Maruti Suzuki Celerio Diesel Now Launched! (Details: Page 7)

But I wont agree with the celerios size, weight and price part.

Petrol and diesel engine car price difference:
Beat .85Lac
Celerio .75Lac

Celerio is 10k cheaper in difference.
I couldn't control myself from replying to this particular quote! [frustration]

10k difference? So does it mean, if a car offer little extra space, less weight, they can price it high? Even by your logic, we are talking about chopping of a cylinder, and less cc compared to Beat! By no means, the pricing is logical for Celerio-D!!

And not to mention, the mileage figures are not what was rumored(it was said to achieve 30 km/l!!!) to be! So what made them price the already overpriced car?

@Kichu

I understand your love for MSIL, but will you please post something meaningful? Sorry for saying this, but for me it felt like this when I read the "quoted" line!!

Checkout the post #165
4. Did you felt the turbo kick? [lol]
Nope, this is not a fun to drive car. So no kicks and punches.
Linear power delivery is imperative to the better drivability in the city and for extracting better engine efficiency from a tiny 2 pot engine.

But still if the kicks are unavoidable for you, then you can use the AC ON/OFF button which should work through out any rpm range in any tiny engine. lol

The topic has been moved from 2v3cyl -> NVH -> Power/Weight ratio -> 0-100!!! Next what, installing nitrous?
Nitrous? Heights of trivializing!!!
FYI, 0-100 came just because of some people's crooked mind. They were saying about the painful thoughts about the Celerio's and the nano car's overtaking scenarios by leaving all other slow cars apart

FD, let it be a single cylinder vehicle or a vehicle with a v8 engine. When its about an overtaking scenario, its all about the acceleration of that vehicle. Which can be evaluated with the vehicle's ability of how fast a vehicle can do 0-100kmph.
Seriously don't you know about this? Or here I'm wrong with my concept?

No use in putting up and arguing against numbers, especially the topic you guys have been barging about. We have seen enough TD by TAI members to come up with general conclusion. If what DJBro said is true, I guess driveability is acceptable if not worst, but the price-performance ratio is ridiculous. Let's do individual TD before spamming this thread anymore.
Point. Let the interested people test drive it and the let the satisfied people buy it. Its that simple.
Or else, Instead of just hanging with the "over priced" slogan, help the "uninformed" people by moving against the MSIL legally. Which makes more sense.

For an AVERAGE user (not an individual - but taking the average of all users of a model of a car), it is bound to be a combination of idling + bumper to bumper + normal city + highway rides. Hope you agree. Hence, ARAI came with a common pattern for all cars to arrive at a benchmark FE figure. No one can expect to get the same figure - because it is simply impossible. Even the driver who tests the car at ARAI will not be able to achieve that figure in real time if he drove the same car.
Vignesh, from this words I didn't understand you mean, EXACT ARAI FIGURE WITHOUT ANY MINOR CHANGES. Because of this confusion I thought you are in a position to say no one gets closer to the arai figure.

But still cant blame the ARAI figure too much, since they do only need to consider the FE of a sedate driving style. Majority of us are not sedate most of the time.
Apart from the idling conditions in the traffic blocks, most of the users will be doing extra idling because of their unplanned usage.
I dont think its practical to make a single "ARAI figure" which can be used to represent every users every types of driving styles in every kinds of traffic conditions.

Instead, ARAI results should have given 3-4 different figure like How many litres of fuel for idling an hour, How many litres of fuel required for an hour to drive the engine in its economy zone in its top gear etc. So one can easily calculate the ARAI figure according to his usage of the car.

You will get the best FE from your car when your vehicle travels at its maximum possible speed when the engine rpm is in its economy zone.

I mean, just by looking at the Price of celerio with respect to its NVH, none can accept it.
Where as price with respect to its Size and Rigidity its acceptable, if one can accept celerio petrol car for its price.

