpl. Sorry to say.

PS:Always go for full tank to full tank method of calculation so as to get far more accurate mileage calculations. Generally Avg display shows more mileage.

Thread Starter #108
My pleasure.[:D]

Here you filled about 7.5L and drove about 160kms before it started to blink.

So if we make a rough calculation using "BLINK to BLINK Method", we get
160km / 7.5L = 21.3kmpl

Even if we add around 15kms to this 160kms, we get
175km / 7.5L = 23.3kmpl

So my point is, I dont think you achieved 33kmpl during this trip of 215kms, it must be a maximum of around 25kmpl. Sorry to say.

PS:Always go for full tank to full tank method of calculation so as to get far more accurate mileage calculations. Generally Avg display shows more mileage.
I agree what your calculations.
But i said there was no fuel in car, ie the car stopped in the way,but my lucky day the petrol pump was near which was friend of mine, thanks god,i went and brought two guys and pushed to the bunk,and fueled the car, even i knew new 33kmpl is a too much to mention in this thread, but i travelled 215~ kms approx with that fuel
I dont know how it happened,but i think if i am wrong, due to low fuel air could have accumulated in pump and could have made car to stop, as it was a bumpy road
As i returned in highway it couldhavebeen used. :|
But i shared what happened to me.
I think have to do some tests [;)]
1lr mileage challenge like that. But its a car i cant run a separate tube .
But tank full to tank full will be right [clap]
I would do that in upcoming trip.

I agree what your calculations.
But i said there was no fuel in car, ie the car stopped in the way,but my lucky day the petrol pump was near which was friend of mine, thanks god,i went and brought two guys and pushed to the bunk,and fueled the car,
I didn't know that. Yea you are lucky.
Can you please explain how did the car stop? What was your speed at that time?
Some where I heard, Car getting stopped because of no fuel is really bad for the car. Next time onwards be sure to have enough fuel in the tank.

even i knew new 33kmpl is a too much to mention in this thread, but i travelled 215~ kms approx with that fuel
Hey nothing like that.[;)] 33 is not an unbelievable figure for k10 engines especially for the stingray, because in the very beginning itself we could hear that "Maruti A-Star Records 39 Kmpl Mileage"[surprise]

In my recent mileage test I got 23.5kmpl, my car is about 150kg heavier than the stingray and the car was loaded with about 310kg(5 adults+10kg luggage) with 175/70R13 Shoes . So If my test was without any passengers and more than 90% of highway usage then I could get about 25kmpl or more. Note, its the car with 2009 year old ecu map and the ARAI claimed mileage is 19.6kmpl. So I was not in a sense that 33 is impossible for stingray. But the way of calculation made me to doubt.

I dont know how it happened,but i think if i am wrong, due to low fuel air could have accumulated in pump and could have made car to stop, as it was a bumpy road
As i returned in highway it couldhavebeen used.
Sometimes it can happen like that.

I think have to do some tests
1lr mileage challenge like that. But its a car i cant run a separate tube .
But tank full to tank full will be right
I would do that in upcoming trip.
Tank to tank is good. Since that is more realistic and easier thing to do :)

AFAIK, there will be approx 5 liters of petrol remaining when the low fuel warning(Blinking Block) starts indicating.Correct me If I'm wrong.

If your tank was empty, then there will be only 7.5Ltrs of petrol after filling(ie, 5+2.5 liters)
So just after the usage of 2.5ltrs the low fuel warning should start. In your case low fuel warning started after completing 160kms.
160km/2.5L=64kmpl (So this wont be the case)

Now lets assume you got 33kmpl then
160km/33kmpl=4.84ltrs.( 4.84ltrs consumed for 160kms)
ie 7.5-4.84 = 2.6ltrs. (According to 33kmpl calculation only 2.6ltrs are left as reserved)
As I said before AFAIK there will be approx 5ltrs of petrol as reserved. So this 2.6Ltrs value doesn't seem to be fine.

MY recent FE. In a short 200kms trip
:)
[clap]
Whats the driving condition? How many passengers were there?
Once try Full tank to Full tank method and compare its value with the avg display value.

As little my knowledge & experience goes, max mileage K10B can get is below 25kmpl (still I am quoting a hypothetical figure).

Although sometimes MID displays some unbelievable figures which I don't believe at all.

But it is also important what is the method of calculations.

IMO, tankful to tankful method is close to calculate FE accurately as in real time believable figures, only if fuel top up is done at same fuel bunk with same fuel dispenser each time.

My 2 cents.

