Maruti Suzuki Celerio Diesel Now Launched! (Details: Page 7)

Re: Celerio and Eeco To Get Sub 1-Liter Diesel Engine in 2016

Celerio Diesel will sell very well in the Taxi market (intra-city). It could be priced between 5 & 6 lakhs. I don't think many personal car buyers will go for Celerio Diesel.

Indica with the CR4 engine is still exceptional value-for-money product. The company has added several comforting features to this car over the years, making it even more attractive. Only the body shell & interior design is old, otherwise this car still makes a lot of sense.
No doubt Indica is still VFM, but they are certain takers for MSIL brand. Even personal car buyers who are very stringent on FE figures, may go for this. For them, NVH and other terms are alien!

But in this age of new and swift moving cars I don't think this is not at all digestible. The levels of NVH in the Celerio Deisel is a strict No-no. Even the Indica has become mature in the past few years and is now lighter and powerful developing 70 BHP compared to 48 BHP earlier .

It will be a disaster for MSIL to sell this car at this price as it is about the same price as the Indica V2 and almost same FE (25 vs 27kmpl) but Indica is more powerful and safe car especially a good highway cruiser, can sustain abuse and is also economical to maintain.
Indica has two engine options, BS3 and BS4. The 25kmpl and 70bhp is for the turbo charged BS4 engine. AFAIK, NA BS3 indica has only less than 50bhp of power and less than 20kmpl of mileage.

As per the video, it seems that inside noise is much much less compared to the outside noise level.
Dont know how true it is, in the same video it says the initial rpm responsiveness is better than swift diesel, which means city driving conditions wont be that impotent as most of we people expect. That is a good thing[clap]
AC effectiveness is also decent.

So overall it seems to be a ok for an entry level diesel car. Now let us see how maruti gonna do the pricing. [evil]

Guys, this car will sell. There are people who doesn't give a thing about NVH, interiors etc. All they need is good FE diesel car from MSIL at decent price. If MSIL priced it right, people pay for booking with their eyes tied up with a cloth!
Thats true. There are lots of people who believe, the basic purpose of a car should be transportation and they are not much bothered about the features that they offer.

Regards.,

Thread Starter #93

Maruti Suzuki has launched the diesel powered version of their popular hatchback Celerio in India. The Celerio diesel is launched with prices starting from Rs. 4.65 lakh (ex-showroom Delhi).
The Celerio diesel will be available in four variants – LDi, VDi, ZDi & ZDi (O)
Celerio Diesel LDi: Rs. 4.65 lakh
Celerio Diesel VDi: Rs. 4.95 lakh
Celerio Diesel ZDi: Rs. 5.25 lakh
Celerio Diesel ZDi (O): Rs. 5.71 lakh

The top-spec ZDi (O) variant gets safety features such as dual front airbags & ABS.
Till date, Maruti Suzuki has sold over 95,000 units of the Celerio petrol, and the diesel model is expected to boost this sales momentum.
Celerio has helped Maruti Suzuki bump up their small car market share from 61% to 71%, and this will increase with the diesel model.

price difference between Celerio petrol and diesel variant is around 75000rs thats not good pricing at all just 10000rs less then Chevy Beat but 45000rs cheaper then Beat

Price vice Maruti Celerio direct competitive to TATA Indica Ev2 [anger] see comparision below

Maruti Celerio diesel LDi – INR 4.65 lakhs

Maruti Celerio diesel VDi – INR 4.95 lakhs

Maruti Celerio diesel ZDi – INR 5.25 lakhs

Maruti Celerio diesel ZDi (O) – INR 5.71 lakhs

TATA Indica Ev2 LS CR4 - 4.60 lakhs

TATA Indica Ev2 LX CR4 - 5.03 lakhs

TATA Indica V2 LS NA Diesel - 4.33 Lakhs

TATA Indica V2 LX NA diesel - 4.69 Lakhs

Note* all price list are ex-showroom New Delhi

~75k premium over the petrol model is totally unjustified for the Celerio This is considering the fact that what Celerio diesel gets is a puny unrefined noisy 800cc two cylinder engine. An engine which is a step backward in technology without CRDi (I don't think the technology used is entirely new and more modern than the CRDi). I always believed that the petrol Celerio itself was over priced for what it offered - tinny build quality, basic plastics, tiny tires and non existent feature-set.

