Ford Fiesta Facelift 2014 Launched. Price: Rs.7.69 Lakh!

Re: Ford Fiesta Facelift Coming To India in 2014

I did a small survey recently, regarding the prices of 2014 Ford Fiesta in America. The prices were very similar to our Fiesta when converted into INR. Immediately, I jumped to VW USA website to check the prices of VW Jetta. In America, both VW Jetta & Ford Fiesta are more or less in the same price range! I don't get it ? May be I shouldn't think too much about it !! Even US imports VW engines from Germany. May be due to strong dollar value. For us, I guess it's due to weak rupee value & heavy taxes imposed by the govt [frustration]. I feel that localised cars are a great VFM options to own & maintain. And also by buying localised cars, we are helping India maintain its current account deficit [:D].

About the video that was posted, thats a self inspection test that Fiesta can be made do in case of any internal engine damage checks like injection system or if cylinder has less pressure while pumping etc can be checked with this test,this can be done in all Ford cars made after 2007, its different for different markets , I mean the codes to operate it, in Europe its 10s hold for testing gauges,displays,etc while pressing the button and simultaneously cranking the ignition
The price of cars in USA and in India can no way be compared, the best bet is to compare price of cars in China to that of in India since they have same tax based system like for engines below 1.5l lower tax etc, in that sense Fiesta will start at around 7.5 lakhs for base petrol and top out at 9.5 for full option Titanium and 9.9 lakhs for Powershift AT
as for the diesel I hope it will be 80k-1 lakh more than regular petrols variant to variant that means base diesel will cost around 8.5 and Titanium Manual might cost around 10.9 lakh all prices are ex showroom
So in my opinion, it will be more or less at par with the Skoda Rapids diesel pricing for Fiesta diesel sedan on road and petrol might cost exactly similar to what Honda City petrol, and in a sense price competitive but I am sure Fiesta wont make any wrings in market, it will stay as a dark horse for those who love driving
But I would rather own the dark horse with ecoboost once it sets itself here by mid 2015 [clap]

About the video that was posted, thats a self inspection test that Fiesta can be made do in case of any internal engine damage checks like injection system or if cylinder has less pressure while pumping etc can be checked with this test,this can be done in all Ford cars made after 2007, its different for different markets , I mean the codes to operate it, in Europe its 10s hold for testing gauges,displays,etc while pressing the button and simultaneously cranking the ignition
The price of cars in USA and in India can no way be compared, the best bet is to compare price of cars in China to that of in India since they have same tax based system like for engines below 1.5l lower tax etc, in that sense Fiesta will start at around 7.5 lakhs for base petrol and top out at 9.5 for full option Titanium and 9.9 lakhs for Powershift AT
as for the diesel I hope it will be 80k-1 lakh more than regular petrols variant to variant that means base diesel will cost around 8.5 and Titanium Manual might cost around 10.9 lakh all prices are ex showroom
So in my opinion, it will be more or less at par with the Skoda Rapids diesel pricing for Fiesta diesel sedan on road and petrol might cost exactly similar to what Honda City petrol, and in a sense price competitive but I am sure Fiesta wont make any wrings in market, it will stay as a dark horse for those who love driving
But I would rather own the dark horse with ecoboost once it sets itself here by mid 2015 [clap]
Thank you very much my friend [:)]. It was indeed very informative. I understand that, I shouldn't compare American car prices :stupid: . But their Ford Fiesta top end titanium costs 19,000$ which when converted @60/- , it comes to 11.40 lac. That means, when I go to America I need to spend more or less the same amount of money to buy a brand new Fiesta (petrol) there & may be equipments levels would be slightly better !! Now I am not trying to compare it with Indian car prices, please don't get me wrong! I am stressing on the point that the kind of advantage we are getting while buying a car which is highly localised in India. Here in India, Jetta is seen as a rich man's car & Ford Fiesta is seen as an upper middle-class man's car because of the price variation. But in America, there is not much difference in prices in between both these cars.

it will stay as a dark horse for those who love driving...This line almost had me [:D], Yes Indeed !

