Dear Sir,
Thank you for writing to us. At the outset we regret
the inconvenience caused to you.
We are requesting our Customer Care Manager from
Mumbai Area Office to look into your reported
concern and arrange for necessary actions as
required.
Request you to kindly bear with us in the meanwhile.
Thanks & Regards,
Priya Kulkarni
Customer Care-Automotive Division
Reach us at:
customercare@mahindra.com
24*7 Toll-Free at 1800-209-6006
@18002096006
- Show quoted text -

Got a call from Mahindra Bombay office, followed by Service manager at Jalgaon Service center.
They'll be sending a chap down to my house with a scanner. Will keep you posted.

Hello All,
Mahindra sent one of their junior Engineers to my place with a small scanner (i-smart). They found a code P0231, and resetted it.

The Check Light is gone, and I can hear turbo whistle again[evil]
However, the service incharge at Jalgaon has Demanded Rs 450 as "Breakdown charges". I will be sending a mail to Mahindra If it would be liable to pay it as I've paid RSA, which is said to cover breakdowns.

Further, I will update after a trial run tonight about the performance etc.

P.s- Found some info about the code here-
P0231 Engine Trouble Code - P0231 OBD-II Diagnostic Powertrain (P) Trouble Code | Engine-Trouble-Code.com

https://www.yourmechanic.com/articl...uel-pump-secondary-circuit-low-by-jay-safford

It feels good to know that the issue is no issue actually. Engine going kaput at such a low modi count on an ignorant chap's car can be digested but not on an enthusiast's. Additionally this 2.2 engine + gearbox combo is actually a very reliable one. I have seen XUV getting plagued by only other type of electronic failures and not anything in terms of drive train etc.

Presenting updates from here- (click for pics)
http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...iled-review-3-years-report-42.html#post519675

Here is the latest update-
They resetted the code and replaced something called "Modulator". The service guys were unable to explain what the damm modulator is on phone. However, I asked them to test once more at high speeds (High revvs) as thats when code returned last trial

And there is a slight hint from mechanic that turbo maybe blown[frustration][confused][surprise]
as there is hissing sound from turbo or intercooler. The same will be checked thoroughly tomorrow. Ordering a new turbo will eat 3~4 days. Oh poor me.

Confirmed- The turbo is blown.

They have placed the order. Delivery takes anywhere about a week. The service guys said its OK to drive the vehicle in this condition If I keep it below 100. I will still shoot a mail to Mahindra regarding this.

The parts will be covered in warranty, Charges outside warranty-
Turbo-36k,
Fitting-4k.

To-

Dear Mahindra,
As per the Update from Mr Wagh at Dhule Service center,
They have diagnosed that turbo requires replacement and will take some time to arrive.

I kindly request that, the Turbo and required other spares may sent at fastest possible speed to the Dhule service center.

Also, The Dhule service center informed that I could drive the vehicle and take it back home. I would like a written confirmation from Mahindra, With respect to below-
1> Vehicle is Safe to drive in this compromised condition.
I have to drive the vehicle for 50KM to come home, and again 50 KM to come back to service center when turbo parcel is arrived.
2> Driving of vehicle in this condition will not affect the warranty status, Turbo Claim status, Future service or Future reliability or Health of vehicle in Any way.

Please provide the confirmation as above.

My weekend was with my family and friends @ matheran. We were 6 adult and 4 kids were enjoying drive from Pune - Mumbai highway. We took exist from Khalapur toll naka and headed towards Matheran.

Road was not good but easily manageable to XUV ( loaded with ppl and baggage on roof flexi carrier - Handirack ) .

Matherans' ghat road is really narrow but XUV really managed it well but last turn of Mathern is really really stiff and could smell a Cluck Plate smell. I put off my all AC and need to open windows for last 100 meter patch - before parking.

I felt clutch pedal was working half only and somehow I continued like that and parked in parking. Next day while returning everything was fine as clutch plate was cooled down and didn't faced any issue till - after 2-3 days now.

I planned to visit Service center but later I skipped of it.

What you experienced is likely Clutch fade due to overheating. Just like Brake fade I suppose. Still get it checked if you're passing by SVC.