Fuel efficiency is the only trump card for the diesel Celerio and Maruti knows how to sell using the "kitna deti hai" advantage. But IMO, it does not deserve this premium. I will happily spend an extra lakh and get the Hyundai Grand i10 diesel, which is much better built and has a lot of features as well - and more importantly looks much better than Celerio and looks its price.

~75k premium over the petrol model is totally unjustified for the Celerio This is considering the fact that what Celerio diesel gets is a puny unrefined noisy 800cc two cylinder engine. An engine which is a step backward in technology without CRDi (I don't think the technology used is entirely new and more modern than the CRDi). I always believed that the petrol Celerio itself was over priced for what it offered - tinny build quality, basic plastics, tiny tires and non existent feature-set.

Fuel efficiency is the only trump card for the diesel Celerio and Maruti knows how to sell using the "kitna deti hai" advantage. But IMO, it does not deserve this premium. I will happily spend an extra lakh and get the Hyundai Grand i10 diesel, which is much better built and has a lot of features as well - and more importantly looks much better than Celerio and looks its price.
That's what I am talking about. Usually the price difference between petrol & diesel counterpart is because, in most of the case(just most) diesel engine is equal or better than petrol ones. Ex. 1.2 v 1.4 in i20, 1.2L 4cyl v 1.1L 3cyl in Grand & Xcent, even in Swift, 1.4L v 1.3L which still justified the price difference. But in Celerio, it is like, the diesel engine is further stripped down but the price difference remains the same?

What kinda logic is this? I know that diesel vehicles have some kinda tax and that, but still this price is plain stupid part from MSIL.

Is it really the cheapest? No.
Is it really the best? No.
Is is reliable in long run? No idea.
Better FE in real-time? Yet to see.
Better interiors than competitors? Uh! What's that?

With such weak points printed all over it's face, they price Celerio at such insane prices, and if I am right, these are introductory prices and may get increased in near future! As I said earlier, I'd rather take our beloved Indica EV2 top-end, mod-it and enjoy the cheap spares and service cost!

When MSIL was talking about cheapest diesel car, I seriously expected it to be cheap. Not at premium priced, ultra cheap car!

With such weak points printed all over it's face, they price Celerio at such insane prices, and if I am right, these are introductory prices and may get increased in near future! As I said earlier, I'd rather take our beloved Indica EV2 top-end, mod-it and enjoy the cheap spares and service cost!

When MSIL was talking about cheapest diesel car, I seriously expected it to be cheap. Not at premium priced, ultra cheap car!
I agree. Except for the old design, the Indica eV2 LX with CR4 engine makes lot more sense. The most recent update has even got features like electrically adjusted ORVMs with LED blinkers. And we do get healthy discounts from Tata Motors.

Every thing is OK with Tata cars except the age old outer design .
This celerio and its engine and pricing [frustration] let them go to hell.

Indica has two engine options, BS3 and BS4. The 25kmpl and 70bhp is for the turbo charged BS4 engine. AFAIK, NA BS3 indica has only less than 50bhp of power and less than 20kmpl of mileage.
Now discussion about th BS3 variant is out. It is only with the BS4 variant are we comparing the Celerio Diesel.

Now after the pricing is out are you still convinced that it is VFM considering it power and and pickup.

As per the video, it seems that inside noise is much much less compared to the outside noise level.
Don't know how true it is, in the same video it says the initial rpm responsiveness is better than swift diesel, which means city driving conditions wont be that impotent as most of we people expect. That is a good thing[clap]AC effectiveness is also decent.

So overall it seems to be a ok for an entry level diesel car. Now let us see how Maruti gonna do the pricing. [evil]
This same conversation can be compared to the NANO. When the Nano was launched everyone called it a city car, with no power. It cannot take on the highways and can only be a car for 2. Now the Celerio diesel is in the same category. As per the Autocar India initial test drive, It has only power sufficient for initial pickup. Then it flattens out very soon. That means the Taxi operator too will hesitate to own one.

Every thing is OK with Tata cars except the age old outer design .
This celerio and its engine and pricing [frustration] let them go to hell.
I totally agree with you. I think it is an absolute crap at this price.

