How About Another Independence Day Meet?

Your Preferred Meet Destination?

I had visited HH in 2007 and we spent half a day there. It is a cool place but very quite place without much crowd. Plenty of space for the rides and may be families like it too

My personal Opinion
HH has got very limited options in terms of attractions that has to be taken seriously while taking the family, because they should also be enjoyed equally. HH Harita Resort (APTDC) got a big property with swimming pool, children's play area, bar and restaurant and motor ride. Opposite to that, there is a small zoo. But nothing so great to talk about. Once you come out of the resort there is nothing other than the rocks and whistling winds-if its breezy.

The plus point with Yercaud is the location almost at the center point. Area is very vast, the weather is fine, many more for a family too to enjoy.

And if more members are there, even we can try at TTDC, they have different types of rooms and dormitories at a very reasonable tariff, very close to the lake. Else, there are plenty of options and choices at Yercaud. 'TTDC on line' is their website else contact their office at Chennai, if the place is convenient to all. Above all, the drive too can be enjoyed

This is truly my personal opinion

My personal Opinion
HH has got very limited options in terms of attractions that has to be taken seriously while taking the family, because they should also be enjoyed equally. HH Harita Resort (APTDC) got a big property with swimming pool, children's play area, bar and restaurant and motor ride. Opposite to that, there is a small zoo. But nothing so great to talk about. Once you come out of the resort there is nothing other than the rocks and whistling winds-if its breezy.

The plus point with Yercaud is the location almost at the center point. Area is very vast, the weather is fine, many more for a family too to enjoy.

And if more members are there, even we can try at TTDC, they have different types of rooms and dormitories at a very reasonable tariff, very close to the lake. Else, there are plenty of options and choices at Yercaud. 'TTDC on line' is their website else contact their office at Chennai, if the place is convenient to all. Above all, the drive too can be enjoyed

This is truly my personal opinion
Agree with ARR Sir. I had been to Yercaud in 2008. It's not any bigger hill station like Ooty, Kodai etc. yet, a pleasant one. Seeing the comparison above, I too feel this is a better choice than HH.

Thread Starter #80
@Subbbu and @Ram sir,

Let us wait for other members' opinion who has given node for the meet assuming it will be HH.

@Subbbu and @Ram sir,

Let us wait for other members' opinion who has given node for the meet assuming it will be HH.
Sure. BTW, let me ask you a disastrous question. Is there a possibility to prepone this meeting to some weekend in July? [surprise]

Too many things are coming up for me in August. Just heard about a weeding planned "tentatively" in Kerala, date is yet to be decided... Office folks are discussing about a team outing in Mid of August... Another personal trip by end of August... I am getting lost... [frustration]

Thread Starter #82
Subbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbu...

We are mainly fixing up this since most of us will get holiday on that day so no need for applying leave kind of stuff.

Pls yaar.

@subbu

Block you calender in August as you have a nice important outing on 14th and 15th so you can't attend anything[clap]. Make the meet as one of your important visits of August

@subbu

Block you calender in August as you have a nice important outing on 14th and 15th so you can't attend anything[clap]. Make the meet as one of your important visits of August
Yes, I am also tied up with my travel from 1st to 12th August as I spoke to you over the phone. So starting from 14th or 15th is OK for me

And what happened to the venue? I think its time to shift to the higher gear. Locations can get crowded because it is easy to combine the leave from Thursday to Sunday for holiday lovers.

Guys Just found these info on our destination for 15th August 2013.

Intersting place to visit in Horsley Hills

• Lake Gangotri
  • Highview seeing place
  • Gaalibanda
  • Environmental park
  • The Horsley Hills Museum
  • Shiva temple about 15 km towards Madanapalle from Horsley Hills.
We could visit Rishi Valley School as well, which is an amazing place built on the principles of Jiddu Krishnamurthy. It is about 18km before HH on the road from Madanapalle to HH.

So as of now the following are participants (14)

From Bangalore (8)
  1. mastiandroid5- With Family

Dont we need to plan for our stay first?
I am coming alone this time, and that too, for one day. Will have to return back the same day, as I dont have any leaves left [frustration]

Yes, I am also tied up with my travel from 1st to 12th August as I spoke to you over the phone. So starting from 14th or 15th is OK for me

And what happened to the venue? I think its time to shift to the higher gear. Locations can get crowded because it is easy to combine the leave from Thursday to Sunday for holiday lovers.
Wow .. .great spirit there. After travelling from 1-12 of Aug, you are ready to come for the meet! I am sure this should be great motivation for many others to join in!

Thread Starter #86
OK. As of HH and Yercaud are the places. Schedule goes as follows

By 23rd June Finalize the Venue HH or Yercaud
24th to 30th of June - Find possibilities of stat at destinations, different stays, Tariffs etc
1st to 10th of July - Finalize members [This is very important]
14th July - we should be able to book rooms/stays [We will book 10-20 room extra, if we dont need we can cancel it]

Any suggestions.

OK. As of HH and Yercaud are the places. Schedule goes as follows

By 23rd June Finalize the Venue HH or Yercaud
24th to 30th of June - Find possibilities of stat at destinations, different stays, Tariffs etc
1st to 10th of July - Finalize members [This is very important]
14th July - we should be able to book rooms/stays [We will book 10-20 room extra, if we dont need we can cancel it]

Any suggestions.
Once the venue is finalized, take the count and do the booking as early as possible. Mind the cancellation policies of the hotel/resorts.

Sorry for responding late sethu sir,had somehow missed this thread it's too early for me to commit for this meet, can only confirm by the second half of july.

Thread Starter #89
@visran, thanks for your response. BTW we need confirmation of members only 10th July. so no worries. But try to be part of this. We cant miss you. We have a session in pool. so pls be ready to jump into it[;)]

Subbu why dont you talk to some of our Pune friends and bring them on board. Just a suggestion.