Honda Amaze VX i-DTEC Ownership Review

Hi Friends,
I am a newbie here. I have decided to go with Amaze Diesel. Safety is one factor I regard highly. I am left with two variants to chose from (VXI and SX). I am deliberating between which one to choose. Is VXI worth the premium? In Hyderabad, the on-road price difference between the two variants is around 72K (incl insurance). I am not particular about the interiors (dual tone vs non-dual tone) etc. However, I like the fog lamps, heat resistant glass and foldable mirrors. Does the 72K premium justify these extra add-ons in terms of the actual price for those additional items? How much do fog-lamps cost me if I woud like to get them installed on SXMT? Please guide me.
The difference between SX and VX is that VX has
1. Alloy Wheels
2. Foldable Mirrors
3. Turn Indicators on ORVMs
4. Front Fog Lamps
5. Rear Deffoger
6. Heat Absorbing Windshield
7. Dual Tone Interiors

If you do need all these features, VX makes sense otherwise SX. Congratulations for Choosing Amaze instead of Xcent, Dzire, Zest. Engine, Performance, Fuel economy, rear seat comfort is very good in Amaze. Add to that low service costs, peace of mind and you'll have a peaceful ownership.

Hi Vishnu ,

My amaze in for the 20k service . Total bill was 11k . Brake pads changed and disc skimming done . Air filter, fuel filter, ac disinfectant, oil change , wheel balancing, alignment, rotation where the other charges .i was taken aback when I first heard about the bill amount . Is this normal ?

Thread Starter #948
Hi Friends,
I am a newbie here. I have decided to go with Amaze Diesel. Safety is one factor I regard highly. I am left with two variants to chose from (VXI and SX). I am deliberating between which one to choose. Is VXI worth the premium? In Hyderabad, the on-road price difference between the two variants is around 72K (incl insurance). I am not particular about the interiors (dual tone vs non-dual tone) etc. However, I like the fog lamps, heat resistant glass and foldable mirrors. Does the 72K premium justify these extra add-ons in terms of the actual price for those additional items? How much do fog-lamps cost me if I woud like to get them installed on SXMT? Please guide me.
First of all, sorry for the drastically late reply. Was being away from the thread for a really long time.

There is no safety features added on the VX varient extra to that of SX, so SX varient would be fine however you can add alloy wheels and fog lamps. It mught cost around 30-40k in Honda itself. If you have enough money to go for the VX then why the worry ? Carry on :)

The difference between SX and VX is that VX has
1. Alloy Wheels
2. Foldable Mirrors
3. Turn Indicators on ORVMs
4. Front Fog Lamps
5. Rear Deffoger
6. Heat Absorbing Windshield
7. Dual Tone Interiors

If you do need all these features, VX makes sense otherwise SX. Congratulations for Choosing Amaze instead of Xcent, Dzire, Zest. Engine, Performance, Fuel economy, rear seat comfort is very good in Amaze. Add to that low service costs, peace of mind and you'll have a peaceful ownership.
Thankyou nishant5858 for replying in [:)]

Hi Vishnu ,

My amaze in for the 20k service . Total bill was 11k . Brake pads changed and disc skimming done . Air filter, fuel filter, ac disinfectant, oil change , wheel balancing, alignment, rotation where the other charges .i was taken aback when I first heard about the bill amount . Is this normal ?
Brake pad change must be the culprit and every 20 k is the major service interval for amaze. So i think the amount is ok. Can you attach a pic of the bill ? I've attached and i'm now attaching the pic of my 30 k service bill [:)]

Vishnu now i started doubting the quality of Honda now. Whatever i enquire regarding any issues with amaze, the service center guy tells " It is usual with all Amaze sir" . I told him i cant take it since it is usual with other amaze too. HONDA MUST RECTIFY THIS .. For eg.

Qn 1 : Why there is creech or crank sound when the hand brake is on and the passengers get down or get in ?
Ans : Sir it is the issue with all amazes ...

Qn 2 : During my first service even i noticed a small oil leak from the Engine head. And this time even it is leaking. Just check it out and lemme know if i need to report it to Honda incase it is a major problem.

Ans : It is also the issue with all amazes. Come sir i will show you the other amazes that came for service. Hen
Hence he showed 4 amaze and all those had the same issue. I dont know how to react on this. Planning to write to Honda directly.

Attaching the pics. Kindly share your thoughts vishnu

Vishnu now i started doubting the quality of Honda now. Whatever i enquire regarding any issues with amaze, the service center guy tells " It is usual with all Amaze sir" . I told him i cant take it since it is usual with other amaze too. HONDA MUST RECTIFY THIS .. For eg.

Qn 1 : Why there is creech or crank sound when the hand brake is on and the passengers get down or get in ?

Qn 2 : During my first service even i noticed a small oil leak from the Engine head. And this time even it is leaking. Just check it out and lemme know if i need to report it to Honda incase it is a major problem.