Exclusive In and Out Pics of the Maruti Suzuki Celerio Diesel Launched Today for T.A.I. Zdi and Zdi (0) Variant clicked.​

20150603_172627.jpg

20150603_172636.jpg

20150603_172617.jpg

20150603_172643.jpg

20150603_172647.jpg

20150603_172700.jpg

20150603_172752.jpg

20150603_172710.jpg

* Continued in next post.

That's what I am talking about. Usually the price difference between petrol & diesel counterpart is because, in most of the case(just most) diesel engine is equal or better than petrol ones. Ex. 1.2 v 1.4 in i20, 1.2L 4cyl v 1.1L 3cyl in Grand & Xcent, even in Swift, 1.4L v 1.3L which still justified the price difference. But in Celerio, it is like, the diesel engine is further stripped down but the price difference remains the same?

What kinda logic is this? I know that diesel vehicles have some kinda tax and that, but still this price is plain stupid part from MSIL.
How about Chevrolet Beat?
Right now beat is the cheapest closest car which has both diesel and petrol engine. So lets have a comparison.

Petrol and diesel engine car price difference:
Beat .85Lac
Celerio .75Lac

Celerio is 10k cheaper in difference.

Engine Capacity, Power and Torque difference between petrol and diesel engine:

Beat
  • 1199-936cc = 263cc
  • 77.9-57.1ps = 20.8ps
  • 142.5-106.5Nm = 36Nm

Celerio
  • 998-793cc = 205cc
  • 68-47 = 21ps
  • 125-90 = 35Nm

Power to Weight Ratio
Beat 57.1/1027 = .055ps/kg
Celerio 47/900 = .052ps/kg
(Whats the kerb weight of celerio diesel?, I took a rough figure 900kg for this calculation, I assume it should be less since celerio petrol is just 810kg)

Torque to weight ratio
Beat 142.5/1027 = .1387Nm/kg
Celerio 125/900= .1388Nm/kg
(Whats the kerb weight of celerio diesel?, I took a rough figure 900kg for this calculation, I assume it should be less since celerio petrol is just 810kg)

So considering the above made comparison, you guys should not blame maruti for making it 75k more premium than its petrol version before you do the same with the Chevrolet first.[;)]
Did you already blame beat diesel for that?[roll]

@Vignesh, Celerio offers both 155/165mm width tyres in its petrol versions. where as Beat petrol has only 155mm.
Maruti didn't use crdi technology for this entry level car for some reason like hyundai use SOHC instead of DOHC in some of their engines.

I'd rather take our beloved Indica EV2 top-end, mod-it and enjoy the cheap spares and service cost!

Yea, when going for an indica its really cheap to own a top-end version since nothing major things are included in it Like ABS or atleast a driver airbag(AFAIK), alloy wheels, driver seat adjustment, steering wheel adjustment or rear wiper and washer etc.
Let it be a celerio or Indica diesel cars, both of these are not my cup of tea since I cant compromise too much on the engine performances.

It could be an ultra cheap, even more fuel efficient and better performing car if MSIL plonked this engine into a Maruti alto/800 cars .

Now discussion about th BS3 variant is out. It is only with the BS4 variant are we comparing the Celerio Diesel.
So you didn't get my point.
Quoting your words
"Even the Indica has become mature in the past few years and is now lighter and powerful developing 70 BHP compared to 48 BHP earlier"
Even though Indica became mature with its new engine, still BS3 48Bhp version indica is available in the showroom.
In other words, in addition to this 'mature' 70bhp there are still this 'immature' 48bhp indica available for sale.
Hope that helps.

Now after the pricing is out are you still convinced that it is VFM considering it power and and pickup.
I think it is an absolute crap at this price.
Its quite difficult for a good number of people especially 'maruti haters' to realise and accept that this is made for fuel efficiency and still it has decent power and torque.
I feel its VFM for the people who doesn't need too much power and require too much mileage for their usage.
I believe no one says/said to buy celerio diesel over its competitors for its POWER but for its mileage.
I think its not VFM if this celerio not going to extract 2-3kmpl of extra mileage from its competitors.

Regards.,

Official Press Release of Maruti Suzuki Celerio Diesel Launch Attached.