Thank you very much my friend [:)]. It was indeed very informative. I understand that, I shouldn't compare American car prices :stupid: . But their Ford Fiesta top end titanium costs 19,000$ which when converted @60/- , it comes to 11.40 lac. That means, when I go to America I need to spend more or less the same amount of money to buy a brand new Fiesta (petrol) there & may be equipments levels would be slightly better !! Now I am not trying to compare it with Indian car prices, please don't get me wrong! I am stressing on the point that the kind of advantage we are getting while buying a car which is highly localised in India. Here in India, Jetta is seen as a rich man's car & Ford Fiesta is seen as an upper middle-class man's car because of the price variation. But in America, there is not much difference in prices in between both these cars.

it will stay as a dark horse for those who love driving...This line almost had me [:D], Yes Indeed !
yes in America the scenario is much different just like in Europe as well, here in India 2 wheeler s are extremely popular but there people buy a small 4 wheeler instead of a 2 wheeler because its more safe with those huge roads and cross winds and winter conditions which 2 wheelers cant manage,
And in America Ford made a dramatic comeback in 2013 by almost beating Honda in selling cars, actually Ford was in huge depression n the US, Allans 1 Ford plan started to work by 2012 and it showed its result 3 years after Ford united in America, and the result was so good that Ford which sold 90% trucks and 10 % cars in USA now sells 70% trucks and 30% cars that also means the volume of cars Ford sold in total in 2009 was merely about 500000 but in 2013 they sell 2000000+ cars, nearly 4 times of what they used to sell 4 years back and all these are excluding the trucks F-150 s, 1 Ford has shown tremendous improvement in USA
they still have lot of reliability problems in USA which they are hoping to cure by 2016
So in such kind of mass market Fiesta did the unthinkable in USA quality cabin(US Fiesta has highest quality of any Fiesta made till date),features that even Jetta dosent have and driving dynamics and a little bit more potent 1.6 NA engine, the competition there is super crap,Hyundai Accent(Verna),Chevy Sonic,Mitsubishi mirage etc, only good car in league of Fiesta there is Nissan Sentra(Sunny). So virtually fiesta has no competition so Ford can price Fiesta the way they like.
IN USA Jetta is made in Mexico and hence its interior quality is crap and its just in the league of Hundai at best and only thing that keeps Jetta compelling is enormous space and DSG, even still VW is finding it difficult 2 hold ground in the US while VWs Audi is best luxury car seller there beating former champ BMW

I am posting this for the sake of economic welfare & growth of our country. We are already spending a lot of our foreign currency by importing oil, which is a necessity. But we are also wasting foreign currency by buying many imported products & gold! Which is also a known fact.

Cars like BMW, Mercs etc are also imported. I am writing this, not because I couldn't afford such cars. I love BMW's !!! I am not writing this keeping someone else in my mind. If I were to choose a car, I would give my first preference to India cars or jap cars or my beloved Ford , cars that would satisfy my needs, which are having some degree of localisation. If none is satisfying my needs the last option would be import stuff.

Not just cars, I would prefer Amul butter instead of some imported butter.

This is the news from today's Hindu News paper

tmp_Screenshot_2014-01-24-14-38-10241079116.png

The another news is, govt is thinking of imposing taxes on alloys wheels that were imported from china, thailand and Korea.

tmp_Screenshot_2014-01-24-14-27-171997313032.png

IN USA Jetta is made in Mexico and hence its interior quality is crap and its just in the league of Hundai at best and only thing that keeps Jetta compelling is enormous space and DSG, even still VW is finding it difficult 2 hold ground in the US while VWs Audi is best luxury car seller there beating former champ BMW
" super crap,Hyundai Accent(Verna) " ROFL ! [lol] :agree:

But still they import Engine & Transmission from Germany right.

I am posting this for the sake of economic welfare & growth of our country. We are already spending a lot of our foreign currency by importing oil, which is a necessity. But we are also wasting foreign currency by buying many imported products & gold! Which is also a known fact.
Not just cars, I would prefer Amul butter instead of some imported butter.
This is the news from today's Hindu News paper
View attachment 122741

The another news is, govt is thinking of imposing taxes on alloys wheels that were imported from china, thailand and Korea.