Ans : It is also the issue with all amazes. Come sir i will show you the other amazes that came for service. Hen
Hence he showed 4 amaze and all those had the same issue. I dont know how to react on this. Planning to write to Honda directly.

Consult other dealer, if you're city doesn't have multiple dealers check out at nearest Honda ASS.

Thanks Nishant & Vishnu for your pointers. I did go with VXI finally. I took delivery of my Honda Amaze VXI (D) Urban Titanium yesterday evening. I didn't get a chance to drive a lot yet. I will post my ownership review once I get my hands dirty with my new car. One thing I noticed was the acceleration in lower gears. The transition from 1st to 2nd is super smooth. However, I felt the engine is revving up slow when compared to my Hyundai Santro. I was hoping the 1.5L engine should pump more power and give me faster acceleration.

That guy may be moved to Honda ASS recently from Tata may be.[lol]

Check out the past record of that ASS, they may be earlier doing business with Tata.

Jokes apart. Raise compliant on Honda custamer care. Without getting a proper explanation do not let them open the engine. Your car will be the guinea pig for the technicians there.
If you are not satisfied with them or other dealer and oil leak is not incresing, wait for some months and compliant again.

What i need to know is any of the amaze owners experienced the same oil leak problem ??

Certainly iam writing to honda . Will post the reply once i get it .[anger]

What i need to know is any of the amaze owners experienced the same oil leak problem ??

Certainly iam writing to honda . Will post the reply once i get it .[anger]
I own Amaze SX iDtec since 4 months and it had 9k KMS on ODO.Till now i hadnt faced any oil leakage.
But when i went for first servicing in bangalore,My driver reported the service incharge there about leakage in the engine head,he said that it is the AC water with very light green tint.,it comes only when you switch off the AC after the drive and then by placing the car little back he showed me the water on the floor with his fingers [lol]

Is your oil leakage problem exist even the car is parked for few hours??

Thread Starter #957
Hi vishnu,
Please find the bill images attached. Anyways i see a difference when compared to yours. The labour costs must be same na .
I've never seen such a long bill till now, that of amaze. !!

Well, my amaze doesn't have the oil leak issue till now.I don't know whether they'll pop up or not. You should change your SVC if possible and check up with other svc's .

Thanks Nishant & Vishnu for your pointers. I did go with VXI finally. I took delivery of my Honda Amaze VXI (D) Urban Titanium yesterday evening. I didn't get a chance to drive a lot yet. I will post my ownership review once I get my hands dirty with my new car. One thing I noticed was the acceleration in lower gears. The transition from 1st to 2nd is super smooth. However, I felt the engine is revving up slow when compared to my Hyundai Santro. I was hoping the 1.5L engine should pump more power and give me faster acceleration.
Well , Congragulations first of all [:)]

First of santro has a petrol engine and Amaze has the diesel one. That itself will have differences in the revv range. 1st gear is short and all other gears are comparatively taller . [:)]

Certainly iam writing to honda . Will post the reply once i get it .
I'm not having the problem. If ASS is helpless , you could definitely move forward with an official mail.

I own Amaze SX iDtec since 4 months and it had 9k KMS on ODO.Till now i hadnt faced any oil leakage.
But when i went for first servicing in bangalore,My driver reported the service incharge there about leakage in the engine head,he said that it is the AC water with very light green tint.,it comes only when you switch off the AC after the drive and then by placing the car little back he showed me the water on the floor with his fingers [lol]

Is your oil leakage problem exist even the car is parked for few hours??
Very strange. Did they charge anything extra for that ? is the problem sorted out ?

Hi Friends,
It's been two days since I brought home my new Amaze VX (D). The experience so far has been good. I was worried about the NVH levels before I made the decision to go with Amaze. However, it looks manageable now. As Vishnu rightly pointed out, I am so used to petrol engine, I am slightly feeling my diesel amaze revving up slow.
One concern I am having it is with the seat comfort. Not sure if others faced it, but I started to feel lower back pain since I am driving Amaze. I never had that feeling when I drove in my Santro. I haven't really experimented with the seat controls yet. May be I need to tinker with seat controls to find the sweet sport with respect to seating. If anyone else faced similar issues and have a workaround, please post.

Sid

Thread Starter #960
Hi Friends,
It's been two days since I brought home my new Amaze VX (D). The experience so far has been good. I was worried about the NVH levels before I made the decision to go with Amaze. However, it looks manageable now. As Vishnu rightly pointed out, I am so used to petrol engine, I am slightly feeling my diesel amaze revving up slow.
One concern I am having it is with the seat comfort. Not sure if others faced it, but I started to feel lower back pain since I am driving Amaze. I never had that feeling when I drove in my Santro. I haven't really experimented with the seat controls yet. May be I need to tinker with seat controls to find the sweet sport with respect to seating. If anyone else faced similar issues and have a workaround, please post.

Sid
They have really scooped out some of the cushions for managing the space inside and hence leading to these non comfortableness though you can change the settings and get a sweet spot of your sitting position , unless i wouldn't have done 31k km's on my Amaze [;)]