In my recent mileage test I got 23.5kmpl, my car is about 150kg heavier than the stingray and the car was loaded with about 310kg(5 adults+10kg luggage) with 175/70R13 Shoes . So If my test was without any passengers and more than 90% of highway usage then I could get about 25kmpl or more. Note, its the car with 2009 year old ecu map and the ARAI claimed mileage is 19.6kmpl.
If this is the case (considering that other customers possessing/owning/using same model also having same experience), I am really wondering, why Maruti Suzuki discontinued this model?[confused]

Was it something related to looks, boot space, interiors or something else?[thinking]

Thread Starter #114
If this is the case (considering that other customers possessing/owning/using same model also having same experience), I am really wondering, why Maruti Suzuki discontinued this model?[confused]

Was it something related to looks, boot space, interiors or something else?[thinking]
There are too much of k 10bs on road, the discontinued thing is different, its just because of less sales and i wanted a separate body and panel not like wagonr and stingray, so they mostly stopped i think.

39?
Then ill make a 40 kmpl mark next .
That's the spirit[evil] Kindly share each and every details of your driving pattern when you achieve that.

There where 3adult's in past trip. 40% highway rest city main roads,avg speed 55 to 60 .
[clap]

If this is the case (considering that other customers possessing/owning/using same model also having same experience), I am really wondering, why Maruti Suzuki discontinued this model?

Was it something related to looks, boot space, interiors or something else?
Those figures are only seen in mileage test rallies. I dont think its possible in our normal roads and conditions.

Maruti discontinued since they couldn't meet their expectation in India. IMO A-star was facing tough competition among the other Maruti Cars itself. Maruti Wagonr and Swift(old generation cars)
A-star's price tag was around Rs.3.75 - 4.58 lakhs where as the more spacious Wagonr was available for much lesser price and the much powerful swift was available for 4.4lakhs and mileage conscious people go directly to get an Alto. So there were only few people with those exact requirements to get an A-star.(I'm one among them)
Note: Not just A-star All these cars also discontinued(old swift,old wangonr, old alto)

I believe A-star is not at all a failure. It has got many awards and the car A-star has been exported to 120 countries World Wide with different names, Suzuki Alto, Suzuki Celerio, A-star. Even nissan brought this car from maruti and sold with the name Nissan Pixo.

In Philippine due to this car's success, they do have a dedicate website FORUM for this car A-star. (Over there its name is Suzuki Celerio)
Team Celerio Philippines

Space is the biggest negative of this car and a good number of people was also there who don't like the look of the car. (Some of my friends and relatives told me why did you buy this ugly car :D)

A-star was there from 2008-2014 that means more than 5 years.
How about the old generation swift, old wagonr, altok10,old kseries wagonr, estilo, sx4, old dzire etc. Everything got discontinued, the only difference is A-star's name has not reused on newer models where as most of the other names do.

Maruti discontinued since they couldn't meet their expectation in India. IMO A-star was facing tough competition among the other Maruti Cars itself. Maruti Wagonr and Swift(old generation cars)
:agree:

Note: Not just A-star All these cars also discontinued(old swift,old wangonr, old alto)
Old wagon had F10D engine whereas new one is having K10B engine, and the latest face-lift for wagon r is having only some changes in front look (standard wagon R).

I believe A-star is not at all a failure. It has got many awards and the car A-star has been exported to 120 countries World Wide with different names, Suzuki Alto, Suzuki Celerio, A-star. Even nissan brought this car from maruti and sold with the name Nissan Pixo.

In Philippine due to this car's success, they do have a dedicate website FORUM for this car A-star. (Over there its name is Suzuki Celerio)
Team Celerio Philippines
[thumbsup]

Space is the biggest negative of this car and a good number of people was also there who don't like the look of the car. (Some of my friends and relatives told me why did you buy this ugly car :D)
Yeah. This happens.

How about the old generation swift, old wagonr, altok10,old kseries wagonr, estilo, sx4, old dzire etc. Everything got discontinued, the only difference is A-star's name has not reused on newer models where as most of the other names do.
Yeah. I am also wondering that A-Star's name has not reused, as little I know Zen name was reused as Zen Estilo. And personally I am a big fan of Estilo.

@stingray91: Sorry for being off topic and hijacking your thread for this discussion. [pig]

Thread Starter #119
you can get 3000k HID man.
First finalize what you want to do.
we're here to show how to do.
I bought 5630 metal strip, non water proof .

Meter 400rs.

Will have to think and assemble it.
Work DIY going on.