Mahindra Scorpio: Technical Issues & Solutions

there is a sensor for the rear door.

the sensor might have got stuck . just check it yourself.
Yes, there is a sensor for the rear door. Which model do you drive Sudharshang??

Hi Krish,

Thanks for your welcome message and the reply.

I shall check out your suggestions and post my experience. I shall also take some decent pictures and share my review soon.

BR,
Saravanan
Automarshal, have your problems resolved? Please keep us posted.
Is there a ownership review of your beast?

Yes, there is a sensor for the rear door. Which model do you drive Sudharshang??
Mine is VLX Refresh model. I know that there is a rear door sensor.

I am asking all Scorpio owners with remote locking to try these and post their answers here:

1. Make sure 4 doors are closed and open the rear door only. Then lock the car using remote, the car will lock the remaining 4 doors and no chirping sound is given to indicate that rear door is open.

2. Close the rear door properly (without air lock). Open one of the 4 doors and lock with remote. Chirping sound is given.

3. Same with Voice Activated System (VAS). Drive the car with one of the 4 doors open, it warns with voice. But nothing like that for rear door.

Sometimes, the factory fitted speakers make "kur kur" noise when songs are played through Bluetooth from my smartphone. I tried with another smartphone, same problem.

Also, I am able to hear incoming calls clearly on Bluetooth but sometimes, the people who call me do not hear my voice clearly.

I have asked the Service Centre guys many times, but all they say is everything is working fine Sir [frustration]

Can we directly call these Nippon guys or should the complaint be logged through Service Centre?

I am asking all Scorpio owners with remote locking to try these and post their answers here:

1. Make sure 4 doors are closed and open the rear door only. Then lock the car using remote, the car will lock the remaining 4 doors and no chirping sound is given to indicate that rear door is open.

2. Close the rear door properly (without air lock). Open one of the 4 doors and lock with remote. Chirping sound is given.

3. Same with Voice Activated System (VAS). Drive the car with one of the 4 doors open, it warns with voice. But nothing like that for rear door.
it has got to do with the earthing of the rear door sensor.

just check with in cabin lights. keep it in mid position.

this way it will light up when doors open.

now check the same for the rear door. the lights wont glow if you are facing the problem you mentioned.

what i had seen is they clean the earthing contacts of the sensor and then the switch works fine and you get the chirping when the door opens.

also you can call the nippon guys. they will pay a visit to your residence.

hi guys i don't know if this query is allowed here, mods may move it to appropriate threads - what will i have to pay for a 1 year old, 16000 kms run , single owner,( personaly known )scorpio 4x4, accident free.

You can start a new thread if you are looking to purchase a used Scorpio.

Yes, this does happen at times. But at times it does make the noise. I have accepted this and have moved on. The ASC has no clue about this.

Sometimes, the factory fitted speakers make "kur kur" noise when songs are played through Bluetooth from my smartphone. I tried with another smartphone, same problem.
Ha Ha! Yes, it has a network of its own it seems. I put the phone on flight mode and play. That's the only solution I got if I wanted to play from my phone.
You can call the nippon guys directly. They are based in Andheri in Mumbai. See if they can be of any help.

Has to be anything above 10 Lakhs. Do you have any further details to share?

depends on the variant. if lx , it can be had for cheaper than 10 lacs. if vlx , then it would be expensive.

just ask for the covered insurance amount.(IDV).

that should be the correct indicator of the vehicle.

Folks, I need your urgent attention.

My Scorpio mHawk SLE was due for service. Exactly a day before I was supposed to give it in for service, I noticed the brakes are not performing the way its supposed to. To make you understand better, high speed braking is fine, ABS is also functioning properly as I had tested it on an empty stretch. The problem occurs when I'm at a dead slow speed. Now during extreme bumper to bumper traffic, while hitting the brake pedal, it gives me a very spongy feel and the pedal travels almost all the way down to the surface level. In a nutshell, performance of brakes during slow speeds has been affected.

The following day my car was given for service at Koncept Mahindra, Okhla, New Delhi. Got all the fluids changed, tuning, balancing, alignment and the works all done to my satisfaction level. However, they could not rectify this braking issue. Brake pads they say are fine, fluid has been topped up. And later they said poor braking could be due to faulty ABS which I fail to understand. Tried to make them understand the functionality of ABS but they said the problem could be due to fault in the ABS unit. Are these folks right when saying poor braking could be due to faulty ABS unit? Guys, I need you to pour in your suggestions, recommendations for a good mechanic. I'm not able to use my Scorpio the way I used until few days back.

Also, they handed over a bill of Rs. 11810/= after discounts. Damn, maintaining a Mahindra is expensive. All this for a 30,000Km service. My front right suspension's ball joints gave way, bushes in the rear suspension too, wasn't it too early?

Thread Starter #162
Folks, I need your urgent attention.