No, you didn't say anything about the Beat. But I feel nobody will go for a ciaz, city, jazz etc types of costly vehicles instead of this small hatchback just because the mileage their FE is almost similar.
For making it more clear. A person who is able to buy a proper diesel sedan, definitely wont be making a comparison it with the .8L 2 pot diesel hatch back just because of the mileage part. Instead he may compare those big cars with the i20, polo or punto diesel hatchbacks
So when its about the car Celerio-Diesel one will be comparing it with the cars which comes under similar price tag.
hence the Entry of the Beat
to show you the price with respect to the weight and rigidity is acceptable for the people even though Beat is superior with its NVH.

Anyways, if you are a person who didn't accept the car Beat Diesel, then seriously I respect your mentality towards the car Celerio Diesel(Because I believe in, To each his own). But here there are lots of people who just need to blame the Celerio-Diesel and praise nano as the far superior car.(Here it doesn't mean nano is a bad car. And I repeat, every cars are good for the people who thinks it ticks majority of their requirements.)

Even by your logic, we are talking about chopping of a cylinder, and less cc compared to Beat! By no means, the pricing is logical for Celerio-D!!
I think I already asked you before, but didn't get the reply for that. So asking you again since you are again favoring beat's pricing without any problem.

Just make it clear, according to you what should be the logical pricing for the celerio Diesel?,
Delhi Exshowroom price starts@
Celerio Petrol 3.9Lac Diesel 4.6Lac
Beat Petrol 4.2Lac Diesel 5.1Lac

I repeat, my question is not about which car is best, Instead its about the logical pricing for the Celerio according to your logic!

And not to mention, the mileage figures are not what was rumored(it was said to achieve 30 km/l!!!) to be! So what made them price the already overpriced car?
I think they were saying, expecting a 30kmpl diesel car. Anyways giving a false hope is really wrong.

How about TATA Nano @ "1Lakh" Rupees ???

I understand your love for MSIL, but will you please post something meaningful? Sorry for saying this, but for me it felt like this when I read the "quoted" line!!
Our First car was Amby(Sold), the second car is A-star and the third is Vento.
Since one of the car is of MSIL that doesn'e mean I have special interest towards MSIL and or I hate every other brands.

Even if this celerio P and D belongs to the Korean company there wont be any change for me to accept the car for what it is.
This car is made of the sedate users for achieving more FE from the most cheapest and safest entry level diesel car(Atleast as of now)

Now about "meaningful" posts part.
No FD, you can't find any of my posts to be meaningful. Since my post will be everything within the limits of this car. There you cant find things related to the drag race with other powerful hatchbacks or Nitrous or highspeed cruising etc etc.

Just from this Quote
Did you felt the turbo kick? [lol]
Its very clear what is your aim is / You are a person who doesn't know what to expect from an engine.
A well informed and unbiased person should have asked about the "linear power delivery" of this turbocharged car. Or still about the "turbo kick" but without any sarcasm.

Regards.,

Checkout the post #165
Got it!

Its very clear what is your aim is / You are a person who doesn't know what to expect from an engine.
A well informed and unbiased person should have asked about the "linear power delivery" of this turbocharged car. Or still about the "turbo kick" but without any sarcasm.
Mr.Know-it-all, let me tell you something. A little sarcasm won't kill the topic, isn't it? [;)]

And regarding the price, it should have been priced at least 40k lesser. Sounds ridiculous? That's how it was when MSIL revealed the Celerio Petrol pricing! And this diesel engine pricing was nothing but the company's atrocity, or rather over-confident mentality. This is what everyone's been jumping about!!!

At least for nano, they did one thing right. Price! It was priced for what it offers. I agree, Celerio is little bigger, and comes up with some features, but then it doesn't make it something luxurious! Isn't it?

Just for once, think from this point! Leave all our other points. Does it really demand the price it asks for? If you really feel so, go ahead and suggest it to anyone. But we don't feel so, and that is why we go on spreading the propaganda to other members/people who might fall prey to this sham!

At least for nano, they did one thing right. Price! It was priced for what it offers. I agree, Celerio is little bigger, and comes up with some features, but then it doesn't make it something luxurious! Isn't it?
[thumbsup] Nano actually with it noises and whistles at least doesn't face criticism with regards to the pricing. TATA priced it after much thought it seems. In a 2 Lac car the buyer's views would certainly be different from that about a 6 Lac Car.

