Mahindra XUV500 vs Tata Aria vs Toyota Innova!

Your choice?

Yep, for 5 people, it is best to opt for a sedan. It is much peppier to drive, looks good & more sophisticated & boot is no issue at all.

For 7 people, how about the vehicles like Merc Viano ? I know its expensive but Force motors is bringing on at <15L price. This I think is better than UV.
And yeah, what I seen is that face to face seating arrangement in last/boot area is now almost gone. This is rather a comfortable arrangement coz the person can enter/exit from the 5th door/boot door & seating face to face means having a larger legroom as well.

It was there is cab models of Tavera & Scorpio. Ofcourse, Safari still has it but due to sloping roofline, it is useless for well built people.

Btw, in UK, people are not ready to buy such UV type vehicles coz people think that hey, this chap be having lot of population [;)].
But they have proved better in a country like ours,moreover,The Viano may come with full front-facing seats in all rows.

Side facing seats is more of a safety issue since they cant have seatbelts.

I think Viano is more of a van like the winger, but more expensive & luxurious. Will it have the status symbol of an SUV?

Remember the Merc MB100 & MB140? It flopped big time.
Yes side seats plays spoilsport for people sitting there and the theatre style seating is good and have become famous now.But Side seating is on safer side because at the times of emergency you can open the rear door to get out fast and there will be more space to keep your long journey luggage even if you take atleast 6 people on-board.

Seat belts are designed for frontal impact friend.

If you wear a seat belt when you are sitting sideways, you can strangulate yourself or break your neck in case of an impact.

Without seat belt, you will be thrown in the front thus injuring the other passengers.
There is no protection in case of rear collision my friend. The one who sits in last row has max risk as rear collision protection is absent + no emergency exit either.

I disagree. In India, SUVs are given more respect & associated with status, than sedans. Size matters!

Look at the Fortuner. Compare it with Accord or Superb. Why do you think Toyota sells so many Fortuners? Why do you think Scorpio sells so much? Why do you think XUV500 is such a hit in a segment where competent cars like Cruze, Altis & Civic is doing moderate business?
It depends upon the psyche of the person. What I feel is SUVs are preferred by those who want to scream & show to the people how big I am, you know those typical show-offs types.....just like those who carry blackberry handset without a data plan :lol!: .
Big saloons are used by those who already know what the real thing is & are least bothered about telling what the world says about them.

Eg. Look at any corporate honcho, he will be having some big saloon (I haven't personally seen any big shot corporate guy getting down from SUV) but on other hand, it is the politicians or rather these khadi clad gunthamantri who got rich by selling land to builders who use vehicles like Fortuner, scorpio etc.

In Pune, 90+% of fortuner, scorpios are owned by someone either being a gunthamantri or some local neta who needs to carry around 4-5 chamchas with him [lol].

But they have proved better in a country like ours,moreover,The Viano may come with full front-facing seats in all rows.

Yes side seats plays spoilsport for people sitting there and the theatre style seating is good and have become famous now.But Side seating is on safer side because at the times of emergency you can open the rear door to get out fast and there will be more space to keep your long journey luggage even if you take atleast 6 people on-board.
Viano also comes with face to face seating arrangements with tables in between to discuss issues, use laptops, etc. Having a big sliding door means all the seats have independent entry/exit points & one need not do circus while getting in last row of seats like any UV. Best thing one can even modify Viano to get custom made interiors too.

Well this thread is interesting , haven't gone through the entire thread till now. But i will kick out Innova instantly , it doesn't deserve to be compared with Aria and XUV!

I still haven't checked out the XUV so i reserve my comments for this thread. But on seeing the VFM factor i would say my scale is slightly tilted towards XUV.

Mahindra has said that the current prices are *Introductory Offers*.
Once M & M reopens the bookings & if XUV is priced higher than current ones, where will the tilt would be then ? Aria ?

it is the politicians or rather these khadi clad gunthamantri who got rich by selling land to builders who use vehicles like Fortuner, scorpio etc.

In Pune, 90+% of fortuner, scorpios are owned by someone either being a gunthamantri or some local neta who needs to carry around 4-5 chamchas with him .
Hey buddy i couldn't stop [lol].
No matter how the driver drives a Scorpio, they are said to be rashly driven vehicles by others.
Scorpio always gets Goondagiri name.

Guys, guys, guys, lets end this SUV vs sedan debate for some other time and some other place , in India no beating a SUV, hell even PORSCHE sells more Cayenne here than 911.:lol!:

BTW: Jaguar XJ is my favourite car, but give me an option and I am game on Range Rover Sports or even Evoque would do.[:D]

Now lets come back to the topic XUV vs Aria. Xuv hasn't got unlimited mileage warranty as earlier posted , it has got 2 yrs and 65,000 km warranty, also its real top speed is not 190 kmph as shown in the you tube video but in reality 179 kmph, this is confirmed by BUNNYPUNIA of gadi.com, in one of the other forum, so Aria 4x2 has got equal top speed like XUV, and since no one has tested XUV AWD, its safe to say that its top speed would be pretty similar to ARIA 4X4.