My Scorpio mHawk SLE was due for service. Exactly a day before I was supposed to give it in for service, I noticed the brakes are not performing the way its supposed to. To make you understand better, high speed braking is fine, ABS is also functioning properly as I had tested it on an empty stretch. The problem occurs when I'm at a dead slow speed. Now during extreme bumper to bumper traffic, while hitting the brake pedal, it gives me a very spongy feel and the pedal travels almost all the way down to the surface level. In a nutshell, performance of brakes during slow speeds has been affected.

The following day my car was given for service at Koncept Mahindra, Okhla, New Delhi. Got all the fluids changed, tuning, balancing, alignment and the works all done to my satisfaction level. However, they could not rectify this braking issue. Brake pads they say are fine, fluid has been topped up. And later they said poor braking could be due to faulty ABS which I fail to understand. Tried to make them understand the functionality of ABS but they said the problem could be due to fault in the ABS unit. Are these folks right when saying poor braking could be due to faulty ABS unit? Guys, I need you to pour in your suggestions, recommendations for a good mechanic. I'm not able to use my Scorpio the way I used until few days back.

Also, they handed over a bill of Rs. 11810/= after discounts. Damn, maintaining a Mahindra is expensive. All this for a 30,000Km service. My front right suspension's ball joints gave way, bushes in the rear suspension too, wasn't it too early?
Had you checked the level of fluid in the brake fluid reservoir?

If there is fault in ABS, ABS warning light will glow on ODO.

Did you inspect the brake pads, how much life do they have in them?

The estimate given to me during 30k kms service: http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...-silver-50-000-kms-counting-24.html#post86410

Actual Bill came around 8006/-: http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...-silver-50-000-kms-counting-24.html#post87099

The condition of bushes depends on how one drives on bad roads.

You haven't given a update of drop in level of brake fluid and other parameters?

View attachment 108592
Had you checked the level of fluid in the brake fluid reservoir?

If there is fault in ABS, ABS warning light will glow on ODO.

Did you inspect the brake pads, how much life do they have in them?
level of brake fluid and other parameters?
Mukesh,

Brake fluid reservoir was full.

ABS has been working fine, no error or a warning light has ever occured.

I didn't inspect the brake pads, but the SA told me they are fine and should be good till the next service.

What other parameters you want me to share? Let me know.

Past few days I didn't out my scorpio and was instead using my other cars. I had to take it out today for cargo hauling and that poor brake phenomena is very much existent. I'm left wondering as to what should I do, the guys at Koncept Mahindra don't seem much competent to me. Will be registering a complaint with Mahindra corp. today. So any inputs as of now?

Attached is pic of the invoice generated, have a look.

A quick question guys. What is the optimum Tyre pressure to be set in MRF wanderer AT. Recommendation from m&m says 32 but steering feels very hard at this level. I usually set it to 35 to 36.
Found from web which says 35 to 38 is the best for this..
Is this OK? help Plz!!

Thread Starter #165
View attachment 108592

Mukesh,

Brake fluid reservoir was full.

ABS has been working fine, no error or a warning light has ever occured.

I didn't inspect the brake pads, but the SA told me they are fine and should be good till the next service.

What other parameters you want me to share? Let me know.

Past few days I didn't out my scorpio and was instead using my other cars. I had to take it out today for cargo hauling and that poor brake phenomena is very much existent. I'm left wondering as to what should I do, the guys at Koncept Mahindra don't seem much competent to me. Will be registering a complaint with Mahindra corp. today. So any inputs as of now?

Attached is pic of the invoice generated, have a look.
Going by the bill, every thing should have been fine.

Well with the brakes i have never faced issue on brake bite.

However after service the brakes tend to be smooth as they would have cleaned the brake disc.

So to make the bite better, one has to brake and leave, brake-leave(Keeping in mind no vehicles at the rear.) By doing this the bite just improves.

Can you post the pics of tyres, and what make is the tyre.

Brake pad on my car was changed at 41,000 kms (The 1st OEM one).

In the bill i could not see OCA brake adjust, where they clean the discs, rear drum for any asbestos collected in the drum.

The labour of paid service seems to be less in Delhi.

Here it has now been raised to 3100/- which was 2600/- earlier.

Hope you are not over inflating the tyres as well.

As this leads to less efficiency in braking.

I usually fill 33 psi at rear and 31 psi in the front.

Check the tyre pressure, do follow that braking-leave, braking-leave when you attain 50-60 kmph.(Make sure no vehicle is behind you).

If nothing works drop a mail to CC of M&M, raising the concerns.

So that they again can do a OCA brake adjust.

If possible check the brake fluid reservoir, red fluid in color(TVS Girling) Yellow Cap.

Don't get confused with clutch fluid reservoir.

A quick question guys. What is the optimum Tyre pressure to be set in MRF wanderer AT. Recommendation from m&m says 32 but steering feels very hard at this level. I usually set it to 35 to 36.
Found from web which says 35 to 38 is the best for this..
Is this OK? help Plz!!
Hi Krish i had already answered this in my current post.

31 Psi Front, 33 psi Rear. (Make sure you fill it early morning).

By moving slowly on any potholes or humps till you reach the fuel bunk.