Just for once, think from this point! Leave all our other points. Does it really demand the price it asks for?
NO (IN BOLD)

If you really feel so, go ahead and suggest it to anyone. But we don't feel so, and that is why we go on spreading the propaganda to other members/people who might fall prey to this sham!
FD lets not loose our calm buddy. We as an online entity can provide the un-biased opinion on cars. We have authority to say whether its worth or worthless in any respect. It is rightly our motto to spread awareness on cars for info seekers/fellow buddies. BUT, We cant push our views on buyers. We in our hearts and minds clearly know the real/actual "worth" of this Celerio diesel but sadly, till the over-confidence of buyers exist in Maruti Suzuki, not just us, but no one can make their certain sub-standard products see the dump bin. I on top of my voice denounced the Celerio diesel on various grounds, but gave a thought to it, and feel, its like a puppet show from MSIL which makes buyers dance to their tunes. So, gave up as I have better topics to put my brain on.

I didn't loose my calm buddy! The bolded part, was right. And when I realized it, I stopped responding here. But the repeated posts on comparing it with other cars, putting some calculations and specs, and trying to defend the car like it was something from heaven by GOD, was making me write that post.

I can understand why @Kichu love the car, but he is way too optimistic. Well, he misunderstand something. If the product was real VFM or BFB, no one would have argued here. But instead, we are getting ripped off and that is what made US go crazy! Isn't it?

Seriously, I felt cheated and cheap, when I first read the specs. But then I convinced myself, if priced right, it can make sense. But damn, 6L car with 2 cyl! And people supporting it. Where are we heading with this? What's next? A 1cyl 600cc car is not far away if I am right! Let's not forget, this accepting mentality is what brought us this product and the MSIL(s) audacity to price it like this! Is this what we really want?

@Kichu

I am saying you this again and again. We are not hating MSIL as a whole. It did some excellent things in past and even helped our country to reach the automobile comfort which we enjoy today. But lately, they have been behaving like Dictator. Monopoly is the last thing we want in automobile industry. Don't give me answer like we have lot of options. MSIL has almost half of the market share. India, as a country, helped MSIL to reach it's place when developed countries shut the door in their face. So, as a market, they should give us sensible, reasonable product for Asia. Not some POS ****! I am sorry buddy, but this what I am hearing off late! And I for one, hate this. You know why? Because I loved their product and I am afraid I will not get such affordable, better product anymore from them. Is that wrong?

Whatever engineering, scientific explanations you throw at us here, won't change anything. And you know that. Because, deep down we all love(or loved) MSIL and that is why it hurt us more when they do something so cheap and stupid. So please try to understand this and please read my post completely before replying!

And one suggestion please, don't post numbers/engg thing to prove Celerio is good. No, it is not. There is no way we(informed buyers including you!) are gonna believe that.

Let us see some facts about Celerio-D:

1. Efficient car for city roads (First look: Maruti Suzuki’s Celerio diesel - Livemint).
  2. After his TD, member DJ bro feels it is good for 80kph on highways (which is the speed limit in many NHs).
  3. It takes around 19-20 sec thro' the gears acceleration time for 0-100 km.
  4. Quite a few reviews have stated that Celerio-D is to be driven in a relaxed manner, meaning in gear acceleration is nothing to write home about.
  5. It is a vehicle marketed for its FE.
Many target buyers of Celerio-D would end up taking it outside City limits. They know their car can do 80 even 100 kph. Having attained cruising speed on highways, many drivers don't realise the need to drop a gear, even when engine rpm falls below its creamy band :-( when attempting to overtake a slow vehicle. They mix-up the "in-gear" and "thro-the-gear" acceleration times, the way Kichu got them mixed-up. Such drivers with less traffic sense or less knowledge on their vehicles cause "painful moments" for the Cars behind them; this has been discussed at length, not only in TAI but also many other open forums. From my experiences on the highways, large number of drivers of less powerful cars fail to yield because they are at permitted speeds. Heck, we see all these "bad overtaking turned fatal accident" stories every week.