Thread Starter #112
There is no protection in case of rear collision my friend. The one who sits in last row has max risk as rear collision protection is absent + no emergency exit either.
This is valid equally in both cases, side facing last row or front facing.

It depends upon the psyche of the person. What I feel is SUVs are preferred by those who want to scream & show to the people how big I am, you know those typical show-offs types.....just like those who carry blackberry handset without a data plan :lol!: .
Big saloons are used by those who already know what the real thing is & are least bothered about telling what the world says about them.
I am an SUV lover. I am not a show off IMHO, i dont wanna shout but I dont wanna justify also since I dont care about people who stereotype!

In Pune, 90+% of fortuner, scorpios are owned by someone either being a gunthamantri or some local neta who needs to carry around 4-5 chamchas with him [lol].
Again stereotyping.

Mahindra has said that the current prices are *Introductory Offers*.
Once M & M reopens the bookings & if XUV is priced higher than current ones, where will the tilt would be then ? Aria ?
Even if they increase the prices, it would be max by 50,000. There would still be a 2.5 lakh price difference between Aria & XUV.

Xover there might be tools kept under the seats, which might be making those noises.
And the guys who TD'ed it thought it to be squeaking.
Its too early to comment on a car, without owning it and complaining about the car.

Thread Starter #115
Yes but at least Aria does not rattles.
Based on one review, you efficiently judged that the XUV rattles. Since you have nothing else to say, you are keen to pick up small points like rattling, 8 AC vents instead of 10, etc.

Who said the Aria does not rattle? Here you go -

TATA ARIA Review, Accessories, Price, India, TATA ARIA, HOPELESS CAR - MouthShut.com

Now based on this one review, can I tag the Aria as "hopeless" like the owner has done?

Please be open to criticisms & avoid fanboyism. Aria owners like cooldhaya & karthick are much more mature with their opinions & comments, sorry to say.

Xover there might be tools kept under the seats, which might be making those noises.
And the guys who TD'ed it thought it to be squeaking.
Its too early to comment on a car, without owning it and complaining about the car.
Forget owning, he has not even driven it or sat in it. [frustration]

Yes all right I have not driven XUV or sat in it since its not available in Jharkhand at the moment, but I have never been to USA even once, yet I know its beautiful,perhaps. [confused]

Thread Starter #117
1) Truth is gathered by facts & sadly you dont have any facts to offer. Rather you "please" yourself by ranting in every thread.

2) I have never termed the Aria as a hopeless product. Yes, I have said its overpriced, lacks 3rd row legroom & lacks bottom end torque. But at the same time, I have said it looks classier than the XUV, guess you only pick out words which suits for a debate.

3) The USA comment which you made was nothing short of ridiculous! So, I will choose to ignore that & hence not comment.

Lastly, I wish you understand that every individual has certain needs & different expectations from his vehicle. While I like car A, you may prefer car B. So each individual forms his own opinions regarding a particular product, please respect that.

Look at the Fortuner. Compare it with Accord or Superb. Why do you think Toyota sells so many Fortuners? Why do you think Scorpio sells so much? Why do you think XUV500 is such a hit in a segment where competent cars like Cruze, Altis & Civic is doing moderate business?
For the simple reason that at the price range, there is no good diesel car. either one has to go up & buy BMW 320 d corporate edition or come down & one notch. Superb doesn't sell because of Skoda while Accord doesn't sell due to lack of diesel engine.

How many Fortuners will toyota able to sell had it been in petrol ?

Coming to Scorpio, it sells because it is diesel & is cheapest SUV like UV.

Last but not the least, Civic is in petrol, Altis is highly under-powered while Cruz is of Chevy.............why didn't Captiva sell then ??

I can also ask why is it that Accord sells more than CRV then ?

Guys, guys, guys, lets end this SUV vs sedan debate for some other time and some other place , in India no beating a SUV, hell even PORSCHE sells more Cayenne here than 911.:lol!:
For the simple reason that 2 door sports car simply don't sell in India.
Why does Audi A6 sells more than Q5 or BMW 5 series sells more than X5 ?

This is valid equally in both cases, side facing last row or front facing.
But atleast side facing people will know what hit them [lol].

if they increase the prices, it would be max by 50,000. There would still be a 2.5 lakh price difference between Aria & XUV.
Merlin will then give nightmare then to XUV as it will eat up W6.

Zigwheels have launched full fledged test drive of XUV500 in their website in which they claim 0-100 timing of 13.85 seconds for XUV FWD.

So XUV 4X2 (0-100)=13.85 sec

Aria 4X2 (0-100) = 13.50 sec

Source for Aria's 0-100 figures is Overdrive test of Aria 4x2, you can find the video on you tube.

So Aria proves that even though it is much larger and heavier than XUV, yet it is much faster, for the first time tata have beaten mahindra in pick up/acceleration of their UVs.

Xover .35 of a second hardly matters.
Whatever after the decimal point is ignored, that doesn't matters much.
What matters to people is top speed they can do at the same time stopping capability, where as Roll over mitigation ensures that vehicle is well planted too.