DDiS 125 makes Celerio India’s most fuel efficient car @ 27.62 kmpl
Global launch of Suzuki’s first diesel engine

New Delhi June 3rd, 2015 Maruti Suzuki India Limited, market leader in passenger vehicles, today introduced the diesel variant of its popular model Celerio.

Maruti Suzuki Celerio, the car that first brought the acclaimed Auto Gear Shift technology to India, now becomes the first car to offer a super compact diesel engine option to Indian car buyers.

Celerio Diesel offers 27.62 Kmpl *, making it India’s most fuel efficient car.
This also marks the global launch of DDiS 125, the first diesel engine designed and developed by Suzuki Motor Corporation. It carries forward the DDiS attributes of swiftness, driveability and compactness, offered in the highly successful diesel vehicles of Maruti Suzuki.

On the launch, Mr. Kenichi Ayukawa, MD & CEO, Maruti Suzuki, said, “Celerio, powered by DDiS 125 engine, is India’s most fuel efficient car. This is also the first diesel engine designed and developed by Suzuki Motor Corporation. It is designed to offer a smooth drive and strengthens Celerio’s reputation as a car that offers easy drive in cities as well as on highways.

With the launch of Celerio Diesel, the three most fuel efficient cars in India are all Maruti Suzuki cars: Celerio (D), DZire (D) and the premium sedan Ciaz (D).”

Launched in February 2014, Celerio has sold over 95,000 units. Nearly a third of the total sales of Celerio are of the Auto Gear Shift variants.

Celerio has played a pivotal role in strengthening Maruti Suzuki’s position in the lower hatchback segment. Maruti Suzuki’s share in the lower hatchback has shot up to 71% from 61% within a year of Celerio’s launch.

CELERIO EZ ATTRIBUTES

• EZ Drive : Delivers a smooth driving experience

• EZ Performance : Offers high torque per CC

• EZ Technology : New generation super compact DDiS 125 all aluminium engine.

• EZ SPACE : XpanDesign, Roomy cabin, Spacious headroom, legroom and shoulder-room, Large boot space and 15 smart utility spaces

• EZ GIZMOS : Stereo with Bluetooth connectivity, Steering mounted audio controls, Multi-info display, User-friendly customizable security settings

• EZ STYLE : CICO (Curve In Curve Out) Styling, Big road presence, Sweeping wave dash design

Made in India and Made for India : Maruti Suzuki and its suppliers have together invested over Rs 900 crore towards development of DDiS 125 and it comes with over 97 per cent localisation.

DDiS 125 is compact and light weight. The cylinder block is all aluminium. DDiS 125 comes with a compact fuel distribution system and a turbocharger suited to a 2-cylinder engine. Further, by decreasing compression ratio and installing a large intercooler it has combined high torque in low RPM and fuel efficiency. Minimising friction, improving thermal efficiency, adopting low viscosity lubricants have also helped enhance the fuel efficiency in DDiS 125.

DDiS Powerhouse : DDiS 125 derives its lineage from the DDiS family known for high quality driveability. By delivering peak torque at a low RPM the DDiS 125 engine on Celerio offers good ride in city conditions and on highways.

Responsive and smooth drive : The compact turbocharger with intercooler delivers quick acceleration and smooth drive. Equipped with a hydraulic clutch system, Celerio Diesel offers effortless gear shift.
Passenger comfort : Vehicle rigidity and powertrain integration has been optimised for lower vibrations and superior cabin isolation. This ensures comfortable passenger experience.

Low on emissions : Low compression ratio, cooled exhaust gas re-circulation and Intercooler technologies enable DDiS 125 to meet BS IV norms with OBD II.
Official

So considering the above made comparison, you guys should not blame maruti for making it 75k more premium than its petrol version before you do the same with the Chevrolet first.
@Kichu

Dude you are comparing a 3cyl v 2cyl diesel counterpart. 1L 3-cyl Beat engine is still better than this 2-cyl thing! If beat can give me almost same mileage, why bother to put up with this tin can? I don't understand people in forums. If some poor, mis-informed soul buying this and defending, then I can understand. But educated guys supporting this, when one can get better cars at marginally high price!

This mafia mentality of MSIL will never stop until consumers turn down such mediocre offerings. No wonder they failed big time in US market!