If one absolutely needs to buy a Celerio-D because he has Rs. 6L plus and needs to buy a MSIL product that runs on Diesel and returns good mileage, he/she will buy it. As long as they drive the car sensibly without blocking others it is good for ALL. YIELDING is part of SAFE DRIVING which reduces INDUCED ROAD INCIDENTS / ACCIDENTS. Applicable to every one that rides/drives anything on wheels.

Now, i'm sure, TATA has all the reasons to launch a TATA NANO DIESEL ASAP and this can be done at just between 2.7 and.3.5 lakhs on road and if MSIL Succeeds, then TML will also do well for sure. NVH will be the same but not worse than this, no doubt.

Whatever compartilve price Celerio is having against rivals like Grand/Beat, but for me and many like minded 6-7 lakhs is not a small amount to invest on Celrio D for a city car. Any car in average Indian household meant to stay for minimum 5-6 years and why would anybody invest 7 lakhs for a sub standard product. Better to spend additional 1 lakh and buy a better product or get a fairly new used car.

In my personal opinion Maruti should have opted for Omini Diesel or Alto Diesel with a on road price range of max 4.5 lakhs. It would have shattered many many records.

According to OverDrive Test Drive report Maruti Suzuki Celerio Diesel managed to return 19.1 KMPL in City and 27.2 KMPL on Highway Over All Average figures are 21.1 KMPL

Here few bits about Celerio Diesel Performance

-Maximum Power and Torque produced between 2500rpm to 4000rpm only below 2500rpm their is a turbo lag and after 4000rpm to 4500rpm power will drop dramatically so can not cruse in highway with happy manner.

-0 to 100kmph will takes almost 22seconds

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NOERbH2Adns

. . .
-Maximum Power and Torque produced between 2500rpm to 4000rpm only below 2500rpm their is a turbo lag and after 4000rpm to 4500rpm power will drop dramatically so can not cruse in highway with happy manner.

-0 to 100kmph will takes almost 22seconds
Driving back home, today I noticed the rpm hovering between 1000 & 1200 in third gear at 25-30 kph speeds in my car, in BLR traffic. There's a mild lag (in 3rd) till it reached 1400 rpm and it was breeze after that. But the traffic pulled me down to 20-30 kph in no time. This cycle kept repeating and I left it at 3rd to relax.

If that "2500 to 4000 rpm" and 22 second figures are true, I wonder when 2500 would be reached in this 2 cylinder and what would happen to the left leg, specially for drives around Majestic / Chamrajpet / City Mkt / KR Pura / Old Airport Road / Peeniya etc ? Those who TD-ed / going to TD may pls post what's the Speed / Gear at these rpm levels. Would help potential buyers arrive at a balanced decision.

PS: I'm yet to see the Video (using mobile now).

Maruti Celerio Diesel discontinued in India

Maruti Celerio has been silently removed from the official website of Maruti Suzuki India Limited.

As clearly evident after searching on Maruti Suzuki India’s website, the largest car maker from India has discontinued the sales of the diesel variant of their Celerio hatchback. On the contrary, the automaker has not made any official announcement on the same but while searching for the price list on the Maruti website, one can see only prices of the petrol variants being mentioned.

Maruti Suzuki Celerio was launched in 2014 after being showcased at the Auto Expo in the same year. Initially it was launched with petrol powered and CNG powered derivatives and was lapped up by customers looking for affordable AMT (automated manual transmission) hatchbacks which were in short supply back then.

Hoping to gain on the popularity of the car, Maruti Suzuki added another engine option which was a DDiS 125, 2 cylinder 793 cc diesel motor which puts out a power of 47 bhp with 125 Nm of torque. The same was mated to a 5 speed manual transmission which offered a generous fuel efficiency of 27.6 kmpl but felt under powered along with high NVH levels which put off several prospective buyers. It could also not get a great response due to its high pricing and was not able to stand against the competition which offered more power and slightly affordable pricing.

All these factors contributed to a mild response from the buyers as against the petrol powered derivatives of the car. To boost the sales of the diesel Celerio, company offered discounts up to INR 1 lakh to clear the stocks of the same.

Source :- Oncars.in