View attachment 122750
I have read about it, and I like Ford India s policy of localization, the Sanand plant at Gujarat is a really good move by Ford India to give Indian employees the ability to produce Ford cars here with our resources and to provide job opportunities to people living in our country rather than sending them somewhere in Germany to work for their development and to an extent it has worked out, the great company named Nvidia which used to be US based has now a totally new Indian division for India and India is the country that features a lot of new Nvidia Tegra devices a mobile based GPU system
I believe by the advent of Sanand plant in Gujarat the technical know hows of Ford India will be much higher than what it has of now and we Indians can itself be a part of a global car with a Ford chassis just like the Ford Escort which is a Chinese built car based on design and engineering that is a collaboration of Ford Australia and Ford China,Ecosport is a Brazilian design with and Brazilia Ford engineering, The Figo is a collaboration of Ford India,Ford Australia and Ford South Africa and it had huge success, I hope a next Ford with global spirit and value will be born from Ford India s new plant @ SAnand
Engine and transmission should be imported as some things cant be disclosed at any case, most German brands wont do localization in terms of engines and powertrains and transmissions as they are the heart of their secret recipes,even Ford wont make engines in India specially the new range engines they import from some of their R&D based development factories

Thanks for sharing bro, I am hoping Ford to maintain the quality despite reducing the price. I really didn't like the Honda City leaving its boot lid naked and no proper plastic cladding inside its wheel arches. I don't expect this kind of a cost cutting in a car which is worth more than 13 lakhs. I seriously don't care about the sunroof or moon-roof, but I do care about isolating the NVH levels from the engine & minor things that I mentioned above..which might sound silly for some.

I know Ford wont do this ! I am quiet satisfied with the existing Fiesta's built quality, I will be happy if the quality is improved further. And my choice would be definitely the 1.5TDCI .

Thanks for sharing bro, I am hoping Ford to maintain the quality despite reducing the price. I really didn't like the Honda City leaving its boot lid naked and no proper plastic cladding inside its wheel arches. I don't expect this kind of a cost cutting in a car which is worth more than 13 lakhs. I seriously don't care about the sunroof or moon-roof, but I do care about isolating the NVH levels from the engine & minor things that I mentioned above..which might sound silly for some.

I know Ford wont do this ! I am quiet satisfied with the existing Fiesta's built quality, I will be happy if the quality is improved further. And my choice would be definitely the 1.5TDCI .
Sure quality is going up, as well as ride is too getting improved,NVH is getting improved,1.5 TiVCT manual is going to get different engine tune as well as for the DCT gearbox, SYNC is getting upgrade, new leather seats and re calibrated and re positioned switch positions and controls
Ford has also taken care to improve ride at low speeds which some complained was stiff, what they did is to improve front end suspension coil spring softened by around 10% and rear suspension by 20% and stiffened anti roll bar by 20% to neutralize any roll due to suspension softness, all this means softer ride at lower speeds and yet no lack in that brilliant handling and composure at high speeds
If the new tune of 1.5 TDCi thats in Ecosport comes in Fiesta it will be a blast to drive, according to my calculations the old Fiesta 1.5 TDCi did a 0-100 kmph in around 13.33s, Fiesta 2012 weighs about 1176 kg
The Ecosport with 1290 kg with new 1.5 TDCi tune does 0-100 in 13.76s
So if new Fiesta is getting the Ecosport diesel tune it will do 0-100 at around 12.54s
That means acceleration will be brisk enough to enjoy unlike 2012 Fiesta which has to be pushed to work

Sure quality is going up, as well as ride is too getting improved,NVH is getting improved,1.5 TiVCT manual is going to get different engine tune as well as for the DCT gearbox, SYNC is getting upgrade, new leather seats and re calibrated and re positioned switch positions and controls
Ford has also taken care to improve ride at low speeds which some complained was stiff, what they did is to improve front end suspension coil spring softened by around 10% and rear suspension by 20% and stiffened anti roll bar by 20% to neutralize any roll due to suspension softness, all this means softer ride at lower speeds and yet no lack in that brilliant handling and composure at high speeds
If the new tune of 1.5 TDCi thats in Ecosport comes in Fiesta it will be a blast to drive, according to my calculations the old Fiesta 1.5 TDCi did a 0-100 kmph in around 13.33s, Fiesta 2012 weighs about 1176 kg
The Ecosport with 1290 kg with new 1.5 TDCi tune does 0-100 in 13.76s
So if new Fiesta is getting the Ecosport diesel tune it will do 0-100 at around 12.54s
That means acceleration will be brisk enough to enjoy unlike 2012 Fiesta which has to be pushed to work
How come you know so much about Ford bro, I have used 06 model Ford Fiesta for 6 years & there is still much to learn [cheers]. I just love the torque offered by the Ford Fiesta 1.4 TDCI. Usually people go by figures & my friend who bought a VW Polo used to make fun of the fiesta & figo saying that its a 68 bhp engine. Frankly speaking, after he drove my car he changed his opinion. He was surprised to note these points...

