Maruti 800: Technical Issues & Solutions

Sir one alternative is to buy black foam which they use for packaging when we buy watches or laptop which has consistency and thickness similar to the gasket and use the old gasket as a template..cut outline with sharp Blade and voila u have new gasket ..il share soon with you how I made it myself for my M800

Finally after 3 hours of gruelling walking in sun I got the 10mm square head from taparia dealer Mehta tools at SJP road .Most big tool shops didn't have an idea but luckily for me I had the part number from taparia and the taparia dealer immediately gave the item .I bought 2 sizes 8mm and 10mm total 140 Rs with gst [:D][clap]..So time for my next DIY !

Hello Shashi,
yesterday I tried this link given by you and placed the order for 2 nos gaskets for Rs 86, however it did not go as there is no COD available. I have stooped my debit card for the time being, as I have yet to get about Rs 9000 reversed as the card got swiped 3 times at big bazaar and in spite of my submitting all details n letter from big bazar with their credit copy not showing the transfer of my amount, the bank is yet to credit the amount to my a/c. may take another month or so.

This morning there was Internet problem as they were replacing all damaged cables due to heavy wind n rains in Mangalore day before y'day.

Surprising I got a call from Boodmo saying that they accept RTGS and I said I will do it tomorrow only. Then I got sms FROM THEM GIVING THE FOLLOWING DETAILS: Name : smart parts online pvt ltd, current a/c no 50200013622061, IFSC Code ; HDFC0001394, HDFC Bank, Bestech centre, square, sushanth Lok II.

well, is this New Delhi? what is the pin code? I tried to contact the number from where I got the call, it is not accepting incoming call, not my sms asking for clarification.

Shashi, is the number given by you above is for the particular gasket for our M- 800 tl? why so many photos of various gaskets are there?

In case you see this msg today, please do respond to me, so I go to bank tomorrow and transfer Rs 86 thrU RTGS.

Thanks n Regards

Sir one alternative is to buy black foam which they use for packaging when we buy watches or laptop which has consistency and thickness similar to the gasket and use the old gasket as a template..cut outline with sharp Blade and voila u have new gasket ..il share soon with you how I made it myself for my M800
I don't know whether the gaskets come with some kind of glue, just like the monograms I got last week, so it is easy to just remove the plastic wrap and fix it.

Your idea of using black foam sheet is good but if I don't get the right type of gasket that is the only way. So sad that while cleaning the car on sunday, the some water must have entered the TL area inside and it stooped the new Reverse music stopped working. Earlier one with nice music - Sare Jaga se Accha - lasted for 7 yrs whereas this one not even 7 days. I opneed the TL and all the wires are intact and nothing seems to be wrong. BUT the music stopped. I need it badly because I have to come by reverse when i come out from my house to the Road and suddenly some Bikes rush and may hit if there is no music, only horn won't help.

Just now, I opened the tl and removed the music horn, used vacuum cleaner to blow any water or dust particles and fixed it again.::::::it is now working, may be moisture must have entered while cleaning the car on Sunday. However the music sound has now changed and instead of tuk tuk tuk, it gives a pleasant sound of pik pik pik and glad to hear. :::::seems i have to cover up this item in a plastic wrapper to avoid moisture or dust entering this useful item. ::::what a pleasant morning !!!!

I confirmed the order with Boodmo this morning by sending Rs 86 by RTGS for a set of 2 nos gaskets for rear TL. Got the confirmation from them around 1 pm that they will execute the order. Hope to receive the same within 8/10 days. This is my 1st order with them.

Thanks to dear Shashi for the information about this online spare parts company.

There was some confusion at this place. though I sent the money thru RTGS on 12th April, I never got any confirmation about the receipt of payment, instead I used to get emails daily stating that unless I send the amount they cancel the order within 48 hours. I sent reply to them daily attaching the receipt of RTGS.

Finally on 17th I got the reply, expressing their apology and said the materiel was dispatched on 17th April and they gave me tracking link. It left Delhi on 17th, then to Pune on 19th , Goa on 21st and the tracking shows it arrived at Manglaore on 22nd morning and hope I will get the delivery on 23rd Monday.

That's great. Meanwhile, kindly take out both your Taillights and clean them from inside. You'll be surprised how much muck comes out, and that's the secret of my 800s shiny lights, despite being more than 18 years old.

Proper cleaning needs around 2 days, make sure no moisture or water is inside the TL.

Once gasket is installed, rarely any dirt goes inside.
20180420_184916.jpg

I had already cleaned both TLs by removing it and rinsed with water, when I did painting of those spots. Also sealed the gap of wire so as to avoid any rain water entering inside.

In fact I changed both the set of bulb holders and all 6 bulbs while doing service work last month, though only one bulb holder was lose and 3 bulbs were stuck to the holders.

Hoping to get the delivery of these gaskets today.

Hello Shashi,
Received the gaskets today at 4 pm.
It was nicely packed, though it is thin gasket, not of rubber but looks like black foamy thing properly cut on machine with notches and holes for the screws to insert. I know it is to be fixed to the metal and not to the TL because TL is to be removed in case of replacing the bulbs and bulb holder if any.
What kind of glue did you you use? Quick fix or any other glue, pls do let me know.