Mahindra XUV500 (W201): First Impressions Pg.29 Onwards

Autocar India( says that the scorp doesnt have 4X4 except in the Getaway version.

And hardcore off roaders are such as Pajero, Montero, Wrangler etc etc.
Buddy, many facts in Autocar India are wrong. Please use reliable sources next time.

For example, a mahindra's website is more accurate if you want info about the scorpio, not ACI.

Pajero is a great off roader, but not a hardcore off roader. I would say hardcore off roaders are M&M jeeps like classic, Maruti gypsy, force gurkha, etc. they are great off roaders but not good on road! do you expect the Mahindra W201 to be like that?

Also, from what i see, mahindra is not targeting the W201 as a off roader. They have given it an AWD system (similar to quattro in Audis), not a typical 4WD system with LSD & low ratios. again from what i have heard, its a monocoque design for better handling & not a typical ladder on frame chassis. so all this shows mahindra is not making an off roader.

and what is it that a montero can do but a scorpio cannot? i can see you are comparing a 40 Lakh vehicle to a 10 Lakh vehicle... but still. Is the comfort of a skoda superb similar to fabia? are the features identical?

I'm apprehensive about the looks of the new SUV especially after the Ssanyong takeover. Expect M&M to mess this up too.GIO anyone?.

confirmed! its coming next year guys!

The new World SUV model is codenamed as W201 and is being developed at M&M’s Chakan facility near Pune. “We are looking at significant share of the new SUV manufactured here to be exported into the US market. We are planning to come out with the new SUV next year,” said Dr Pawan Goenka, president - Automotive Sector, Mahindra & Mahindra.

Arun

@AMG,
It surprises me on how you heavily rely on a single magazine. If you are posting something, please verify the information.

As far as hardcore off-roaders go, nothing beats the Gypsy, the Gurkha or even the mighty CJ3B. Nothing even gets close to these machines.

And come on! Who'd want to go off roading with chocolate interiors?

In my opinion, this more of a luxury SUV than a rugged off-roader.

Cheers!

Not at all possible. It would be priced well below 20 lakhs.

@ mukesh: whose the source?

in my case, a senior mahindra official told me the pricing would be 14-16 lakhs.
Apologies from my side.
During my chat with cotech the new World Suv is being price between 16-18 lacs.
Its inheriting Electronic stabilisation system,Traction Control features from Ssangyong.
This car is a competitor against Honda CR-V, Captiva segment.
Scorpio is also going to inherit some more features in the upcoming year 2011.
The latest info is the features form Reva Electric car is also implimented on this Project "W201".
The rate i had told earlier is of Hybrid vehicle which is still in R&D of Mahindra.

Apologies from my side.
During my chat with cotech the new World Suv is being price between 16-18 lacs.
Its inheriting Electronic stabilisation system,Traction Control features from Ssangyong.
This car is a competitor against Honda CR-V, Captiva segment.
Scorpio is also going to inherit some more features in the upcoming year 2011.
The latest info is the features form Reva Electric car is also implimented on this Project "W201".
The rate i had told earlier is of Hybrid vehicle which is still in R&D of Mahindra.
Here it comes. Thanks Mukesh, yes its going to be priced between 14 to 18 lakhs bracket, with different variants and a long list of features.Also I think some features like the day time running LED'S in the headlight are the first in segment and definitely the Sangyong collaboration will bring in lots of new safety and techie features. [clap]
Now I am waiting to see the build quality of this beast and have lots of expectations with the interiors as well, hope Mahindra will set a benchmark in this segment[cheers]

well..i aslo never expected M&M SUV to come at any price above than Rs.20 lakhs or even above Rs.15 lakhs will be more to spend because even BMWs and MErcs are also coming in similar price bracket soon! their features, comfort and brand value can maybe anyday leave behind mahindra suv...

Well that is the ideal price bracket for this car! Am sure it will be a success provided M&M can provide us a good car with top quality fit and finish quality.

Now Fortuner , Endeavour and Captiva will feel the heat!

well..i aslo never expected M&M SUV to come at any price above than Rs.20 lakhs or even above Rs.15 lakhs will be more to spend because even BMWs and MErcs are also coming in similar price bracket soon! their features, comfort and brand value can maybe anyday leave behind mahindra suv...
Yes Umang, that could be a reason for concern. Moreover I think the base variant price will start from 14 odd lacs and the higher end trim will be close to 16 odd lacs, which will still give the Fortuner, Endy and the Captiva a head on Bang and is pretty sure to steal a lot of customers from them[;)] And I think even if the BMW or Merc introduces an SUV close to this price, the only advantage is the Brand value, but on the contrary these vehicles are much more heavier on pocket towards maintainence and service costs, which is a big let down for Indian consumers. So I guess Mahindra is on its way for a huge success if they just do their job fine [cheers]

I am least worried about the pricing of the M&M world SUV. Uptill now, Mahindra has never disappointed as far as pricing is concerned.
About styling i feel it will be better(atleast, not as innovative as Xylo). The spy pics suggest this.