1) There is no effect on the cars performance even when the A/C is on. Since, his polo feels some what powerless when the aircon is ON.

2)Steering is direct & the car is very stable at high speeds.

These points were noted after driving a car which is 6 years old & 96k kms on it !

I sold my car to my best friend which has now completed more than a 1 lakh kms & he intend to keep until 1.5 lakh kms.

How come you know so much about Ford bro, I have used 06 model Ford Fiesta for 6 years & there is still much to learn [cheers]. I just love the torque offered by the Ford Fiesta 1.4 TDCI. Usually people go by figures & my friend who bought a VW Polo used to make fun of the fiesta & figo saying that its a 68 bhp engine. Frankly speaking, after he drove my car he changed his opinion. He was surprised to note these points...

1) There is no effect on the cars performance even when the A/C is on. Since, his polo feels some what powerless when the aircon is ON.

2)Steering is direct & the car is very stable at high speeds.

These points were noted after driving a car which is 6 years old & 96k kms on it !

I sold my car to my best friend which has now completed more than a 1 lakh kms & he intend to keep until 1.5 lakh kms.
I have a source in Chennai Ford who stays at T Nagar Chennai and works at Ford Chennai facility, luckily he is too a fanboy of Ford cars which actually he became because I always asked him about how this works that works etc etc, my source once had a chance to visit Ford Thailand for celebrating Fords 350 millionth Ford Focus made there at Chiang Mai, there he got chance to test drive the Focus with 2.0 engine as well which he says is brilliant and the 170 hp with manual tranny is fantastic he quotes
He does the scoop work for me often
If we take care of our car well that is by proper servicing and cleaning it every week it will last long with 0 troubles, I know a person who has crossed 1.5 lakh kms with his Swift 2006 model and still has no major troubles except a few rattles from door and boot and what he does is service the car at right time and clean it every week
Another car that impresses me is a Skoda Fabia 2009 model crossed 1.07 lakh kms(4 years time)yesterday, still running like a brand new car with proper care taken and only trouble he has with it is engine noise is very high but apart from that its super good

Is it not Nissan versa rather than sentra? Sentra belongs to the same class as Civic and corolla.
Yaa thanks for the correction, its the Versa sedan, Sentra is even bigger one

I have a source in Chennai Ford who stays at T Nagar Chennai and works at Ford Chennai facility, luckily he is too a fanboy of Ford cars which actually he became because I always asked him about how this works that works etc etc, my source once had a chance to visit Ford Thailand for celebrating Fords 350 millionth Ford Focus made there at Chiang Mai, there he got chance to test drive the Focus with 2.0 engine as well which he says is brilliant and the 170 hp with manual tranny is fantastic he quotes
He does the scoop work for me often
If we take care of our car well that is by proper servicing and cleaning it every week it will last long with 0 troubles, I know a person who has crossed 1.5 lakh kms with his Swift 2006 model and still has no major troubles except a few rattles from door and boot and what he does is service the car at right time and clean it every week
Another car that impresses me is a Skoda Fabia 2009 model crossed 1.07 lakh kms(4 years time)yesterday, still running like a brand new car with proper care taken and only trouble he has with it is engine noise is very high but apart from that its super good
Oh, that really nice to hear [:)] . I am really happy to have people like you on this forum. who can share legitimate information for the benefit of all parties concerned.

Well Thanks,
a new information I got is Ford might introduce My key system and SYNC app-link with Fiesta facelift, word is that Ford is thinking of including these features to higher trims but at the same time are aware of price not to go beyond 11 lakh Ex Showroom,
Their main focus is on the new Figo though says my source and since Ecosport new Fiesta and new Figo share a lot in common like music system,steering rack,door pads handles etc, the localization could work wonders with 2015 Figo hatch back pricing