Maruti Suzuki Ertiga ZDi Bought: Ownership Review

I recently got my new ertiga ZDI. At speed above 70kmph I hear noise which sounds like wind rushing into car. Is this normal?
I bought a Vxi recently and I am facing pretty much the similar problem [frustration]. The sound comes like wind blowing or paper crumbling type. It must be be somewhere from the rubber beeding. Have you figured out the reason?

I have not yet figured out the reason. I will update this thread once I know the reason. Please let me know if you figure out something before that.

The floor mats that came as part of basic accessory does not cover the entire floor area. Any suggestions for good floor mat which would cover the entire floor area of ertiga?
There are two options I believe

1: Get a plastic mat flooring, it will cover entire area. I opted this at price of 2500

2: get 3d mat, it's around 5000.

Thread Starter #1,190
Those who are planning to shift from Diesel to Petrol car,
I hope you know there's one more crucial advantage of Diesel car over Petrol, other than Price diff. b/w the Fuels(which will still be min 10rs/lt) and more Fuel Economy of Diesel Engine, is that the life of Diesel Car is almost Double(or more) than of Petrol's.
Yes, If average life of a Petrol car is 1lakh kms, Then A Diesel car will reach that condition at 2lakh kms.
You can find MANY >10 year old Diesel Taxis with 2lakh kms odo and still running on long routes. :)

The Diesel car does require more running to be of any benefit.Then there is the higher maintenance.

The choice should be made solely on the purpose of how you intend to use the car.If you are a daily driver and drive around 100kms or more in a day then Diesel is for you(that is why private taxis go with Diesel).Else just stick with petrol.The price difference and the growing cost of fuel,other taxes and maintenance is just not recoverable.

As for 2lac kms.I have a friend who did 2.25lac kms on his 16 year old 800.

Those who are planning to shift from Diesel to Petrol car,
I hope you know there's one more crucial advantage of Diesel car over Petrol, other than Price diff. b/w the Fuels(which will still be min 10rs/lt) and more Fuel Economy of Diesel Engine, is that the life of Diesel Car is almost Double(or more) than of Petrol's.
Yes, If average life of a Petrol car is 1lakh kms, Then A Diesel car will reach that condition at 2lakh kms.
You can find MANY >10 year old Diesel Taxis with 2lakh kms odo and still running on long routes. :)
This is what I explained to my dad today when he mentioned that I could have gone ZXI instead of ZDI.

There are two options I believe

1: Get a plastic mat flooring, it will cover entire area. I opted this at price of 2500

2: get 3d mat, it's around 5000.

Hi ZMR, can you pl tell me where you got the entire area floor mat done in bangalore and that too in 2500 price?

I've been quoted some 5K for it... not sure where to get it done.

Also as I understand, they have to pull out all seats and then do it.

Pl send me the contact details of the shop where this can be done.

thanks in advance.

Mahi

Hi ZMR, can you pl tell me where you got the entire area floor mat done in bangalore and that too in 2500 price?

I've been quoted some 5K for it... not sure where to get it done.

Also as I understand, they have to pull out all seats and then do it.

Pl send me the contact details of the shop where this can be done.

thanks in advance.

Mahi
Yes, you are right seats need to be removed.I paid 10.5 K for Elegant Europa seat covers and flooring at Hyper Carz

No.58, Next To Chevrolet Car Showroom, Hosur Main Road, Singasandra, Bangalore - 560068 | View Map +(91)-9972097862 | 9980035986 | 40934165.

They are good guys and will do a good job. He may ask 3200 for that but you can negotiate it for Rs2500.

here are seat covers, will post Mat pics also

Yes, you are right seats need to be removed.I paid 10.5 K for Elegant Europa seat covers and flooring at Hyper Carz
Thanks ERTIGA_ZMR for sharing the info.

Few questions:
1. How much time did it take to install seat covers + flooring cover?
2. Why did you prefer Elegant Europa seat covers over (Art) leather?
3. Plastic flooring - is this durable? Is there a warranty? I ask this because, I have 2 year old kid who will put this to torture test [frustration]

Thanks ERTIGA_ZMR for sharing the info.

Few questions:
1. How much time did it take to install seat covers + flooring cover?
2. Why did you prefer Elegant Europa seat covers over (Art) leather?
3. Plastic flooring - is this durable? Is there a warranty? I ask this because, I have 2 year old kid who will put this to torture test [frustration]
1: 4 hours

2: I didn't like Art Leather lookwise and other I feel slightly suffocated if it smells . If you see carefully , I have also put towel just to keep cool.

I know this seat cover is lil expensive and hard to maintain.

3: Yes, I believe Plastic flooring is good enough atleast for 3-4 years.

I got my new Ertiga ZDi (White) colour on 02/Jan/2013. It has so far run about 150 kms and I noticed few things which I want to share and seek suggestion / advise.

1> I heard a strange hisssing sound when I started the car -- this is not heard everytime but this happened 2 times so far. For a minute I thought it was like loosing air from back left Tyre. The noise was heard from back seat (Second row).
Have anyone of you experienced this? Please let me know

2> I am used to driving Alto before. I am not sure if this is characteristics of diesel car but thought will seek advise from experienced owners...

the car moves without pressing on Accelerator pedal.....lets say I am in 4th gear. When I press the accelerator, the car moves to say 50 kms/hr and the when I release the pedal, the car does not slow down immdly, it moves in the same speed to a large distance and I am able to change gears (to 3rd or even 5th) unlike my Alto which slows down immdly when I release my Accelerator pedal.
I inquired about this with Mandovi Motors but I was told that all Ertiga runs this way.

Can someone throw me light on this please?

Many Thanks
I had the hissing sound issue with ertiga VDI .. turned off the audio head unit and it went off

I booked my ZDI (and waiting for it) after following this thread closely, but off late ZDI or ZXI???? iam haunted by this dilemma....can you friends come up with your suggestions pls..which can help me make up my mind once for all. thanks and regards.