Coming back to XUV Thunderbolt Turbo Issue-

I called Mahindra Bombay office service co-ordinaor (With whom I'm in touch since day 1). They are trying to arrange turbo in fastest way from nashik or Aurangabad service center. Will be updated today what happens.

p.s-
So far, No communication from head office or sanjoy gupta or anyone up there for that matter.

p.s 2-
Got call from Bombay office that part will arrive latest by tomorrow.

The issue has been solved, Details bellow-

1> Final Diagnostic is that Turbo Boost pressure was too high. Normal Boost pressure is usually in the range of 1.1, But this happy chap was putting out 1.3. This is a strange case because Turbos usually loose pressure when there is a problem. Here it was overboosting.

2> The next step was to replace the Modulator. A Modulator is 3 plug electrical component that actuates the VGT Vanes (Hence boost). XUV uses electrical Actuator compared to Cable driven or Hydraulic in Some vehicles.
The Check error returned at 140 even with new Modulator, So my old Modulator was placed back and Order was logged for New Turbo. Turbo took about a week to arrive.

3> In the term of 5 years (XUV was launched in '11), The Service center- Aakash Motors Dhule said this was only the 2nd turbo failure reported. Mahindra Turbos usually last 2~2.5 Lac Kms. They are only replaced when engine is reworked. Bolero Turbos usually last longest due to Low Rev- High Torque nature of the engine. There are been absolutely zero turbo failures reported in Bolero.

The 1st turbo failure case they had was due to a lady driver who drove her vehicle despite leaked Turbo Pipe (visually demonstrated by Heavy smoking and loss of performance).

So overall, this could be an oddball, One off case regarding Blown Turbo.

4> Mysteriously, They did not find anything wrong with the turbo on Physical inspection.
The Turbo was not starved of oil
There is no Play in bearings
There is no Deformity in Impeller.
I do follow idling procedure at crank & Shut down.
Vehicle is Mostly driven by Dad who hesitates to cross 90 KMPH.

The Old turbo has been sent to R&D center for dismantling & Inspection.

5> The test drive was carried in below manner-
50KMs-upto 130 KMPH
50KMs-Upto 165 KMPH
25KM- Dhule city.
Dhule to my House- 70Kms
With me- 10Kms

Overall, thats over 200KM of testing carried. Very thorough indeed. They sent (on my request) the technical manager along with the vehicle to my door step to keep tab on turbo & also explain me the diagnostic process.

They filled some diesel on the return journey as courtesy. Which was a nice gesture indeed.

6> The last service was carried at Nashik at some 60k Kms. Odo Now reads 60,900 KM.

7> The vehicle was delivered Scratch-less, Clean & neat- As I always like to be. I should really appreciate Mahindra on That. Nothing else was touched or messed up. My HU settings were not changed. Even small bits like paper, toll receipts, Cleaning cloth were in default place- Untouched. Thats a great thing!

They gave a courtesy Interior & Exterior cleaning before dispatch.

8> After the initial rest drive upto 125KMPH, The performance has returned. Its finally great to feel the beast alive again!
http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...iled-review-3-years-report-44.html#post520454

Great to know BHVM. It's really nice to know that in 5 years only 2 Turbo got failure which is almost none. No need to worry XUVtian's , :)

BHVM, we know that your XUV is fully covered but still let us know if you have paid anything or else. Would be keen to know limit of Extended Warranty.

Atul
Zero charges Mate. Not even a dime.
There were 2 failures under extended warranty-
AC.- NON RSA
Turbo- Required RSA

It seems treatment and courtsey is same among Standard & Extended warranty. I do suggest XUV owners to pay up for Extended warranty with RSA.

I have an XUV AWD and I face this issue of vibrations in the car at an rpm of 1500. The dealers are working on this issue and trying to figure this out. Has anyone else faced such issues ? If so, what was the solution to this problem ?

But their response to these issues were good and I'm completely satisfied with it.

Hope they will fix it in coming service!
If the issue is not going, then you are any ways bound to be satisfied; you have spent your money after all. [lol]
No offense to XUV owners if I end up being stupid of this thread at times; I can feel for you guys and is up for help always. BUT, when it's an XUV giving out problems, I am always like :biggrin: