Maruti Suzuki Baleno Premium Hatchback Now Launched

Re: Suzuki's New Premium Hatchback Baleno Now Launched!

You can switch off the DRLs buddy. The setting to do this is in the MID interface. Go through the manual for how to do this. Note, you cant switch them on /off at will as there is no switch. However i am not sure if deactivated DRLs come on with headlights

Frankly, DRLs are a gimmic for India because day time visibility is so good. I would switch them iff if i had them

Ameyam

Re: Maruti Suzuki Baleno Hatchback: Technical Issues & Solutions

Kindly advise me which are is best for me among swift vxi ABS, Zxi or baleno zeta petrol.

My budget is 7 lac.
Monthly run--- not fixed but around 300 to 400 KM

Kindly advise me which are is best for me among swift vxi ABS, Zxi or baleno zeta petrol.

My budget is 7 lac.
Monthly run--- not fixed but around 300 to 400 KM
What are the top criteria for the car ?
Like is it space, value, mileage,power,comfort,looks,
Whats more important

In all measures Baleno is better than Swift,
But there are even better cars than both Swift snd Baleno on market, if Maruti is the brand that suits best go with Baleno Delta petrol

Well, this is the Baleno thread but I will answer your questions-

Swift (p 1.2l)
Great handling car
Well sorted construction
Easy to maintain

Cons
You will feel all of the road
Back seat space is less. Actually, once you get in, the seat is fairly comfortable but getting in and out is difficult
LXI / VXI brakes are indifferent
ABS trims are hard to come by (long wait)
Air bags are optional

Swift (1.3D)
Same as above except peppier motor
ABS is standard

Baleno
Pros
The looks
Back seat space is very good
Feature loaded from the Delta spec

Cons
Suspension is no better than the swift, especially in the back
Lighter build than the Swift. Plastics are saggy and soft
Sheet metal is just too soft
Back seat squab is short, so its actually not as comfortable as the Swift's
Quality issues faced by many
Long waiting period

Jazz
Pros
Brand value
Very soft sprung, it just floats
Lots of space even for tall people
Easy of ingress and egress as the seat is higher
Cons
It floats. You cant get a feel for the road
Sheet metal is so soft, most owners complain the even installing accessories causes dents
Midrange acceleration (in 2nd and 3rd gear) is non existent in petrol (diesel is just wow)
High dash and short nose, deep dash, difficult to get a judgement
Dash plastic is very cheap. Dash is bent over to driver side by design (I didnt like it)
Usable features are lacking in the lower trims. S trim doesnt have ABS or Airbags. HU is basic and doesnt feel worth the price
Comparable model more expensive (over the Baleno) by nearly a lakh.
Limited service centres. You cant send the car to a small time authorized garage (they actually offer better service, believe it or not) and get the HASS opinion verified
More expensive to maintain

So if you ask mu opinion
Budget and dont mind the back space limitations- Swift (p)
As above but want airbags & ABS (willing to wait)- Swift (p) (O)
Either of the above and want a torquey engine- Swift (d)
Mid segment feature rich car, have covered parking, want decently peppy engine, want some comfort also- Baleno Delta
Mid segment feature rich car, park mostly on the road or in open (so want tinted glass), want decently peppy engine, dont mind a slightly bumpier ride- Baleno Zeta
Want comfortable car, want brand value, dont mind not having safety features- Jazz S MT (p)
Want a comfortable car, brand value, want the safety features, not limited on budget- Jazz SV (p)
Want a comfortable car, brand value, want the safety features, not limited on budget, want to enjoy driving also- Jazz SV (d)

I was headed for the Baleno Delta but bought the Zeta instead. Dont necessarily regret as yet

Ameyam

Which is a better buy? Jazz S or Baleno Delta?
Jazz in diesel gets 1.5 Idtec engine where as Baleno has 1.3 DDIS. 1.5 Idtec has its niggles where as 1.3 DDIS is dated but a proven work horse. Feature wise Baleno and Jazz are decent in my view but I felt part sharing is done in Baleno with the S-Cross in interiors. Both Honda and Maruti have good ASC presence but Maruti wins over in the number of Dealers and ASC. If you go for Jazz then go for I-vtec engine. I-vtec is good and proven mill. A Maruti can be repaired in semi-rural areas where as Honda might not be.

^^
Baleno: 9562 units
i20(elite+active): 11147 units

This way i20 is still ahead. In fact i20 deserves to stay ahead being a way better vehicle overall.

Source: Auto Punditz

Jazz S or Baleno Delta?
I think i20 elite and Ford Figo Apire 1.2 Titanium both are better than the above 2 mentioned cars
I20 elite really gives a special feeling inside out as well which Baleno,Jazz,nothing can matc
Its sore weak point is driving dynamics, other thab that the 1.2 petrol i20 elite is a smart package,
Figo too is good but some maynot like it, I like it because thats the only car that has safety as top priority and its a well balanced package, non allergic design, good space,good comforts and features, nice stock audio system, small in dimension so easy to park and manuver in traffic, tractible engine though not as powerful as Jazz or Baleno, cheap servicr cost, actually cheaper than Honda,Hyundai, almost as cheap as Maruti too.

Going to buy baleno petrol,..is it worth to spend extra money on zeta or delta is right option..... I missed 16 inch alloy wheel and colored TFT speedometer in delta.... Kindly guide among these two....
To my mind, the alloys/TFT speedo are just cosmetics; nice to look at but thats it.
The really useful feature in a Zeta vs Delta is the UV Cut glass side windows/quarter glass.
In a country like ours where most of the places are hot/very hot for 8 - 9 months in a year, these glasses make a real difference.
That's a significant benefit day after day, year after year.
IMHO.