Maruti 800: Technical Issues & Solutions

Check for battery terminal corrosion and tightness of the cable clamps over the batter post.Also check-out the condition of the fuse box and ignition relays contact for corrosion and dust

Hi everyone,
I had that problem of car not starting again on Saturday. It turned out to be a worn out cable that goes from the +ve terminal of the battery to the ignition. Replaced it and it's working fine.

Now, I'm having fuel smell, I think unburnt fuel in the exhaust, while speeding above 60kmph. This happens only when I accelerate hard. Fuel efficiency has also gone down.

I guess it's another trip to the workshop then!

Hi everyone,
I had that problem of car not starting again on Saturday. It turned out to be a worn out cable that goes from the +ve terminal of the battery to the ignition. Replaced it and it's working fine.

Now, I'm having fuel smell, I think unburnt fuel in the exhaust, while speeding above 60kmph. This happens only when I accelerate hard. Fuel efficiency has also gone down.

I guess it's another trip to the workshop then!
As you know when the air and fuel ratios is not proper, the gases are not burnt properly and you get petrol smell from exhaust. If the air is more, you get white smoke, if air is less, then black smoke. Better you check the air filter first whether it is clogged and you know it is simple task of loosing 2 screws and taking out the air filer and use your vacuum cleaner to clean it.

If the problem persists, then it may be the Carburetor problem.

Thank you for the suggestion sir. The air filter had a lot of dust accumulated in it. No fuel smell and FE seems to be just fine after cleaning the air filter.
I had driven just 5000kms after changing the air filter. I don't think I will have to change it till the next 5000kms. It was driven around dusty roads a lot last time when I had used the car for work in Ujre.

Fuel Unburnt Smell and Smoke is a issue , if simple then it is carb tuning and jets issue , also if timing is incorrect or cylinder firing is missing then also similar condition occour. besided this if on higher side it may be due to
cylinder / piston wear,
tappet setting and head gasket.
with the symptoms you have mentioned it is difficult to arive at a solution / cause. kindly get it checked

Maruti 800 Starting Problem

hii to all,
Presently in am suffering from the Maruti 800 (Euro-II) 2003 start problem. story was During annual Maintenance and after clutch plate change, mechanic forgot to attach the wires of fan thus engine got overheated. Thereafter other mechanic in shimla directly attached the fan wires and it remain always on after i on the vehicle switch. He said that ACM got damaged. i continued to run my M-800 for approx 8 months without any trouble. Thereafter, i dent-vent and painted my car and mechanic also installed rheostat on coolant pipe (desi jugad) in which my fan remained on only when vehicle became hot. All this was to byepass ACM problem and directly new sensor (Rhoestat) was attached on the pipe. Engine light signal was also flashed due to this on my dashboard, i asked mechanic about this issue, he said due to direct fan signal of engine will blink on your dashboard. i travelled for 40 Kms to shimla back and left vehicle parked overnight. Next day my vehicle did not got on even after using self again and again.
Another mechanic in shimla changed my Spark plugs (as they were very old), timing belt setting was altered, pistons setting was also done but still problem persists. electrician are saying that Head Gasket problem is there due to overheating of vehicle. (i was using vehicle for 8 mnths without any problem after first boiling but now there is a problem due to heating???? shocking?)
When i am using self to switch on my vehicle the car is doing khich khich sound but not getting on,self is okey and cleaned, if vehicle is getting on then again in few seconds it is getting off.
Acceleration during this period fails mechanic is saying that "yee gadi dab rahi hai" on karte huee. iski head gasket kharab hai overheating ki wajah se.
suggest me what to doo im really fedup with this problem.

Re: Maruti 800 Starting Problem

Gasket failures do result in starting problems but that is when the gasket is blown out very badly. Problem is, gasket failure starts showing its ugly face only in due course of time. One of the main reasons is overheating, which you mentioned, happened to your car. If it still has only low number of kilometres clocked, you can opt for a fairly expensive gasket replacement. But if the car has duly served many miles for you, the engine is bound to spit out one problem after another so in that case, you'd have to be willing to shell out serious money for it.

@hp nishu, This is serious problem. First you have to check up the Radiator coolant, whether it is clean or mixed with oil or any leakage of coolant from the Radiator. If so, get it fixed first by flushing the Radiator and change of coolant. Also take care of Fan issue.

If the problem persist, then you have to replace the Head Gasket and also flush the Engine with either English Flush or Wurth of 250 mls before you change the Engine oil. Better you take a day or 2 off when these tasks are conducted so you can take on the spot decision to replace any parts. Always go for MGP, instead of duplicate parts which are cheaper.

Unless you take of these problems , there will be more damage to the Engine and your expenses may go up.

Good luck to you and share your experience.

dipped headlights not on Maruti 800

Please, I have a problem of that do not come on, in fact not running at the crossing terminal on the lamp
where is the fuse exactly [frustration]
you have the electric schematics [confused][confused]
thank you in advance.

Maruti 800 AC Carburetor Version four gears Feb 2004 has following issue. Any suggestions to troubleshoot would be deeply appreciated.

Once the car starts, as soon as the accelerator pedal is pressed to raise speed or move, the engine stops.

Any idea what could be wrong with the system please.

Rahul

hello friends,

I have Euro-II 2003, fuel injection model, after going through all the post of automotiveindia as a diy project i have clean the throttle body and map sensor as it had accumulated lots of carbon through W40 and got good results as well but from last two days I am facing a missing issue. what could be the reason? need your expert opinion please. thanks in advance

Maruti 800 AC Carburetor Version four gears Feb 2004 has following issue. Any suggestions to troubleshoot would be deeply appreciated.

Once the car starts, as soon as the accelerator pedal is pressed to raise speed or move, the engine stops.

Rahul
Hello Rahul,
There could be 2 -3 issues and you have to check up one by one.

Alternator ( Dynamo) issue- check the Voltage at idle, must be at least 13.5, if not so, get the Alternator checked, may be Regulator is gone> if so, while replacing the regulator, get the Dynamo serviced, and get the bearing greased. TVS Regulator costs you Rs 650 and the service charges may be around Rs 300- 350.

If Alternator is fine, then it could be Drive shaft problem. If Drive shaft has gone, then go for only MGP and may cost you around Rs 3500 for one drive shaft.

If above 2 are fine, possibility that your Carburetor is jammed and not firing the petrol and air mixture. Need a expert mechanic who knows how to overhaul the carburetor. You can read my post in this thread about the Carburetor o/h.

One more point that comes to my mind is - check the spark plugs and also point condenser.

Share your experience once you solve your problem.
Good luck

Rahul
Check carb tuning, and distributor settings. Its one of them